Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

5
votes
2answers
674 views

If an effect would prevent a spell from doing damage, does it continue to prevent that damage after the spell changes zones?

Anthony casts Searing Blood, targeting Nathan's Elvish Mystic. Nathan casts and resolves Dromoka's Command, choosing to 1) prevent all damage that would be dealt by Searing Blood this turn and 2) put ...
2
votes
2answers
267 views

If I have an Equipment equipped to something and it's enchanted by Ensoul Artifact, how is that handled?

Imagine I have an Equipment attached to something, e.g. a Chariot of Victory on a Runeclaw Bear. I then enchant that equipment with Ensoul Artifact. Would the Equipment card still grant its effects ...
2
votes
1answer
252 views

MTG: What set is Seelenruhe (Tranquility in German) from?

I recently picked Magic: The Gathering back up after a 15 year lapse. Currently making my way through what seems like a thousand cards from my childhood and entering them into a card database at ...
1
vote
1answer
228 views

Where can I find raw data for DCI sanctioned Constructed tournaments?

It is often easier to answer questions about Magic experimentally instead of mathematically. Anyone can see the final standing of a deck in a tournament and find out who piloted it. Here is an ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Do enchantments played by my opponent on creatures I control count towards my devotion?

If my opponent enchants my Spellheart Chimera with Encrust, will Encrust be counted towards my devotion or his? This is for devotion towards my god, Keranos, God of Storms.
-1
votes
1answer
215 views

If I copy a mythic rare, will both survive?

I control Keranos, God of Storms. I play Fated Infatuation, which reads: Put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of target creature you control. Can I copy Keranos as it is a mythic rare ...
4
votes
1answer
345 views

If I try to kill a face down creature, can my opponent save it by flipping it?

I played a Lightning Bolt during my turn (3 damage to target creature or player) to kill a face down creature. Then, my opponent said he was going to morph the creature which was a 0/5 defender with ...
4
votes
1answer
357 views

When testing a deck, what % of rejected hands is acceptable?

Good deck construction minimizes luck. I am about to enter my first tournament (Pauper). In addition to testing my deck against other decks in actual games, I simulate initial hands and first few ...
1
vote
0answers
46 views

Are the two steps of Ponder an atomic action? [duplicate]

There are a number of cards that have two different actions. Ponder is one of them. I assume these separate actions are in sequence, and cannot be responded to by placing items on the stack in ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

Can I block with Myth Realized if I attacked with it on my turn?

Myth Realized lets you pay {W} to turn it into a creature until end of turn. My question is... if I turn it into a creature on my turn and attack, can I also block with it on my opponents turn?
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Kolaghan, The Storm's Fury dragon attacking ability

Does Kolaghan, The Storm's Fury's ability trigger for every dragon attacking or any dragons attacking? For reference it says "Whenever a dragon you control attacks, creatures you control gain +1/+0 ...
0
votes
2answers
681 views

Question about '…only as a sorcery.' abilities

This is a (hopefully) quick question, there are several abilities that can be cast 'only as a sorcery', like a planeswalkers loyalty, or the Outlast ability. Can these be used multiple times in one ...
0
votes
0answers
69 views

Using Multiple Gleam of Authority [duplicate]

Following up on a recent post, "I am looking for some clarification on the card Gleam of Authority. The wording on the card is Enchantment - Aura Enchant Creature Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 ...
4
votes
1answer
349 views

How many cards do I need to make a collected set “draftable?”

I have very fond memories of (Triple) Innistrad, which is an absolutely amazing draft format, probably without equal. I'd like to be able to have a playset that I can pull out, years from now, and ...
1
vote
4answers
256 views

Does cloning a card include color?

If Clone (for instance) comes in as a copy of a black creature and attacks and is blocked by a creature that has protection from black, how does it resolve? What if the blocking creature has ...
0
votes
1answer
203 views

Has Magic always had tapped/untapped tokens?

It's been a long time since I've played Magic. (My "new" cards are from 4th edition.) As I recall, tokens could be created and destroyed, but they could never be tapped or untapped. In practice, ...
1
vote
1answer
184 views

Ways to find and purchase out-of-print / rare / old supplies?

