Dominion (2-4 players, 30-minutes) is a card game where players start with small identical decks. They then transform their deck into victory-point producing machines as efficiently as possible by buying more cards. Each game, 10 kingdom cards (most commonly actions, but sometimes extra treasure and ...

learn more… | top users | synonyms

1
vote
2answers
97 views

When to discard with Oasis

When do you discard? Immediately after drawing, and before playing more actions? Or can you start/continue a chain of actions, which might include drawing more cards, and then discard after? I ...
12
votes
1answer
240 views

Are there other sources of suggested sets?

I have all the Dominion sets and really prefer to play the suggested sets of kingdom cards that come with the rules. I find that these sets often are thought out really well and have several ...
4
votes
2answers
467 views

Dominion remodel card -can I trash a card already played?

Can you trash a card that you have already played, when remodelling? E.g. I play a village, then a Worksop, then Remodel - trashing the Workshop I just played? It says from your hand, but am unclear ...
2
votes
3answers
121 views

Do you replace tokens moved to the Trade Route mat?

With Trade Route in play, do you replace the coins on the victory cards after the first card is purchased? Example: I buy a Duchy and move the coin to the Trade Route mat. Do I put another coin ...
11
votes
2answers
251 views

Can Band of Misfits be played as a reaction card?

Band of Misfits is an imitation action card from Dark Ages expansion: Suppose there are also reaction cards in the Supply, such as Moat or Beggar: For simplicity, I will refer to the player who ...
2
votes
1answer
280 views

How does Swindler interact with Spoils (or other cards not in supply)?

The Swindler card says: Each other player trashes top card of his deck and gains a card with the same cost that you choose. We've encountered a situation when Swindler stumbled upon Spoils card, ...
6
votes
1answer
440 views

What happens if you ambassador a hovel?

In Dominion, what happens when you Ambassador (Seaside) a Hovel (Dark Ages)?
6
votes
2answers
284 views

Dominion Last Province

When the last province is acquired can the person finish their turn or is the game immediately over? It seems like the rules dictate that a player may always finish their turn.
5
votes
2answers
306 views

What to do with an early $8 hand?

What should I do with an $8 hand that appears in Turns 3 through 6, in a game that only goes up to Provinces? Consider 4-player games primarily, but if games with other numbers of players ...
3
votes
2answers
291 views

Trashing Market Square and another card at the same time

I use a card that allows me to trash 2 cards from my hand (like Chapel). I trash Market Square and another card. Are the cards trashed simultaneously or sequentially? Does either possibility allow ...
7
votes
3answers
461 views

Dominion: Doctor + Rats

I play Doctor and name Rats. I reveal the top 3 cards and find 1 Rats, so I trash it. Which happens first: re-ordering the other cards, or drawing my card from trashing Rats? And if the draw ...
6
votes
1answer
298 views

Is a card that was played and immediately trashed “in play”?

For the purposes of Walled Village, is a card that was played and immediately trashed considered "in play"? For example, if I play Mining Village, trashing it for the +2 coin, then play Walled ...
7
votes
1answer
165 views

Dominion Herald's card is not an action, then what?

After you look at the top card to see if it's an action, and seeing that it is NOT an action, do you discard it or put it back? Surprisingly this is never clarified in the Guilds rule book or on the ...
5
votes
1answer
117 views

Can the Herald put itself on top of your draw deck?

Herald from Dominion Guilds says that you can over pay for it and if you do, you may put X Action cards from your discard on top of your deck, where X is the amount you overpaid. Can you place Herald ...
2
votes
1answer
124 views

Cornucopia: Can Horn of Plenty be used together with normal treasure cards?

I recently bought Dominion: Cornucopia and we played our first game yesterday. Something that confused me was the Horn of Plenty card which has a treasure value equal to the number of different card ...
1
vote
0answers
59 views

What do I use the curse and coin randomizer cards for? [duplicate]

I have the big box Dominion which includes Prosperity and Alchemy. It came with randomizer (purple-backed distinct) cards for curses and coins. What are these used for? I understand the Kingdom ...
4
votes
3answers
215 views

Good counter to Possession in Dominon: Alchemy

It seems like Possession in Dominion: Alchemy is one of those cards that only very experienced players really know how to counter. Heck, I tend to see myself as an experienced Dominion player and I ...
0
votes
3answers
942 views

Recommendations for a wife who likes dominion [closed]

My wife and I really enjoy playing board games IF we can find the right game. Seems to be that there is a love it or hate it reaction from my wife (I'm pretty game for anything). My wife likes the ...
7
votes
2answers
473 views

When playing Remodel in Dominion, must you gain a new card?

