A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so. When asking questions on bidding or play, please specify scoring system (Rubber, Matchpoints, IMPS, ec.), Dealer, vulnerability for both sides, full ...

learn more… | top users | synonyms

1
vote
2answers
193 views

Does a light fourth seat opening work on the same principle as fourth seat “balancing?”

If dealer opens. second seat needs to be at least somewhat careful taking actions such as doubling or overcalling. That's because third seat may theoretically having "everything" (not held by first ...
1
vote
3answers
2k views

Opener's rebid of 2NT (system: Simple SAYC)

I opened with 1H - Partner bid 2C - (I have 5 hearts, 12 pts, 3spades 3diamonds 2clubs). I have to respond, but responding 2NT would mean I have 18 pts (my written source on this is: http://www.math....
1
vote
3answers
560 views

What caused this world-class player' to respond inappropriately to her partner's transfer bids?

Zia Mahmood's Bridge column today relates an amusing tale of disaster at the World Championships. A player on the apparently very talented Netherlands ladies team, holding the following 6-3-2-2 hand: ...
1
vote
3answers
258 views

Which Experts Seem to Interchange Trumps and Points in Bridge Bidding?

Most bridge players know that you can make a major suit game with combined partnership holdings of 26 points and eight trumps. (Plus the absence of "bad breaks" in trumps, finesses, etc.). My ...
1
vote
4answers
472 views

Why are bridge games seemingly documented only by the hands and bidding?

I was looking for an interesting sample hand in Bridge to sort of demonstrate a card game system that could be used for Bridge (a game I know exists, and thought I knew more-or-less the system of it, ...
1
vote
2answers
99 views

Responder' rebid with unbalanced hand (system: Simple SAYC)

I have 1S-4H-4D-4C, 15 PTS. I open 1D -- Partner: 1S --> Now my options are: I can't bid 1NT (no nt distribution). I want to show that I have more than minimum (12-14 pts), so I don't want to bid 2C,...
1
vote
3answers
195 views

Are there times to pre-empt with a “strong” six trumps in bridge?

Suppose you have something like AQJxxx of clubs (and no other values). If it were any other suit than clubs, I'd open with a with a "weak two" bid. But two clubs is the STRONG two bid. Meaning that ...
1
vote
3answers
152 views

Can one use alternate evaluation methods, e.g. “K&R” to defend actions that appear to violate your convention card?

I'm playing in a tournament, and I fill out a convention card that says I will open with 13 or more points. I pick up a certain 14 "worst" point hand (per Milton Work's 4-3-2-1 count) and decide to ...
1
vote
2answers
121 views

Should you overcall with a (slightly) weaker hand if it is more “disruptive?”

In bridge, if you overcall two clubs over an opening one spade, you haven't taken up much bidding space, because your overcall hasn't kept your opponents out of any suits, only one NT. If you ...
1
vote
2answers
74 views

In bridge, is there a way to determine when and where to “transfer control” to defeat a squeeze?

I am West, defending a no trump contract. (No bids by our side, no other bids than NT by the opponents.) We're down to the last few cards, and I have two suits, call them diamonds and clubs, like ...
1
vote
2answers
339 views

Does a Takeout Double Apply to a “Passed” Partner?

Using Standard American my left hand opponent bid one heart. Partner passed. Right hand opponent raised to two hearts. I was in the "balancing" (fourth) seat and held: (s) Axxx (h) x (d) KJxx (c) ...
1
vote
1answer
155 views

How high do transfer bids (to 1NT) go?

In today's bridge column, opener opened 1NT with (s)A94 (h)AQ97 (d)763 (c) AQJ. Responder had s)KT (h)KJT863 (d)K52 (c)86. At two different tables, both pairs got to 4H, but in different ways. At ...
1
vote
3answers
787 views

Bidding response to convenient minor bid

If responder to a convenient minor 1 bid has 5 points or less I have been told the correct bid is 1 notrump. Is a convenient minor 1 bid a demand bid?
1
vote
2answers
81 views

Question on leading

In bridge, what is the priority in leading when partner bid spades, and contract is clubs, and I have ace and queen of spades. Does the rule "do not underlead an ace" here override the rule "lead with ...
1
vote
2answers
308 views

What Are the Requirements for a “Jump” Bid Opposite a Takeout Double in Bridge?

My left hand opponent opened one diamond. Partner doubled. Right hand opponent passed. I was sitting in fourth seat with eight points, and something like (s) KJxxx (h) Jxx (d) xx (c) Kxx. I "jumped"...
1
vote
2answers
145 views

Was a bridge column “resulting” when it criticized an opening lead?

