Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

2
votes
2answers
657 views

Can a player with 0 life use Soul Conduit to make their opponent lose instead?

If you get a player down to 0 life can he still use Soul Conduit's ability and swap life totals with another player killing that player instead?
0
votes
1answer
133 views

How to grant haste en masse in a mono-green Commander deck?

In my Elf Commander Deck (edited version of the Guided by Nature 2014 Commander Deck), I have Nissa Revane and as I was looking through the MTG tag of BCGSE I saw this question asking about if elves ...
1
vote
1answer
190 views

How does combat damage work when one creature blocks multiple attackers?

If I have Brave the Sands, am I allowed to block both a 6/6 flying and a 5/4 with my 1/2 Gurmag Swiftwing, and take 0 damage?
1
vote
3answers
174 views

vedalken orrery, aura of silence in reponse to opponents enchantment

If I have a Vedalken Orrery in play, and my opponent attempts to cast an enchantment, can I flash in Aura of Silence in response and force them to either pay 2 more mana or have their spell fizzle?
5
votes
4answers
428 views

How can I deal with indestructible shrouded slivers?

So, here's the thing. My dad plays Slivers for his Commander deck with Sliver Overlord as his commander. When he plays this deck, he always seems to get out Sliver Hivelord and Crystalline Sliver, ...
5
votes
2answers
599 views

Ulamog the Ceaseless Hunger & On Cast effect timing

If I cast Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger and target my opponent's two Plains on the board, does the exile effect resolve before my opponent has a chance to tap one of the lands to play Path to Exile? ...
1
vote
3answers
110 views

Does Claustrophobia prevent triggered abilities?

If I have a Blightcaster and my opponent enchants it with Claustrophobia will my Blightcasters ability still work when I cast an enchantment?
3
votes
1answer
354 views

How does Complete Disregard interact with pump spells?

When you have a card like Complete Disregard which reads "Exile Target Creature with power 3 or less", as I understand it, it becomes untargetable if the opponent's creature is Brute Strengthed. But ...
7
votes
2answers
404 views

Can City of Brass be used to cast Kozilek, the Great Distortion in Commander?

Can City of Brass be used to pay for the colorless component of Kozilek, the Great Distortion's cost if I am playing Commander?
2
votes
4answers
337 views

What are the most expensive cards in Magic: The Gathering?

I've heard of the Black Lotus and Dual Lands. Are there any other really expensive cards in Magic: The Gathering?
0
votes
0answers
28 views

What is the order of the combat phase in Magic: The Gathering? [duplicate]

I've spent some time looking at the rules for what goes on during the combat phase, but I'm still not sure what happens exactly. What am I allowed to do and when?
1
vote
1answer
135 views

4 Color Burn + Dark Confidant decktech

This is a theory/decktech question. Lets say you're playing 4 color burn (R,W,B,G) and your opponent is running something with spikey lifegain (Feed the Clan and a few Tarmogoyfs for example), so ...
7
votes
1answer
230 views

Is it possible for a Creature permanent to become a non-Creature permanent without losing its abliities?

The Oath of the Gatewatch release notes say the following in the section about Stone Haven Outfitter: In this context, “equipped creatures you control” and “equipped creature you control” refer to ...
1
vote
1answer
203 views

Can Winds of Qal Sisma trigger Willbreaker's ability?

If I use Winds of Qal Sisma to prevent damage from a creature, does Willbreaker trigger and let me gain control of that creature?
1
vote
2answers
149 views

Hexproof vs enchantment affecting all creatures

My opponent controls Plated Crusher, a 7/6 hexproof creature. I control two Dampening Pulses, which give opponents' creatures -1/-0. Would Dampening Pulse affect the hexproof creature? I think it ...
2
votes
1answer
226 views

Does the MtG lore have an official explanation for banned cards?

(Specifically, those other than: ante cards, un-cards, Shahrazad.) I remember reading someone speculating that knowledge of how to cast them was mostly lost, with those who still know generally ...
0
votes
3answers
198 views

Do Surge triggers happen “on cast” or when the spell resolves?