In Dominion, do the rules permit you to use the Remodel card to trash a card without gaining a new one? For instance, could I just Remodel a Curse without taking an Estate (or other card costing up ...
6
votes
2answers
280 views

Good counter to Minion in Dominion: Intrigue

I recently lost a game of Dominion where my opponent spammed Minion repeatedly. During this he racked up tons of coin while forcing me to discard my hand once per turn. I cannot remember the other ...
0
votes
0answers
62 views

What's the best Dominion expansion for beating big money-style strategies? [duplicate]

I'm a decently experienced Dominion player (I have the Base set, Intrigue, Seaside, Prosperity and Hinterlands is on it's way) and I'm wondering what would be a good next expansion for beating ...
2
votes
2answers
152 views

What is the best strategy for Coppersmith in Dominion? [duplicate]

I tend to think of the Coppersmith card in Dominion: Intrigue as pretty much a dud of a card. Anybody have any useful tips as to how to play this card properly?
6
votes
3answers
333 views

Phantom Province Houserule

The gaming group that introduced me to Dominion plays with a houserule known as Phantom Provinces, explained as such: After the normal condition for ending the game is reached (including running ...
4
votes
2answers
140 views

Is the Forager's coin bonus counted during Action Phase or Buy Phase?

Is the Forager's coin bonus counted during Action Phase or Buy Phase? I am curious as to whether the Forager's "+ 1 Coin per differently named Treasure in the trash" is counted at the time Forager is ...
-1
votes
1answer
2k views

Best game for two couples, median age 20? [closed]

I'm looking for some nonstandard board games that don't take more than two hours to complete and don't take less than thirty minutes. By nonstandard I mean other than monopoly, risk and cluedo. I've ...
2
votes
2answers
279 views

When are additional Dominion actions chosen? [duplicate]

At what point do you need to decide which additional actions to choose? To make this question explicit, suppose I play the Village (+1 card; +2 actions). Do I need to decide which two actions I will ...
6
votes
4answers
230 views

When Governor and Alchemy cards are in same game, how does gaining a card for trashed card work?

In Alchemy, the rules for what kinds of cards can replace a trashed card are governed by the following, somewhat ambiguous wording: Adding coins to a cost doesn't affect [potion] being in the cost ...
9
votes
3answers
558 views

Do all Reaction cards completely block all Attack cards?

I'm about to start a Dominion-day and need a question answered. Do ALL reaction cards completely block all attack cards? i.e. does Tunnel block Witch?
5
votes
5answers
2k views

Which Dominion Expansion Should we Buy for Passive Play?

We love Dominion, and it's about time we buy an expansion, but there are so many! My wife and I like to play less directly competitive setups, focusing on cards like Woodcutter, Village, Mine and so ...
7
votes
1answer
259 views

Can Spoils be trashed by Counterfeit?

I'm looking for an authoritative answer here. Where does the Spoils card end up after being played twice by Counterfeit? In fact, can Spoils be trashed at all? My understanding is that yes it can ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

What are all the promo cards available for Dominion?

What are all the promo cards available for Dominion? I found Black Market, Envoy, Walled Village, Governor, and Stash on the Board Game Geek Store. Are there more? Some of the promo cards are out ...
7
votes
3answers
261 views

How are Swindler's effects resolved in a multiplayer game?

I play Swindler in a 3-player game. Does each player reveal, trash, and gain in turn order, or all reveal, then trash and gain in turn order? I was thinking that it would matter in the following ...
10
votes
2answers
415 views

Reaction cards in response to reaction cards

Consider this complicated scenario: I'm about to gain a card (Current event reacting to: "would gain a card"), so I reveal Trader. I gain a silver instead. Then, I reveal Watchtower (Current event ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Are weighted games in Goko Dominion adventures winnable by sheer strategy?

