Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

4
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens if you cast a card that says “Target Opponent” in Two Headed Giant?

Let's say I'm playing a game of 2HG, and I cast Tribute To Hunger, which reads: Target opponent sacrifices a creature. You gain life equal to that creature's toughness. Do I get to pick which ...
7
votes
4answers
10k views

What does protection from [quality] do?

Example 1) Let's say I have some random creature with protection from white, and my opponent plays Day of Judgment, a white card with the effect "Destroy all creatures." Can my creature with ...
4
votes
1answer
209 views

Copying Soul Seizer

In a recent sealed queue I entered, my opponent had a Soul Seizer on the board, and a Cackling Counterpart in his hand. Soul Seizer has the following ability: When Soul Seizer deals combat damage ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a creature with summoning sickness be targeted?

Can I target a creature as soon as it is played, even with summoning sickness? Example: If my card, Beguiler of Wills, reads "Gain control of target creature," or Dungeon Geist's "tap target creature ...
10
votes
3answers
4k views

Why was the banding ability 'removed' from MTG? What was so complicated about it?

While the banding ability was never actually removed from the game, no cards have been printed that use the ability in any set following sixth edition and it has never appeared on any rules summary ...
6
votes
1answer
4k views

Countering cards played with flashback

Can a card cast using its flashback ability be countered by a spell such as Cancel?
4
votes
4answers
5k views

MTG: Enchantments that require opponent to pay mana to attack

I had a deck many years ago that was blue/white and used a blue enchantment that made players pay 2 colorless to attack. I can't remember the name of the card, but it was around Mirage, no later than ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Hexproof on an opponent's creature

If I play an enchantment which gives hexproof on an opponent's creature, whose spells is it protected from? Does it gain protection from my spells because it's his creature, or from his spells ...
6
votes
1answer
11k views

What happens if a blocking creature is killed with Double Strike before all the damage is dealt?

With an attacking creature with Double Strike, if the first strike deals lethal damage to a normal blocking creature, does the normal damage go to the defending player?
4
votes
2answers
925 views

What cards or types of cards are substantially more/less useful in Two-Headed-Giant than in 'normal' Magic?

I'm just getting into Two-Headed-Giant games, and have noticed that some cards become far more powerful while others become much less powerful. For instance, landwalk cards become better because your ...
0
votes
1answer
604 views

How should I change my usual draft strategy in a Two-Headed-Giant draft?

I have done several drafts with my drafting group, but we recently elected to try the next one as Two-Headed-Giant instead of a 'normal' matches. How should my drafting strategy change to reflect ...
2
votes
1answer
821 views

How does metalcraft work in Two-Headed-Giant?

I'm playing Two-Headed-Giant and have a creature with metalcraft. I control 1 artifact and my teammate controls 2. Does my creature's metalcraft ability 'trigger'? I know metalcraft says "if you ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

What is the Card type of “Emblem Sorin, Lord of Innistrad”?

What is the Card type of "Emblem Sorin, Lord of Innistrad"? mtgmint lists it as Creature but I am not 100% certain.
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Does a sacrificed creature count as a creature that died?

If a creature is sacrificed, does it count as dying? For example, when something is sacrificed via lets say Devouring Swarm, would it trigger Diregraf Captains effect?
7
votes
2answers
663 views

Can items be added to the stack after it has started resolving?

I've been working on streamlining the rules for the abandoned TvTropes TCG project, but the description of the "Stack" system confused me greatly since the stack so rarely sees actual use in Magic ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

How to search opponents library when playing remote via webcam?

My brother and I are living several 100 miles apart, which makes playing MTG face to face a little difficult. We have been playing via web cam (mounted over the table) for several months now but are ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

How much collaboration is reasonable for a Two-Headed-Giant draft?

My friends and I have a regular MTG-drafting group. It's pretty informal, and after we draft sometimes a group of 4 people will play Two-Headed-Giant just for fun since it's not really a tournament ...
4
votes
1answer
4k views

What happens when an Undying creature goes to the graveyard from the deck or hand?

