Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

1
vote
2answers
196 views

Polymorphous Rush targeting Young Pyromancer and X Tokens

If I cast Polymorphous Rush targeting X tokens, turning them all into copies of a Young Pyromancer, do I get an elemental token from each copy, similar to Scapeshift with Valakut on the battlefield?
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Do deathtouch and deathtouch-like effects stop trample damage?

My friend has a trample deck, and I have a Stinkweed Imp that says "Whenever Stinkweed Imp deals combat damage to a creature, destroy that creature." Can a creature destroyed this way still deal ...
6
votes
2answers
994 views

Why did Experiment One not get a counter when my Undying creature returned to play?

Yesterday on MTGO an ability didn't trigger and I don't understand why. I had Experiment One in play, with one +1/+1 counter on it, so it was 2/2. Experiment One has Evolve (Whenever a creature ...
4
votes
1answer
301 views

Can a single Myr Servitor save itself when sacrificed to Eldrazi Monument?

I have Eldrazi Monument and Myr Servitor on the board. Is the following play legal? My upkeep begins. Eldrazi Monument and Myr Servitor trigger at the same time, so I put the Servitor's ability on ...
2
votes
2answers
488 views

Is it now a good time to buy rotating Magic Cards? [closed]

There are many cards from the RTR block and M14 that I want just for my collection and not for play (maybe just some casual play), for example, I would like to buy a Domri Rade and a Kalonian Hydra. ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

How do I identify non-English Magic cards?

In my collection is a Magic card printed in a language other than English. How can I determine which card this is?
3
votes
1answer
304 views

Will Boartusk Liege give +1/+1 to Goblins if Dralnu's Crusade is in play?

Say I have Boartusk Liege and Dralnu's Crusade in play. Boartusk Liege gives all other red creatures +1/+1 and Dralnu's Crusade says "all Goblins are black and are Zombies in addition to their other ...
3
votes
1answer
512 views

In what order should I present the basics of Magic? [closed]

I am working on a multimedia presentation (a series of images with an audio of explanation; video can be used too but should be less than the images) about Magic The Gathering. The scope is to explain ...
2
votes
1answer
343 views

Stalling/Slow Play and Control

As a control player, there are times where it takes a while to resolve the first game, and there are many times where I'm up a game. Are there any rulings against stonewalling the opponent and not ...
-2
votes
1answer
110 views

What is the expansion symbol of Face the Hydra set?

What is the expansion symbol from the Face the Hydra set?
3
votes
3answers
613 views

If a single effect would destroy a permanent multiple times, can regeneration replace it?

Nancy controls a Runeclaw Bear enchanted by Hyena Umbra. Hyena Umbra has a regeneration shield, granted by Reknit. Anthony casts Planar Cleansing. This causes two replacement effects to apply. ...
4
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens to a creature enchanted with totem armor if both are destroyed at the same time?

If a player controls a Boon Satyr enchanted with Hyena Umbra providing totem armor, and an opponent plays Fracturing Gust to destroy all artifacts and more importantly enchantments. What happens? An ...
1
vote
1answer
597 views

How to build MtG duel decks out of a set of older cards? [closed]

I have some older Magic: The Gathering cards: Lands 25 Island 14 Mountain 10 Swamp U 1 Aura Flux 1 Balloon Peddler 1 Boucing Beebles 1 Buoyancy 1 Cloud of Faeries 1 Delusions of ...
3
votes
1answer
415 views

What happens to counters on a creature when the equipment that put them there is exiled?

A green creature is equipped with Ring of Kalonia. A +1/+1 counter is put on at the owner's upkeep(BTW, I believe a new counter isn't added every upkeep step). The creature gains trample. What ...
3
votes
2answers
277 views

How can I keep track of my sideboarded cards in a physical Magic deck?

In Magic, if you swap in cards from your sideboard during a match, you need to reset to your original deck for the beginning of the next match. I find I have trouble remembering what I sideboarded and ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

When would I play a Quickling?

I have just started playing MTG and am really liking it. In the six games I have played, with a couple of people, the Quickling card keeps coming up. We just don't understand under what circumstances ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Does a exiling a creature after being destroyed or dealt lethal damage still count as if it “died”?