Consider this new card from Oath of the Gatewatch -- Crush of Tentacles. I realize the first part -- "Return all nonland permanents to their owners' hands" -- happens when the spell resolves, but ...
3
votes
2answers
377 views

If a card becomes cloned while another text-modifying effect is on the stack, what is the result?

Here is the scenario: I have Shapesharer and Quicksilver Elemental in play. I activate and resolve Artificial Evolution to make Quicksilver Elemental a Shapeshifter. I activate Quicksilver ...
5
votes
1answer
226 views

Are players permitted to resolve errors between themselves, without involving a judge?

Suppose that a game play error occurs during a tournament. Both players agree that they would rather handle the error themselves than call a judge, and so they agree on a resolution and continue to ...
5
votes
3answers
885 views

Is there any way to stop someone from sacrificing a Golden Urn?

My friend had a Golden Urn on the board with 10 counters on it. If I destroy it and he sacs it in response to gain the life, is there anything that can be done about that? Like, can I put another ...
3
votes
1answer
179 views

Scion of the Ur-Dragon multiple transformation

Consider this situation: I use the ability of Scion of the Ur-Dragon and put it in the stack. My opponent play Rending Volley in response targeting Scion of the Ur-Dragon. In response I use it's ...
0
votes
0answers
91 views

Mana burn-real? [duplicate]

Some friends told me about mana burn- if you tap too many lands, you lose a life. I have read the relevant parts of CR and found nothing. Is this rule rwal or are they messing with me.
0
votes
0answers
64 views

Creature lands dying [duplicate]

My friend said that when stirring wildwood dies, it turns back into a land. I thought it was sent to your graveyard. Who is correct?
3
votes
2answers
249 views

Can something have multiples of the same aura?

Can I have duplicate enchantment auras on the same creature? Example: I enchanted my Kor Spiritdancer with Ethereal Armor, can I cast another Ethereal Armor on her? Yes or no, and what's the ruling ...
1
vote
1answer
123 views

MTG Myr Welder Exile question

On the card Myr Welder it says two things. Imprint -- {T} : Exile target artifact card from a graveyard. Myr Welder has all activated abilities of all cards exiled with it. My question is ...
2
votes
2answers
137 views

Are there any cards that permanently take control of opponents creature

I know that the cards I'm familiar with such as Act of Treason and Act of Aggression all specify gaining control until end of turn. I'm wondering if something such as Illusory Gains, Beguiler of ...
4
votes
1answer
172 views

How does drawing then discarding work with a full hand?

If my opponent has a full hand of 7 cards and I cast wistful thinking, what happens? Do they discard the two cards they draw and then discard four more for a total of six cards discarded?
3
votes
1answer
115 views

EDH Off Color ability in card text

Is it possible to run a Repentant Vampire in a Grixis (Red Blue Black) Commander deck? I don't see anything in the official rulings, and the card doesn't have a white mana symbol on it. I'm leaning ...
4
votes
2answers
185 views

Does Illusory Gains make someone else's Commander my own forever?

If I play my Illusory Gains on my opponent's commander, does their commander become mine indefinitely? I have not played this card and I am unsure as to how playing it on a commander works.
1
vote
2answers
135 views

Does tapping a creature force it to attack?

I was playing with my little brother, and during my turn he used Black Oak of Odunos's ability, paying the black mana and tapping Oreskos Sun Guide so that on his turn turn he could untap Oreskos and ...
2
votes
1answer
281 views

Triggered ability of another card when two legendary creatures with the same name enter to the battlefield at the same time [duplicate]

If I have a Temur Ascendancy and a Savage Knuckleblade in the battlefield then I use See the Unwritten and put 2 Dragonlord Atarka into the battlefield. Do I draw one card or two cards? I know that ...
2
votes
2answers
394 views

Foil rares in booster boxes?

Is it guaranteed that there is a foil rare in every booster box? I've recently finished opening a box and there was no foil rare and many duplicates. I already searched the web to see if it is ...
3
votes
1answer
193 views

Who is in charge of knowing abilities of blockers and attackers?

I was in a situation where I lost due to a combo where a creature that deals combat damage mills me due to an enchantment attached to it. I lost the game due to not knowing that ability was on the ...
1
vote
0answers
60 views

Can I run two different dual lands that produce the same colors of mana? [duplicate]

I have Thornwood Falls and Simic Guildgate. Am I allowed to run four of each of these cards in one deck? I cannot find a ruling on this, maybe my google-fu is a bit off though...
4
votes
4answers
225 views

What counts as a counter?

