Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

5
votes
2answers
4k views

Does preventing damage also prevent poison?

These two cards were played against my poison deck. His reckoning is that I cannot put -1/-1 counters on the creature as it prevents all combat damage and infect uses damage. He also says that ...
5
votes
2answers
140 views

How do Mistform Dreamer and Conspiracy interact?

I actually have two questions concerning Conspiracy: 1) If I put the enchantment Conspiracy onto my battlefield, and choose "Wall" for creature type, will all my creatures automatically become ...
5
votes
1answer
227 views

Does the game end immediately when one player reaches 0 life?

Player A is at 6life, Player B at 20 life. Player A resolves a Scapeshift and sacrifices 9 lands for 3 Valakut, the Molten Pinnacles and 6 Mountains. This will trigger 18 times 3 damage (I think). In ...
5
votes
1answer
225 views

Can I extort Launch Party with the creature I'm sacrificing?

If I control exactly 1 Basilica Screecher, and I cast Launch Party sacrificing my Basilica Screecher, can I still use Basilica Screecher to extort on Launch Party?
5
votes
3answers
296 views

Can I sacrifice a permanent to pay an ability cost while the permanent's spell is still on the stack?

At what point does a creature/artifact/whatever become a legal candidate for being sacrificed to pay an activation cost? For example, suppose I cast an artifact creature spell, and my opponent ...
5
votes
1answer
284 views

Gaining and losing life at the same time

I have a question about a specific scenario involving life loss and gain. Say I have 3 life left, the creature Soulcage Fiend on the battlefield, and also the enchantment Exquisite Blood on the ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Can Mirrorworks' ability be activated multiple times for the same artifact?

Mirrorworks reads like this: Whenever another nontoken artifact enters the battlefield under your control, you may pay 2 (colorless). If you do, put a token that's a copy of that artifact onto ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens if the target of equipping dies?

My opponent plays the living weapon Lashwrithe. Afterwards he spends 4 life to equip it to his Vault Skirge. While doing this, I kill his Vault Skirge with a Galvanic Blast. What I think will happen: ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Courser of the Kruphix's ability play multiple land cards?

Courser of Kruphix says: Play with the top card of your library revealed. You may play the top card of your library if it's a land card. Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your ...
5
votes
1answer
177 views

Do bestow count toward cards that say “when [sub-type] enters on the battlefield”

Champion of the Parish gains +1/+1 "Whenever a another human enters the battlefield under your control". If I play Nyxborn Shieldmate as a bestow does it count toward this effect? I know it does not ...
5
votes
1answer
292 views

If your Commander is in your graveyard when your graveyard is exiled can you return it to the command zone?

My understanding is that you can chose to put your commander in the command zone instead of putting it in the graveyard or it being exiled. Putting it in the command zone is a replacement for putting ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Creatures with Tribute and targeting

Nessian Demolok, one of the latest creatures revealed in the Born of the Gods spoilers, reads: Tribute 3 (As this creature enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice may place three +1/+1 ...
5
votes
1answer
197 views

Are you required to call a judge if you're not involved in the game?

If you're a spectator to a game at either competitive or professional REL and you see a gamestate error occur, should you call a judge? What happens if you don't call a judge? Is it different if you ...
5
votes
1answer
123 views

Could I turn Mistform Dreamer into a Shrine?

Mistform Dreamer says I can turn it into any creature type until the end of turn, could I turn it into a shrine for use with any of the Hondens?
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Does a Angel of Glory's Rise and a Fiend Hunter combo work like I think it does?

The scene I envision is that I have a graveyard full of humans, one of which is a Fiend Hunter. I play Angel of Glory's Rise and put all my humans from my graveyard and onto the battlefield, and when ...
5
votes
1answer
5k views

What happens if a blocking creature is killed with Double Strike before all the damage is dealt?

With an attacking creature with Double Strike, if the first strike deals lethal damage to a normal blocking creature, does the normal damage go to the defending player?
5
votes
1answer
1k views

How does a Loyal Cathar react to Undying Evil?

Loyal Cathar states: When Loyal Cathar dies, return it to the battlefield transformed under your control at the beginning of the next end step. Undying Evil states: Target creature gains ...
5
votes
3answers
702 views

What is a good strategy for selecting commons and uncommons for trade folders?

