Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

0
votes
1answer
101 views

What's the name of the type of expansion set “packs” that MTG players can buy at release events?

I've heard that MTG vendors can have release events for expansion sets. During these events, players can spend a relatively small amount (say, $20 bucks) and get a collection of cards from that set ...
1
vote
1answer
96 views

In multiplayer, does Dictate of Erebos still take effect if the combat that kills its owner's creature defeats the owner?

I was playing a 4 way standard multiplayer match. One player had 3/3 on the field, and Dictate of Erebos which says: Whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature. I ...
5
votes
1answer
596 views

When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?

My friend has been playing a sliver commander deck and uses Root Sliver which is a thorn in the side of my control. Lets say I have an instant in my had that can destroy the Root Sliver and a counter ...
3
votes
2answers
491 views

Forests you control vs Forests in play

I was playing MTG with a friend last night when we had a slight disagreement about the wording of some cards. Sometimes cards will be marked as having a special ability "for each forest you control" ...
4
votes
3answers
272 views

Dictate of Erebos and Undercity Informer stack question

Situation: My opponent has Dictate of Erebos out ("Whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature."). He then attacks me with one of his creatures; I defend, killing his ...
-4
votes
1answer
233 views

When a card asks you to flip a coin is it against the rules to use a two headed coin?

I know in a casual setting it's probably considered unsportsmanlike conduct, but let's say I was in some sort of tournament and I played a card that said I have to flip a coin. Would a judge issue me ...
3
votes
1answer
369 views

Do creatures come into play tapped if they come into play at the same time as a card which says “Creatures come into play tapped”?

An example situation : Living Death resolves while there is a Urabrask the Hidden in my graveyard and another creature in my opponent's graveyard. Urabrask says "Creatures your opponents control ...
5
votes
2answers
244 views

Do MTG Core sets contain new (never before seen) cards? How does this compare with expansion sets?

(I clearly didn't format my prior question appropriately so I'll rephrase things). Do MTG Core sets contain new (never before seen) cards? Or is it just cards for the prior year's expansion set? ...
2
votes
2answers
190 views

Priorities at End of Turn

So I announce the end of my turn. My opponent responds with a lightning bolt to my head. It resolves so I take 3. Do I still have priority to do something else, eg to play instants that says do ...
3
votes
1answer
167 views

Will Yixlid Jailer negate Snapcaster Mage's flashback-giving ability?

Yixlid Jailer makes all cards in graveyard lose their abilities while Snapcaster Mage giveths a card in graveyard the flashback ability. In this scenario, Yixlid Jailer's ability prevails, correct? ...
1
vote
1answer
108 views

Could Cemetery Puca copy a Primordial Hydra?

If I kill my opponents 4/4 Primordial Hydra, will I be able to use my Cemetery Puca's activated ability on the Hydra, and have it become a 4/4 Primordial Hydra, or will my Puca die because the Hydra ...
1
vote
1answer
88 views

When do static bonuses go away relative to damage dealt?

I use Radiant Archangel in a deck full of flying creatures. It is a 3/3 flyer with +1/+1 for each other flying creature in play. During a game, I had seven other flying creatures, making it a 10/10. ...
7
votes
2answers
736 views

Does a +1/+1 counter remove a -1/-1 counter?

My opponent controls a Kulrath Knight. I control a 4/4 creature (with a -1/-1 counter on it, due to an earlier cast Black Sun's Zenith). If I use an ability to put a +1/+1 counter on my 4/4 ...
2
votes
1answer
142 views

Are expansion sets in magic designed for use with specific deck archetypes?

I'm new to Magic so apologies in advance if this is an obvious question: Are expansion sets designed to accommodate any/all deck archetypes? For example, my current play style gravitates towards red ...
1
vote
1answer
95 views

When do transformed creatures go back to their original forms?

It's not clear to me from reading Double-Faced Card Rules: do transformed creatures revert back to their original type automatically? And if so, when? End of your turn or beginning of your next turn?
5
votes
5answers
753 views

Why would I want to use the activated ability of “Scalding Tarn”?

