Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

7
votes
3answers
1k views

Should we take good cards out for better cards while sideboarding (magic 2014 rules update)?

It has been announced, among other changes, that you are allowed to increase the number of cards in your deck beyond 60 while side boarding. Meaning you can bring 5 cards in and not have to take 5 ...
2
votes
1answer
259 views

Wort, Boggart Auntie and Goblins with Echo

So, I've got an EDH deck featuring Wort, Boggart Auntie as my General. I really want to exploit her ability for all it's worth, so I've been looking for different goblins that have "Enters the ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Does an exiled Aetherling come back into play untapped?

Let's say I attack with Aetherling. After it deals damage I blink it out. When it returns at my end step, does it come back untapped and ready to block?
7
votes
1answer
968 views

Dimir Doppelganger becoming Lazav, Dimir Mastermind

I have a few clarification questions regarding what happens after I use the activated ability of Dimir Doppelganger to target a Lazav, Dimir Mastermind that's sitting in a graveyard. For simplicity, I ...
3
votes
1answer
530 views

Do Untap triggers still trigger when the creature is untapped?

I control an untapped Goblin Sharpshooter, My opponent controls a 3/3 Beast Token, I Cast Lightning Bolt on the Beast, to kill it. Do I have to tap my Sharpshooter before the beast dies to get the ...
1
vote
2answers
251 views

Can an opponent destroy an Iron Maiden during their upkeep to avoid taking damage from it?

I'll lay out the situation. I have an Iron Maiden in play. My opponent begins his turn with 10 cards in his hand (including a Disenchant), and 1 life. Iron Maiden's ability triggers at the ...
5
votes
2answers
326 views

If my opponent tries to resolve a triggered ability out of order, did they miss their opportunity to do so?

My opponent controls a tapped Nettle Sentinel, and has cast 1 copy of Glimpse of Nature this turn. They then play an Elvish Visionary, and in response I do nothing. The stack starts to resolve and ...
7
votes
2answers
642 views

How does casting a card for its miracle cost interact with cost modifying abilities?

If I reveal and cast a miracle like Temporal Mastery, Bonfire of the Damned or Entreat the Angels, When I am choosing a value for X, must it take into account effects like Thalia, Guardian of Thraben ...
3
votes
1answer
7k views

Storage Wars: MtG Black Lotus, others, actual worth?

Storage Wars had an episode in 2012 where Daryl Sheets finds a bunch of MtG cards, some loose, some bindered. They sell the entire lot at Frank and Sons Collectible Show for $700, basically the price ...
6
votes
1answer
758 views

How do Lazav, Dimir Mastermind and Vigor work together in Magic the Gathering?

Say I have Lazav, Dimir Mastermind and Vigor on the battlefield and Vigor dies. Lazav's ability triggers and I have him become a copy of Vigor. Does he now apply Vigor's ability to himself as well, ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

Glaring Spotlight anti-hexproof work on enchantments

Does the Glaring Spotlight's anti-hexproof work on enchantments? So if a creature is not hexproof but has an enchantment such as Alpha Authority, does it still cancel the hexproof?
5
votes
2answers
253 views

First strike and bioshift

Player A's board consists of: 1/1 first strike with 4 +1/+1 counters 1/1 creature Player B's board consists of: 2/2 lifelink creature Player B has 5 life and has to block the creature with 4 ...
15
votes
1answer
1k views

What is the Power/Toughness of a */* when it is not on the battlefield?

If a creature has a P/T of * / *, but is not the battlefield, What is it's P/T with regards to effects that care about P/T such as Wild Pair and Varolz, the Scar-Striped. If I used Varolz, the ...
3
votes
2answers
5k views

Why is Trade Secrets banned in EDH or Commander?

Ban list for commander I don't see any announcement for Trade Secrets. Why has it been banned? Is there any mention of this card from Wizards, a card they made specifically for Commander?
5
votes
2answers
1k views

What does Counterbalance counter, when revealing a split card?

Split cards have 2 Converted Mana Costs everywhere except the stack. I saw a similar question relating to Dark Confidant explaining that you lose life for each converted mana cost, however the way it ...
5
votes
1answer
444 views

Will Counterbalance counter storm copies?

