A cooperative game where players play the role of investigator trying to stop the Elder Gods from ravaging the Earth.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
0answers
26 views

What's the best way to store Eldritch Horror with all the expansions [duplicate]

I was wondering what the best method of storing Eldritch Horror including all the expansions that also allows for a faster set-up time. Thanks!
5
votes
2answers
129 views

Starting items for investigator not available

During a recent game, a player was defeated. He chose another investigator but when he came to receive the starting items, we realised that they were actually with another investigator in the game. ...
3
votes
1answer
54 views

When I search the discard pile, which direction do I search

The reference guide says, under Gaining Posessions and Condition, that when gaining a card with a specific trait: The investigator searches that card type's deck then discard pile for the first ...
1
vote
1answer
51 views

If condition cards run out, do investigators not gain the condition?

I believe the reference guide may imply that a card of a certain type, when not found, is simply not obtained. In this case, if it is an Illness Condition, then the investigator simply doesn't gain ...
1
vote
1answer
58 views

Does the game end if all current investigators are defeated?

Page 11 of the rulebook says the game ends if all investigators are eliminated from the game. Does this mean that if all currently active investigators die, the game ends, or does it mean if the pool ...
4
votes
1answer
47 views

When I acquire assets, can I receive the item into my possession one at a time?

If I can acquire multiple assets, can I acquire some into my possession and then, during the same acquire assets action, acquire the final card which then acts on those newly gained possessions, for ...
0
votes
1answer
47 views

Can I use the Shining Trapezohedron against Epic Monsters to attempt to move them?

The trapezohedron allows the investigator to discard the chosen monster on a roll of 5 or 6. Since discarding Epic Monsters is disallowed, would a 5 or 6 result in no action while a roll of 1-4 result ...
0
votes
1answer
79 views

Does sister Mary pass with rolls of 3-6 when Blessed and 5-6 when Cursed?

The faq says Sister Mary and each other investigator on her space adds 1 to the result of each die rolled as part of an effect printed on a Condition card that has the BANE or BOON trait. This ...
0
votes
1answer
31 views

Can investigators easily avoid being stuck in the Bent Pyramid and avoid the Sanity loss from Nephre-Ka's reckoning?

This is a multi-faceted question and revolves around Nephren-Ka's reckoning which says Each investigator may move 1 space toward the Bent Pyramid. Then each investigator that did not move loses 1 ...
7
votes
2answers
119 views

Spells and Items during combat

It is quite clear that an investigator can only use one item that gives the highest bonus in combat, even if they have multiple items (i.e. Multiple weapons) However, what about spells such as ...
2
votes
1answer
53 views

Limit on weapons used during combat

Is there any sort of limit to the number of weapons or items you can use during combat? In Arkham Horror, the hand icons restricted the number of weapons/spells/items that you could use.
3
votes
1answer
49 views

Can I discard a spell not drawn by Magick Shoppe?

When you gain this card, immediately gain 2 Spells. Then discard 1 Spell and this card. This wording implies that I can keep both Spells and discard a previously owned Spell, but it kind of breaks ...
1
vote
1answer
37 views

Do improvement token bonuses count as skill bonuses when determining the highest bonus to apply to a test?

When one has an asset that grants +2 skill and one that grants +1, the effective bonus is not additive. Rather, we apply the highest bonus. My questions is: do the bonuses from improvement tokens ...
4
votes
1answer
55 views

Can flute of the outer gods be used against epic monsters?

This card allows one to "defeat all monsters." Epic monsters cannot be discarded but can they be defeated with this card?
5
votes
2answers
102 views

Forsaken Lore expansion for Eldritch Horror: what are the new mysteries for the base game AOO?

Eldritch Horror is starting to feel a bit same-y for me so I`m thinking of spicing things up with an expansion (one of the small ones, since the big ones are ridiculously expensive for me, at that ...
0
votes
3answers
79 views

How do monsters move on local paths to side boards?

How do monsters move along local paths to traverse the side boards in expansion games such as when effects instruct players to move a monster toward investigators? For instance, a local path connects ...
2
votes
1answer
38 views

Can I use the Grotesque Statue artifact on any effect and prevent loss on all affected targets?

The Grotesque Statue artifact reads Once per round, you may spend 1 Clue to prevent all Sanity loss from a single effect Does this mean I can use it on effects that target other players, even ...
2
votes
2answers
54 views

Can I cast a spell multiple times in one round across different investigators if I trade it?

