Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

19
votes
6answers
3k views

Am I obligated to identify cards owned by an opponent?

Nathan controls Jeskai Infiltrator. His deck has green sleeves. Anthony controls three Mountains. His deck has blue sleeves. Anthony casts and resolves Act of Treason, gaining control of Infiltrator. ...
3
votes
1answer
141 views

What are all the previous Oracle text revisions for Time Vault?

On Gatherer, I can see the original wording for Time Vault: Tap to gain an additional turn after the current one. Time Vault doesn't untap normally during untap phase; to untap it, you must skip a ...
3
votes
1answer
158 views

Does Livewire Lash trigger if a spell is countered by Chalice of the Void

I have a creature equipped with Livewire Lash and my opponent has Chalice of the Void in play. I play a spell which targets the creature equipped with Livewire Lash but the spell is countered due to ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Why did Wizards of the Coast change the minimum deck size for Constructed from 40 to 60 cards?

In the beginning, Magic: the Gathering decks had to have at least 40 cards. Later, the developers changed the deckbuilding rules in two ways: The minimum deck size went from 40 cards to 60 cards in ...
2
votes
1answer
5k views

Will a creature cast with Dash still return to your hand if it dies in combat?

While going through Fate Reforged, I became a little bit confused by the new mechanic Dash. For example, if you take a look at Goblin Heelcutter, the ability states as such: Whenever Goblin ...
7
votes
1answer
498 views

Triggered abilities from multiple players. Whose resolves first?

If triggered abilities from sources controlled by multiple players all trigger at the same time, in what order do they resolve? For example, if I control Obzedat, Ghost Council and at least two other ...
1
vote
1answer
447 views

Can I turn a manifested card face up during the declare blockers step?

If I attack with a manifested (face down) card and my opponent declares blockers, is priority then passed to me so I can turn it face up for its mana cost, or must I turn it up after declaring ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Can I use a creature's ability on my opponent's turn?

If I were to have a card on the battlefield such as Archers' Parapet and it was my opponents turn could I play the ability of Parapet if I had player priority? {1}{B}, {T}: Each opponent loses 1 ...
4
votes
2answers
481 views

Why are some decks (i.e. Meandeck Tendrils) not playable in tournaments?

I have been working with Meandeck Tendrils lately. In the linked article, Stephen Menendian indicated that while the decklist was tournament legal (at the time), it was not possible to play it in a ...
1
vote
1answer
612 views

When a permanent has a “When a creature dies” ability, and gets destroyed at the same time as creatures, does that ability trigger? [duplicate]

Say I control Fecundity, which states: Whenever a creature dies, that creature's controller may draw a card. If I control 2 creatures and my opponent controls one creature, and I cast Planar ...
0
votes
2answers
284 views

Do pre constructed decks refresh standard rotation? [duplicate]

I'm a starting player, so I'll be getting the Fate Reforged Clash Pack coming next week to hopefully get playing into Standard. I get this clash pack can be made into a BG Dredge deck, which seems ...
4
votes
1answer
290 views

What is the status of Fruitcake elemental?

I have found a card called fruitcake elemental. This card does that does not appear to be on gatherer, but is on magiccardinfo.com. It is a 7/7 green indestructable creature costing: 1{G}{G}. At ...
2
votes
1answer
339 views

Does Hardened Scales interact with the undying mechanic?

Would a creature with undying (like Young Wolf) get 2 +1/+1 counters instead of 1 when it dies if I had Hardened Scales out?
5
votes
3answers
498 views

Are you required to pay all mandatory additional costs for Wild Evocation?

I found this year old question on a blog. Anthony controls Wild Evocation. At the beginning of his upkeep, he triggers and begins resolving Wild Evocation's triggered ability, revealing Disaster ...
3
votes
1answer
9k views

Do Manifested or Morphed creatures count as tokens?

Does a manifested creature or even a morph creature count as a token? I was told yes, but I was also told that a card can never be considered a token! So I'm asking you guys!
2
votes
1answer
371 views

How serious is forgetting my life gain triggered abilities?

I recently started playing a Soul Sisters / Martyr Life deck, and sometimes have problems remembering triggered abilities every time they're triggered. Whenever another creature enters the ...
3
votes
1answer
464 views

If I concede with a morph card on the stack, do I have to reveal the card to my opponent?