Counterbalance allows you to reveal the top card of your library whenever a spell is played, and counter it if the revealed card has the same mana cost. If an opponent has cast several spells to ramp ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Thrumming Stone ripple after ripple

The card Thrumming Stone says: Spells you cast have ripple 4. (Whenever you cast a spell, you may reveal the top four cards of your library. You may cast any revealed cards with the same name as ...
5
votes
1answer
253 views

Can I extort Launch Party with the creature I'm sacrificing?

If I control exactly 1 Basilica Screecher, and I cast Launch Party sacrificing my Basilica Screecher, can I still use Basilica Screecher to extort on Launch Party?
10
votes
1answer
510 views

Dark Confidant and split cards

On my upkeep controlling a Dark Confidant I trigger revealing a card and losing life to it's cmc cost. What happens if I have a split card with 2 identifiable spells? Do I get to choose which one I ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Commander rulings on extort

If my commander is mono black and one of the creatures I have is color black and have the skill Extort which could be paid in white or black mana. Can I use this card on my commander deck?
5
votes
2answers
5k views

Sorcery supercedes instant?

If I cast a sorcery spell to force the opponent to discard two cards, and he/she then casts one of those cards as an instant, would the instant apply first or would the sorcery take precedence?
17
votes
1answer
591 views

Can you fail to find a card in someone's hand?

If I cast Inquisition of Kozilek, and my only target is a Loxodon Smiter, do I have to make my opponent discard the Loxodon Smiter, or can I "fail to find" just as I would if i were searching my ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Can someone Bioshift counters off a creature after combat damage has been assigned?

A friend has a Primordial Hydra with 10 +1/+1 counters on it, giving it trample. I block it with a Vampire Nighthawk, causing it to die. My friend then uses Bioshift to take the counters off "in ...
5
votes
2answers
344 views

At regular REL can players rewind the game state?

Suppose that at a regular REL event, you have an experienced player, and an in-experienced player, and the in-experienced player has a gideon's lawkeeper on the battlefield. The experienced ...
1
vote
1answer
304 views

What happens when you flicker a double-faced card?

If I were to cast Restoration Angel targeting Ravager of the Fells, What side would Ravager of the Fells be on when he came back into the battlefield?
2
votes
2answers
1k views

When should I activate Man Lands and Keyrunes in order to attack with them?

Some lands and artifacts have abilities which allow them to be animated, and turned into creatures until end of turn. Examples include Inkmoth Nexus, Blinkmoth Nexus, Azorious Keyrune, Treetop Village ...
9
votes
1answer
5k views

Does Goblin Electromancer reduce both sides of a fused split card?

Does Goblin Electromancer reduce the cost of a fuse spell on both sides of the card? Would Turn // Burn be {1}{U}{R} to cast both sides?
2
votes
1answer
3k views

How does Valakut trigger with a card like Harrow or Scapeshift putting multiple mountains into play? [duplicate]

Valakut, The Molten Pinnacle has an effect that triggers when mountains enter the battlefield. When a mountain enters the battlefield, if you control 5 or more other mountains, Valakut deals 3 ...
2
votes
2answers
781 views

How can I used double-faced cards in casual play w/out checklist cards?

I recently bought a "deck builders" kit that included, among other things, a Dark Ascension booster with Scorned Villager (a double-sided card) in it. It did not include a checklist card for me to ...
1
vote
1answer
745 views

Can I have multiple copies of a creature with Cipher?

As far as I understand, Cipher works like so: when a card that contains Cipher is cast, you encode it onto a spell on the battlefield, like a creature for example. Every time that creature attacks and ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

Does transforming keyrunes count towards Evolve?

Suppose I animate my Simic Keyrune into a 2/3 artifact creature. Will it evolve my 1/1 Fathom Mage?
4
votes
1answer
3k views

Can regeneration save my creatures from Turn // Burn?

I have a creature with regeneration. My opponent responds to me activating regeneration with the Turn side of Turn // Burn. Can I then activate regeneration again to make it a 0/1 weird with ...
10
votes
2answers
4k views

How do two Notion Thieves interact with each other?

