Dominion (2-4 players, 30-minutes) is a card game where players start with small identical decks. They then transform their deck into victory-point producing machines as efficiently as possible by buying more cards. Each game, 10 kingdom cards (most commonly actions, but sometimes extra treasure and ...

learn more… | top users | synonyms

12
votes
6answers
521 views

Dominion - Using Stash

How do you use this card strategically? Since you don't know where any other cards are in your deck, how do you choose where to put this one? Are there other cards this combines well with?
12
votes
5answers
709 views

If I have 8+ coins and no Gold, should I buy a Gold or a Province?

When playing Dominion, I have developed the habit of buying a Gold the first time I can afford one, even if I could afford a Province instead. Is this a good rule of thumb? My reasoning is that if I ...
12
votes
2answers
349 views

Can Band of Misfits be played as a reaction card?

Band of Misfits is an imitation action card from Dark Ages expansion: Suppose there are also reaction cards in the Supply, such as Moat or Beggar: For simplicity, I will refer to the player who ...
12
votes
3answers
1k views

Good set of cards for teaching beginners

We have 1 or 2 new people who are interested in joining our lunch Dominion games where I work. We'd like to teach them about the various rules unique to each of these sets: Base, Intrigue, Seaside, ...
12
votes
3answers
1k views

What is a quick way to test or simulate card strategies for deck building games?

Dominion is the specific example I would like to play with but this certainly applies to any game that involves decks of cards being shuffled and drawn. I often see references to various simulations ...
12
votes
2answers
942 views

Do you need spare actions available to play Throne Room?

The rule book explains Throne Room's effect as follows: You pick another Action card in your hand, play it, and play it again. The second use of the Action card doesn't use up any extra Actions ...
12
votes
3answers
1k views

Dominion and card protectors

I am considering getting card protectors for my dominion game. I am wondering if anyone has tried this. Do the cards still fit back into their slots in the box? The ones i was thinking about were ...
12
votes
4answers
886 views

Trashing Estates in Dominion

How vital is it to trash Estates in the early rounds of a Dominion game, given that there is an action card available to trash Estates?
12
votes
1answer
748 views

How does Mining Village's extra effect work in Dominion?

Mining Village has the option to trash it immediately and gain 2 coins. What exactly is meant by immediately? In other words, if I play a Mining Village what can I do before I must choose whether to ...
11
votes
3answers
888 views

Correct/Recommended use of Masquerade in Dominion: Intrigue

According to the rulebook, when using Masquerade, the cards passed between players must remain invisible until each player chooses the card to pass and places it down. I've always assumed it means ...
11
votes
4answers
4k views

What are the blue-backed cards in Dominion for?

There is a set of one of each card, but with blue inner border on their backs instead of beige. What are they for?
11
votes
4answers
1k views

How are + Action cards used in Dominion?

We were confused by the + action cards. It says you have to start at the top of the card and work your way down. so when do you play a second action card and are you allowed to play another action ...
11
votes
4answers
13k views

Is there a strategy for consistent winning in the base dominion game with the base setup?

I've just started playing dominion a little while ago, so I'm pretty new. I get the basic tactics (big money, deck thinning, don't buy copper, etc.) and I do ok when the kingdom cards vary. However, ...
11
votes
3answers
707 views

Possession and Masquerade - are these too powerful in 2 player games?

Just encountered this yesterday. Player A plays Possession Then, it's player B turn (with player A deciding), and there's a Masquerade in the hand. Player A decides to play the Masquerade, Player A ...
11
votes
2answers
478 views

Reaction cards in response to reaction cards

Consider this complicated scenario: I'm about to gain a card (Current event reacting to: "would gain a card"), so I reveal Trader. I gain a silver instead. Then, I reveal Watchtower (Current event ...
11
votes
3answers
353 views

Can you shuffle your discard pile?

Is there any rule or reason why you can't shuffle your discard pile during moments of downtime, in order to get a better shuffle once your deck is fully depleted? My understanding is that the discard ...
11
votes
1answer
615 views

How does Conspirator work with Throne Room / King's Court?

