A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

0
votes
1answer
73 views

“Dead Rubber” definitive etymology

What's the etymology of the phrase "dead rubber". Googling attributes it to some obscure bridge reference, but I don't seem to understand it.
2
votes
3answers
99 views

Is there a reasonable suit preference signal on this lead?

The contract is 3 NT, and the bidding has been a straightforward, 1NT, pass, 3NT, all pass. West leads the king of diamonds from AKTxx. The defenders have agreed that this means three honors, ...
10
votes
4answers
2k views

Bridge - Counting and Visualising

Been playing Bridge for a couple of years now. Have improved in bidding, strategy and other stuff. But one place where there is no improvement is counting and visualising. At best, I can keep track ...
2
votes
3answers
208 views

In bridge, do people go through cycles of under- and -over bidding?

In the board game Go, there are two basic styles, high and low. "High" is all the rage for about ten years, until people have forgotten how to play "low." Then "low" gets "rediscovered," and people ...
4
votes
8answers
2k views

How should hands that are EXTREMELY strong in one suit (10+ cards) be bid?

I'm a bit of a bridge noob, but I'm kind of puzzled about this. Say I have a hand that is ridiculously strong in one suit, say at least 10 cards with all 4 honors (I'll use spades for the example ...
2
votes
2answers
78 views

Leading from the wrong (nondummy) hand in bridge

While playing bridge you were supposed to lead from the dummy's hand, but you pulled a card from your hand by mistake. After putting it back in your hand, do you have to play the same suit when you ...
1
vote
3answers
73 views

Do you need more to “pre-empt” with a major, than a minor suit?

When I pre-empt at say, the three level, I am doing so with a "lopsided" hand that has relatively few points and is long in one suit (and short in two or three others). Under the circumstances, if the ...
2
votes
1answer
62 views

bridge penalties [duplicate]

I am with a group that has been playing bridge for a little over 2 years. We have one member who has, on occassion, layed her hand down towards the end and declared the rest of the tricks are hers. ...
7
votes
5answers
1k views

What can the dummy player do in Bridge?

We're learning to play Bridge from Gramma, who played the game a lot ~40 years ago but doesn't really remember the rules (or, at least, the reasons behind some rules and conventions). One of the ...
6
votes
3answers
163 views

New Bridge Partner and Etiquette

I joined a duplicate bridge group and was matched with a partner; we are doing pretty well when it comes to points. Question: My partner sometimes criticizes not only me but also opponents, ...
2
votes
4answers
111 views

Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?

Suppose partner bids one of a (five card) major. Normally you need three of the suit to raise. But expert Marty Bergen has opined that if your suit has four honors, you can bid it as if were one card ...
6
votes
3answers
166 views

Running an introductory bridge lesson

I've introduced bridge to a small group of coworkers at a few jobs now, and I still don't really know the right way to do it. I'm hoping to get some feedback/suggestions on my approach, so I'll just ...
5
votes
5answers
261 views

Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?

Partner opened with 3 spades (pre-empt). I passed with (s) xx (h) KQx (d) KQxx (c) AJxx. That's because I was expecting something like the following (with or without the side jacks): (s) KQxxxxx (h) ...
2
votes
2answers
155 views

In bridge, are the two “equal vulnerabilities” basically equal?

To me, "equal vulnerability" means both sides vulnerable or both not. In sacrificing against a major suit game, "down two" means -500 when vulnerable versus -300 when not. This compares against ...
4
votes
3answers
333 views

Why is this type of hesitation considered unethical?

In two previous questions, it was clearly agreed that hesitating before playing a singleton specifically, and hesitating during play as a bluff generally constitute "wrongful/unethical hesitation." As ...
1
vote
2answers
103 views

Are there hands that should be opened at the one level in first or second seat, and with a “weak two” opposite a passing partner?

I'm referring specifically to hands like (s)AKQJx (h) Jxx (d)xxx (c) xx or (s) AKQTx (h) Qxx (d) xxx (c)xx that are technically just under the usual requirements for a one bid, but nevertheless have ...
2
votes
2answers
99 views

What is a proper bidding sequence after a “weak 2” bid?

In the opening game of a rubber, I dealt and opened two diamonds (weak) with the following: (s) J3 (h) 54 (d) KJ7532 (c) A42. Partner responded two hearts. I passed with my two weak hearts, fearing a ...
2
votes
6answers
4k views

In Bridge, what are “proper” responses to a “strong” 2 club bid?