I'm actually working on an alternative card set. While designing tribal mechanics, I have encountered a problem with a single thing: does a creature exiled after being destroyed (instead of being put ...
0
votes
1answer
217 views

Do multiple Gray Merchant of Asphodels trigger each others' enters-the-battlefield effects? [duplicate]

If there is a Gray Merchant of Asphodel on the battlefield and a second Gray Merchant of Asphodel enters, do both cards trigger and opponent loses x life where x is devotion times 2, or does just the ...
-6
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Grindclock's counter reset when it's activated?

When a player taps the Grindclock ability to pull X cards from a player's library and place them in the graveyard, does the counter reset?
9
votes
2answers
1k views

When a creature is summoned but still on the stack is it considered a permanent?

Suppose I cast a creature spell, let's say Elvish Mystic. It enters the stack, then in response another player casts Counterspell targeting it. Could I, in response to that, cast Avoid fate or is the ...
4
votes
1answer
575 views

What happens if I play Cloudshift during combat?

Would playing cards like Cloudshift end my combat phase? And if not could I attack then Cloudshift then attack again with the same card that was Cloudshifted? Also would cards like Amulet of Vigor ...
-1
votes
1answer
151 views

Effect of Blood Feud

Blood Feud lets two creatures fight each other. Is it similar to normal combat? As I understand it, after a combat you use up your power and toughness. If there are 3/4 and 2/2, and they combat each ...
0
votes
2answers
4k views

Are the odds of drawing mythics greater when purchasing individually packaged boosters over booster boxes?

From personal experience I tend to draw mythic rare cards about one in five purchases when buying individually packaged boosters at Target, Walmart, etc, like the ones in this picture: In booster ...
2
votes
3answers
996 views

Do creatures who come into play tapped have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

If I play Leviathan (and we know he comes into play tapped) and have a Puppeteer or something out to untap him, am I prevented from sacrificing the two islands and attacking the turn he came into ...
2
votes
1answer
508 views

Does a heroic trigger still resolve if the heroic creature is gone?

Having read When does Heroic trigger? I think the answer is yes, but I'd just like to double check: I have Akroan Crusader and I cast Nyxborn Rollicker for its bestow cost so my stack looks like ...
0
votes
1answer
234 views

Collect cards for beginner deck [closed]

i'm willing to dive into MtG I just ordered Deck Builder's Toolkit from our local club, is that going to be enough for building at least average beginner deck? What my best options to expand my ...
3
votes
1answer
361 views

Can Teysa, Orzhov Scion sacrifice itself and still use its 2nd ability?

What happens if I sacrifice Teysa, Orzhov Scion along with two other "white and black" creatures (in order to remove another creature from the game) - do I still get my 2 spirit tokens from the other ...
4
votes
2answers
558 views

How should I set up a draft from multiple old sets?

I recently recovered a treasure trove of "lost" cards. (If you're physically recoiling at the thought of all those warped and potentially bent cards, I'm right there with you) They run the gamut ...
3
votes
2answers
433 views

Stealing and Phasing

Say I borrowed an opponent's creature (e.g. via Threaten) and then let it phase out (e.g. via Reality Ripple). Under whose control does it phase in, and when? Under whose control does it phase in if ...
9
votes
1answer
583 views

How do I identify the role of a singleton in a well-tuned deck?

In this instance, I'm looking at Matt Sperling's Pro Tour top 8 Boros Burn deck, and there's one thing I don't get--what's the single Eidolon of the Great Revel doing here? Creatures: 4 ...
5
votes
3answers
390 views

Animated Urborg and Humility

We all know that a really messed up rules situation must involve a Humility. So here we go. This site discusses the scenario when an Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth becomes animated (e.g. via Nissa, ...
2
votes
1answer
141 views

Do multiple Archetypes work together?

What if I had three different archetypes on the field: Archetype of Imagination (gives flying), Archetype of Endurance (gives hexproof), and Archetype of Finality (gives deathtouch)? Would all three ...
0
votes
1answer
683 views

Is it worthwhile to build a competive Standard M15 deck when a block is about to rotate out? [closed]

So I want to start playing competitive magic again, in the standard format (just started up again after about 6 years of not playing). Is it worth it for me to build a competitive standard deck right ...
2
votes
2answers
281 views

Do I get to keep the 2nd Kalonian Twingrove when I got it via a Mimic Vat?