If, for example, my turn starts by playing a King's Court and choosing Conspirator, how many cards will I draw?
11
votes
1answer
319 views

What is the purpose of having randomizer cards for the non-kingdom cards?

I understand having randomizers for the kingdom cards because that's how you randomly choose them, but I find it odd that there is a randomizer for every card including the basic Curses, Coins and ...
11
votes
2answers
591 views

Watchtower when someone uses a Masquerade

As a reaction card, Watchtower can be revealed whenever you gain a card. Does this apply to the card you receive from other players during a Masquerade?
10
votes
3answers
712 views

Do all Reaction cards completely block all Attack cards?

I'm about to start a Dominion-day and need a question answered. Do ALL reaction cards completely block all attack cards? i.e. does Tunnel block Witch?
10
votes
1answer
415 views

In Dominion, when it says reveal a card, who must I reveal it to?

The text of Bureaucrat reads: Gain a Silver card, put it on top of your deck. Each other player reveals a Victory card and puts it on top of his deck. (or reveals a hand with no Victory cards). ...
10
votes
3answers
372 views

Is it better to pick up a Chapel or Steward?

Consider a game where both Chapel and Steward are present. If the copper split is 4/3, is it better to pick up a Chapel or a Steward? Can you think of any situations where you'd pick up Steward if ...
10
votes
2answers
937 views

Dominion rule clarification: Repeater actions + choice actions

When using a "repeating" action, such as Throne room, with a "choice" action, such as Pawn or Nobles, can you make a different choice on each repeated action? For example, Throne Room states: ...
10
votes
2answers
490 views

Transitioning to Dominion late-game

At what point in a Dominion game should a player stop buying middle value cards (e.g., Silver or other cards more suited to mid-game play than Province/Colony-buying sprees)?
10
votes
3answers
638 views

When is the woodcutter worth buying in Dominion?

So far I've found every card in Dominion has its own niche, but the woodcutter's seems to be exceptionally small. I only buy 1 or 2 if its the only card that gives +buys, otherwise a silver is better ...
10
votes
1answer
383 views

Using Saboteur after Bridge in Dominion

In Dominion I play a combo: Any card which gives me an additional 2 actions, then Bridge folloewed by Saboteur. Bridge makes any card in my hand cheaper (i.e. cost $1 less) and cards in other ...
10
votes
1answer
743 views

Discard pile and shuffling question

Say I have a hand like follows: Estate, Upgrade, Upgrade, Estate, Copper. 1 card in Draw pile. I play Upgrade (+1 card, +1 action) -> Draw the last card from my Draw pile -> Trash Estate from my hand ...
10
votes
1answer
384 views

Trader vs Torturer, where does the Silver go?

My opponent plays a Torturer. I have a Trader in hand. I choose to gain a Curse and then reveal the Trader and gain a Silver instead. Does the Silver go to my hand like the Curse would have?
10
votes
1answer
539 views

Why does Online Dominion allow you to reveal reaction cards multiple times?

In the FAQ for Isotropic's online Dominion game, the creator states: No, you really can reveal a reaction card like Moat or Secret Chamber multiple times. They are designed to be idempotent so ...
9
votes
7answers
1k views

Proper use of Dominion card Upgrade

In what situations is Upgrade (Intrigue) useful? I have never seen anyone buy Upgrade in the games I've played where it was available. Whenever I play with Upgrade and Swindler, I always give Upgrade ...
9
votes
5answers
385 views

Using the Baron

Last night I finished my first ever game of Dominion: Intrigue, and I'm feeling conflicted about my evaluation of some of the cards on the board. In particular, I cannot decide of the Baron is junk or ...
9
votes
3answers
411 views

Should I buy Gold or Hoard?

Hoard is a treasure worth 2 that also reads: While this is in play, when you buy a Victory card, gain a Gold. It costs the same as a Gold (i.e. 6) and while it's not immediately worth as much as ...
9
votes
2answers
301 views

Can you use Trader to gain a Silver instead of a Farmland, but still get the buy side-effects of Farmland?

