Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

3
votes
2answers
294 views

Does the wording “each land” also include Basic Lands?

I have a Bountiful Harvest. It's a Sorcery that reads "You gain l life for each land you control." Does this refer to only cards that say Land and not Basic Land, or does it count for both?
5
votes
1answer
4k views

Can I sacrifice a creature that is only temporarily under my control?

A creature is placed "under my control until the end of turn" through a sorcery spell. Do I have the option of sacrificing said creature if I cast a "sacrifice a creature" instant, or have a creature ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Does 'shuffle your library' mandate that the cards actually change order?

According to the comprehensive rules, the definition of shuffling is thus: 701.16a To shuffle a library or a face-down pile of cards, randomize the cards within it so that no player knows their ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I use Elbrus as my Commander?

Elbrus, the Binding Blade, is a Legendary Artifact - Equipment that transforms into Withengar Unbound, a Black Legendary Demon. Can I use Elbrus/Withengar as a Commander, and if I can, is my deck ...
3
votes
1answer
853 views

Can the Mask of Avacyn be targeted by spells after being equipped to a creature?

Can the Mask of Avacyn be targeted by spells after it's been equipped to a creature? This is an odd question, because the mask gives the equipped creature a +1/+2 and has hexproof and says it "can't ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

What does, “It can't be regenerated” mean?

I destroyed my opponent's permanent with Putrefy, an Instant that reads: Destroy target artifact or creature. It can't be regenerated. He returned it to the top of his library with Golgari ...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

If Realmwright is removed from the battlefield, do the changed lands remain dual colored?

I just came by Realmwright and it didn't give any discussion on whether the changed lands are permanently changed or not if the creature leaves the battlefield. Does anyone have any info on this?
5
votes
1answer
1k views

How does Fist of Suns work with my Commander?

I am working on a deck that features Progenitus as my Commander and started looking at Fist of Suns. Besides just being good because of the large number of high cost spells in the deck, I was curious ...
7
votes
4answers
7k views

Why are Shocklands better than Guildgates?

I recently read a review about Return to Ravnica and the reviewer says that, for example, Temple Garden is way better than Selesnya Guildgate. Can someone point out the reasons behind that? ...
8
votes
2answers
12k views

Where can I get custom Magic: the Gathering cards printed?

I have made up some custom MtG cards, and I am trying to get physical copies made (to mess with my friends, and for casual use). Does anyone know where I can get them made? Disclamer: These cards ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

What are the different rarities of tokens in Magic: The Gathering?

Anyone who has opened a decent amount of MTG boosters will notice that they get much more of some tokens than of others. I understand that this comes from varying needs for them, because far fewer ...
5
votes
1answer
978 views

Can I give a creature First Strike in order to prevent it dealing any damage that combat?

This is getting into some nitpicky corners of the rulebook. First Strike damage and normal combat damage are dealt at separate times, and I believe there is a chance between the two resolving to play ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Can ciphers be countered?

Can a cipher copy be countered by a counter spell? Or, since the card has been encoded to a creature, does it act more like an ability, and can only be countered by cards like Stifle and others like ...
7
votes
2answers
258 views

Does Fateful Hour apply in this combat?

My opponent is at 7 life and has a Grizzly Bears (2/2) and a Gavony Ironwright (Fateful hour — As long as you have 5 or less life, other creatures you control get +1/+4.). I attack with 2 2/2s and my ...
4
votes
2answers
498 views

What may happen after a stack of spells resolves?

Within the same phase, once a stack of spells has resolved in its entirety, is priority once again given to a player so that more spells may be cast? For example: I attack with a creature. Opponent ...
7
votes
3answers
14k views

Can extort be triggered for countered spells?

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay b/w. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.) Questions: If my opponent has a creature with extort out, then casts a ...
4
votes
2answers
5k views

At what point does a spell 'target' its target?

If I have a counterspell in my hand, and my opponent chooses to cast an instant or sorcery, can I wait to see what his spell 'targets' before I choose to counter it or not?
15
votes
2answers
4k views

If a permanent transforms into a creature, has it entered the battlefield?

