Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

5
votes
2answers
757 views

Is it possible to intentionally draw a game?

I was told today that it's possible to do an effective "friendly mulligan" (draw to 7 cards) by intentionally tying the game and starting a new one. I've heard of people intentionally drawing ...
5
votes
2answers
776 views

What does Counterbalance counter, when revealing a split card?

Split cards have 2 Converted Mana Costs everywhere except the stack. I saw a similar question relating to Dark Confidant explaining that you lose life for each converted mana cost, however the way it ...
5
votes
2answers
607 views

Do cards that say “Each player…” still affect players with Shroud?

I have a True Believer out which gives me shroud. My opponent has an enchantment that says that each player must sacrifice whenever he sacrifices a card. Does the enchantment target me, thus allowing ...
5
votes
2answers
763 views

When a land is granted a basic land type, what effects does that have?

For example: I imagine this card is useful specifically because it denies the opponent the appropriate color of mana, if they are not already playing a blue deck. If I make a Swamp into an Island, ...
5
votes
2answers
7k views

Removing enchantments from hexproof creatures

I have some hexproof creatures in my deck and several enchantments. What I wish to know that if I put an enchantment like "Trollhide" on my hexproof creature like "Sacred Wolf" can an opponent remove ...
5
votes
1answer
4k views

If a sorcery card gives -X/-X to a 1/1 creature till end of turn does the creature die?

I use Urge to Feed (-3/-3 until end of turn) against a 1/1 creature, does that creature die? If I use Zealous Persecution in a multiple player game, would it destroy all 1/1 creatures on the ...
5
votes
3answers
28k views

Can I activate a bloodrush ability at instant speed?

Can I use a card with bloodrush in response to something? For example: If an evil opponent wants to kill my attacking Skarrg Guildmage with an Izzet Charm can I discard Scorchwalker and use it's ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

What are the odds of drawing a given card after discarding my initial hand?

Let's say that I have 4 of a card in my 60 card deck. What are my odds of drawing at least 1 of that card in my initial 7 card hand? If I discard those 7, what are the odds of drawing 1 of the 4 in ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I Wish for a card outside my Commander's colors?

I have been told that Wishes work differently in Commander than in normal casual Free-For-All (FFA) mtg. Do the comprehensive rules cover how wishes work in Commander? Do the rules for wishes differ ...
5
votes
1answer
614 views

When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?

My friend has been playing a sliver commander deck and uses Root Sliver which is a thorn in the side of my control. Lets say I have an instant in my had that can destroy the Root Sliver and a counter ...
5
votes
2answers
328 views

Stifling a storm card

Can I play Stifle on the storm trigger on cards like Grapeshot to prevent any copies from being made?
5
votes
1answer
233 views

Question about interaction: levitation, then gravity sphere, then oblivion ring on each, then tranquility. Who flies away?

Here are the cards involved: Levitation Creatures you control gain flying. Gravity Sphere All creatures lose flying. Oblivion Ring When Oblivion Ring enters the battlefield, exile a ...
5
votes
1answer
621 views

Combo question: urborg tomb of yawgmoth, torpor orb, kormus bell, dark depths = free Marit Lage?

If I have the following in play: Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth Each land is a Swamp in addition to its other land types. Kormus Bell All Swamps are 1/1 black creatures that are still lands. ...
5
votes
1answer
173 views

When does “Targeting” happen in MTG?

Here is a hypothetical situation I am wondering about: I have in play a Omnath, Locus of Mana and 500 Green mana in my mana pool. My opponent plays a removal spell on Omnath (Path to Exile, ...
5
votes
3answers
298 views

Interactions between Brainstorm and Miracles

Suppose I'm playing UW Miracles in Legacy. During my opponent's turn, I cast Brainstorm, and the first card that I draw is Entreat the Angels. If I choose to cast the card for its miracle cost, what ...
5
votes
1answer
355 views

Are cards exiled with Ashiok revealed?

Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver has the following abilities: +2: Exile the top three cards of target opponent's library. -X: Put a creature card with converted mana cost X exiled with Ashiok, ...
5
votes
2answers
224 views

Which comes first: Illness in the Ranks or Cathars' Crusade?