Can I buy a Farmland, trashing a card from my hand and gaining one costing up to 2 more, but then reveal Trader, and gain a Silver instead of the Farmland? I always think of the "buy" operation as ...
9
votes
2answers
407 views

Dominion: How to Deal With a Board Filled With Terminal Actions

My hardest games are where the board is filled with terminal actions. When you have a board where 10 out of 10 actions are terminal actions, some of which are attack cards, or there is one card that ...
9
votes
6answers
580 views

When should I take a curse in response to Torturer?

In Dominion, when someone plays a Torturer, I almost invariably choose to discard rather than take a curse. The exceptions are if I have a trasher (Chapel, Steward, Upgrade, etc.) that I have the ...
9
votes
1answer
653 views

Can you buy with a copper after buying Grand Market?

If you buy the Grand Market in your turn, can you then use spare copper to buy something else? Or does doing so forbid you from having bought the Grand Market?
8
votes
2answers
638 views

When playing Remodel in Dominion, must you gain a new card?

In Dominion, do the rules permit you to use the Remodel card to trash a card without gaining a new one? For instance, could I just Remodel a Curse without taking an Estate (or other card costing up ...
8
votes
2answers
437 views

What does Masquerade do when you have no cards in hand, library or discard?

If you play the card Masquerade, and you have zero cards in hand, library and discard, what happens? I assume the person to your left will still have to pass a card along. Do you have to pass a card ...
8
votes
3answers
288 views

Dominion Money Purchasing When Actions Lacking

When the action cards on board are lacking in gaining money additions, what's your strategy in purchasing money vs action cards in the early rounds? More money, or look for actions that drill through ...
8
votes
2answers
425 views

When should I buy a Possession in Dominion?

Possession is easily one of the most controversial and game-changing cards in Dominion, and I've often heard it described with disgust by many players. Most Dominion cards require you to take ...
7
votes
6answers
1k views

Are the Goons un-fun?

At my weekly boardgames night earlier this evening I was roped into an all-expansions, 6-player game of Dominion. A girl on the sidelines piped up: "You should take out the Goons card. It takes all ...
7
votes
3answers
522 views

+Cards, do you have to draw right away?

How do the +cards work in Dominion? Do you have to draw the card immediately or can you wait? For example, let's take the Spy cards where it says +1 cards, and then all players must reveal the top ...
7
votes
4answers
2k views

How can I make Dominion play better with 5+ players?

I just got Intrigue, and it seems cool that it opens up the game to 5 or 6 players. However, the common consensus seems to be that its possible, but not recommended. Is there anything I can do to make ...
7
votes
3answers
493 views

Dominion: Doctor + Rats

I play Doctor and name Rats. I reveal the top 3 cards and find 1 Rats, so I trash it. Which happens first: re-ordering the other cards, or drawing my card from trashing Rats? And if the draw ...
7
votes
1answer
284 views

Can Spoils be trashed by Counterfeit?

I'm looking for an authoritative answer here. Where does the Spoils card end up after being played twice by Counterfeit? In fact, can Spoils be trashed at all? My understanding is that yes it can ...
7
votes
3answers
286 views

How are Swindler's effects resolved in a multiplayer game?

I play Swindler in a 3-player game. Does each player reveal, trash, and gain in turn order, or all reveal, then trash and gain in turn order? I was thinking that it would matter in the following ...
7
votes
2answers
284 views

Is it possible to combo Spy and Wishing Well?

From the entry for Wishing Well on Dominion Strategy, I quote: Cards that you view with Spy get drawn by the Wishing Well instead of being wished for. The cards in question are these: But as ...
7
votes
4answers
360 views

If I put a copper and add 4 more random cards into my hand from my starting deck, does it change the odds of getting the 5:2 split?

I was thinking about a situation where someone accidentally reveals a copper from their starting hand while shuffling their deck or discovers that they only have 9 cards in their starting deck (and ...
7
votes
1answer
801 views

In Dominion Intrigue does Bridge Stack with Itself

If I play the card "Bridge" twice, which says to reduce the cost of items by 1 (minimum of 0), does this reduce the cost of all items by 2?
7
votes
1answer
471 views

What happens if you ambassador a hovel?

In Dominion, what happens when you Ambassador (Seaside) a Hovel (Dark Ages)?