A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so. When asking questions on bidding or play, please specify scoring system (Rubber, Matchpoints, IMPS, ec.), Dealer, vulnerability for both sides, full ...

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
2answers
891 views

In bridge, what caused bidding “standards” to decline post Goren?

I was weaned on "Goren" in the 1960s, and as some readers of my other questions have pointed out, am not totally comfortable with "Standard American" or other newer standards. These may be some ...
3
votes
3answers
775 views

Why Do Modern Players Use “Negative Doubles” In Bridge

Personally, I think that too many people overcall. Meaning that we need a penalty double for it in bridge. But the modern fashion seems to be for "negative doubles" over overcalls. These seem to mean, ...
3
votes
3answers
90 views

Do most good pre-empters do so within “tight” point ranges?

I'll use "weak two" bids as a frame of reference. My understanding of a "weak two" bid is that it is usually made with six cards of a suit, and at least five high card points (hcps). If that's all, ...
3
votes
3answers
373 views

Question regarding strong 2c opening

Partner opened with 2C -- I responded with 2D (I have 2 pts)-- Partner responded with 3C. Is the rebid 3C by partner forcing me to bid (I don’t have enough clubs) or can I pass here? It's just that ...
3
votes
5answers
311 views

In bridge, does it make sense to “tighten” or 'loosen" up on bidding depending on vulnerability?

For instance, the minimum standard seems to be about 12 points to open with a five card suit, or 13 points with a four card minor. That makes sense with equal vulnerability (both vulnerable or both ...
3
votes
4answers
187 views

Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?

Suppose partner bids one of a (five card) major. Normally you need three of the suit to raise. But expert Marty Bergen has opined that if your suit has four honors, you can bid it as if were one card ...
3
votes
4answers
375 views

I open 1C — Partner: 1D — I bid 1S — Partner bids 2NT - What 2NT means (System: Simple SAYC)

I open 1C -- Partner 1D -- I respond 1S -- Partner bids 2NT - What 2NT means, and how do I respond to it with this hand: Kxxx-Kx-xx-AQxxx? Note: since I'm studying simple sayc what concerns me is ...
3
votes
2answers
359 views

In Bridge, Is There A Way To Shorten “Reaction Time” For “Real Time” Play

I like to solve bridge problems in newspapers. When I do this, I often get the correct answer, or at least come "within sight" (e.g. get the key idea but "muff" the sequence). This process typically ...
3
votes
2answers
208 views

In “Standard” American, Is It Possible to Bid the Opposing Suit “Naturally” Over a Takeout Double?

I dealt and bid one heart with the following: ♠Axx ♥AQJxx ♦Jxx ♣xx Left hand opponent doubled for takeout. Partner passed with something like K♦, Q♣ ...
3
votes
3answers
610 views

Can a takeout doubler pass a redoubled contract?

South opened one diamond. West doubled for takeout with the following hand: s) Axxx (H) Kxx (D) Kxx (C) Qxx North redoubled. This took me (East) off the hook with something like s) xxx (H) xxx (D) ...
3
votes
3answers
187 views

Is there a reasonable suit preference signal on this lead?

The contract is 3 NT, and the bidding has been a straightforward, 1NT, pass, 3NT, all pass. West leads the king of diamonds from AKTxx. The defenders have agreed that this means three honors, ...
3
votes
2answers
319 views

Leading from the wrong (nondummy) hand in bridge

While playing bridge you were supposed to lead from the dummy's hand, but you pulled a card from your hand by mistake. After putting it back in your hand, do you have to play the same suit when you ...
3
votes
3answers
203 views

What is a proper bidding sequence after a “weak 2” bid?

In the opening game of a rubber, I dealt and opened two diamonds (weak) with the following: (s) J3 (h) 54 (d) KJ7532 (c) A42. Partner responded two hearts. I passed with my two weak hearts, fearing a ...
3
votes
1answer
149 views

bridge club alert rules internationally

Are the rules for alerting bids broadly similar at clubs throughout the world, or do they differ? Are bidding boxes used internationally? (My most specific interest is whether clubs in Switzerland ...
3
votes
2answers
164 views

Opener rebid priority

I'm playing/studying SAYC. So I know that game in major comes first then notrump then game in minors. When I open with 1 Club partner responds with 1 Spade -- I have 18PTS and 4 hearts and NT ...
3
votes
2answers
172 views

How to identify when to try a “Merriamac Coup” in bridge?

A "Merrimac Coup" in bridge usually refers to the "suicidal" lead of a king, in order to force out an opposing ace before the opponent is ready to use the ace as an entry. If that hand (usually dummy) ...
3
votes
1answer
139 views

Is it right to refrain from making a takeout double in borderline situations?