My question came from missing out on finding a copy of the Ajani v. Nicol Bolas Duel Deck box to complete my set of duel decks. When something goes out of print, it obviously becomes harder to find. ...
0
votes
0answers
41 views

How to tell the difference between Alpha, Beta, and Revised magic cards [duplicate]

When I am looking at an alpha, Beta, or revised magic card what are the things I could look for to tell what set the card belongs to?
8
votes
2answers
993 views

Does Olivia Voldaren's second ability still work if I steal her in response?

Olivia Voldaren has the following for her second ability: {3}{B}{B}: Gain control of target Vampire for as long as you control Olivia Voldaren. Meanwhile, Merieke Ri Berit has this for her ...
2
votes
1answer
484 views

If I sacrifice a Sultai Emissary to a Gurmag Drowner's Exploit ability, which triggered ability resolves first?

I need to know what happens first if I exploit a Sultai Emissary with a Gurmag Drowner. Do I look at the top 4 cards in my library and choose a card to add to my hand first or do I manifest the top ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Is Gleam of Authority's bonus constant or one-time?

I am looking for some clarification on the card Gleam of Authority. The wording on the card is Enchantment - Aura Enchant Creature Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 for each +1/+1 counter ...
6
votes
2answers
473 views

Is a Regenerated Creature Removed from Combat?

Say my opponent attacks me with a creature. I use a burn spell to deal lethal damage, then he regenerates it. Is it removed from combat at that point or does it still deal damage?
3
votes
2answers
161 views

Where can I search by card for decks in major tournaments?

Where I can search by card for decks from major modern tournaments? By major tournaments, I mean Grand Prixs, StarCityGames Open Series, TCGPlayer Max Point Series, and other large (200+) player ...
4
votes
1answer
270 views

When “an opponent” has to do something in a multiplayer game, who does it?

In a multiplayer game of Magic: The Gathering, if a card requires an opponent to make a choice — like Fact or Fiction, which states an opponent separates the piles into two piles — who ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Does having 2 Flickerwisps and an Impact Tremors win me the game?

I'm just thinking that if I had a Flickerwisp and an Impact Tremors in play, and I cast another Flickerwisp, would I be able to have the Flickerwisps "flick" each other until my opponents are at 0 ...
1
vote
1answer
400 views

Tutors for Sorceries?

I'm building a budget Natural Order deck, so I'm looking for tutors that can find sorcerys in green and black, preferably that have CMC 3 or less. I hope you can help.
2
votes
2answers
622 views

Is pile shuffling considered slow play?

Pile shuffling does not randomize a deck. Except during pregame, where pile shuffling allows players to count the number of cards in the deck, it might be considered a waste of time, and therefore ...
2
votes
2answers
589 views

Brutal Hordechief & Bloodthrone Vampire

I have a timing question: Is it possible to attack with "Bloodthrone Vampire" and let's say 10 other creatures at the same time, while using BOTH abilities of "Brutal Hordechief" and therefore cause ...
3
votes
2answers
326 views

When can I cast spells?

I'm wondering if spell casting only happens after attacks and blocking has been declared or if it's just at the second main phase? I've spoken to a few players in my area, but there aren't many people ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens when, and can I return face-down non-creature cards to my hand?

Say I manifest an instant or sorcery card which I'd like to use, and I have a card like Temur Sabertooth in play. Can I use Temur Sabertooth's ability to return the card to my hand, and do I have to ...
3
votes
2answers
867 views

Am I obligated to distinguish between morphs and megamorphs when I'm casting a card face-down?

I cast a card with megamorph and state "I'll pay {3} and morph this." Is this particular method of communication for casting a face-down creature legal? The reason I ask is because morph and megamorph ...
3
votes
1answer
144 views

Laquatus's Champion and Torpor orb

I have a Laquatus Champion who entered the battlefield while there was a Torpor Orb on the field (and thus it's first ability didn't trigger). What happens when it then leaves the battlefield ? The ...
0
votes
1answer
130 views

Aura Trample removed by High Priest of Penance

I've been searching high and low for this: say a High Priest of Penance (with an indestructible aura) blocks a creature with Rancor, i.e. trample. Can I stop the trample effect by destroying either ...
0
votes
1answer
178 views

How to “dematerialize” a deck in the Magic Assistant card manager?