Bidding Standard American, and opening a "strong" two clubs (typically 22 HCPs and a six card suit), I like to hear responses of 2 diamonds (0-8 points, no more than game interest), or 2NT (9+ plus ...
1
vote
2answers
82 views

Should you overcall with a (slightly) weaker hand if it is more “disruptive?”

In bridge, if you overcall two clubs over an opening one spade, you haven't taken up much bidding space, because your overcall hasn't kept your opponents out of any suits, only one NT. If you ...
1
vote
3answers
89 views

Should I have made a takeout double in the situation?

With a part score of 60 to 0 (neither side vulnerable), I dealt and bid a "strong" 1NT with: (s) QT3 (h) KQJ8 (d) KJ93 (c) K5. "West," to my left, overcalled 2 clubs. Our respective partners passed ...
0
votes
1answer
106 views

Forced Response to a Convenient Minor Open

My bridge club plays by a rule that an openng of a convenient minor requires a demand response by the partner unless intervening opponent does an overcall. Situaltion: 1. My partner opened with ...
2
votes
3answers
71 views

Double after a pre-empt?

A bridge player opens with a pre-emptive bid of 3 or 4 of a suit and the opponent doubles. Is this bid assumed to be for take out?
3
votes
1answer
93 views

Bridge: Usage of the stop card

The STOP card in bridge is used in order to help all players keep their rights, as far as thinking is concerned. However I have some questions. When do we have to use the STOP card. Should STOP be ...
1
vote
2answers
172 views

If partner opens and I have 7 in a suit, do I go to game?

Partner deals and opens 1 club. I have 8 points and 7 diamonds. Opponent has passed. Should I say 3 diamonds to show 7 card suit?
1
vote
1answer
96 views

How high do transfer bids (to 1NT) go?

In today's bridge column, opener opened 1NT with (s)A94 (h)AQ97 (d)763 (c) AQJ. Responder had s)KT (h)KJT863 (d)K52 (c)86. At two different tables, both pairs got to 4H, but in different ways. At ...
1
vote
2answers
146 views

Opening “best of minors”

"My wife and I play a version of best of minors that was questioned by a friend as "I never heard of such a thing." We open best of minors seeking a four card major, but by opening with one club we ...
0
votes
3answers
155 views

In bridge, should East consider “overtaking” his partner's lead if able?

One example is if West leads a Q (top of a sequence) against a NT contract, and East plays K from Kx to unblock. If allowed to hold the trick, East would lead back the x. My understanding is that ...
2
votes
1answer
143 views

Are there times NOT to bid 1NT with 15 high card points and a balanced hand?

This refers to a strong (15-17) 1NT with hand shapes of 4-3-3-3, 4-4-3-2, or 5-3-3-2. With "flat" hand like (s) Kxx (h) Kxx (d) KJx (c) KQxx, I would refrain from bidding 1NT, after deducting one ...
4
votes
2answers
252 views

What constitutes “wrongful” hesitation in bridge?

The protagonist is West (W). Declarer leads a small card of a suit in which dummy, to W's left, has A8. West hesitates before playing in the following four situations: He has Kx (x<8). This ...
-1
votes
1answer
126 views

Bridge video lessons [closed]

Are there any good introductory bridge video lessons/courses?
2
votes
1answer
121 views

Has the value of a five-card suit in no trump contracts been demonstrated?

Going through old bridge books (by e.g., George Coffin), I was struck by the fact that some 3NT contracts made easily with "only" 24-25 and a good five card suit, while if both declarer and dummy had ...
7
votes
5answers
620 views

In bridge, how can you “see” (locate) most of 52 cards halfway into the play?

Author Terence Reese wrote that the difference between amateurs and professional was that the former could "see" (locate) only 26 cards, while professionals could "see" 52 before the hand was over. ...
1
vote
4answers
216 views

Why are bridge games seemingly documented only by the hands and bidding?

I was looking for an interesting sample hand in Bridge to sort of demonstrate a card game system that could be used for Bridge (a game I know exists, and thought I knew more-or-less the system of it, ...
0
votes
2answers
207 views

When might a Standard American bidder “bend” the five card major rule?