Say I have this situation: I have a Mimic Vat out. An opponent's non-token Kalonian Twingrove dies during my turn and I choose to imprint it and put it as a copy token on my side of the battlefield. ...
4
votes
3answers
2k views

Can more lands be tapped for mana than needed?

I was playing with a friend last night, and during one of our games i miscalculated the amount of mana needed to activate various abilities on my permanents. I ended up tapping too many lands (2 too ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

How many counters does Kalonian Hydra get with two Corpsejack Menaces on the battlefield?

Suppose I have 2 Corspejack Menaces on the battlefield. I play a Kalonian Hydra which is given haste by another effect, and decide to attack with it right away. How many counters are actually put on ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

How should I determine whether a deck is legal in a particular format?

I have a list of cards for a deck I want to build or buy. What should I do to check whether that deck is legal in a particular format (Standard, for example)?
1
vote
1answer
339 views

Will Exquisite Blood trigger even if the life loss eliminates the player

We are trying to workout a ruling for a multi player game of mtg involving 8 players and a 1 player with an Exquisite Blood. So lets say there are eight players. Player #3 has Exquisite Blood. Player ...
1
vote
2answers
3k views

Can I play a Sorcery or Instant without paying its mana cost, in any way?

In Magic, there are creature cards with huge mana costs (like 15 for Emrakul, the Aeons Torn), that can hardly ever be paid in a normal game of Magic. Luckily, there are many ways to "cheat" creatures ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

In MTG, when sacrificing another player's creature, who performs the discard into the graveyard?

Dovetailing off this question... Can I sacrifice a creature that is only temporarily under my control? ...where the answer is, yes, you definitely can. 'Who' discards it? I'm specifically looking ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

Can you untap an attacking creature to use its ability at the end of declare blockers?

Looking at this question and this question, it seems like I can activate abilities after blockers are declared (and before damage is assigned). So if I'm attacking with Scourge of Skola Vale, can I ...
4
votes
3answers
2k views

Remove bestow target, does it become a creature?

If my opponent was to cast bestow onto a creature, and i then remove the creature, does the bestow get countered and go to the graveyard, or does it become a creature?
2
votes
1answer
4k views

Do cards with abilities that target trigger heroic?

Would something like Satyr Grovedancer or something that has "When ~ enters the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature" trigger Heroic? It has the keyword target, but does it count as an ...
1
vote
2answers
528 views

order of attack and blocking with a creature with modifying other creature's ability

Suppose a situation where you have a Paragon of Gathering Mists and another creature, say X, with 3/3 on the battlefield. PGM is 2/2 and X becomes 4/4 because of PGM. When I attack a player with both ...
1
vote
2answers
5k views

Can Cancel counter a creature on the battlefield?

Say, I have Cancel, which is an Instant, on my hand. It can counter any spells. The opponent has had a creature, for example Ajani's Pridemate, on the battlefield for several turns attacking and ...
8
votes
2answers
519 views

Generator Servent with Nemesis of Mortals

Nemesis of Mortals says: Nemesis of Mortals costs 1 less to cast for each creature card in your graveyard. and Generator Servant says: Tap, Sacrifice Generator Servant: Add 2 to your mana ...
0
votes
2answers
275 views

What to consider when naming decks [closed]

I'm relatively new to deck building, but I have noticed that sometimes players name their decks. What are the things to consider when I come to name decks? Here are a few things that I consider ...
3
votes
3answers
3k views

Do +1/+1 counters accumulate?

This might be quite basic. I am just a beginner and searched through the web and the rule book and couldn't find the answer. For instance, Ajani's Pridemate lets you, Whenever you gain life, you ...
2
votes
3answers
2k views

Does Phytotitan return to the battlefield when it first died and then was exiled?

I have a question regarding Phytotitan, it's a 7/2 creature wich states: When Phytotitan dies, return it to the battlefield under its owner's control tapped at the beginning of his or her next ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

What do I say when an opponent asks if I'm “tapped out”, especially if I still have a means of casting a spell?

When my opponent asks if I am "tapped out" is it reasonable to assume they are referring to land only? Say for example my opponent goes to declare attackers and asks if I am "tapped out". I have no ...