Dominion (2-4 players, 30-minutes) is a card game where players start with small identical decks. They then transform their deck into victory-point producing machines as efficiently as possible by buying more cards. Each game, 10 kingdom cards (most commonly actions, but sometimes extra treasure and ...

learn more… | top users | synonyms

13
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a Curse card count as a Victory card when playing the Bureaucrat?

If I play a Bureaucrat and my opponent reveals a hand with a Curse card, does that Curse card go back on top of his/her deck? Or does it not count as a "Victory card"?
13
votes
5answers
25k views

Is there a strategy for consistent winning in the base dominion game with the base setup?

I've just started playing dominion a little while ago, so I'm pretty new. I get the basic tactics (big money, deck thinning, don't buy copper, etc.) and I do ok when the kingdom cards vary. However, ...
13
votes
7answers
492 views

Maxing out your buys in early Dominion

How important is it to always buy the most expensive thing that you can with your first buys in Dominion? I appreciate that in the later stages of the game you often have more money than you can ...
13
votes
4answers
6k views

What are the blue-backed cards in Dominion for?

There is a set of one of each card, but with blue inner border on their backs instead of beige. What are they for?
13
votes
5answers
5k views

Evaluating a Dominion Kingdom set

How do you analyze a Dominion Kingdom set to determine what your strategy is going to be for the game? In other words, are you looking for specific cards? for abilities (e.g., trashing cards or ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Do you need spare actions available to play Throne Room?

The rule book explains Throne Room's effect as follows: You pick another Action card in your hand, play it, and play it again. The second use of the Action card doesn't use up any extra Actions ...
13
votes
4answers
998 views

Dominion - Defeating the Alchemist

I have a friend who loves this card. I know that every time it's on the table, he will load up on them, and chain long turns that take ages. It's even more powerful when Scout and/or Apothecary ...
13
votes
2answers
590 views

If an Outpost is played during a Possessed hand, is the Outpost hand played next?

As pointed out in a previous question's answer, you may be forced to play an Outpost or Possession while you are possessing someone else's hand, despite the deck's owner getting to play the ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

If Possession is played while executing another Possession, who takes the next turn?

In Dominion: Alchemy, you can play Possession to "possess" the player to your left and effectively take over his next turn. What happens if he has a Possession in his hand, and you play it during ...
12
votes
6answers
541 views

Dominion - Using Stash

How do you use this card strategically? Since you don't know where any other cards are in your deck, how do you choose where to put this one? Are there other cards this combines well with?
12
votes
3answers
2k views

Good set of cards for teaching beginners

We have 1 or 2 new people who are interested in joining our lunch Dominion games where I work. We'd like to teach them about the various rules unique to each of these sets: Base, Intrigue, Seaside, ...
12
votes
2answers
595 views

Reaction cards in response to reaction cards

Consider this complicated scenario: I'm about to gain a card (Current event reacting to: "would gain a card"), so I reveal Trader. I gain a silver instead. Then, I reveal Watchtower (Current event ...
12
votes
3answers
1k views

What is a quick way to test or simulate card strategies for deck building games?

Dominion is the specific example I would like to play with but this certainly applies to any game that involves decks of cards being shuffled and drawn. I often see references to various simulations ...
12
votes
4answers
1k views

Trashing Estates in Dominion

How vital is it to trash Estates in the early rounds of a Dominion game, given that there is an action card available to trash Estates?
12
votes
3answers
1k views

Dominion and card protectors

I am considering getting card protectors for my dominion game. I am wondering if anyone has tried this. Do the cards still fit back into their slots in the box? The ones i was thinking about were ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

How does Mining Village's extra effect work in Dominion?

Mining Village has the option to trash it immediately and gain 2 coins. What exactly is meant by immediately? In other words, if I play a Mining Village what can I do before I must choose whether to ...
12
votes
1answer
736 views

How does Conspirator work with Throne Room / King's Court?

If, for example, my turn starts by playing a King's Court and choosing Conspirator, how many cards will I draw?
12
votes
1answer
372 views

What is the purpose of having randomizer cards for the non-kingdom cards?

