Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

10
votes
3answers
4k views

How can I beat green Tron with a control deck?

I've been building a Modern control deck based around the Gifts reanimator engine. The general gameplan is to slow your opponent using counters and removal until you can reanimate a big creature for ...
5
votes
2answers
347 views

Is Loyal Cathar's ability a “delayed triggered ability”?

Loyal Cathar - When Loyal Cathar dies, return it to the battlefield transformed under your control at the beginning of the next end step. Question reposted from user Zacula: "I believe that ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a creature with protection from all colors be targetted with a damage spell when it is still on the stack?

A friend of mine casts a card that has protection from all colors. I know that I can counter it, but can I simply kill it by dealing damage to it while it is on the stack?
7
votes
2answers
649 views

Are cards that interact with sacrificing rare, and why?

For independent reasons, I was looking recently for cards that interact with Sacrificing. At the time (owing mostly to my lack of knowledge in MtG templating), I found none. Looking at the Avacyn ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

How does the Miracle mechanic interact with Flashback?

The new Miracle mechanic causes a replacement effect for the casting cost of the card, which must be revealed and played immediately. How does this interact with flashback? If a player plays a card ...
6
votes
1answer
8k views

If my creature with deathtouch and 0 power blocks one of my opponent's creatures, does my opponent's creature die?

Deathtouch means that "any creature dealt damage by another creature with deathtouch is destroyed", but what if that creature with deathtouch is 0/1? I suppose a better title would be 'does a creature ...
6
votes
1answer
748 views

How does Hypnotic Specter work in Two-Headed Giant?

If I attack with Hypnotic Specter and the defending team does not declare a blocker, should I "target" who is going to discard a card randomly? Or do they decide?
9
votes
1answer
173 views

Crimson Hellkite vs Telekinetic Sliver + Darkheart Sliver

If player A taps his Telekinetic Sliver to tap an opponent's Crimson Hellkite, the opponent can pay 2 red mana (he can pay X, but lets say he pays two) and tap the Crimson Hellkite to put the effect ...
11
votes
2answers
243 views

Has the significance of the term 'cast' changed?

Spellshock currently has the following wording in the Gatherer: Whenever a player casts a spell, Spellshock deals 2 damage to that player. However, the original wording shown in the card image ...
0
votes
2answers
6k views

Can a creature be tapped to prevent its activated ability? [duplicate]

Possible Duplicate: How do twitch effects work with the stack vs activated tap abilities? If I have a creature with a tap to activate ability, can my opponent use an ability to tap it in ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens when I remove Mistbind Clique with its champion trigger still on the stack?

So, this recently happened to me in playtesting: It's my upkeep. My opponent casts Mistbind Clique. I don't have a relevant counter, but I do have Path to Exile. He has multiple fairies on the ...
22
votes
2answers
1k views

Is untapping my permanents during the untap step optional?

I was reading the untap step rule and got confused a bit. It says: 502.2. Second, the active player determines which permanents he or she controls will untap. Then he or she untaps them all ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Does the flanking provided by Slivers stack?

If I was to play 2 Sidewinder Slivers would the 'All Slivers have flanking' ability stack causing creatures blocking my Slivers to get -2/-2 until the end of the turn or would it gain flanking twice ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can Angel's Grace set your life total to 1 when you have Negative Life?

An opponent plays a storm combo, ending in Tendrils of Agony. In response I play Angel's Grace. After the storm of Tendrils finishes resolving, I am at -10 life, but I have not lost the game ...
7
votes
2answers
732 views

Does deathtouch kill Phantom creatures?

Does a Phantom creature, one with the ability "If damage would be dealt to Phantom {Creature}, prevent that damage. Remove a +1/+1 counter from Phantom {Creature}.", that has taken damage from a ...
5
votes
1answer
7k views

Does a creature returned by the Undying effect have summoning sickness?

