A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so. When asking questions on bidding or play, please specify scoring system (Rubber, Matchpoints, IMPS, ec.), Dealer, vulnerability for both sides, full ...

learn more… | top users | synonyms

4
votes
2answers
285 views

In bridge,should a responder devalue her hand if short in opener's suit?

I opened a "strong two clubs." Partner bid 2 NT, which between us, meant "9-plus points, slam interest." I bid my suit, 3 spades, with the following: (s) AKQxxx (h) AKx (d) Ax (c) xx. That's a ...
11
votes
5answers
616 views

What is the point in disclosure of the bidding system to opponents?

I fully understand and agree with the rule "do not communicate in illegal ways" (pose, tone of voice, etc), but I don't quite understand the point in requiring the disclosure of one's bidding system ...
7
votes
3answers
557 views

Why it is important to make a delayed raise and not jump directly to 4-lvl? (System: simple SAYC)

On responding with 13 pts and 4-card major support why it is important to make a delayed raise (e.g. change suit and only then jump to 4-lvl) and not jump directly to 4-lvl- what added value does it ...
2
votes
3answers
297 views

Bidding game (simple SAYC)

Partner opens 1D -- I respond 1H -- Partner responds with 2D -- (I have 3 spades, 5 hearts, 1 clubs, 4 diamonds, 13 hcp) --> I'm tempted to bid 3NT now. Should I always get to game with me and partner ...
3
votes
2answers
277 views

In bridge, if a 1 NT bidder is doubled, is it right to “redouble for rescue?”

Suppose South opens with 1 NT (15-17). After two passes, East doubles, showing possession of most of the remaining 23-25 high card points not held by South. 1NT P P Dbl South has a flat 4-3-3-3 ...
0
votes
2answers
577 views

What to bid in this situation (xx-Kx-AQTxx-AQxx, 1D-1S-2C-2D…)? (System: Simple SAYC)

I open 1D -- Partner 1S -- I bid 2C (my holding was xx-Kx-AQTxx-AQxx) -- Partner bids 2D -- What do I bid, and why? (since I have to respond when partner keeps changing suit and no NT has been yet ...
2
votes
3answers
434 views

When should a bridge defender return the second, rather than fourth highest card in suit?

Against a bidding sequence of 1NT, 3NT, partner, West, opens with what looks like the fourth highest of a suit. Dummy goes down with two small cards in the suit. I have four to the king in the suit, ...
4
votes
2answers
696 views

How do I bid using “weak Stayman” (or garbage stayman)

People like Marty Bergen have written things like, "almost anytime you're responding to your partner's 1NT and you have few clubs, you should respond 2 clubs," Stayman (this is a paraphrase, not an ...
4
votes
1answer
515 views

Simplest form of RKCB - asking for kings after asking for queen

According to wikipedia on RKCB, after an 03 or 14 response ...the 4NT bidder may ask about [the queen] using the cheapest bid other than five of the trump suit. The code for replies to that "queen ...
4
votes
4answers
1k views

When and how do you use suit preference signals in bridge?

One example is when you (West) lead a singleton against a trump contract, hopefully to your partner's ace, s/he takes it, and then East leads back a spot card in the suit for you to ruff. Besides the ...
3
votes
2answers
534 views

Opening bids with no long suits

My partner and I play a strong NT and 5 card Majors. However, we're unsure how to open strong hands with no long suits. For example, how do we open a 4432 hand with 16-19 high card points or 20-22 ...
1
vote
2answers
81 views

Question on leading

In bridge, what is the priority in leading when partner bid spades, and contract is clubs, and I have ace and queen of spades. Does the rule "do not underlead an ace" here override the rule "lead with ...
10
votes
3answers
202 views

American Five Card majors - using Jacoby to respond to a 2NT opening bid

Playing Bridge last night my partner opened 2NT, showing 20-21 points. I had 11 HCP and a five card major. I used Jacoby Transfer, calling 3 hearts and my partner responded 3 spades (all OK so far) I ...
2
votes
3answers
449 views

In bridge, how much support do you need to raise a responder?

Suppose I bid one of a (short) minor. Partner responds one of a major (one-over-one), showing at least four cards in the suit. What do I need to raise his major to two? Some books say I need four ...
4
votes
1answer
187 views

How is bridge for beginners taught in Taiwan or Italy today, Precision or another method?

I play duplicate bridge, and have recently begun studying the Precision bidding system on my own. Precision was invented by C.C. Wei in the 1960's with Truscott's assistance, and was used with great ...
1
vote
2answers
72 views

In bridge, is there a way to determine when and where to “transfer control” to defeat a squeeze?