(I'm hoping that a question about a utility related to Magic: The Gathering is on topic here, otherwise I apologize.) I am trying to organize my collection using the open source Magic Assistant ...
1
vote
1answer
169 views

Phyrexian Unlife and Necropotence

So I have a 5 color deck and I was wondering how Necropotence and Phyrexian Unlife interact in certain circumstances. I understand that once my life becomes 0 or less I cannot pay life to draw cards, ...
7
votes
2answers
589 views

How do Aether Rift and Library of Leng interact?

Let me give you a run down of the board state. I had an Elderscale Wurm enchanted with Canopy Cover on the battlefield. Damage could not reduce my life total below 7. My opponent had Forgestoker ...
0
votes
2answers
259 views

Can I use a nonbasic land that taps and gives me either a red or white mana if I only have red mana in my deck?

Can I use a nonbasic land that taps and gives me either a red or white mana if I only have red mana in my deck?
4
votes
3answers
384 views

Gleemax interactions

This deals with Unhinged cards, so competitive REL is useless here. Imagine that I have a Gleemax on the field. It says: You choose all targets for all spells and abilities. 1) Somebody ...
2
votes
1answer
513 views

What is the Infinite Squirrel deck?

I've heard of the Infinite Squirrel Deck, and it looks as though it revolves around Earthcraft and Squirrel Nest. Is this the only distinguishing feature of an Infinite Squirrel deck?
4
votes
2answers
550 views

Can players in single-elimination rounds agree to split prizes unevenly?

Paragraph five of section 5.2 of the Tournament Rules states the following: Players in the single-elimination rounds of a tournament offering only cash and/or unopened product as prizes may, with ...
7
votes
3answers
569 views

If I exile Rout with Narset's ability, when can it be cast?

Let's say I control Narset, Enlightened Master and attack, exiling the top four cards of my library, including Rout (alt link). Rout's first ability states that I can cast it any time I could cast an ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

What is the availability of the complete sets Wizards of the Coast is apparently selling?

I recently found, what appeared to be complete sets made by Wizards of the Coast. I had been contemplating buying a complete set of Dragons of Tarkir, with seemingly many vendors making offers, and ...
0
votes
1answer
180 views

How does removing +1/+1 counters during combat affect abilities granted from having that counter? [duplicate]

If I block a flyer with a non-flying non-reach card granted reach by having a +1/+1 counter and the card longshot squad on battlefield and then remove the counter with retribution of the ancients ...
0
votes
1answer
135 views

Can I use lands from previous sets? [duplicate]

bit of a Magic n00b here. I was wondering, can I use basic lands that are not currently in standard? (eg dragon's maze) I just thought this might be thing as no matter what set ut's in, basic lands ...
-1
votes
1answer
401 views

How is damage dealt when a creature is blocking multiple creatures?

Let's say I have a Wall of Essence and a Brave the Sands on the battlefield. My opponent has two Mardu Woe-Reapers on the battlefield. Based on Brave the Sands description I can block both ...
0
votes
1answer
279 views

Does Battlefield Forge add two mana to your pool each time it is tapped? [duplicate]

Do cards like Battlefield Forge add 2 mana each time it's tapped or is it just one of the two tapped mana options? Or can you choose between both at once vs one? And is the mana only there while it's ...
-1
votes
1answer
257 views

Is mana generated by a sacrifice ability permanent? [duplicate]

I have a couple of Generator Servant cards. They have {T}, Sacrifice Generator Servant: Add {2} to your mana pool. If that mana is spent on a creature spell, it gains haste until end of turn. ...
1
vote
1answer
178 views

Can crackleburr respond to himself?

Let's say my opponent has a Crackleburr, two red and blue useless tokens, and an infinite amount of red and blue mana. Crackleburr's card text is this: {U/R}{U/R}{T}, Tap two untapped red ...
1
vote
1answer
773 views

Do counters go away when the creature that gave them dies

When a creature card gives another creature counters does the counters go away when the creature that gave them dies.(the card does NOT say It gives is a +1 +1 counter as long as it is on the field)
6
votes
2answers
254 views

How can I find out when a specific comprehensive rule was introduced?

I wrote this answer, and I feel like it would benefit (slightly - it's not exactly a crucial part of the answer) from knowing when rule 706.4 was introduced. I feel that if I can find out when a rule ...