As far as I understand the undying ability, a creature returned to the battlefield by its undying effect with a +1/+1 counter on it is considered a new object. Due to this it cannot attack if it ...
6
votes
3answers
491 views

Undying vs first strike

What happens when an undying creature dies being dealt damage by a creature with first strike in a combat? For example: If Nearheath Stalker blocks an Abattoir Ghoul and dies will he deal combat ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens to an Inkmoth Nexus that has had Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas' -1 ability used on it?

From my initial expectations I'd expect otherwise, but I was recently told at a tournament that an activated Inkmoth Nexus that had been the target of Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas' -1 ability ("Target ...
4
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens if you cast a card that says “Target Opponent” in Two Headed Giant?

Let's say I'm playing a game of 2HG, and I cast Tribute To Hunger, which reads: Target opponent sacrifices a creature. You gain life equal to that creature's toughness. Do I get to pick which ...
7
votes
4answers
7k views

What does protection from [quality] do?

Example 1) Let's say I have some random creature with protection from white, and my opponent plays Day of Judgment, a white card with the effect "Destroy all creatures." Can my creature with ...
4
votes
1answer
194 views

Copying Soul Seizer

In a recent sealed queue I entered, my opponent had a Soul Seizer on the board, and a Cackling Counterpart in his hand. Soul Seizer has the following ability: When Soul Seizer deals combat damage ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a creature with summoning sickness be targeted?

Can I target a creature as soon as it is played, even with summoning sickness? Example: If my card, Beguiler of Wills, reads "Gain control of target creature," or Dungeon Geist's "tap target creature ...
10
votes
3answers
3k views

Why was the banding ability 'removed' from MTG? What was so complicated about it?

While the banding ability was never actually removed from the game, no cards have been printed that use the ability in any set following sixth edition and it has never appeared on any rules summary ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

Countering cards played with flashback

Can a card cast using its flashback ability be countered by a spell such as Cancel?
3
votes
4answers
4k views

MTG: Enchantments that require opponent to pay mana to attack

I had a deck many years ago that was blue/white and used a blue enchantment that made players pay 2 colorless to attack. I can't remember the name of the card, but it was around Mirage, no later than ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Hexproof on an opponent's creature

If I play an enchantment which gives hexproof on an opponent's creature, whose spells is it protected from? Does it gain protection from my spells because it's his creature, or from his spells ...
5
votes
1answer
8k views

What happens if a blocking creature is killed with Double Strike before all the damage is dealt?

With an attacking creature with Double Strike, if the first strike deals lethal damage to a normal blocking creature, does the normal damage go to the defending player?
4
votes
2answers
783 views

What cards or types of cards are substantially more/less useful in Two-Headed-Giant than in 'normal' Magic?

I'm just getting into Two-Headed-Giant games, and have noticed that some cards become far more powerful while others become much less powerful. For instance, landwalk cards become better because your ...
0
votes
1answer
549 views

How should I change my usual draft strategy in a Two-Headed-Giant draft?

I have done several drafts with my drafting group, but we recently elected to try the next one as Two-Headed-Giant instead of a 'normal' matches. How should my drafting strategy change to reflect ...
2
votes
1answer
699 views

How does metalcraft work in Two-Headed-Giant?

I'm playing Two-Headed-Giant and have a creature with metalcraft. I control 1 artifact and my teammate controls 2. Does my creature's metalcraft ability 'trigger'? I know metalcraft says "if you ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

What is the Card type of “Emblem Sorin, Lord of Innistrad”?

What is the Card type of "Emblem Sorin, Lord of Innistrad"? mtgmint lists it as Creature but I am not 100% certain.
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a sacrificed creature count as a creature that died?

If a creature is sacrificed, does it count as dying? For example, when something is sacrificed via lets say Devouring Swarm, would it trigger Diregraf Captains effect?
7
votes
2answers
575 views

Can items be added to the stack after it has started resolving?

I've been working on streamlining the rules for the abandoned TvTropes TCG project, but the description of the "Stack" system confused me greatly since the stack so rarely sees actual use in Magic ...
4
votes
3answers
2k views

How to search opponents library when playing remote via webcam?