Can I cast a spell and then have it traded to another investigator to cast that round? This would work great with Blessing of Isis to ensure blessings all around. Some spells say "once a round you ...
2
votes
2answers
233 views

Playing multiple Eldritch Horror expansions

Are there rules governing playing more than one expansion? Arkham Horror has a couple rules when there is more than one side board attached, but I haven't seen any documentation on modifications to ...
2
votes
1answer
46 views

Is the Mystery that is active when the portal opens in Strange Remnants still useful for progressing the investigators?

When starting the Final Mystery in Strange Remnants, players are instructed to place a clue on the card for each solved active mystery. Does this active mystery still remain relevant to the game, i.e....
2
votes
1answer
69 views

Are the reckoning effect Lore checks on Glamour cards considered spell effects?

The Unique Asset "Sealing the Old Ones" allows one to discard spells when a Lore check is passed as a Spell Effect. Glamour Spells from the Strange Remnants expansion don't have a Lore check in the ...
2
votes
1answer
124 views

Is a monster taking damage and a monster having its toughness reduced the same thing?

This post I authored months ago questions the use of the term "toughness". I recently found a reference in the Strange Remnants expansion that states: If the active Mystery requires an Epic ...
1
vote
2answers
94 views

Can You Reroll Successes For Reserves?

Say I have 2 influence and want the shotgun which is 4 successes. If I roll 2 successes, can I spend 2 clue tokens to reroll my success to attempt to get the shotgun or does rerolling a die remove ...
1
vote
1answer
185 views

Abhoth - where should I put defeated cultists

When I play Abhoth (from Under the Pyramids expansion) as the Ancient One, his Setup section says: Set aside 8 Cultist Monsters and all Abhoth Special Encounters. Then the Reckoning effect for ...
4
votes
1answer
129 views

What tokens are endless despite having a limited supply?

What tokens should be treated as unlimited in supply despite having a limited number in the game box, i.e. focus tokens, travel tickets, and the like? Naturally it makes the game 'harder' for the ...
5
votes
1answer
91 views

Does passing a horror or strength test mean 1 success or enough to avoid losing sanity or health?

Some monsters say if you fail the horror check, then there are consequences. Do these consequences occur if you get zero will test successes or if you take even 1 point of sanity damage? Ie if a ...
6
votes
2answers
179 views

Can I gain a random Ally card from the reserve if the deck and discard do not have one?

When instructed to gain a random Ally card, if the asset deck and discard do not have any ally cards (and the reserve has 1), can I take the Ally from the reserve? The rulings of interest are from ...
5
votes
1answer
93 views

Can I use Lucky Cigarette Case to avoid activating Dark Pact?

Can I use Lucky Cigarette Case to increase a fail roll 1 on 2 and thus avoid activating dark pact condition? (2) Lucky Cigarette Case Trinket Once per round, you may add 1 to the result ...
3
votes
1answer
69 views

When Purifying the World, can you keep or track monsters you don't usually return to the drawing pile?

Purifying the World allows an investigator to collect the monster tiles of defeated monsters and then flip the card to perform some action based on the number or toughness of tiles he's collected. ...
3
votes
2answers
144 views

In Eldritch Horror, how do you deal with cases when an event forces you to draw a condition card that you already have? [duplicate]

The rules state that a player cannot choose to take a condition when he already has one of that type. How do you deal with cases when an event forces you to draw a condition card? As an example, let'...
3
votes
1answer
107 views

If the ancient one awakens after an investigator dies in the mythos phase, does the player draw a new investigator?

When an investigator is defeated after the ancient one awakens, that player is eliminated. What if the investigator is defeated and the ancient one awakens before the end of the mythos phase? The ...
1
vote
2answers
269 views

Once the last mythos card is flipped, is there no point to continuing the game?

Since most (or all) mysteries require waiting until the end of the mythos phase to officially complete them, is there no point to continuing the game once you flip the final mythos card and still ...
1
vote
2answers
125 views

Do I remove eldritch tokens placed on the board after a mystery that placed them is solved?

Some mysteries will require you to place eldritch tokens on various spaces. When such a mystery is solved, do you remove the eldritch tokens placed by that mystery? I have concluded that the tokens ...
0
votes
1answer
55 views

Can I discard Funding anytime to remove a debt?