I recently came into several large collections of Magic cards that I am looking through for trade stock, obviously cards such as Counterspell tend to be good trade stock even though they are common; ...
5
votes
1answer
435 views

How do continuous effects interact with “enters the battlefield” triggers?

At what point do creatures entering the battlefield begin to be affected by enchantments and abilities of creatures already on the battlefield? For example, Mentor of the Meek's ability triggers when ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Where can I find Magic: the Gathering puzzles?

The Duelist used to publish MTG puzzles by Mark Rosewater in which you were placed in the last turn of a game and had to figure out the correct play to win. I remember these puzzles being extremely ...
5
votes
1answer
494 views

Is there a simple strategy for re-learning Magic the Gathering?

I began playing MTG around Beta/Unlimited but haven't played MTG since about 4th Edition/Fallen Empires/Ice Age. I have been considering picking the game back up, and could use some suggestions on ...
5
votes
1answer
248 views

Phytohydra vs Trample

My friend and I were playing an epic game a few days ago (in the end, he smacked me for 117 damage, only 16 of it was trample, but I only had my Phytohydra out). I'm kind of the rules guy in my ...
5
votes
1answer
5k views

Does Thassa, God of the Sea's “devotion to blue” clause count when it's not in play?

The first Theros god card was unofficially spoiled today. Although it may change, it currently reads: Thassa, God of the Sea {2U} Legendary Enchantment Creature - God Indestructible ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Do Thorncaster Sliver's trigger abilities stack?

If I have two Thorncaster Slivers, do the other slivers I have get the "1 damage" ability twice? If not, why? What rule makes it so they can't have the ability twice? If I had a different card with ...
5
votes
1answer
308 views

Humility and +1/+1 counters

If I play a kicked Quag Vampires, and my opponent has a Humility on the battlefield, will the Quag Vampires still get his counters and be larger than a 1/1?
5
votes
2answers
3k views

If a weak creature with death touch attacks a tougher creature, does my own creature die as well?

If a weak creature with death touch attacks a tougher creature, does my own creature die as well? If I have a 2/2 with death touch that attacks a 4/4, the 4/4 will die but what will happen to my 2/2? ...
5
votes
1answer
161 views

In Magic, when Magus of the Unseen returns an untapped artifact to its original controller, is there a delay before it becomes tapped?

Suppose I have a Magus of the Unseen and some other creature or artifact, and my opponent has a Glare of Subdual and a tapped Yotian Soldier. Magus of the Unseen (1U) Creature — Human Wizard ...
5
votes
2answers
305 views

Is Loyal Cathar's ability a “delayed triggered ability”?

Loyal Cathar - When Loyal Cathar dies, return it to the battlefield transformed under your control at the beginning of the next end step. Question reposted from user Zacula: "I believe that ...
5
votes
1answer
220 views

Would spells played with Enchanted Evening in play trigger Mesa Enchantress?

With Enchanted Evening, all permanents are also enchantments. Mesa Enchantress allows you to draw when you play an enchantment. If I have both out, and play a creature, do I get to draw a card?
5
votes
1answer
243 views

What counts as an ability for the purposes of Muraganda Petroglyphs?

Say I control both Muraganda Petroglyphs and Life and Limb - am I correct in assuming that my Forest Saprolings do not get +2/+2 from the Muraganda Petroglyphs, because they have a mana ability? For ...
5
votes
2answers
171 views

Where can I get my mtg-cube critiqued?

I have reached a point in my cube building process where the decisions about what cards to include are getting tough. It's no longer as simple as "Card A is better than card B. Include card A.". Now I ...
5
votes
1answer
164 views

How has the rise of limited formats affected MTG set design?

One of the great thing about playing limited is that you have to work with what you've got, no matter how bad it is. This means that even some of the worst cards will occasionally see limited play ...
4
votes
2answers
961 views

What happens when additional costs can't ultimately be paid, but the spell is on the stack?

I have a question that bothers me after reading a part of the big book of rules :). It's about the rule 717, illegal actions. 717.1. If a player realizes that he or she can’t legally take an ...
4
votes
4answers
2k views

Why is 20 the starting life total for Magic the Gathering? How would the game be different if this number was changed?