I was playing a game last night with a guy who was playing a new Simic Gatecrash deck, and he claimed that if he made a land into a creature, it counted as entering the battlefield, thus triggering ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when the {X} in Mind Grind *is* zero?

Normally, when you cast a spell without paying its mana cost, the {X} in its mana cost is 0. Mind Grind, however, has an additional restriction: X can't be 0. Clearly you can't choose for {X} ...
1
vote
2answers
219 views

Is this card worded correctly and balanced?

I created this card recently and just want to make sure that it's balanced and that its ability is worded correctly/functionally: Wojek Lionheart (1)RW Creature - Human Soldier [Uncommon] ...
3
votes
2answers
3k views

Are multicolor decks in any color combination viable in modern Magic?

I've just recently regained interest in MtG and was overwhelmed by the quantity of new collections and the amount of cards. I stopped playing MtG when the Fallen Empires expansion was just out. One ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Does the fact that my deck is aggro mean I should add or remove land?

Say I have a deck where the only win condition I'm trying to win the first few turns. Would I want this deck to have a different number of lands than a control deck that is looking to win later in the ...
2
votes
2answers
673 views

Illusionist's bracers and werewolf rulings

Lets assume that I equip an Illusionist's Bracers on Mayor Of Avabruck. When he flips on the trigger of not casting a spell, can he technically flip twice, meaning that he would turn into a werewolf ...
4
votes
9answers
11k views

Is Dimir's milling strategy viable in Gatecrash sealed deck? If not, what can they do instead?

The situation is similar to wesdfgfgd's question MTG Gatecrash Simic Strategies for a Prerelease event I'm a habitual Dimir player. In Gatecrash, many Dimir cards are strongly themed towards their ...
5
votes
3answers
30k views

Can I activate a bloodrush ability at instant speed?

Can I use a card with bloodrush in response to something? For example: If an evil opponent wants to kill my attacking Skarrg Guildmage with an Izzet Charm can I discard Scorchwalker and use it's ...
5
votes
5answers
9k views

MTG Gatecrash Simic Strategies for a Prerelease event

I am going to be playing this weekend at the prerelease of Gatecrash, with the chosen guild of Simic. Now the core strategy of Simic is to grow relentlessly, using the Evolve mechanic (whenever a ...
10
votes
1answer
8k views

Can I tap a creature with summoning sickness to pay “tap an untapped creature you control” costs?

I have a Chosen of Markov on the battlefield and I played a vampire earlier this turn. Can I tap both to transform Chosen of Markov even though I just played the vampire? Extra Example: I play Battle ...
8
votes
3answers
7k views

Do you have to have exactly 60 cards in a Magic the Gathering deck?

Do you have to have exactly 60 cards in a Magic the Gathering deck? Some people I've talked to at FNM say yes, others say no.
4
votes
1answer
481 views

Can I use Act of Aggression to steal their attacking creature and block with it?

My opponent declares two creatures as attackers. I want to play Act of Aggression to gain control of one of their creatures and so I can have it block their other creature. Is this possible? Is so, ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Attacking with Zero Creatures

Two questions about attacking: 1) If I have creatures in play, can I declare an attack and then declare zero of the creatures as attackers? 2) If I have no creatures in play, can I declare an ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

How do Snapcaster Mage and Cipher cards interact?

Let's say I cast a card with Cipher from my graveyard with the help of Flashback (provided by Snapcaster Mage). Will I be encoding it on a creature instead of exiling it from the effect of Flashback?
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Infinite loop where where both players choose to continue the loop

Yesterday, I was playing a casual game and I had a Stasis, Kismet, and Chronatog, causing my opponent to have to keep drawing, while I kept skipping my turn, with the intent of decking him. My ...
5
votes
1answer
165 views

Could I turn Mistform Dreamer into a Shrine?

Mistform Dreamer says I can turn it into any creature type until the end of turn, could I turn it into a shrine for use with any of the Hondens?
6
votes
1answer
411 views

Does March of the Machines make artifacts in hand creatures as well?