When can an investigator discard funding to remove a debt? Can he do it during anyone's turn anytime to remove it immediately? Also, can he discard it after the mythos card reveals there is a ...
4
votes
2answers
105 views

Does the Blunderbuss require you to use only the +2 strength bonus in order to use its roll effect?

When resolving a Combat Encounter, you may gain +2 Strength. If you do, each 6 you roll when resolving a etc etc If I have a +5 weapon, typically I take the higher bonus as my bonus (they are not ...
3
votes
2answers
99 views

How does Finn Edwards' passive ability affect the directive to discard Unique Assets?

There is a specific faq item regarding Finn Edwards' passive ability as pertaining to Unique Assets, but I cannot make heads nor tails of it. Q. What happens if Finn Edwards uses his passive ...
3
votes
1answer
186 views

Should reckoning effects be executed as if done simultaneously?

Should reckoning effects on an investigator's conditions execute as if done simultaneously (starting with the lead investigator)? Two situations come to mind here. 1) If a reckoning effect condition ...
0
votes
2answers
74 views

Does Yig's awakened reckoning effect spawn a cultist on each space fulfilling the requirement, or just 1 on a space of your choice?

The reckoning effect is Spawn 1 Cultist Monster on a space containing a Mystery token, Eldritch token, or Epic Monster. Does this mean 1 cultist on each space with any of those items, or 1 ...
2
votes
1answer
112 views

If I am Lost in Time and Space during a reckoning effect resolution, do I continue to resolve remaining reckoning effects?

Being lost in time and space leaves you immune to reckoning effects, but what if the reckoning effect of a mythos card is what causes you to become lost in time and space, and you still have a few ...
4
votes
1answer
154 views

What is the reason for investigators not being eliminated when Yig awakens?

When Yig awakens, one of the rule items says: When an investigator is defeated or devoured, that player is not eliminated What is the significance of this rule? What is the non-eliminated ...
3
votes
1answer
244 views

Should Eldritch Tokens only be used as tokens for the original reason they were placed?

Eldritch tokens are often used for differing purposes and different mythos cards and effects. Can they or should they be used generically across all active effects? Here is an example. The Cthulhu ...
6
votes
3answers
363 views

Does “advance the active mystery” apply to an AO's final mystery?

The two most recent expansions for Eldritch Horror have introduced the "advance the active mystery" effect that makes it possible to make progress on the mysteries via other channels. How this works ...
3
votes
1answer
141 views

If you already have a condition or there are none left in the deck, can you gain an effect--that normally induces a condition--for free?

I believe if all the cards of a certain kind are gone from the deck and you are told to take that condition, you simply gain the benefit of not having to take the condition. What if you are offered ...
3
votes
1answer
188 views

When a monster is discarded, is it considered “defeated”?

One of the Shub-Niggurath mysteries calls for action after a monster is defeated. Does this include when you discard a monster from a Tokyo encounter or kill it from inducing a loss of health from ...
3
votes
1answer
306 views

Are epic monsters treated differently than regular monsters with regard to taking damage or being discarded remotely?

There are many cases in Tokyo encounters where you can cause damage to a selected monster and one case where you can "discard" a monster. Can these actions be taken on epic monsters as well? I ...
3
votes
1answer
317 views

Can two investigators trade the same spells?

If two investigators each have the same spell (but with different flip side consequences), can they trade these spells during the trade action?
2
votes
2answers
245 views

In Eldritch Horror, when a mythos card refers to a monster's toughness, does it mean its current or max toughness?

The Blood Flows mythos card says under its event: The Lead Investigator discards 1 Monster of his choice and loses Health equal to its toughness Do I use the monster's current or max health?
4
votes
1answer
217 views

Completing the third mystery during the same round as Doom track reaches 0

If I finish my third mystery during an encounter phase, but then Doom track reaches 0 during the related mythos phase, do I win the game? Or does the Ancient One awaken and I need to solve the final ...
4
votes
2answers
144 views

What to do with “Antarctic Guide” and “Dog Sled” while playing against an Ancient One from the base game?

The unique asset deck in Mountains of Madness expansion features two cards which only have an effect if you are on the Antarctica Side Board. What if I am playing against an Ancient One from the base ...
4
votes
2answers
311 views

Is the unique asset deck reshuffled when cards are discarded?

It is quite clear from the base game rules that normal asset cards are put in a separate discard pile when they are discarded, whereas condition cards and spell cards are shuffled back into the deck ...