Suppose I have an Illness in the Ranks out and my opponent has a Cathars' Crusade out. If 1/1 creature token comes into play under the opponent's control, does the token die due to the effects of ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you play 99 relentless rats in commander?

Just a silly question, can you run 99 Relentless Rats in commander? Maybe that and Sphinx of the Chimes and some juicy commander that plays off creature types.
5
votes
2answers
226 views

First strike and bioshift

Player A's board consists of: 1/1 first strike with 4 +1/+1 counters 1/1 creature Player B's board consists of: 2/2 lifelink creature Player B has 5 life and has to block the creature with 4 ...
5
votes
2answers
277 views

At regular REL can players rewind the game state?

Suppose that at a regular REL event, you have an experienced player, and an in-experienced player, and the in-experienced player has a gideon's lawkeeper on the battlefield. The experienced ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens when a creature with Persist AND Undying dies? ('return to battlefield' issues…)

Say I have a creature with Persist and I give it Undying until end of turn. Later this turn, it is put into the graveyard, and I choose for the Persist ability to resolve before the Undying ability. ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

When does a token have the same name as another token?

I'm playing a Selesnya tokens deck, and my opponent casts Detention Sphere, which exiles all creatures with the "same name", on one of my tokens. Does he get to exile All of my tokens? All of the ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Is a spell with split mana in its cost a multicolored spell?

Say I play a Noggle Bandit (or any card with split mana in its cost). Does its color depend on what mana I use to play it, or is it always both red and blue? It seems a little weird that this card ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Can I block with my Llanowar elves and then tap it for mana immediately afterward?

My opponent attacks with a 3/3. I block with my 1/1 Llanowar Elves, and have all of my land tapped from my last turn. Can I now tap my Llanowar Elves after it has been declared as a blocker to play ...
5
votes
2answers
899 views

How does Infinite Reflection work with Commander and commander damage?

Does a Commander which has been turned into a copy of another card still do commander damage (i.e. will 21 damage dealt to a single player from the copy lose the game for that player)? Alternately, ...
5
votes
1answer
424 views

What's the order of resolution for “everybody discard” in MTG?

Usually, in MTG, when you play a card that requires multiple players to do something, like "Each player sacrifices a creature", players make choices in "APNAP" (active player / non-active player) ...
5
votes
2answers
207 views

What happens when I redirect multiple large sources of damage through the en-Kor ability to Mogg Maniac?

The situation is this: I control a Shaman en-Kor and a Nomads en-Kor and a Mogg Maniac. During my opponent's turn, I cast Inferno, dealing 6 damage to all creatures and all players. Is it possible ...
5
votes
2answers
6k views

Are Magic The Gathering Proxy cards illegal to print? [closed]

I tried to print a bunch of Magic the Gathering Proxy cards through my local Costco. (An MTG Cube) They called me up and told me that those cards are copyrighted material and that it would be ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Can an untapped creature “become untapped?”

If an untapped creature is targeted with an "untap target creature" spell or ability, will it be considered becoming untapped?
5
votes
1answer
718 views

Flickering a Commander

What happens when a Commander is hit with an effect such as Flicker or Otherworldly Journey, and that Commander's owner chooses to send the Commander to the Command zone instead of exile? Will the ...
5
votes
1answer
504 views

What are the results of combining Minion Reflector, Doubling Season, and Kalonian Hydra?

Minion Reflector and Doubling Season are out, and then you play Kalonian Hydra. What happens when the token hydra(s) with haste attack? How many counters do the Hydras wind up with? If you would be ...
5
votes
1answer
468 views

Does Goblin Test Pilot hit a Planeswalker?

To my understanding, after it hits the player, the person in control of the Goblin gets to decide whether it hits the player or planeswalker, but I could be way off. How would it work?
5
votes
2answers
266 views

If my opponent tries to resolve a triggered ability out of order, did they miss their opportunity to do so?

My opponent controls a tapped Nettle Sentinel, and has cast 1 copy of Glimpse of Nature this turn. They then play an Elvish Visionary, and in response I do nothing. The stack starts to resolve and ...
5
votes
1answer
312 views

Will Counterbalance counter storm copies?