"Five card majors" is the foundation of the Standard American system. Yet rules are made to be broken under special circumstances. My understanding is that some bidders will adhere to "five card ...
5
votes
3answers
577 views

If partner opens one heart, what do I need to respond with one spade?

If my partner opens one heart, and I respond one spade, am I showing four or five spades?
2
votes
4answers
182 views

response with 4 cards in major and long (6+) minor

Partner opens 1 hearts. You hold 4 cards in spades, 6+ cards in diamonds and 2 singletons (a total of 8 hcp). What is the correct bidding? I assume 1 spades. But what do you bid, if Partner rebids 1 ...
3
votes
1answer
257 views

In Bridge, What is the Merit of Taking a “Double” Finesse?

Suppose I am declarer, and dummy has a "side" (non-trump) suit with AQx or AQxx, and I have xxx in my hand. I have been told NOT to finesse the Q (a 50-50 chance), except as a last resort, or late in ...
0
votes
1answer
211 views

Bridge: Matchpoints vs IMPs: Different game?

There are at least two main types of tournament scoring: matchpoints (MPs) and IMPs. It is often said that these two are "different" games, claiming that the strategy you use is completely different. ...
2
votes
1answer
93 views

Playing duplicate bridge against players from some event

I am organizing a Bridge club in my workplace and I want it to be Duplicate Bridge one, but currently sometimes we don't get 8 people to join the meeting (I hope, in the future the club will grow). ...
30
votes
9answers
2k views

Why is the strong 1NT so prevalent in Bridge?

Bridge is widely considered to be the queen of card games on both sides of the Atlantic. However, there's one huge difference between the way that (most) Americans and (most) Britons play. In ...
4
votes
2answers
244 views

Which bidding system is assumed by default at BBO?

Which bidding system is assumed by default at Bridge Base Online (for humans)? I asked in chat several times in different games (ten times I think) and nobody answered. Is it Bridge base basic? Or ...
3
votes
1answer
108 views

bridge club alert rules internationally

Are the rules for alerting bids broadly similar at clubs throughout the world, or do they differ? Are bidding boxes used internationally? (My most specific interest is whether clubs in Switzerland ...
3
votes
5answers
391 views

In Bridge, Do You Count Defensive Points In the Opponents' Suit When Making a Takeout Double?

Left hand opponent opened 1 heart. Partner doubled for takeout. Right hand opponent passed. I "had to" bid 2 clubs with something like (S) xxx (H) xx (D) Jxxx (C) Jxxx. We were doubled for penalties, ...
3
votes
3answers
618 views

Why Do Modern Players Use “Negative Doubles” In Bridge

Personally, I think that too many people overcall. Meaning that we need a penalty double for it in bridge. But the modern fashion seems to be for "negative doubles" over overcalls. These seem to mean, ...
3
votes
1answer
103 views

What Other Bidding Approaches Are There?

My parents taught me how to play bridge. They grew up in the 1970s when Precision Club was popular and they taught me how to play strong club. When I grew up, SAYC and 2/1 were beaten into me. Now, I ...
0
votes
1answer
76 views

In bridge, does it make sense to “shade” one's bidding standards with a part score?

For instance, most players today bid five card majors, because that's (probably) the best way to get to a major suit game of ten tricks. But suppose my team has a part score of 40. That means that ...
3
votes
2answers
149 views

What is the “pause” rule for dummy play in tournament bridge?

My understanding is that in a bridge tournament, that the declarer must pause for some time (X seconds) after the dummy goes down, in order to study it, before playing to the first trick. What is ...
1
vote
2answers
197 views

In bridge, should you be more careful with takeout doubles over one spade?

With a hand like (s) Axxx (h) KQxx (d) Kxxx (c) x, I would gladly make a takeout double over one club. That's because my partner would have a choice of three suits to bid at the one level. Change the ...
11
votes
3answers
3k views

Why is there a bonus for holding honors in bridge? Isn't having 4-5 of the highest trumps privileges enough?

After I read about honors in bridge, I quickly started wondering why they were added to the scoring system. Its obviously a privilege to be holding the cards required, so I can see why the scoring ...
3
votes
4answers
307 views

Question regarding strong 2c opening

Partner opened with 2C -- I responded with 2D (I have 2 pts)-- Partner responded with 3C. Is the rebid 3C by partner forcing me to bid (I don’t have enough clubs) or can I pass here? It's just that ...