I looked over the Gatherer rulings and it didn't mention anything about it, nor does it mention permanents on the card or in the rulings. I ask because I wanted to know if I could use Æther Vial ...
5
votes
3answers
3k views

What are the odds of drawing a given card after discarding my initial hand?

Let's say that I have 4 of a card in my 60 card deck. What are my odds of drawing at least 1 of that card in my initial 7 card hand? If I discard those 7, what are the odds of drawing 1 of the 4 in ...
2
votes
5answers
3k views

Can a creature token represent a different creature token?

I have quite a few cards that have the ability to create creature tokens when they're played or their ability is activated. The only problem is I don't have the specific token for each one, but I ...
12
votes
3answers
798 views

Does a card that affects 'each' creature affect creatures that enter the battlefield after it resolves?

My opponent casts Predatory Rampage, which resolves, then he attacks with his creatures. In my hand, I have a creature card with Flash. If I summon this creature before the declare blockers step, ...
4
votes
3answers
316 views

Can I cast spells in the middle of another spell resolving?

Say I had Vedalken Orrery and I used Cloudshift on something, could I respond to Cloudshift bringing the creature back into play with Day of Judgement or something similar?
11
votes
3answers
6k views

How long can I wait before choosing to counter a spell?

Today, I was playing a duel, and my friend played a Wall of Reverence, which he then ended up enchanting with an Ethereal Armor. Between those two actions he asked me if I would counter it, to which I ...
9
votes
4answers
1k views

Is it legal to take advantage of my opponent's priority mistakes?

Suppose I attack with a creature with infect, and then my opponent tells me he won't block. My intent is to use Giant Growth on my infect creature regardless of whether or not my opponent blocks. ...
8
votes
3answers
7k views

Nivmagus and cipher card rulings

Well since the new set is available I was wondering the combo between Nivmagus Elemental and cipher cards[1]. So let's assume that Nivmagus is on the field then I cast a cipher spell from my hand can ...
4
votes
2answers
420 views

Are copied Flashback cards cast from the graveyard? [duplicate]

Possible Duplicate: Are copied spells cast from the graveyard? If a card like Increasing Devotion is copied and its Flashback cost has been paid, does the copy count as being cast from a ...
15
votes
5answers
21k views

Can instants be played after I decide not to block?

My friend has a green Infect deck. When he declares a creature to attack and I allow it to go through unblocked, he suddenly plays all these Instants that 'pump' the creature up, and because of ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Are tokens copying Essence of the Wild still tokens?

Some of my friends and I got into an argument about Essence of the Wild. With Essence on the battlefield, I played Fungal Sprouting and put 6 1/1 green saproling creature tokens on to battlefield. ...
2
votes
2answers
856 views

Do face-down creatures with death trigger activate normally?

If a face-down creature has a "When this dies [...]" effect (i.e. because of Ixidron), will that effect activate when it dies?
20
votes
6answers
14k views

What exactly was so broken about Urza's Block?

I've often heard it said that the Urza Block (Urza's Saga, Urza's Journey, Urza's Destiny) was the most powerful, broken block in Magic history, with decks able to win on turn 1 or 2. I also saw it ...
9
votes
4answers
2k views

Software to search for MTG decks based on a list of cards

I haven't played MTG for a while, but I still own about 500 cards. Some of them were from pre-built decks, but now the cards are all randomized. I have the full inventory (quantity and name) on a ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I use Naturalize to “counter” an activated ability?

I have a question regarding activated abilities. My opponent has an Isochron Scepter (untapped). He wants to play the ability and taps it. Is it possible to destroy the Isochron Scepter with ...
10
votes
1answer
643 views

If there are two Lighthouse Chronologist with three players, will one player be pereptually skipped?

If you would play a game with 3 people (let's call them A, B, and C) and A and B have a Lighthouse chronologist, will this make A get a turn after B, and make B get a turn after A without C getting a ...
7
votes
1answer
786 views

How do Heartless Hidetsugu and Gisela interact?

Let's say that I have Gisela, Blade of Goldnight in play and my opponent controls Heartless Hidetsugu. We both have 20 life. When Heartless Hidetsugu is tapped, each player takes 10 damage, which is ...