A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
2answers
129 views

Opener rebid priority

I'm playing/studying SAYC. So I know that game in major comes first then notrump then game in minors. When I open with 1 Club partner responds with 1 Spade -- I have 18PTS and 4 hearts and NT ...
4
votes
3answers
194 views

Bridge bidding - how do I decide whether or not to bid 1NT with weakness in a particular suit?

If I'm inclined to bid NT with 15-17 points, but am weak in one suit, how weak can I be, and still bid 1NT, as opposed to bidding 1 club, to find out if my partner can show strength e.g. a stopper in ...
5
votes
3answers
299 views

What Is a “Reverse” In Bridge?

Partner opened one diamond. I responded 1 NT with the following hand. ♠Txxx ♥Axx ♦Txxx ♣Ax Partner then rebid two spades. I raised to four spades, reading my partner for 17 points or so. We went ...
8
votes
2answers
162 views

Question on ethics or rules

I would very much like to know the correct ethical procedure for the following play. Hearts are trump. West led a small club North played a small club East played a small spade I as South played a ...
4
votes
1answer
79 views

In bridge, are “sequences” more valuable than non-sequences of similar point count?

In backgammon, for instance, sequences of "points" are more valuable than the same number of points out of sequence. That is the 6-5, or 6-5-4 points, are more valuable than the 6-4, or 6-4-2 points ...
4
votes
1answer
144 views

Is a “drop-finesse” better than a simple “drop” play with a nine card suit in bridge?

Regarding finesses for a missing queen in a key (e.g. trump suit), there is a proverb of "eight ever [always] nine never." Instead, one is supposed to play for a drop. (This, and most other proverbs ...
2
votes
2answers
71 views

In bridge, should a defender play differently with most, about half, or few of the partnership's points?

This example is from Victor Mollo's "Test Your Defense, Where the Points are Won." You are East. The bidding has been 1NT pass 3NT pass. West leads what looks to be the fourth highest spade. You ...
2
votes
4answers
176 views

In bridge, does it make sense to “tighten” or 'loosen" up on bidding depending on vulnerability?

For instance, the minimum standard seems to be about 12 points to open with a five card suit, or 13 points with a four card minor. That makes sense with equal vulnerability (both vulnerable or both ...
6
votes
3answers
249 views

In bridge, can “good” players get away with bidding “light”?

The conventional wisdom is that it takes 26 points to make a game. But authors such as Terence Reese have written compendiums of how they made games with 23-25 points by "outplaying" the defense; ...
2
votes
2answers
160 views

Different kinds of “two direction” finesses in bridge?

I once read in a book about a "backward" finesse. You, declarer, have AJ9, and dummy has Kxx. Ordinarily, you would finesse twice from dummy toward AJ9. Except that your left hand opponent has ...
5
votes
4answers
1k views

In Bridge, Why Do People Use “Transfer Bids” Over 1 NT?

Over 1NT, some people bid two diamonds to say they have five hearts, and two hearts to say they have five spades. The 1NT person bids the desired suit, completing the transfer. Apparently the idea is ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

What Are The Key Features Of The “Fantunes” Bidding System?

Zia Mahmood's Bridge column for the Guardian newspaper today tells of two players with world titles to their names, Fulvio Fantoni and Claudio Nunes, who apparently have an intriguing bidding system: ...
4
votes
1answer
224 views

In bridge, what are exceptions to “third hand high?”

You are sitting "East" (with dummy to your right), and your partner West leads a low (presumably fourth best) card in a suit against a 3 no trump contract. When dummy plays low from "nothing," and you ...
4
votes
3answers
538 views

In Bridge, Can I Ask About Previously Played Cards to the Current Trick?

In Bridge, one is allowed to look at the four cards played to the last trick (if the next round hasn't started). Can I similarly ask about cards played to the current trick? I was sitting at East, ...
3
votes
1answer
80 views

What are ways to “read” the shape of your opponents' hands early on?

Toward the end, the shape of opponents' hands can be read by "counting" (playing out two or three suits and inferring the shape of the remaining one(s)). In the beginning, one looks for more subtle ...
7
votes
2answers
4k views

What is the penalty for failing to follow suit?

Assume the mistake is unintentional, what course of action should be taken when this occurs and is discovered? If the person discovers themselves that they earlier made the mistake, is the penalty ...
12
votes
2answers
195 views

Hesitating as bluff

The contracting player leads a trump. As the next player I make an obvious hesitation before playing my singleton 10 of trumps. At the end of the hand my opponent, who did not call the director, ...
8
votes
2answers
268 views

In bridge, what are some exceptions to “second hand low?”