In today's bridge column, this example was given: North opened with one diamond. East doubled with (s) Qxx (h)AQxx (d) x (c) ATxxx. This double technically met my 14 point requirement (12 for high ...
3
votes
2answers
74 views

Does it make sense for a defender to occasionally adopt a slightly inferior line in order to “mix up” the play?

Here's the original question that inspired this one: It was about whether West should lead a short major instead of a long, weak minor when the opponents failed to find a fit using Stayman. A number ...
3
votes
2answers
192 views

In bridge, are the two “equal vulnerabilities” basically equal?

To me, "equal vulnerability" means both sides vulnerable or both not. In sacrificing against a major suit game, "down two" means -500 when vulnerable versus -300 when not. This compares against ...
3
votes
1answer
236 views

Bridge: Usage of the stop card

The STOP card in bridge is used in order to help all players keep their rights, as far as thinking is concerned. However I have some questions. When do we have to use the STOP card. Should STOP be ...
3
votes
2answers
207 views

What is the “pause” rule for dummy play in tournament bridge?

My understanding is that in a bridge tournament, that the declarer must pause for some time (X seconds) after the dummy goes down, in order to study it, before playing to the first trick. What is ...
3
votes
2answers
501 views

Opening bids with no long suits

My partner and I play a strong NT and 5 card Majors. However, we're unsure how to open strong hands with no long suits. For example, how do we open a 4432 hand with 16-19 high card points or 20-22 ...
3
votes
2answers
344 views

Does one need to bid Stayman with a flat distribution?

This example is from a book. South opens 1NT (15-17) with: (s) AKx (h) JTxx (d) Kxx (c) Axx. North has (s) Qxx (h)Axxx (d) Axx (c) xxx and goes to 3NT. The author (George Coffin) says that North ...
3
votes
1answer
473 views

Confused with Bidding in Contract Bridge

I'm building an Android game based on Contract Bridge, where 4 players will be playing simultaneously once they are connected with the Game Server. I have no prior experience of playing any card ...
3
votes
2answers
116 views

Can you suspect false carding from the following situation?

You are playing this hand at 3NT having arrived there after you bid 1NT and North 3NT, East and West having passed throughout. Only you are vulnerable. (The hand is linked for reference; but you'd ...
3
votes
2answers
86 views

Is“ third seat, favorable vulnerabilty” the only appropriate time to pre-empt with “any seven” of a suit?

I would do this with 8765432 of a suit in third seat, and a "Yarborough" elsewhere in hand, and with favorable vulnerability (not vulnerable vs. vulnerable). Opposite a passed partner, I don't fear ...
3
votes
2answers
85 views

What are bidding sequences in which the responder is likely to be the “captain” of the partnership?

I can think of two: The first one is when the opener bids no trump. Then the responder knows that the opener has a "balanced" hand, and 15-17 high card points for 1NT, 20-21 for 2NT, etc. Another ...
3
votes
2answers
106 views

Bridge the 3 card 7 club bid

chair one opened 1 spade I was chair two and said 3 clubs, saying , I have 7 clubs and a outside ace and not 13 pts to open? She says I would have to open 4 clubs for it to mean that, Who's right, of ...
3
votes
2answers
454 views

When might a Standard American bidder “bend” the five card major rule?

"Five card majors" is the foundation of the Standard American system. Yet rules are made to be broken under special circumstances. My understanding is that some bidders will adhere to "five card ...
3
votes
1answer
121 views

What Other Bidding Approaches Are There?

My parents taught me how to play bridge. They grew up in the 1970s when Precision Club was popular and they taught me how to play strong club. When I grew up, SAYC and 2/1 were beaten into me. Now, I ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

In bridge, what opening bid(s) should be made with a high card point in “no man's land”?

Recently, I was dealt a hand with a high card point and distribution too strong to open 1 NT but not enough to bid 2 of a suit, i.e. in "no man's land". Any advice you can provide about how I should ...
3
votes
1answer
112 views

How little strength should I have in bid suits for a negative double?

In bridge, a "negative double" after my partner's opening bid, and my right hand opponent's overcall means, "Partner, I don't like your suit, and I don't fancy defending the opponent's overcall. I ...
3
votes
1answer
112 views

What are ways to “read” the shape of your opponents' hands early on?

Toward the end, the shape of opponents' hands can be read by "counting" (playing out two or three suits and inferring the shape of the remaining one(s)). In the beginning, one looks for more subtle ...
3
votes
2answers
209 views

In Bridge, Is it Sometimes Good to Lead an Opponent's Suit on Defense?