Both sides vulnerable, South dealt and bid one heart. West overcalled one spade, North three hearts, East three spades, South four hearts, East four spades, South five hearts. West held (s) KQJT8 (h)...
1
vote
1answer
66 views

Is the partner of a no trump opener also the team “captain” on defense?

If opener bids, say 1 NT, his partner becomes the team "captain" on further bidding because the NT opener has strictly limited both his point count and "shape" with such a bid. That is, partner can ...
1
vote
2answers
204 views

Website / software for playing bridge against computer, but partnering with a human

There seems to be a lot of websites offering games against computer AND with a computer partner. There is also plenty of portals where you can play with 3 other people. I am looking for something in ...
1
vote
2answers
381 views

Opening “best of minors”

"My wife and I play a version of best of minors that was questioned by a friend as "I never heard of such a thing." We open best of minors seeking a four card major, but by opening with one club we ...
1
vote
1answer
230 views

In bridge, what level of strength do different systems require to bid a short minor?

Most players will bid 1 spade with (s) AKJxx (h)Axxx (d)xx (c)xx. That is, 12 hcp and a five card major. If you "redistribute" the two spade spots, you get: (s) AKJ (h)Axxx (d)xxx (c)xxx. Many ...
1
vote
1answer
271 views

Is there a way to quantify the effects of luck versus skill in rubber bridge?

Duplicate bridge was created to "eliminate" the luck factor. That is partnerships are compared only against other partnerships playing the same cards. Rubber bridge is a different animal. Here, "luck ...
1
vote
1answer
146 views

“Dead Rubber” definitive etymology

What's the etymology of the phrase "dead rubber". Googling attributes it to some obscure bridge reference, but I don't seem to understand it.
1
vote
2answers
234 views

Are there hands that should be opened at the one level in first or second seat, and with a “weak two” opposite a passing partner?

I'm referring specifically to hands like (s)AKQJx (h) Jxx (d)xxx (c) xx or (s) AKQTx (h) Qxx (d) xxx (c)xx that are technically just under the usual requirements for a one bid, but nevertheless have ...
1
vote
2answers
231 views

What are good reasons to lead dummy's first bid suit?

The most obvious time is when partner has made a lead-directing double, showing strength, perhaps a tenace, in dummy's suit. But even when partner hasn't doubled, there may be other reasons. For ...
1
vote
1answer
184 views

Did a bridge column make errors in discussing a hand?

This is from yesterday's New York Post. North-South are playing at four spades. Vulnerable, they had bid 1 spade, 2 spades, 4 spades, no opposing bids. Here's the hand: North (s) AQ9 ...
1
vote
1answer
132 views

In rubber bridge, when should you “lead your partner's suit rather than your own?”

With equal vulnerability, opponents bid 1 club, 1 spade, 1NT, 3NT. I'm sitting West, opening from: (s) xxx (h) J8732 (d) T9x (c) xx. I don't fancy leading my ragged hearts suit with no side entry. ...
1
vote
1answer
40 views

Part game (leg) scoring in bridge

In either "party" or "rubber" bridge scoring, what is the value of a part score when you either stop playing or come to the end of a "party" round? Some people award 50 points for a part score, some ...
1
vote
1answer
95 views

What are the preconditions for a trump promotion in bridge?

My understanding is that there are two main conditions. The first is that the defense has a long suit with which they can set up a "ruffing finesse," usually against the declarer's trumps by leading ...
1
vote
2answers
468 views

Is responders suit change after 1NT rebid by opener forcing? (System: simplified SAYC)

Auction: 1C - 1H - 1NT - ? (opener has 3 hearts, 12 pts ; responder has 5 hearts, 13 pts) In case of responder having 13+ pts yet lacking NT distribution, how does partnership get to game with 13+13 ...
1
vote
1answer
411 views

In bridge, are there different implications of overcalling 1NT in different positions?

Suppose I had a hand like the following: (s) KJxx (h) xxx (d) AJx (c) AKx. If I were the opening bidder, I would, of course, bid 1NT. (Note to commenter below: In this paragraph, I was describing a "...
1
vote
1answer
94 views

Overcall of 3S over 1C opening, what does it show? (assuming bidding system SAYC)

I assumed it was 10+pts, and 7 Spade suit -- am I correct?
1
vote
1answer
723 views

What are rules for an overcall that have wide acceptance? [closed]

This question was inspired by this link, http://www.jazclass.aust.com/bridge/br14.htm which required a five card suit with two honors, at least one of them a queen or higher, for a one-level overcall. ...
1
vote
1answer
85 views

What is the most common Bridge Bidding system in the US?