I think I'm missing something here. I thought that land cards that have two colors at the bottom mean that they can be used as land for either of the colors. Take for example Scalding Tarn: It ...
4
votes
2answers
482 views

Do gods keep their +1/+1 counters if they stop being creatures? [duplicate]

Do counters added to a god with Gleam of Battle disappear when the god stops being a creature? Scenario: Purphoros, God of the Forge is a creature (due to devotion reaching the required amount) and ...
0
votes
2answers
112 views

Celestial Flare Question declaring blockers

Celestial Flare is an instant that says: Target player sacrifices an attacking or blocking creature. Suppose the instant is played on on the attacking player after the defending player has ...
4
votes
1answer
283 views

Can a red spell (Sorcery, Instant, etc) affect a green creature?

I have a red/green deck. Can I use my red spells on my green creatures, and my green spells on my red creatures? I am fairly new to MtG so I am sorry if this appears as a sort of nooby question.
2
votes
1answer
127 views

How is Test of Faith resolved with multiple blockers?

As an extension of this related question, how is Test of Faith resolved in a situation where this instant is cast on one of multiple blocking creatures assigned to a single attacking creature? Let: ...
5
votes
3answers
267 views

Which is authoritative: Ban List or Gatherer?

I built me a comannder deck for Athreos, God of Passage. I did some searching for ways to get card draw (because I was running out of cards) and one of the card I looked at was Yawgmoth's Bargain. ...
3
votes
1answer
257 views

Abilities that need a name and unnamed tokens

I am fairly sure on this one, but I wanted to ask to be really sure. Say I have Secrets of Paradise and a deck with a lot of Rousing of Souls. Am I right in thinking that because the tokens made ...
7
votes
1answer
319 views

Drawing and going first

In what scenarios or formats can a player draw even when they are going first? For example: I usually play that if there are more than 2 teams (each team having 1 or more players) then the first team ...
4
votes
1answer
257 views

Can I activate the tap ability of a creature summoned last turn before I have to remove it to my hand?

We had this situation come in a game last night, and I wanted to make sure that we played it correctly and that I understood the rules. Player A had an Eiganjo Free-Riders in play. During this turn, ...
2
votes
2answers
139 views

Cards entering the battlefield simultaneously and “Enter the Battlefield” effects

I was playing modern with the owner of a shop. He played a Scapeshift which he used to bring in 7 lands: 5 basic mountains and 2 Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle cards. He then claimed that each Valakut ...
5
votes
2answers
313 views

Stifling a storm card

Can I play Stifle on the storm trigger on cards like Grapeshot to prevent any copies from being made?
1
vote
1answer
129 views

Wall of Frost vs a cyphered Hidden Strings

My mate just attacked with 2 creatures. One is unblockable and has Hidden Strings as a cypher on it. The other has been blocked by Wall of Frost, which now doesn't untap next untap step. Can hidden ...
5
votes
2answers
191 views

What happens when I redirect multiple large sources of damage through the en-Kor ability to Mogg Maniac?

The situation is this: I control a Shaman en-Kor and a Nomads en-Kor and a Mogg Maniac. During my opponent's turn, I cast Inferno, dealing 6 damage to all creatures and all players. Is it possible ...
3
votes
1answer
147 views

Can Grave Betrayal give me a Mutavault?

Would Grave Betrayal give me a Mutavault? I'm guessing no, but enough rules have changed since Onslaught that I'm not going to guess.
7
votes
2answers
987 views

How do you run a short multiplayer Conspiracy draft tournament?

There is a new set in Magic the Gathering coming out, called Conspiracy. Conspiracy is a set specifically designed for drafting, and notably, multiplayer games. My question revolves around how to ...
2
votes
1answer
207 views

Pyxis of Pandemonium and 'enters the battlefield' abilities

My question about Pyxis of Pandemonium is: When all of the cards are finally turned face up, what determines the order in which their "when X enters the battlefield..." effects resolve?
1
vote
1answer
125 views

Vastwood hydra + Cathars' Crusade + Mercy Killing

I have a question about a combat trick involving the cards mentioned in the Title. Situation is: I control a 4/4 Kalonian Hydra and a 4/4 Vastwood Hydra. I also have Cathars' Crusade on the ...
0
votes
1answer
100 views

Reverse the Sands and Sanguine Bond

If I have Sanguine Bond on the battlefield, and I play Reverse the Sands, will the redistribution of life trigger Sanguine Bond if I choose to distribute less life to my opponent than he originally ...
2
votes
4answers
167 views

What are desirable planeswalker characteristics?