I was "West," that is, the opening leader. My left and right hand opponents had alternated diamond and spade bids, neither supporting the other, suggesting something like 6-1 misfits in both suits ...
3
votes
2answers
195 views

Grand slam bidding with high card points hand

What is my opening bid with a 24 high card point hand, so that I don't get 3 passes and end up short of slam? AKQJx AKx Ax KQJ, I think. One year players. So rare to see this hand. Partner had 11 ...
3
votes
1answer
129 views

Claiming honours in rubber bridge

When playing rubber bridge, can the declarer still claim after the hand is over but the next hand has not been dealt?
3
votes
2answers
270 views

In bridge, if a 1 NT bidder is doubled, is it right to “redouble for rescue?”

Suppose South opens with 1 NT (15-17). After two passes, East doubles, showing possession of most of the remaining 23-25 high card points not held by South. 1NT P P Dbl South has a flat 4-3-3-3 ...
3
votes
1answer
138 views

bridge penalties [duplicate]

I am with a group that has been playing bridge for a little over 2 years. We have one member who has, on occassion, layed her hand down towards the end and declared the rest of the tricks are hers. ...
3
votes
1answer
285 views

In bridge, how do you tell when to use holdup versus blocking plays?

You are the declarer at a 3NT contract (1NT, 3NT, no opposing bids). West leads what appears to be a five card suit, and you have Axx in dummy. Your main concern is that East can get the setting ...
3
votes
0answers
131 views

Richard Pavliceks mystery

Richard Pavlicek made a great bridge site. Here http://www.rpbridge.net/7f55.htm The mystery is this: Is there a bridge hand where North/South can make a grandslam in any suit, but not even ...
2
votes
6answers
6k views

In Bridge, what are “proper” responses to a “strong” 2 club bid?

Bidding Standard American, and opening a "strong" two clubs (typically 22 HCPs and a six card suit), I like to hear responses of 2 diamonds (0-8 points, no more than game interest), or 2NT (9+ plus ...
2
votes
2answers
492 views

Are there “established” systems where “Five Card Majors” isn't a strict rule?

In "Standard American," I must open a major with 65432 while refraining from opening a major with AKQJ. IMHO, there are five card majors that are too weak to be opened and there four card majors that ...
2
votes
2answers
100 views

In bridge, should a defender play differently with most, about half, or few of the partnership's points?

This example is from Victor Mollo's "Test Your Defense, Where the Points are Won." You are East. The bidding has been 1NT pass 3NT pass. West leads what looks to be the fourth highest spade. You ...
2
votes
2answers
298 views

Are there times NOT to bid 1NT with 15 high card points and a balanced hand?

This refers to a strong (15-17) 1NT with hand shapes of 4-3-3-3, 4-4-3-2, or 5-3-3-2. With "flat" hand like (s) Kxx (h) Kxx (d) KJx (c) KQxx, I would refrain from bidding 1NT, after deducting one ...
2
votes
3answers
403 views

Responding to a simple overcall (SAYC)

LHO opened with 1C – Partner overcalled with 1S – (I have 6 pts, 4 Spades) → Do I respond with 2S? P.S. rho pass. EDIT : what my gripe with this is, that according to textbooks, you respond to ...
2
votes
1answer
312 views

In Bridge, What is the Merit of Taking a “Double” Finesse?

Suppose I am declarer, and dummy has a "side" (non-trump) suit with AQx or AQxx, and I have xxx in my hand. I have been told NOT to finesse the Q (a 50-50 chance), except as a last resort, or late in ...
2
votes
2answers
137 views

Bridge: Which transfer do you use with both majors - one 5 carder and another 4 carder

Partner opens 1NT. With a 4 carder Spade and a 5 carder Heart, what do you do? And with a 5 carder Spade and a 4 carder Heart? Specifically, should you use Stayman, Jacoby Transfers, or some other ...
2
votes
3answers
381 views

In bridge, how much support do you need to raise a responder?

Suppose I bid one of a (short) minor. Partner responds one of a major (one-over-one), showing at least four cards in the suit. What do I need to raise his major to two? Some books say I need four ...
2
votes
3answers
408 views

When should a bridge defender return the second, rather than fourth highest card in suit?

Against a bidding sequence of 1NT, 3NT, partner, West, opens with what looks like the fourth highest of a suit. Dummy goes down with two small cards in the suit. I have four to the king in the suit, ...
2
votes
1answer
140 views

In duplicate, is it ethical to base your play on other people's body language?

In bridge, there are some times when you can assure yourself of x number of tricks (just enough for your contract) by making a safety play to guard against an adverse 4-1 distribution. If you don't ...