Most beginners are taught to play "second hand low." That is, play a low card if one is led to them, to give the partner a chance to take the trick. This is particularly to avoid situations where ...
0
votes
1answer
105 views

Which way to capture a queen?

This is a problem from today's New York Post. You (South) are in a stretchy major suit contract with only 22 high card points. You have four top tricks outside the trump suit, and have just won a ...
2
votes
2answers
127 views

How do you decide which way to finesse for an ace?

This is from the New York Post, which is to say that it is a "problem." You are declarer (South) in a 3 no trump contract. You get a "friendly" lead in a suit where you have three winners (two in ...
6
votes
2answers
172 views

In Bridge, what is the punishment for misclaiming tricks?

Down to the last two rounds in rubber bridge. Declarer claims remaining tricks only to discover that he has miscounted. He claims the two tricks with Q-10; however, opponent holds the J and ...
9
votes
2answers
150 views

Can't understand the meaning of 'heart finesse'

What does the phrase heart finesse mean? It appears to be a card term: http://www.confsudbridge.org/hits/brbm0014i.aspx Think about it a little: if the heart finesse was necessary to the ...
1
vote
3answers
143 views

Are there times to pre-empt with a “strong” six trumps in bridge?

Suppose you have something like AQJxxx of clubs (and no other values). If it were any other suit than clubs, I'd open with a with a "weak two" bid. But two clubs is the STRONG two bid. Meaning that ...
3
votes
1answer
304 views

Confused with Bidding in Contract Bridge

I'm building an Android game based on Contract Bridge, where 4 players will be playing simultaneously once they are connected with the Game Server. I have no prior experience of playing any card ...
4
votes
3answers
320 views

In bridge, are there some 13 point hands that should not be opened?

Suppose you have: (s) Jx (h)KQxx (d) KJxx (c) Kxx. That's 13 points, by the usual count. But I can think of at least two things wrong with it. First, there are no aces, meaning that the hand has ...
8
votes
2answers
397 views

What is the Purpose of a “Ducking” Play In Bridge?

Sometimes I will have Axx in a key suit, opposite dummy's holdings of Kxxxx. In such situations, I was taught to make a "ducking" play by playing a low card from both sides, instead of playing an A or ...
2
votes
1answer
106 views

In bridge, is an “uppercut” a special case of a “forcing game?”

In a standard forcing game, you the defender, may have four (or more) trumps, and ypu lead a long suit in which declarer is void in order to force him to ruff, thereby shortening his trumps to your ...
3
votes
3answers
259 views

Can a takeout doubler pass a redoubled contract?

South opened one diamond. West doubled for takeout with the following hand: s) Axxx (H) Kxx (D) Kxx (C) Qxx North redoubled. This took me (East) off the hook with something like s) xxx (H) xxx (D) ...
7
votes
3answers
262 views

What is the purpose of “underruffing” in bridge?

Sometimes declarer will lead a long suit from one hand, for a "ruffing finesse" in order to ruff with a void in the other. If the intervening opponent ruffs with say, the 9, the declarer might ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Response to “convenient” minor bid.

My partner opened 1 Club. I held Spade J732, Diamond Axxxx, Club QJxx, Heart VOID. She was upset that I bid two clubs rather than 1 Spade. I did not think the Spade suit was good enough to bid. What ...
2
votes
1answer
110 views

In Bridge, should a defender “encourage” with a "stranded honor?

In the example in Today's New York Post, the bidding went: S 1 spade, N 2 clubs, S 2 NT, N3 spades, S 4 Spades (East and West passed throughout). West led the 9 of hearts, which as between these ...
2
votes
1answer
424 views

Can “SWOT” analysis be useful in bridge

SWOT stands for (an analysis of) strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats. There are four "fields" and yes, four suits. Here's an example from this deal, which came up in today's New York Post. ...
1
vote
2answers
314 views

In bridge, can the “rule of 20” be used outside of opening bids (e.g for takeout doubles)?

Here's another example from today's New York Post. West opened 1 club. (He had a 19 point 1NT hand, and was planning to re-bid 2NT.) North made a (takeout) double with (s) KQxxx (h) Qxxxx (d) xx (c) ...
8
votes
4answers
2k views

Do good bridge players memorize all cards played?