I understand that if a morph card is on the battlefield at the end of the game, I have to reveal it to my opponent, but what if my opponent responds to me casting the morph with a counterspell. If I ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

Can you counter a spell with indestructible?

Can you counter an indestructible enchantment spell? For example, I cast Kruphix, God of Horizons. Can you counter the spell with a spell like Dissipate while it's on the stack?
5
votes
1answer
770 views

Do I need to reveal a face-down card if it is put on top of my library?

If I have a face-down card (such as a morph or manifested card), and an effect puts it on top of my library, do I need to reveal the card (as I would if it was destroyed or exiled)? Example: I ...
2
votes
3answers
347 views

Is there a “consensus” definition of what constitutes a “strong” or “weak” deck? [closed]

In various Magic the Gathering posts, I've seen references to "strong" and weak" decks, and specifically to decks that are "too strong" or "too weak" to be "playable. Is a deck that is "too strong" ...
6
votes
2answers
7k views

What happens if you manifest a creature card with morph?

If a player manifests a creature card with the morph ability, can that player pay the morph cost to turn it face up? For example, if Anthony casts Formless Nurturing to manifest Abomination of Gudul,...
7
votes
2answers
812 views

When must one communicate denial of a shortcut?

Anthony begins his turn by drawing a card. He then immediately turns his creatures sideways and declares "I attack with Runeclaw Bear and Alpine Grizzly." Anthony's opponent, Nathan, has 6 life. ...
8
votes
2answers
362 views

Spell targets player in multiplayer game, and that player leaves. Does it still resolve?

Let's say I have infinite mana, Soulfire Grand Master and Crater's Claws. I play a multiplayer game with 5 other players. I use Soulfire Grand Master last ability with infinite damage crater claws on ...
2
votes
1answer
176 views

Is Flesh Allergy combined with Grave Pact counterproductive?

I need a little help again. Imagine the following situation: I have Grave Pact, Bloodthrone Vampire and 9 other creatures on the battlefield. The opponent has only one creature on the battlefield but ...
3
votes
3answers
772 views

Indestructible and the stack

If I play an instant that grants target creature "indestructible" can an opponent use an instant in response to destroy said creature? Would the stack resolve their ability first? If so, would I be ...
6
votes
1answer
264 views

Victory conditions with the “Limited Range of Influence” option

In a ten player Grand Melee, Anthony controls a Darksteel Reactor with 20 counters on it. Anthony has satisfied the trigger condition for Darksteel Reactor. The trigger resolves, and he wins the game....
2
votes
2answers
436 views

Does Marchesa and a creature with modular work together?

I control Marchesa, the Black Rose and Arcbound Ravager. When Ravager dies, will the abilities of Marchesa and Ravager both trigger? If you can confirm it with rules, that would be great.
0
votes
1answer
167 views

Will my opponent lose from his own Plague Spitter enchanted with Soul Link, if the Plague Spitter deals him lethal damage? [duplicate]

My opponent is at 1 life. He controls a Plague Spitter and 2 other creatures (1/1 tokens). In his second main phase, he puts Soul Link on the Plague Spitter and passes the turn. In my turn I do ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Deathtouch apply to damage dealt via Fall of the Hammer?

Does Deathtouch (from my creature) apply if Fall of the Hammer is used on an enemy creature? The rules say about deathtouch: The rule that causes creatures dealt damage by a source with ...
4
votes
3answers
5k views

Are there cards which turn life gain into damage instead?

I was playing Hearthstone the other day and was intrigued by a card that causes healing spells to do damage instead. I was curious if there was ever anything printed in MTG that would have a similar ...
5
votes
1answer
360 views

What happens when I deal lethal damage to everyone at the same time?

In an EDH game, I was able to get infinite mana, and I used it to cast a Squall Line with X = 1,000,000. What is the result of this decision? Do I win, or does everyone lose and thus tie?
7
votes
1answer
17k views

What happens to enchantments that are attached to creatures when the creatures are returned to your hand?

What happens to enchantments that are attached to creatures when the creatures are returned to your hand?
-12
votes
1answer
307 views

How many rules does Magic have?

More specifically, how many subrules exist in the September 25, 2014 revision of the Comprehensive Rules, located here? 1 Game Concepts Not a rule. This is a header. 100 General Also not a ...
2
votes
3answers
268 views

Did Balance change when its wording was changed?