I am West, defending a no trump contract. (No bids by our side, no other bids than NT by the opponents.) We're down to the last few cards, and I have two suits, call them diamonds and clubs, like ...
7
votes
3answers
195 views

What general approach should be taken opening hands with 3=1=4=5 and 1=3=4=5 shape?

If my hand is not good enough to reverse, what should I do with a hand like Kxx x KJxx AQxxx That is, a minimum opener with a singleton major, 4 diamonds, and 5 clubs (assuming that I'm playing ...
3
votes
1answer
295 views

In bridge, how do you tell when to use holdup versus blocking plays?

You are the declarer at a 3NT contract (1NT, 3NT, no opposing bids). West leads what appears to be a five card suit, and you have Axx in dummy. Your main concern is that East can get the setting ...
1
vote
1answer
130 views

In rubber bridge, when should you “lead your partner's suit rather than your own?”

With equal vulnerability, opponents bid 1 club, 1 spade, 1NT, 3NT. I'm sitting West, opening from: (s) xxx (h) J8732 (d) T9x (c) xx. I don't fancy leading my ragged hearts suit with no side entry. ...
3
votes
4answers
415 views

I open 1C — Partner: 1D — I bid 1S — Partner bids 2NT - What 2NT means (System: Simple SAYC)

I open 1C -- Partner 1D -- I respond 1S -- Partner bids 2NT - What 2NT means, and how do I respond to it with this hand: Kxxx-Kx-xx-AQxxx? Note: since I'm studying simple sayc what concerns me is ...
8
votes
3answers
1k views

Online resources for learning/practicing bridge [duplicate]

Are there any good online resources to learn the game. By learn, I mean learn attain the knowledge that one would by buying/reading a good book. For example, are there any "puzzles" that are well ...
1
vote
2answers
96 views

Responder' rebid with unbalanced hand (system: Simple SAYC)

I have 1S-4H-4D-4C, 15 PTS. I open 1D -- Partner: 1S --> Now my options are: I can't bid 1NT (no nt distribution). I want to show that I have more than minimum (12-14 pts), so I don't want to bid ...
3
votes
2answers
359 views

Does one need to bid Stayman with a flat distribution?

This example is from a book. South opens 1NT (15-17) with: (s) AKx (h) JTxx (d) Kxx (c) Axx. North has (s) Qxx (h)Axxx (d) Axx (c) xxx and goes to 3NT. The author (George Coffin) says that North ...
1
vote
3answers
2k views

Opener's rebid of 2NT (system: Simple SAYC)

I opened with 1H - Partner bid 2C - (I have 5 hearts, 12 pts, 3spades 3diamonds 2clubs). I have to respond, but responding 2NT would mean I have 18 pts (my written source on this is: ...
4
votes
3answers
174 views

Are there many mandated “time outs” in tournament bridge?

In "Points, Schmoints," Marty Bergen related an instance in which he announced "skip bid," before "jumping" his partner's two diamond bid to the five level (instead of three). According to him, his ...
7
votes
3answers
230 views

Can one ask for a “time out” to study the hand in bridge?

"West" (the opening leader) has to lead before seeing the dummy. Both declarer (South) and partner (East) ought to study the dummy before playing. But often they do not. Suppose South wins the trick, ...
2
votes
3answers
417 views

Responding to a simple overcall (SAYC)

LHO opened with 1C – Partner overcalled with 1S – (I have 6 pts, 4 Spades) → Do I respond with 2S? P.S. rho pass. EDIT : what my gripe with this is, that according to textbooks, you respond to ...
5
votes
3answers
3k views

In Bridge, What's the Difference Between the Blackwood And Gerber Conventions?

I have an idea that both conventions are used to check for aces in slam bidding, and that one starts at four clubs and the other at 4NT. Beyond that, I'm confused. Why would a bidder use one over the ...
10
votes
7answers
2k views

Simplest bidding system for introduction into bridge

What is the best bidding system which can be used for teaching beginners (who never played bridge before)? I suspect that showing any complicated system, or asking to learn some long manual would ...
2
votes
1answer
164 views

Origin of Puppet Stayman

There are many variations, but I presume there was an initial original version of puppet stayman. Does anyone know who came up with it, and why it is named as such? (A google search has been ...
0
votes
1answer
112 views

Interpreting bidding by partners

RHO: 1C --> LHO: 1S --> RHO: 2D Does this mean 4-4 in clubs/diamonds, or 5-4 in clubs diamonds. Is it a reverse? (e.g.18+ pts?). Assuming opponents play SAYC.
-1
votes
1answer
213 views

Analyzing bidding sequence

My left opponent opened 1S - Right-side opponent responded 2H (I understood: 11+, 4+ card heart suit, shortness in spades) - L.O. responded 2S - R.O. responded 3D (has shortness of spades). R.O. : 4 ...
5
votes
5answers
515 views

What are some good introductory rules to bridge?