My brother and I are living several 100 miles apart, which makes playing MTG face to face a little difficult. We have been playing via web cam (mounted over the table) for several months now but are ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

How much collaboration is reasonable for a Two-Headed-Giant draft?

My friends and I have a regular MTG-drafting group. It's pretty informal, and after we draft sometimes a group of 4 people will play Two-Headed-Giant just for fun since it's not really a tournament ...
4
votes
1answer
4k views

What happens when an Undying creature goes to the graveyard from the deck or hand?

What happens when you discard a creature(with Undying) from your hand to the graveyard? Does it go to the Battlefield (without summoning sickness)? And what happens if I use Mulch and put all ...
2
votes
1answer
520 views

Regeneration specifics: activation of the ability in combat

I'm aware of this question about regeneration, which covers almost everything about it, but the focus of that question was on instants such as Shock or Doom Blade. My question is different and wasn't ...
3
votes
2answers
4k views

What strong draft decks exist for Innistrad-Innistrad-Dark Ascension draft?

Innistrad has a decent amount of archetypes that you can build. In draft, what tier 1 deck types exist?
1
vote
1answer
2k views

How does Vorinclex's second ability work at the time of his death?

The Green New Phyrexian Praetor Vorinclex is quite the beast, his second ability reads: If an opponent taps a land for mana, it does not untap during his next untap step. Say my opponent taps ...
7
votes
4answers
2k views

How do twitch effects work with the stack vs activated tap abilities?

I'm becoming more and more confused as I learn about how things have changed during a break in play I had some time ago. Seems the stack has changed now, and oft times abilities use a source's last ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens to a destroyed creature with two totem armors on it?

If I have a creature, with two different totem armors on it, and it's destroyed somehow (not sacrificed, not killed by -x,-x effects) what happens? Are both totem armors destroyed to save it, or just ...
3
votes
2answers
4k views

Can the “Sacrifice (this card):” activated ability be placed back on the stack?

This is a broad question so for simplicity I will use Seal of Fire and Naturalize. Scenario 1: Common exchange- creating a baseline. Player A uses Naturalize on Seal of Fire Player B Sacrifices ...
14
votes
4answers
8k views

Why would you want to play with a deck that had 3 or more colors in it in Magic? (limited and constructed)

Background: I'm currently writing a strategy guide for magic as my pet project, and I'm trying to explain decks with multiple colors. Here's what I have so far: Dual color decks are useful because ...
6
votes
3answers
3k views

Are Summon - [insert-creature-type-here] cards creatures?

Back in the day we didn't have Creature - Name card types, instead we had Summon - Name card types. Long ago in magic, cards were printed entirely differently, and this actually creates some ...
5
votes
1answer
922 views

Is cycling a card from your hand considered a spell or ability?

My opponent has a werewolf transforming card in play, currently with the human side face up. I have a sliver in my hand with sliver cycling. I cycle this sliver to find another in my deck. The one in ...
7
votes
1answer
379 views

Do the Magic tournament rules allow Rock-Paper-Scissors to see who goes first?

The Magic Tournament Rules specifically state 'For the first game of a match, the winner of a random method (such as a die roll or coin toss) chooses either to play first or play second'. My method ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when an undying creature takes damage from a creature with deathtouch?

Let's say a 2/2 creature with deathtouch attacks another 2/2 creature with undying. As far as I can see there are two ways this could resolve: Damage is applied, killing creature B. As the damage ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Does sacrificing a permanent cancel its effects, or do they still resolve?

I read here that tapped permanents can be sacrificed, but if a permanent creates an effect before it is sacrificed, does the effect still resolve or is it cancelled? The reason I want to know is that ...
3
votes
2answers
698 views

Would Brink of Disaster destroy an already tapped permanent?

I'm aware this is very much like this question, but that question's answer does not answer my question. Brink of Disaster reads: Enchant creature or land. When enchanted permanent becomes ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Are cards that are both Land and Creature affected by summoning sickness?

Are cards that are both Land and Creature affected by summoning sickness with regard to: Possibility to attack Activating special abilities with the TAP symbol?