A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so. When asking questions on bidding or play, please specify scoring system (Rubber, Matchpoints, IMPS, ec.), Dealer, vulnerability for both sides, full ...

learn more… | top users | synonyms

4
votes
4answers
147 views

Bridge and bidding

If I have an opening strength hand and my best suit is the same major as the opening opposition's suit bid, I don't think I can cue bid in this event. How can I tell my partner that we want to play in ...
1
vote
2answers
88 views

A opening bid of 1Club if followed by 1Diamond [closed]

A opening bid of 1 Club if followed by 1 Diamond in Bridge shows no majors and 6-7 point, is this correct?
0
votes
3answers
93 views

Should West read a low card as “not” discouraging in the following situation?

This is a link to the whole hand from a Frank Stewart column: E-W vulnerable, S bid 1 spade, raised to 2 spades by N. All pass. West opened with the king of hearts. Dummy, East and South played low ...
1
vote
1answer
117 views

What is the most common Bridge Bidding system in the US?

What is the most common Bridge Bidding system in the U.S.?
1
vote
2answers
117 views

Responder' rebid with unbalanced hand (system: Simple SAYC)

I have 1S-4H-4D-4C, 15 PTS. I open 1D -- Partner: 1S --> Now my options are: I can't bid 1NT (no nt distribution). I want to show that I have more than minimum (12-14 pts), so I don't want to bid 2C,...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

What Are The Key Features Of The “Fantunes” Bidding System?

Zia Mahmood's Bridge column for the Guardian newspaper today tells of two players with world titles to their names, Fulvio Fantoni and Claudio Nunes, who apparently have an intriguing bidding system: ...
6
votes
2answers
212 views

Do bridge champions retain their abilities to a later age than those of chess or go?

My understanding is that bridge champions can continue winning tournaments into their sixties, and even later in life. On the other hand, chess champions often seem to lose their crowns in their ...
6
votes
1answer
61 views

Acol Bridge card game

I am playing game in 4 hearts and get four. The opponents revoke on the 12th trick. If they had not revoked they would of taken us down one trick. Do we get our four hearts? I know a revoke does not ...
2
votes
2answers
74 views

Which of the Walsh bids are alertable?

Our local 'standardized' system suggests we play Walsh. I wanted to know which of the bids under the following sequences are alertable according to WBF alerting policies, given 1C promises 3 and 1D ...
2
votes
2answers
127 views

What adjustments do good bidders make for seven card fits?

I don't mind playing in a seven card fit with say, AKxx opposite Qxx. There is a danger that I'll lose control because of the shortness of the suit, but having three top tricks and a chance at a long ...
3
votes
1answer
80 views

5 card major/weak NT bidding systems

In the part of the UK where I live, a common set of conventions played at clubs and EBU tournaments is Acol based with 5 card majors, weak NT, weak jump overcalls/truscott (and often also Benji/...
3
votes
3answers
126 views

Bidding a high point Bridge hand

I'm south. I have: ♠️ A 10 5 ♥️ A ♦️ A K Q J 8 ♣️ A Q 10 8 East opened the bidding with 3♥️. What should I bid?
-1
votes
2answers
515 views

In bridge, does a declarer “need to” locate all 52 cards during the play of a trump contract?

This was recommended by author Terence Reese (and several members of the site). But I was taught differently, at least as declarer. That is, I was taught to count "trumps and honors." So, if you are ...
0
votes
2answers
362 views

Have recent changes in bidding priorities changed the value of finesses?

I was taught to "bid to make." That is, it would take 26 points to bid a game that was at least a 2 to 1 favorite to make. (I'd bid game with 24-25 only with "something extra" such as a solid five ...
10
votes
3answers
874 views

What is the Purpose of a “Ducking” Play In Bridge?

Sometimes I will have Axx in a key suit, opposite dummy's holdings of Kxxxx. In such situations, I was taught to make a "ducking" play by playing a low card from both sides, instead of playing an A or ...
-1
votes
1answer
124 views

Bridge bidding response after rho overcalls at 2 level and you have stoppers and 14 pts [closed]

My partner bids 1H. Opponent says 2D. I have stoppers in D and 14 points. What do I bid? Can I bid 2NT or must I make a suit bid?
3
votes
2answers
101 views

Rubber bridge and whether or not to duck [duplicate]

I understand the benefits of ducking especially when playing in NT. If I have Axx in hand and Jxx in dummy how do I decide whether or not to duck the first two tricks? Sometimes it is correct to duck ...
3
votes
2answers
90 views

when south makes a bid and west 'doubles', does this mean west could become the declarer?

this is a very beginner question, and perhaps elementary for this site, but here is a new player who has not actually played before. so my question is simply this; if south bids, say 2 spade, and west ...
4
votes
1answer
104 views

Looking at your the last card played

Is it legal for declarer to look at his/her last card played after the cards from that round are all face down?
3
votes
3answers
125 views

What are bidding sequences in which the responder is likely to be the “captain” of the partnership?