I understand having randomizers for the kingdom cards because that's how you randomly choose them, but I find it odd that there is a randomizer for every card including the basic Curses, Coins and ...
11
votes
3answers
952 views

Correct/Recommended use of Masquerade in Dominion: Intrigue

According to the rulebook, when using Masquerade, the cards passed between players must remain invisible until each player chooses the card to pass and places it down. I've always assumed it means ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

How are + Action cards used in Dominion?

We were confused by the + action cards. It says you have to start at the top of the card and work your way down. so when do you play a second action card and are you allowed to play another action ...
11
votes
3answers
1k views

Do all Reaction cards completely block all Attack cards?

I'm about to start a Dominion-day and need a question answered. Do ALL reaction cards completely block all attack cards? i.e. does Tunnel block Witch?
11
votes
3answers
806 views

Possession and Masquerade - are these too powerful in 2 player games?

Just encountered this yesterday. Player A plays Possession Then, it's player B turn (with player A deciding), and there's a Masquerade in the hand. Player A decides to play the Masquerade, Player A ...
11
votes
1answer
970 views

Discard pile and shuffling question

Say I have a hand like follows: Estate, Upgrade, Upgrade, Estate, Copper. 1 card in Draw pile. I play Upgrade (+1 card, +1 action) -> Draw the last card from my Draw pile -> Trash Estate from my hand ...
11
votes
2answers
666 views

Watchtower when someone uses a Masquerade

As a reaction card, Watchtower can be revealed whenever you gain a card. Does this apply to the card you receive from other players during a Masquerade?
10
votes
1answer
527 views

In Dominion, when it says reveal a card, who must I reveal it to?

The text of Bureaucrat reads: Gain a Silver card, put it on top of your deck. Each other player reveals a Victory card and puts it on top of his deck. (or reveals a hand with no Victory cards). ...
10
votes
2answers
967 views

When playing Remodel in Dominion, must you gain a new card?

In Dominion, do the rules permit you to use the Remodel card to trash a card without gaining a new one? For instance, could I just Remodel a Curse without taking an Estate (or other card costing up ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Dominion rule clarification: Repeater actions + choice actions

When using a "repeating" action, such as Throne room, with a "choice" action, such as Pawn or Nobles, can you make a different choice on each repeated action? For example, Throne Room states: ...
10
votes
3answers
414 views

Is it better to pick up a Chapel or Steward?

Consider a game where both Chapel and Steward are present. If the copper split is 4/3, is it better to pick up a Chapel or a Steward? Can you think of any situations where you'd pick up Steward if ...
10
votes
2answers
553 views

Transitioning to Dominion late-game

At what point in a Dominion game should a player stop buying middle value cards (e.g., Silver or other cards more suited to mid-game play than Province/Colony-buying sprees)?
10
votes
3answers
488 views

Should I buy Gold or Hoard?

Hoard is a treasure worth 2 that also reads: While this is in play, when you buy a Victory card, gain a Gold. It costs the same as a Gold (i.e. 6) and while it's not immediately worth as much as ...
10
votes
3answers
377 views

How are Swindler's effects resolved in a multiplayer game?

I play Swindler in a 3-player game. Does each player reveal, trash, and gain in turn order, or all reveal, then trash and gain in turn order? I was thinking that it would matter in the following ...
10
votes
3answers
731 views

When is the woodcutter worth buying in Dominion?

So far I've found every card in Dominion has its own niche, but the woodcutter's seems to be exceptionally small. I only buy 1 or 2 if its the only card that gives +buys, otherwise a silver is better ...
10
votes
1answer
427 views

Using Saboteur after Bridge in Dominion

In Dominion I play a combo: Any card which gives me an additional 2 actions, then Bridge folloewed by Saboteur. Bridge makes any card in my hand cheaper (i.e. cost $1 less) and cards in other ...
10
votes
1answer
546 views

What happens if you ambassador a hovel?