Does Chief of the Edge's ability count as a +1/+0 counter? I want want to use it for other cards such as Ainok Bond-Kin's ability ("each creature you control with a +1/+1 counter gets first strike"). ...
3
votes
1answer
101 views

Do spells that change power/toughness of all creatures until end of turn affect creatures played afterwards? [duplicate]

If I play Overrun or Infest, THEN play a creature after the prior spell resolves, is that creature affected? I assume so, but is this ever not true?
6
votes
1answer
102 views

Sphere of Resistance and Trinisphere

If I play lets say a artifact with CMC 1 and there is two Sphere of Resistance in play and a Trinisphere. Do you have to pay 5 mana or just 3?
2
votes
1answer
84 views

Lich + Laboratory maniac, replacement effects order

You have Lich and Laboratory Maniac in play, 3 cards in your deck, and you play Solemn Offering or Serene Offering on Lich (either one will heal 4 in this case). Do you win or lose?
6
votes
2answers
330 views

Can I sacrifice an enchantment when it is going to be destroyed?

My opponent had an Elvish Lyrist and activated its sacrifice to destroy my Seal of Fire. I sacrificed Seal of Fire after that. Would my Seal still do its 2 points of damage?
1
vote
2answers
94 views

How do Opalescence and Humility interact?

How exactly do Opalescence and Humility interact with each other?
1
vote
2answers
220 views

Does Doubling Cube's ability affect the mana used to activate it?

Rules Question: When Doubling Cube doubles mana, does that include the mana used to activate the ability?
3
votes
4answers
647 views

Animated Planeswalkers

Say I have a Liliana of the Veil that is also a 3/3 creature (possibly via Enchanted Evening and Opalescence). My opponent attacks Lilly with a 4/4 lifelink, trample and I decide to block with Lilly. ...
0
votes
0answers
65 views

Multiple triggers with “Plunge into darkness” or only once? [duplicate]

I am still not sure about the following - hoping you can give me final certainty: Do cards such as "Renounce" or "Plunge into Darkness" cause Karlov of the Ghost Council to get two +1/+1 counters ...
3
votes
1answer
207 views

How does Elemental Resonance convert a Mana Cost to a Mana Source?

With the new updates to how mana is shown and displayed, someone pointed out to me that Elemental Resonance effectively converts the generic mana in its target's casting cost to colourless mana. ...
5
votes
1answer
206 views

When does an opponent make the decision to pay extra mana in response to a spell?

I have a rules question. Let's say I have 2 Judge's Familiar's in play and an opponent casts Lightning Bolt on another one of my creatures. In response, I sac one of the Judges to counter the spell. ...
7
votes
1answer
508 views

Playing lands with Ugin's ultimate

With Ugin, the Spirit Dragon's third ability, it says "Gain seven life, draw 7 cards, and place up to 7 permanents from your hand to the battlefield." Does this include land because land is a ...
6
votes
1answer
266 views

Does a -1/-1 effect from a static ability cause a creature to die before it can do anything, upon entering the battlefield?

My friend has played Engineered Plague, naming Elf. Is the Elvish Hexhunter of any use here? Imagine it has haste via Concordant Crossroads.
23
votes
1answer
4k views

What's the deal with the new Wastes land and the diamond symbol on it?

One of the cards revealed for Oath of the Gatewatch is the basic land Wastes with a new diamond symbol instead of one of the existing mana symbols. We also saw Kozilek, the Great Distortion, which has ...
3
votes
1answer
113 views

Karlov of the Ghost Council and multiple counters

when I have Karlov of the Ghost Council and Righteous Cause on the battlefield and I attack with three creatures, does Karlos get six +1/+1 counters or only two counters since the creatures attack ...
0
votes
2answers
107 views

Teysa, Orzhov Scion sacrificing one creature multiple times to exhile

I have a rules question for you all. I run Teysa, Orzhov Scion and many black/white creatures in my decks, and I'm wondering if I can sacrifice a black/white creature for her exile ability, and then ...