What is the most common Bridge Bidding system in the U.S.?
0
votes
3answers
129 views

Opening bid in first seat

opening bid, I have: S: AKQ9873 H: AQ D: xx C: Qx Could I ever justify opening 4 spades? I have more than eight tricks in my own hand, with seven of them in spades. At the same time, I fear the ...
0
votes
2answers
96 views

Under what circumstances is a declare allowed to “pause” upon seeing the dummy?

My understanding is that this is allowed when a declarer has "technical" problems. So in a sense, the question is about what constitutes a legitimate technical problem. If the declarer wins the first ...
0
votes
3answers
1k views

What is the meaning of “count your losers” at no trump, and “count your winners” for a trump contract?

Are no trump bidders taught to "count your losers" because their 25-26 points represents enough material for nine tricks so that they should "play not to lose" (i.e. to prevent their opponents from ...
0
votes
2answers
329 views

Have recent changes in bidding priorities changed the value of finesses?

I was taught to "bid to make." That is, it would take 26 points to bid a game that was at least a 2 to 1 favorite to make. (I'd bid game with 24-25 only with "something extra" such as a solid five ...
0
votes
3answers
202 views

In bridge, should East consider “overtaking” his partner's lead if able?

One example is if West leads a Q (top of a sequence) against a NT contract, and East plays K from Kx to unblock. If allowed to hold the trick, East would lead back the x. My understanding is that ...
0
votes
1answer
140 views

Which way to capture a queen?

This is a problem from today's New York Post. You (South) are in a stretchy major suit contract with only 22 high card points. You have four top tricks outside the trump suit, and have just won a ...
0
votes
1answer
94 views

Is there a bid that is “forcing to four?”

The question arises from this example hand:. The whole hand is included for reference, although you get to see only your own cards when you bid. You are North with (s) AK4 (h) Q98 (d)976 (c) AT86. ...
0
votes
2answers
63 views

If you are fourth seat after a third seat raise, can you make a takeout double with “intermediate” values?

If first seat opens, and you are in the second seat, you need opening values in order to make a take out double (that is 13-14 hcps, maybe 12 with 4-4-4-1 or 5-4-4-0 distribution, while short in ...
0
votes
1answer
100 views

In bridge, does it make sense to “shade” one's bidding standards with a part score?

For instance, most players today bid five card majors, because that's (probably) the best way to get to a major suit game of ten tricks. But suppose my team has a part score of 40. That means that ...
0
votes
1answer
115 views

Interpreting bidding by partners

RHO: 1C --> LHO: 1S --> RHO: 2D Does this mean 4-4 in clubs/diamonds, or 5-4 in clubs diamonds. Is it a reverse? (e.g.18+ pts?). Assuming opponents play SAYC.
0
votes
2answers
54 views

Declarer play for a 4-4 trump fit

Is there any theory or advice in how best to plan declarer play in a 4-4 trump fit. In what situations do you draw trumps, in what situations do you not draw trumps and any other advice?
0
votes
1answer
119 views

Am I analyzing the following hand properly?

Vulnerable vs. not, N-S are in a 4S contract (South 1NT, North 4H, South 4S, all other bids passed). North's bid was a "transfer." QJ9832 JT4 A64 5 AKT7 A96 T72 AJ9 Frank Stewart reasonably ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

Forced Response to a Convenient Minor Open

My bridge club plays by a rule that an openng of a convenient minor requires a demand response by the partner unless intervening opponent does an overcall. Situaltion: 1. My partner opened with 1-...
0
votes
1answer
583 views

Bridge: Matchpoints vs IMPs: Different game?

There are at least two main types of tournament scoring: matchpoints (MPs) and IMPs. It is often said that these two are "different" games, claiming that the strategy you use is completely different. ...
0
votes
2answers
601 views

What to bid in this situation (xx-Kx-AQTxx-AQxx, 1D-1S-2C-2D…)? (System: Simple SAYC)

I open 1D -- Partner 1S -- I bid 2C (my holding was xx-Kx-AQTxx-AQxx) -- Partner bids 2D -- What do I bid, and why? (since I have to respond when partner keeps changing suit and no NT has been yet bid)...
-1
votes
3answers
1k views

Is A Good time Make a “Penalty” Double When Your Defensive Tricks Exceed Your “Allowance”?

Most contracts are predicated on the supposition that the defenders will win some tricks. If game can be made with "26 points and eight trumps," this leaves 14 points and five trumps to the defenders ...
-1
votes
1answer
121 views

Bridge bidding response after rho overcalls at 2 level and you have stoppers and 14 pts [closed]

My partner bids 1H. Opponent says 2D. I have stoppers in D and 14 points. What do I bid? Can I bid 2NT or must I make a suit bid?