I've tried to learn how to play bridge before, but there are so many variations (even on the Wikipedia page) that it's hard to keep track of everything and pin down exactly one way of playing it that ...
-1
votes
3answers
1k views

Is A Good time Make a “Penalty” Double When Your Defensive Tricks Exceed Your “Allowance”?

Most contracts are predicated on the supposition that the defenders will win some tricks. If game can be made with "26 points and eight trumps," this leaves 14 points and five trumps to the defenders ...
1
vote
3answers
256 views

Which Experts Seem to Interchange Trumps and Points in Bridge Bidding?

Most bridge players know that you can make a major suit game with combined partnership holdings of 26 points and eight trumps. (Plus the absence of "bad breaks" in trumps, finesses, etc.). My ...
0
votes
3answers
1k views

What is the meaning of “count your losers” at no trump, and “count your winners” for a trump contract?

Are no trump bidders taught to "count your losers" because their 25-26 points represents enough material for nine tricks so that they should "play not to lose" (i.e. to prevent their opponents from ...
1
vote
1answer
93 views
1
vote
1answer
226 views

In bridge, what level of strength do different systems require to bid a short minor?

Most players will bid 1 spade with (s) AKJxx (h)Axxx (d)xx (c)xx. That is, 12 hcp and a five card major. If you "redistribute" the two spade spots, you get: (s) AKJ (h)Axxx (d)xxx (c)xxx. Many ...
0
votes
2answers
457 views

In bridge, does a declarer “need to” locate all 52 cards during the play of a trump contract?

This was recommended by author Terence Reese (and several members of the site). But I was taught differently, at least as declarer. That is, I was taught to count "trumps and honors." So, if you are ...
1
vote
3answers
552 views

What caused this world-class player' to respond inappropriately to her partner's transfer bids?

Zia Mahmood's Bridge column today relates an amusing tale of disaster at the World Championships. A player on the apparently very talented Netherlands ladies team, holding the following 6-3-2-2 hand: ...
3
votes
2answers
988 views

In bridge, what caused bidding “standards” to decline post Goren?

I was weaned on "Goren" in the 1960s, and as some readers of my other questions have pointed out, am not totally comfortable with "Standard American" or other newer standards. These may be some ...
1
vote
1answer
259 views

Is there a way to quantify the effects of luck versus skill in rubber bridge?

Duplicate bridge was created to "eliminate" the luck factor. That is partnerships are compared only against other partnerships playing the same cards. Rubber bridge is a different animal. Here, "luck ...
4
votes
3answers
398 views

In Bridge, What Are Some Defenses Against Squeezes?

My understanding is that squeezes are most likely to occur when one defender holds all the key cards in say, two different suits. And in most cases, they are what I call "secondary" cards (e.g. Kx, ...
10
votes
5answers
3k views

When will playing Rubber Bridge vs. Duplicate Bridge affect your decisions?

In Rubber Bridge, you are trying to get more points than your opponents. In Duplicate Bridge, you are trying to get more points than the other people playing the same hand later on do. For a while I ...
2
votes
2answers
519 views

Are there “established” systems where “Five Card Majors” isn't a strict rule?

In "Standard American," I must open a major with 65432 while refraining from opening a major with AKQJ. IMHO, there are five card majors that are too weak to be opened and there four card majors that ...
7
votes
4answers
697 views

How can I practice my opening leads in bridge?

After playing bridge for several months, I feel my declarer play and bidding have improved to a beginner-intermediate level. However, I think my skill at making an opening lead is that of a novice at ...
3
votes
2answers
167 views

Opener rebid priority

I'm playing/studying SAYC. So I know that game in major comes first then notrump then game in minors. When I open with 1 Club partner responds with 1 Spade -- I have 18PTS and 4 hearts and NT ...
4
votes
3answers
318 views

Bridge bidding - how do I decide whether or not to bid 1NT with weakness in a particular suit?

If I'm inclined to bid NT with 15-17 points, but am weak in one suit, how weak can I be, and still bid 1NT, as opposed to bidding 1 club, to find out if my partner can show strength e.g. a stopper in ...
9
votes
2answers
209 views

Question on ethics or rules

I would very much like to know the correct ethical procedure for the following play. Hearts are trump. West led a small club North played a small club East played a small spade I as South played a ...
4
votes
1answer
92 views

In bridge, are “sequences” more valuable than non-sequences of similar point count?

In backgammon, for instance, sequences of "points" are more valuable than the same number of points out of sequence. That is the 6-5, or 6-5-4 points, are more valuable than the 6-4, or 6-4-2 points ...