Some planeswalkers, such as Jace, Architect of Thought and Domri Rade have seen a lot of tournament play, while others, such as Gideon, Champion of Justice and Vraska the Unseen are rarely used in ...
5
votes
1answer
109 views

Platinum Emperion and Tree of Redemption

If I have a Platinum Emperion on the battlefield and I tap my Tree of Redemption, will the Tree still change it's toughness to my current life total, or will the Platinum Emperion negate that effect, ...
5
votes
2answers
854 views

Why is Sword of Body and Mind regarded as the weakest of the Swords?

Sword of Body and Mind is part of a 5-card cycle: Sword of Body and Mind Sword of War and Peace Sword of Feast and Famine Sword of Fire and Ice Sword of Light and Shadow All cards in this cycle ...
1
vote
2answers
147 views

Crypt Incursion stack help

So me and my mate are just looking for clarification about Crypt Incursion. For example, I play Crypt Incursion, targeting my graveyard. In response he plays Crypt Incursion and also wants to target ...
3
votes
1answer
111 views

Does double strike work whilst blocking?

I'm attacking with a 1/1 Satyr Grovedancer. My opponent blocks with a 1/2 Two-Headed Cerberus with double strike. Does double strike still apply when the creature is blocking? I understand my Satyr ...
3
votes
1answer
323 views

Can I tap a card after I assign it to block? [duplicate]

During the combat phase, after I assign a blocker, can I then tap that blocker for its activated ability? What would happen? For example, say that a 1/1 Saproling token equipped with Healer's Headress ...
1
vote
2answers
122 views

If I respond to a permanent resolving is it in play when my spell/ability resolves?

Lets say that at my opponent's end step I cast Bile Blight on his Pack Rat that he already has 3 of total on the field, then he activates the ability of pack rat in response, can I respond to the ...
10
votes
3answers
803 views

Grave Betrayal vs. Blightsteel Colossus

My opponent has to sacrifice a creature. He sacrifices a Blightsteel Colossus. I have Grave Betrayal on the battlefield. Will my opponent get to shuffle the colossus into his deck again, or will it ...
5
votes
1answer
115 views

Pharika's Mender, Gray Merchant of Asphodel, Rescue From The Underworld

I have an Elvish Mystic (EM) and Pharika Mender (PM) in my graveyard, and a Gray Merchant of Asphodel (GMOA)on the battlefield. At the end of my opponent's turn, I play Rescue from The Underworld ...
5
votes
2answers
409 views

How does Humility affect creatures with an Echo cost?

If I cast a card with Echo and Humility is in play do I still have to pay the echo cost?
4
votes
1answer
227 views

Can I activate mana abilities even if I don't need the mana?

Rule 605.3a says: A player may activate an activated mana ability whenever he or she has priority, whenever he or she is casting a spell or activating an ability that requires a mana payment, or ...
1
vote
1answer
121 views

How does Humility affect Bestowable creatures?

Humility says each creature loses it's abilities. So how does that work with bestowable creatures? Normally, for auras, as I understand it, it depends on the timestamp that the aura vs. the humility ...
9
votes
2answers
278 views

Do I draw a card if I enchant an opponent's Eidolon of Blossoms with Hypnotic Siren?

The situation is just as stated in the title: my opponent controls Eidolon of Blossoms: Whenever Eidolon of Blossoms or another enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, draw a card. ...
3
votes
2answers
222 views

Mana Ramp for White and Blue? [closed]

What are some ramp cards for White or Blue decks (excluding High Tide in Blue)? Formats: All excluding Vintage.
0
votes
2answers
812 views

What does Will of the Council do with 2 Players?

Will of the Council -- Starting with you, each player votes for X. The X with the most votes does YZ. What happens when you have only two players, therefore making it in some cases impossible for ...
4
votes
1answer
187 views

Can you dredge twice for one card draw?

Say I have two Life from the Loams in my graveyard. Can I dredge twice — once for each of the Life from the Loams — when drawing my first card on my turn? I assume the answer is no, but I figured I'd ...
1
vote
1answer
308 views

Permanent +1/+1, and −1/−1 until end of turn

As I understand things, if my Korozda Gorgon gives −1/−1 counter to a creature that has a +1/+1 counter on it, as a state-based effect the −1/−1 cancels one of the +1/+1 ...