Certainly, they track the quantity of each suit and the high value cards, but I'm curious if good bridge players also remember, say, whether someone ducked the ace using a 7 of spades vs a 6 of ...
1
vote
2answers
203 views

What Are the Requirements for a “Jump” Bid Opposite a Takeout Double in Bridge?

My left hand opponent opened one diamond. Partner doubled. Right hand opponent passed. I was sitting in fourth seat with eight points, and something like (s) KJxxx (h) Jxx (d) xx (c) Kxx. I ...
3
votes
1answer
120 views

Is it right to refrain from making a takeout double in borderline situations?

In today's bridge column, this example was given: North opened with one diamond. East doubled with (s) Qxx (h)AQxx (d) x (c) ATxxx. This double technically met my 14 point requirement (12 for high ...
6
votes
2answers
165 views

Doubleton Negating High-Card Points

I play bridge casually and mostly have learned from other players (and occasionally from online resources). While playing recently another player suggested that I was counting my hand's points ...
6
votes
1answer
168 views

Is it legitimate/ethical to treat the same bid from different people in different ways?

I play in a bridge "round robin" using Chicago scoring, with three other people. Call them, A, B, and C, with three different styles. A will open, say one spade with as few as ten high card points ...
5
votes
2answers
369 views

In Bridge, Is “ruffing” a good enough reason to postpone drawing trumps?

Most bridge teachers (and books) teach players to draw trumps at the first possible opportunity. The reason is that you don't want your opponents to take tricks with low trumps. (If they have the A, ...
15
votes
5answers
1k views

Is bidding in contract bridge just a matter of applying a set of rules?

Some years ago I tried to learn to play contract bridge with some friends and I never really understood the philosophy (for want of a better word) of bidding. It seemed as if we just had to learn a ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Is it better to learn to play bridge by reading about it, or just playing?

I'm an avid card player, and I have a particular love for trick-taking games (above all, Hearts and Spades). I've wanted to learn to play bridge for a long time, and I've bought two different books on ...
2
votes
3answers
363 views

Should I Use A “Negative Double” Over a Possible “Short Club” Bid And Overcall in Bridge?

Playing Standard American, partner opened 1 club. Right hand opponent overcalled 1 spade. I raised to 2 clubs with: ♠xx ♥Axxx ♦JTxx ♣Qxx Everyone passed. Partner had 13 points and a "short" three ...
3
votes
2answers
266 views

In Bridge, Is There A Way To Shorten “Reaction Time” For “Real Time” Play

I like to solve bridge problems in newspapers. When I do this, I often get the correct answer, or at least come "within sight" (e.g. get the key idea but "muff" the sequence). This process typically ...
5
votes
1answer
239 views

What is “Playing For Top or Bottom” In Bridge?

Apparently it relates to duplicate bridge. Initially, I thought it meant playing the hand in a risky way to score overtricks, and taking the chance of sacrificing a potential game. But then someone ...
7
votes
8answers
2k views

Getting started with trick-taking games (whist, euchre, bridge, pinochle, etc.) [closed]

I've heard there are a lot of different trick-taking games out there, such as whist, bridge, euchre, pinochle, oh hell, hearts etc. I've heard a lot of good things about these games, but have very ...
4
votes
2answers
151 views

Take out double at first opportunity to double?

I dealt and passed - LH opponent passed, partner passed and RHO opened 1 Heart. Holding: ♠ K98 ♥ 109 ♦ A986 ♣KJ2     can I double as this is the first opportunity to do so?
7
votes
1answer
306 views

In Bridge, Does It Make Sense to Pre-empt in Fourth Seat?

In one of my games, there were three passes. Fourth seat elected to "pre-empt," three hearts with something like the following: ♠xx ♥KQJxxxx ♦Jxx ♣x One of the opponents doubled (for penalties), ...
3
votes
2answers
167 views

In Bridge, Is it Sometimes Good to Lead an Opponent's Suit on Defense?

I was "West," that is, the opening leader. My left and right hand opponents had alternated diamond and spade bids, neither supporting the other, suggesting something like 6-1 misfits in both suits ...
6
votes
1answer
268 views

How do I Detect/Defend Against an Endplay In Bridge?

When I see declarer draw trumps, and then start to "eliminate" (ruff out) one or more plain suits, my biggest fear as a defender is of an end play. That is, the declarer will put me on lead because ...
5
votes
1answer
251 views

In Bridge, What Is “Playing the Card You Are Known to Hold?”

If you're a declarer, and West leads the queen of spades, with dummy showing the Kx of the suit, while you have Axx in the closed hand, you might take the trick with the K from the dummy, thereby not ...