To my knowledge, each player starts with 20 life in nearly every MTG game ever played. But why exactly was the number 20 chosen? How would the game be different if we started with more or less life? ...
4
votes
3answers
304 views

What happens to a spell if an oppenent runs out of mana while casting it?

My friend and I were playing Magic the Gathering when he tried to summon Ghor Clan Rampager. He used all his mana to cast him, but in response I played Twiddle and tapped one of his lands. What would ...
4
votes
4answers
1k views

If Koth of the Hammer's plus one ability ends at end of turn, doesn't it make it useless?

How does Koth of the Hammer's plus one ability work when it ends right after you use it and the Mountain turned into a creature has summoning sickness (part of the rulings on Gatherer)?
4
votes
2answers
5k views

Casting instant spells/using abilities on opponent's turn

Say my opponent plays a planeswalker during their first main phase. I have a Hero's Downfall or some other effect that will kill it after it is already in play, but before they use any of its ...
4
votes
5answers
2k views

What are Riggers and Contraptions in MTG and how do I assmble them? (Steamflogger boss question)

I just saw this card called Steamflogger Boss today, but I've never heard of a Rigger, a Contraption, or an ability called 'assemble' in Magic. Am I missing something? Does this card refer to a very ...
4
votes
4answers
3k views

Phage the Untouchable as a Commander?

I was looking through the Black Legends with thoughts of building a mono-black EDH deck, when I came across Phage the Untouchable. Am I right in assuming that if she is cast from the command zone, you ...
4
votes
9answers
11k views

Is Dimir's milling strategy viable in Gatecrash sealed deck? If not, what can they do instead?

The situation is similar to wesdfgfgd's question MTG Gatecrash Simic Strategies for a Prerelease event I'm a habitual Dimir player. In Gatecrash, many Dimir cards are strongly themed towards their ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

How to search opponents library when playing remote via webcam?

My brother and I are living several 100 miles apart, which makes playing MTG face to face a little difficult. We have been playing via web cam (mounted over the table) for several months now but are ...
4
votes
2answers
667 views

Can a sacrifice be used to pay for more than one effect? [duplicate]

Someone tried to play the following combo in a game I was in. I think it is an illegal play, so I wanted some help to clarify the rules. The cards were: 1) Launch Party - "As an additional cost to ...
4
votes
3answers
519 views

Do weak decks win a disproportionate amount of multiplayer FFA games?

Some people ignore weak decks in a multiplayer FFA setting. They believe that because a deck's card quality is poor that leaving that player basically unmolested, and not expending resources to remove ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Where can I find the story of Magic the Gathering?

I have been playing MTG for a few months now and was told that there is a story behind each set of cards. I have several small bits of the story that came with the decks, but I would like to read the ...
4
votes
2answers
708 views

Do Thorncaster Sliver's triggered abilities go on the stack?

I was guessing, since you actually target things instead of just dealing damage (similar to Hellrider), Thorncaster Sliver's triggered abilities would actually go on the stack. This came up in a ...
4
votes
3answers
526 views

Can Dismember kill my Gloryscale Viashino after I cast Armadillo Cloak?

I have a Gloryscale Viashino creature on the board. I cast the spell Armadillo Cloak to enchant this creature. My opponent responds playing Dismember. His intention is to kill my creature before it ...
4
votes
2answers
661 views

If an attacking creature is sacrificed after being blocked, can I redeclare the block?

I was playing a quick game, and my opponent played Shidako, Broodmistress and attacked with several creatures, I declared my blockers, and my opponent proceeded to pay the forests and sacrifice all of ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Can an indestructible creature die by a combination of damage and -X/-X effects?

Say I have a 5/5 indestructible creature. An opponent plays a 3 damage spell on this creature. After that spell resolves, the opponent then plays a spell which gives the creature -2/-2 until end of ...
4
votes
2answers
300 views

Alpha, Beta, and Arabian Nights in Tournaments?

With the exception of basic lands, are all Alpha, Beta, and Arabian Nights cards banned in sanctioned tournaments? Does that also include Deserts?
4
votes
3answers
7k views

How does trample interact with damage prevention effects and indestructible blockers?

Say I have a 4/4 creature with trample. I attack, and my opponent blocks with a... 0/1 creature that is indestructible: Does my 4/4 trampler's extra 3 damage carry over even though the blocking ...