I can think of two: The first one is when the opener bids no trump. Then the responder knows that the opener has a "balanced" hand, and 15-17 high card points for 1NT, 20-21 for 2NT, etc. Another ...
4
votes
4answers
1k views

In bridge, what are the proper followups to a Jacoby transfer?

In bridge, over a 1 NT opening, a responder might bid 2D with five hearts asking the opener to "transfer" to 2H, or bid 2H with five spades, asking for a transfer to 2S. The idea is to try to find an ...
1
vote
1answer
46 views

Part game (leg) scoring in bridge

In either "party" or "rubber" bridge scoring, what is the value of a part score when you either stop playing or come to the end of a "party" round? Some people award 50 points for a part score, some ...
5
votes
1answer
87 views

Can a team-match VP score be negative?

I am not sure if here is a correct place for this kind of question. We had team-matches last weekend(total VP score being 20 for each match). In the first match our teammates in the other table were ...
0
votes
3answers
133 views

Opening bid in first seat

opening bid, I have: S: AKQ9873 H: AQ D: xx C: Qx Could I ever justify opening 4 spades? I have more than eight tricks in my own hand, with seven of them in spades. At the same time, I fear the ...
12
votes
3answers
3k views

Response to “convenient” minor bid

My partner opened 1 Club. I held: S: J732 H: - D: Axxxx C: QJxx She was upset that I bid two clubs rather than 1 Spade. I did not think the Spade suit was good enough to bid. What do you ...
4
votes
2answers
195 views

What is the best opening lead on this hand, and why?

Playing in Flight A-X of a sectional Open Pairs, both Vulnerable at MatchPoints in third seat you hold: (Flight A is 2000+ MPS; Flight X is 0 - 2000 MPS voluntarily playing up instead of at their own ...
5
votes
2answers
129 views

opening bidder bids the bid I want to make

What do I bid when the opening bidder bids my bid? e.g. bids 1NT and that is what I want to bid and I don't have a 5 card suit
0
votes
2answers
57 views

Declarer play for a 4-4 trump fit

Is there any theory or advice in how best to plan declarer play in a 4-4 trump fit. In what situations do you draw trumps, in what situations do you not draw trumps and any other advice?
5
votes
5answers
571 views

In Bridge, Do You Count Defensive Points In the Opponents' Suit When Making a Takeout Double?

Left hand opponent opened 1 heart. Partner doubled for takeout. Right hand opponent passed. I "had to" bid 2 clubs with something like (S) xxx (H) xx (D) Jxxx (C) Jxxx. We were doubled for penalties, ...
-1
votes
1answer
83 views

What's the best way to play the worst possible 4 hands in bridge [closed]

Everyone has 5-4-4 Every pair has a 5-0 match and two 4-4. Every 5 long colors is 10-A. How do you play this and what's the maximum you can achive?
5
votes
6answers
238 views

Bridge: Holding both 5 card majors which should I bid first in Jacoby transfers

In SAYC my partner bid 1 NT showing 15-17 HCP (no void, no singleton and only one doubleton). I was holding a hand of 10 HCP with 5S, 5H, 2D and 1C. Using Jacoby transfers should I have responded 2D ...
7
votes
2answers
171 views

How are new conventions established in Contract Bridge?

I was reading an article discussing the nature of cheating in Bridge, and started wondering: If all pre-arranged signals between partners are forbidden, then how do new bidding conventions come into ...
3
votes
3answers
154 views

Bridge: Is it a rule that you must announce the meaning of partners opening bid

Bridge Playing SAYC Is it a rule for partner to announce to the defenders what an opening bid (eg '1C minimum 3') means
4
votes
3answers
206 views

Take out double at first opportunity to double?

I dealt and passed - LH opponent passed, partner passed and RHO opened 1 Heart. Holding: ♠ K98 ♥ 109 ♦ A986 ♣KJ2     can I double as this is the first opportunity to do so?
3
votes
3answers
225 views

Double after a pre-empt?