I'm playing through the adventure mode in Goko's online Dominion game, and I've reached the point (in the Intrigue adventure) where the game starts being weighted very heavily against me. For example, ...
5
votes
3answers
425 views

How can I minimize Black Market set up and clean up time?

The Black Market (promotional) card requires considerable set up time. From description: Before the game, make a Black Market deck out of one copy of each Kingdom card not in the supply. ...
5
votes
3answers
280 views

Is a card set aside with an Island considered “In Play”?

For example, can I set aside my Lighthouse on an Island to protect myself from attacks throughout the game? My opinion is that Yes, cards set aside using Islands are still 'In Play', as this makes ...
5
votes
1answer
244 views

Ironworks and Great Hall combo

Just a quick question to be sure we are playing the right way. Is getting a Great Hall by playing Ironworks let you draw a card and play another action since the Great Hall is both an action card and ...
14
votes
1answer
569 views

Can you use Throne Room to Mine a Copper to a Gold?

One of the most frequent barely-civil discussions in my group is what is possible when you use Throne Room (repeat an action card), in conjunction with Mine (trash a treasure to gain a treasure with ...
10
votes
1answer
300 views

What is the purpose of having randomizer cards for the non-kingdom cards?

I understand having randomizers for the kingdom cards because that's how you randomly choose them, but I find it odd that there is a randomizer for every card including the basic Curses, Coins and ...
6
votes
3answers
454 views

+Cards, do you have to draw right away?

How do the +cards work in Dominion? Do you have to draw the card immediately or can you wait? For example, let's take the Spy cards where it says +1 cards, and then all players must reveal the top ...
4
votes
2answers
204 views

Processioning a Madman

We had an interesting scenario. I processioned a Madman, which we thought would give me +4 actions and +6 cards (I had three in my hand, so draw three twice). Was that the correct play when using ...
4
votes
2answers
264 views

Procession and Throne room interaction

What happens when I play Procession and use Throne Room as an action card affected by Procession? Let me give you an example. I have a hand of: Procession Throne room Bridge Village Silver I play ...
10
votes
3answers
2k views

How to use Chapel card to its fullest potential?

I've seen mentioned over and over that Chapel is a phenomenal card. But I have not seen detailed instructions as to how best to use it. As a relatively new Dominion player (<30 games, ~5 with ...
2
votes
1answer
194 views

Prosperity - Cornucopia card set

Normally the game rule book provides balanced setup to play with different extensions. We just bought Cornucopia, but the French rule book did not provided a setup to play with Prosperity. We would ...
14
votes
2answers
242 views

How do you determine which Dominion sets to play with?

I'm well aware of the randomizers available for Dominion, but how do you determine which sets to include in a randomizer? For example, I own Base, Intrigue, Seaside, Prosperity & Dark Ages. ...
9
votes
3answers
352 views

Is it better to pick up a Chapel or Steward?

Consider a game where both Chapel and Steward are present. If the copper split is 4/3, is it better to pick up a Chapel or a Steward? Can you think of any situations where you'd pick up Steward if ...
7
votes
2answers
196 views

Is Lookout usually a good pick with a Big Money strategy?

According to the Dominion Strategy wiki, Lookout doesn't go well with a Big Money strategy. Do you agree? To clarify: I mean Big Money in a broad sense. So picking up at most a couple of cards, then ...
8
votes
3answers
369 views

Should I buy Gold or Hoard?

Hoard is a treasure worth 2 that also reads: While this is in play, when you buy a Victory card, gain a Gold. It costs the same as a Gold (i.e. 6) and while it's not immediately worth as much as ...
11
votes
2answers
742 views

Do you need spare actions available to play Throne Room?

The rule book explains Throne Room's effect as follows: You pick another Action card in your hand, play it, and play it again. The second use of the Action card doesn't use up any extra Actions ...
7
votes
2answers
176 views

What should I consider when selecting a Prize to take with my Tournament?

Straight forward really: What are the strengths and weaknesses of each Prize? What play styles do they complement well? Also, apart from the obvious (late in the game), when should I take a Duchy ...