I noticed that the original text of Balance, from Alpha, says that someone must discard some number of lands to equalize (sorta). In the most recent reprint, I notice they have to choose some number ...
0
votes
1answer
119 views

Can I activate an ability after part of a spell has resolved? (please read example) [duplicate]

I made a Phelddagrif group hug deck with Windfall as my win condition (obviously I would only use it in an emergency) and Elixir of Immortality. So, I cast Windfall with, say, 40 cards in my hand, ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens if Humble Defector is sacrificed before its ability resolves? [duplicate]

Humble Defector reads {T}: Draw two cards. Target opponent gains control of Humble Defector. Activate this ability only during your turn. Anthony controls Humble Defector and Butcher of the ...
2
votes
1answer
189 views

Does Essence Scatter affect Artifact Creatures?

Does the Instant Essence Scatter affect Artifact Creature spells such as Stuffy Doll?
16
votes
1answer
1k views

Enchantment Legal only because of it's Effect. Remains on target?

This happened this weekend, and we were unsure how to resolve it. Opponent casts Progenitus. On my turn, I cast Polymorphist Jest. Then I cast, Darksteel Mutation targeting the Progenitus. ...
17
votes
1answer
464 views

Weird m “placeholder” card

A while ago a friend of mine pulled an interesting card in a pack of Urza's Legacy. The back was normal, but the front was solid black with a white M on it. I can't find the card right now, but I made ...
1
vote
1answer
149 views

Thrashing Wumpus and Keen Sense

If I control a Thrashing Wumpus, with Keen Sense on it and I spend 3 black mana to activate the ability of the Thrashing Wumpus, I get to draw 3 cards right? (If I have only one opponent that is) It ...
0
votes
0answers
33 views

Does reduced casting cost affect casting of cards with variable casting cost? [duplicate]

I know the title's wording is a bit confusing, so here's an example scenario: I have Etherium Sculptor in play and I cast Chimeric Mass for 0 mana. My understanding (this post and my understanding of ...
2
votes
2answers
5k views

Can Dash from Fate Reforged be used at instant speed?

Fate Reforged is introducing a new mechanic called dash. It's reminder text is as follows: You may cast this spell for its dash cost. If you do, it gains haste, and it's returned from the ...
6
votes
4answers
628 views

Is it possible to build a wide variety of decks at low cost? If so, how?

I was pretty reluctant to get into magic because I knew that: Our game-centric family would want to build a wide variety of decks We are not interested in spending hundreds of dollars on a single ...
0
votes
1answer
284 views

Can multiple spells be activated with the same mana? [duplicate]

So first off I am fairly new to MTG and I was playing with my friend today and he corrected me on my move making. The way I thought it worked is that, for example, if I have a creature that requires 1 ...
0
votes
3answers
2k views

How many counters for each turn for Abzan?

I've just started playing mtg like a week ago and the first deck I've bought was Abzan Siege. Problem is I'm a bit confused on one thing, how many counters can you put on a creature at each turn? Is ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Dealing Damage to Creature soulbonded to Deadeye Navigator

A scenario played out last night that at the time I felt was correct, but the more I think about it, the more I feel uncomfortable about it. I had on the field: Goblin Bombardment Furnace of Rath ...
1
vote
1answer
3k views

Are there any turn 1 win decks? [closed]

So the question is in the title: Is there any deck that can(in the very best case) win in turn 1? It should not be tournament legal, it should not be legacy legal, but it should follow the basic ...
1
vote
3answers
572 views

Who determines the target creature or player when a card says “deals 1 damage to target creature or player”?

Vigilante Justice says "Whenever a Human enters the battlefield under your control, Vigilante Justice deals 1 damage to target creature or player." Do I decide if the damage goes to the creature or ...
3
votes
4answers
599 views

Is there any strategic reason to skip a turn to untap Time Vault?

A bunch of recent Channel Fireball videos (LSV, Cheon, LSV again) show players exploiting Time Vault combos, where you untap the Vault with Voltaic Key or some similar effect to take infinite turns. ...
4
votes
1answer
486 views

Stuffy Doll blocking 11/11 trampler. Phyrexian Obliterator blocks 11/11 trampler

What my problem is when last night a Stuffy Doll blocked my 11/11 trampler, the result was me taking 11 damage and Stuffy Doll absorbing one of that damage from the defending player who took ten ...