Counterbalance allows you to reveal the top card of your library whenever a spell is played, and counter it if the revealed card has the same mana cost. If an opponent has cast several spells to ramp ...
5
votes
3answers
370 views

Can I sacrifice a permanent to pay an ability cost while the permanent's spell is still on the stack?

At what point does a creature/artifact/whatever become a legal candidate for being sacrificed to pay an activation cost? For example, suppose I cast an artifact creature spell, and my opponent ...
5
votes
3answers
602 views

Attacking with Zero Creatures

Two questions about attacking: 1) If I have creatures in play, can I declare an attack and then declare zero of the creatures as attackers? 2) If I have no creatures in play, can I declare an ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

What happens if one of a spell's targets goes away before the spell resolves?

During the prerelease my opponent casts Rites of Reaping to give his creature +3/+3 and my creature -3/-3. In response I sacrifice my creature with the Golgari Guildmage. From my understanding the ...
5
votes
1answer
363 views

Can I attempt to activate an equipment's equip ability without a valid target?

Say I have a Mycosynth Wellspring on the field and a Piston Sledge. The equip cost for piston sledge is "sacrifice an artifact". If I control no creatures, can I sacrifice the Mycosynth Wellspring to ...
5
votes
1answer
943 views

Can Kaalia of the Vast put Slumbering Dragon into play tapped and attacking?

I was looking at Slumbering dragon on Gatherer and ran across this quote in the discussion forum: Finally a dragon that doesn't mesh well with Kaalia of the Vast As I pondered this possibility, ...
5
votes
1answer
7k views

Does a creature returned by the Undying effect have summoning sickness?

As far as I understand the undying ability, a creature returned to the battlefield by its undying effect with a +1/+1 counter on it is considered a new object. Due to this it cannot attack if it ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a creature with summoning sickness be targeted?

Can I target a creature as soon as it is played, even with summoning sickness? Example: If my card, Beguiler of Wills, reads "Gain control of target creature," or Dungeon Geist's "tap target creature ...
5
votes
2answers
353 views

Is death from deathtouch a state based action?

If someone attacks me with a trample creature say, 6/6, I block with a 1/1 deathtouch AND have Dissipation Field in play (returns permanents that damage me to their owners' hands), will the wyrm go ...
5
votes
1answer
342 views

What is a creature's power when it has some equipment equipped?

I would like to use Rite of Consumption by sacrificing a creature that is using equipment (e.g. that has a +1/+2 bonus). Is the creature's power then increased by the equipment effect, and thus ...
5
votes
1answer
158 views

Does a exiling a creature after being destroyed or dealt lethal damage still count as if it “died”?

I'm actually working on an alternative card set. While designing tribal mechanics, I have encountered a problem with a single thing: does a creature exiled after being destroyed (instead of being put ...
5
votes
1answer
110 views

Platinum Emperion and Tree of Redemption

If I have a Platinum Emperion on the battlefield and I tap my Tree of Redemption, will the Tree still change it's toughness to my current life total, or will the Platinum Emperion negate that effect, ...
5
votes
1answer
213 views

How do Chromatic Sphere, Archmage Ascension, and Panglacial Wurm interact?

If I have an Archmage Ascension in play with six quest counters and a Panglacial Wurm in my library, and I activate Chromatic Sphere's ability as part of the process of playing another spell, as in ...
5
votes
1answer
879 views

When should I use Avacyn's Glory's Restoration Angel?

When and how should I use Restoration Angel in the Avacyn's Glory deck? I understand Flash means it can be used any time like an Instant. What is the purpose or situation for exiling a non-angel I ...
5
votes
1answer
389 views

If creatures targeted by Living Inferno's ability all die, what happens?

If I were to target a ton of creatures with Living Inferno's ability and then all those creatures were to die (or be sacrificed, per Dismiss Into Dream) in response to Living Inferno's ability going ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Thrumming Stone ripple after ripple

The card Thrumming Stone says: Spells you cast have ripple 4. (Whenever you cast a spell, you may reveal the top four cards of your library. You may cast any revealed cards with the same name as ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Can I sacrifice a creature that is only temporarily under my control?

A creature is placed "under my control until the end of turn" through a sorcery spell. Do I have the option of sacrificing said creature if I cast a "sacrifice a creature" instant, or have a creature ...