A bridge player opens with a pre-emptive bid of 3 or 4 of a suit and the opponent doubles. Is this bid assumed to be for take out?
1
vote
1answer
98 views

What are the preconditions for a trump promotion in bridge?

My understanding is that there are two main conditions. The first is that the defense has a long suit with which they can set up a "ruffing finesse," usually against the declarer's trumps by leading ...
7
votes
2answers
711 views

In Bridge, Does It Make Sense to Pre-empt in Fourth Seat?

In one of my games, there were three passes. Fourth seat elected to "pre-empt," three hearts with something like the following: ♠xx ♥KQJxxxx ♦Jxx ♣x One of the opponents doubled (for penalties), ...
3
votes
3answers
123 views

Do most good pre-empters do so within “tight” point ranges?

I'll use "weak two" bids as a frame of reference. My understanding of a "weak two" bid is that it is usually made with six cards of a suit, and at least five high card points (hcps). If that's all, ...
3
votes
5answers
336 views

In bridge, does it make sense to “tighten” or 'loosen" up on bidding depending on vulnerability?

For instance, the minimum standard seems to be about 12 points to open with a five card suit, or 13 points with a four card minor. That makes sense with equal vulnerability (both vulnerable or both ...
1
vote
2answers
121 views

Does the “Rule of 15” suggest that you should pass with 13 points (and short spades) in fourth seat?

Only you vulnerable, you have a 13- high card point hand like the following: (s)x (h) AJxx (d) KJxx (c) KJxx. (No x is higher than a 7). Three passes have preceded you. The "Rule of 15" suggests ...
3
votes
4answers
203 views

Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?

Suppose partner bids one of a (five card) major. Normally you need three of the suit to raise. But expert Marty Bergen has opined that if your suit has four honors, you can bid it as if were one card ...
0
votes
1answer
126 views

Am I analyzing the following hand properly?

Vulnerable vs. not, N-S are in a 4S contract (South 1NT, North 4H, South 4S, all other bids passed). North's bid was a "transfer." QJ9832 JT4 A64 5 AKT7 A96 T72 AJ9 Frank Stewart reasonably ...
4
votes
2answers
163 views

Can you suspect false carding from the following situation?

You are playing this hand at 3NT having arrived there after you bid 1NT and North 3NT, East and West having passed throughout. Only you are vulnerable. (The hand is linked for reference; but you'd ...
1
vote
3answers
160 views

Can one use alternate evaluation methods, e.g. “K&R” to defend actions that appear to violate your convention card?

I'm playing in a tournament, and I fill out a convention card that says I will open with 13 or more points. I pick up a certain 14 "worst" point hand (per Milton Work's 4-3-2-1 count) and decide to ...
0
votes
2answers
100 views

Under what circumstances is a declare allowed to “pause” upon seeing the dummy?

My understanding is that this is allowed when a declarer has "technical" problems. So in a sense, the question is about what constitutes a legitimate technical problem. If the declarer wins the first ...
3
votes
1answer
90 views

Should “100 or 150 honors” allow you to open light?

By "light," mean with something like (s) AKQJx (h)Jxx (d)xxx (c)xx, or (s) KQJTx (h)Jxx (d)Axx (c)xx, or even (s) AKQJT (h)xxx (d)xxx (c)xx? I can think of two reasons. 1) I was taught that three or ...
0
votes
1answer
99 views

Is there a bid that is “forcing to four?”

The question arises from this example hand:. The whole hand is included for reference, although you get to see only your own cards when you bid. You are North with (s) AK4 (h) Q98 (d)976 (c) AT86. ...
0
votes
2answers
68 views

If you are fourth seat after a third seat raise, can you make a takeout double with “intermediate” values?

If first seat opens, and you are in the second seat, you need opening values in order to make a take out double (that is 13-14 hcps, maybe 12 with 4-4-4-1 or 5-4-4-0 distribution, while short in ...
5
votes
3answers
271 views

Teamwork in bridge

I am new to contract bridge, and wish to understand how it is a team game. I am playing at a low level, but it seems that it is more like two individuals that are playing for the same side, rather ...
5
votes
2answers
440 views

What constitutes “wrongful” hesitation in bridge?

The protagonist is West (W). Declarer leads a small card of a suit in which dummy, to W's left, has A8. West hesitates before playing in the following four situations: He has Kx (x<8). This ...