Notion Thief's text reads: If an opponent would draw a card except the first one he or she draws in each of his or her draw steps, instead that player skips that draw and you draw a card. ...
2
votes
1answer
373 views

Varolz, the Scar-Striped rulings with double-faced/flip cards

Varolz, the Scar-Striped says Each creature card in you graveyard has scavenge. Their scavenge cost is equal to its mana cost. My question is simple: do I get to choose which side I can ...
3
votes
2answers
4k views

Does the first spell from Possibility Storm go on the stack before being exiled?

I'm staring at the gate Possibility Storm coming out of Dragon's Gate and thinking about cards such as Hive Mind that would add some additional chaos. The wording on Possibility Storm says ...
5
votes
2answers
991 views

Does activating Sensei's Divining Top make me miss my counterbalance trigger?

I have Sensei's Divining Top and Counterbalance on the table, with plenty of mana. My opponent casts a spell (for the sake of argument, lets say they cast Naturalize). I say "In response, spin the ...
7
votes
2answers
469 views

What happens if Ravager of the Fells can't target an opponent?

Ravager of the Fells (the flip-side of Huntmaster of the Fells) says, Whenever this creature transforms into Ravager of the Fells, it deals 2 damage to target opponent and 2 damage to up to one ...
0
votes
1answer
86 views

Where can I find reviews of a set once it's established?

The only set reviews I can find are when the set first comes out. Does anybody know of a reputable site that reviews the cards after a few months when the cards are more established? I am more ...
1
vote
1answer
154 views

Sensei's Divining Top activations

A player in a competitive REL tournament pays 1 mana to activate Sensei's Divining Top's ability to look at the top 3 cards of his library, looks at the 3 cards, changes the order and put them back. ...
2
votes
2answers
242 views

Hypergenesis and Triggered abilities

If an opponent casts (or cascades into) Hypergenesis, starting with the caster each player takes it in turns to put a Creature, Artifact, Land or Enchantment onto the Battlefield. This can be repeated ...
1
vote
3answers
821 views

Infractions/Player Communication - Infernal Tutor and Lion's Eye Diamond

In a Competitive REL tournament with an opponent, a player casts Lion Eye Diamond, Lion's Eye Diamond, Infernal Tutor, making a note of storm count after each spell is cast. If the active player has ...
9
votes
2answers
5k views

How do Isochron Scepter and the Fuse mechanic interact?

The split cards in the expansion set Dragon's Maze contain a new mechanic "Fuse". This mechanic allows you to cast both sides of the spell, a new option for cards of this type. Isochron Scepter ...
2
votes
2answers
558 views

Can split second be used to block damage prevention effects?

My friend plays a stupid amount of prevent all damage instants. If I attack, and use something with split second, can he still use his prevent all damage? Or with split second ending the stack, is he ...
5
votes
1answer
570 views

Humility and +1/+1 counters

If I play a kicked Quag Vampires, and my opponent has a Humility on the battlefield, will the Quag Vampires still get his counters and be larger than a 1/1?
7
votes
2answers
487 views

Is there a term for: “Doesn't untap during next untap step”?

There are a lot of cards that have the effect Target permanent does not untap during next untap step For example:Kashi-Tribe Elite and Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger. Is there a term for this? ...
4
votes
2answers
241 views

If I were to “cheat” a card into play, would Kurgadon activate?

If I had a Kurgadon and a Didgeridoo, hacked to say "beast" instead of "minotaur" with Artificial Evolution, in play, and I used Didgeridoo to put Symbiotic Beast into play, would Kurgadon's ability ...
5
votes
3answers
567 views

Can I sacrifice a permanent to pay an ability cost while the permanent's spell is still on the stack?

At what point does a creature/artifact/whatever become a legal candidate for being sacrificed to pay an activation cost? For example, suppose I cast an artifact creature spell, and my opponent ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

When someone dies who controls a permanent but does not own it, what happens? [duplicate]

In a multiplayer game, if I were to give someone a permanent with Donate and they were to die while controlling that permanent, then would I get that permanent back? Or would the permanent get put ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I flicker Aurelia to get more than two attack phases?

Whenever Aurelia, the Warleader attacks for the first time each turn, untap all creatures you control. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase. If I attack with Aurelia once, ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Pillar of Flame exile creatures with undying?

Let's say Pillar of Flame is used on a creature with undying, such as Butcher Ghoul, when it doesn't have any counters on it. If Pillar of Flame deals enough damage to kill it, and therefore exile it, ...