In Dominion, what happens when you Ambassador (Seaside) a Hovel (Dark Ages)?
10
votes
1answer
399 views

Trader vs Torturer, where does the Silver go?

My opponent plays a Torturer. I have a Trader in hand. I choose to gain a Curse and then reveal the Trader and gain a Silver instead. Does the Silver go to my hand like the Curse would have?
10
votes
1answer
601 views

Why does Online Dominion allow you to reveal reaction cards multiple times?

In the FAQ for Isotropic's online Dominion game, the creator states: No, you really can reveal a reaction card like Moat or Secret Chamber multiple times. They are designed to be idempotent so ...
9
votes
7answers
2k views

Proper use of Dominion card Upgrade

In what situations is Upgrade (Intrigue) useful? I have never seen anyone buy Upgrade in the games I've played where it was available. Whenever I play with Upgrade and Swindler, I always give Upgrade ...
9
votes
5answers
457 views

Using the Baron

Last night I finished my first ever game of Dominion: Intrigue, and I'm feeling conflicted about my evaluation of some of the cards on the board. In particular, I cannot decide of the Baron is junk or ...
9
votes
2answers
499 views

What to do with an early $8 hand?

What should I do with an $8 hand that appears in Turns 3 through 6, in a game that only goes up to Provinces? Consider 4-player games primarily, but if games with other numbers of players ...
9
votes
2answers
507 views

Dominion: How to Deal With a Board Filled With Terminal Actions

My hardest games are where the board is filled with terminal actions. When you have a board where 10 out of 10 actions are terminal actions, some of which are attack cards, or there is one card that ...
9
votes
2answers
387 views

Can you use Trader to gain a Silver instead of a Farmland, but still get the buy side-effects of Farmland?

Can I buy a Farmland, trashing a card from my hand and gaining one costing up to 2 more, but then reveal Trader, and gain a Silver instead of the Farmland? I always think of the "buy" operation as ...
9
votes
6answers
682 views

When should I take a curse in response to Torturer?

In Dominion, when someone plays a Torturer, I almost invariably choose to discard rather than take a curse. The exceptions are if I have a trasher (Chapel, Steward, Upgrade, etc.) that I have the ...
9
votes
1answer
807 views

Can you buy with a copper after buying Grand Market?

If you buy the Grand Market in your turn, can you then use spare copper to buy something else? Or does doing so forbid you from having bought the Grand Market?
8
votes
3answers
543 views

Dominion: Doctor + Rats

I play Doctor and name Rats. I reveal the top 3 cards and find 1 Rats, so I trash it. Which happens first: re-ordering the other cards, or drawing my card from trashing Rats? And if the draw ...
8
votes
1answer
348 views

Can Spoils be trashed by Counterfeit?

I'm looking for an authoritative answer here. Where does the Spoils card end up after being played twice by Counterfeit? In fact, can Spoils be trashed at all? My understanding is that yes it can ...
8
votes
2answers
521 views

What does Masquerade do when you have no cards in hand, library or discard?

If you play the card Masquerade, and you have zero cards in hand, library and discard, what happens? I assume the person to your left will still have to pass a card along. Do you have to pass a card ...
8
votes
1answer
403 views

Is a card that was played and immediately trashed “in play”?

For the purposes of Walled Village, is a card that was played and immediately trashed considered "in play"? For example, if I play Mining Village, trashing it for the +2 coin, then play Walled ...
8
votes
1answer
553 views

Dominion: when playing the Big Money strategy, when should you switch from buying Gold to Duchy?

When there are how many Provinces left (if that is the way the game will most likely end), should you switch from buying Gold to Duchy (when you don't have 8 money)? Does this amount change for 3, 4 ...
8
votes
2answers
450 views

Dominion Last Province

When the last province is acquired can the person finish their turn or is the game immediately over? It seems like the rules dictate that a player may always finish their turn.
8
votes
1answer
313 views

Dominion Herald's card is not an action, then what?

After you look at the top card to see if it's an action, and seeing that it is NOT an action, do you discard it or put it back? Surprisingly this is never clarified in the Guilds rule book or on the ...