What happens when you discard a creature(with Undying) from your hand to the graveyard? Does it go to the Battlefield (without summoning sickness)? And what happens if I use Mulch and put all ...
2
votes
1answer
570 views

Regeneration specifics: activation of the ability in combat

I'm aware of this question about regeneration, which covers almost everything about it, but the focus of that question was on instants such as Shock or Doom Blade. My question is different and wasn't ...
3
votes
2answers
4k views

What strong draft decks exist for Innistrad-Innistrad-Dark Ascension draft?

Innistrad has a decent amount of archetypes that you can build. In draft, what tier 1 deck types exist?
1
vote
1answer
3k views

How does Vorinclex's second ability work at the time of his death?

The Green New Phyrexian Praetor Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger is quite the beast, his second ability reads: If an opponent taps a land for mana, it does not untap during his next untap step. Say ...
8
votes
4answers
2k views

How do twitch effects work with the stack vs activated tap abilities?

I'm becoming more and more confused as I learn about how things have changed during a break in play I had some time ago. Seems the stack has changed now, and oft times abilities use a source's last ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens to a destroyed creature with two totem armors on it?

If I have a creature, with two different totem armors on it, and it's destroyed somehow (not sacrificed, not killed by -x,-x effects) what happens? Are both totem armors destroyed to save it, or just ...
3
votes
2answers
5k views

Can the “Sacrifice (this card):” activated ability be placed back on the stack?

This is a broad question so for simplicity I will use Seal of Fire and Naturalize. Scenario 1: Common exchange- creating a baseline. Player A uses Naturalize on Seal of Fire Player B Sacrifices ...
14
votes
4answers
9k views

Why would you want to play with a deck that had 3 or more colors in it in Magic? (limited and constructed)

Background: I'm currently writing a strategy guide for magic as my pet project, and I'm trying to explain decks with multiple colors. Here's what I have so far: Dual color decks are useful because ...
6
votes
3answers
4k views

Are Summon - [insert-creature-type-here] cards creatures?

Back in the day we didn't have Creature - Name card types, instead we had Summon - Name card types. Long ago in magic, cards were printed entirely differently, and this actually creates some ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Is cycling a card from your hand considered a spell or ability?

My opponent has a werewolf transforming card in play, currently with the human side face up. I have a sliver in my hand with sliver cycling. I cycle this sliver to find another in my deck. The one in ...
7
votes
1answer
433 views

Do the Magic tournament rules allow Rock-Paper-Scissors to see who goes first?

The Magic Tournament Rules specifically state 'For the first game of a match, the winner of a random method (such as a die roll or coin toss) chooses either to play first or play second'. My method ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when an undying creature takes damage from a creature with deathtouch?

Let's say a 2/2 creature with deathtouch attacks another 2/2 creature with undying. As far as I can see there are two ways this could resolve: Damage is applied, killing creature B. As the damage ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Does sacrificing a permanent cancel its effects, or do they still resolve?

I read here that tapped permanents can be sacrificed, but if a permanent creates an effect before it is sacrificed, does the effect still resolve or is it cancelled? The reason I want to know is that ...
3
votes
2answers
766 views

Would Brink of Disaster destroy an already tapped permanent?

I'm aware this is very much like this question, but that question's answer does not answer my question. Brink of Disaster reads: Enchant creature or land. When enchanted permanent becomes ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Are cards that are both Land and Creature affected by summoning sickness?

Are cards that are both Land and Creature affected by summoning sickness with regard to: Possibility to attack Activating special abilities with the TAP symbol?
4
votes
2answers
1k views

How exactly does Xenograft work, and not work?

The Blue Enchantment Xenograft (New Phyrexia) reads like this: As Xenograft enters the battlefield, choose a creature type. Each creature you control is the chosen type in addition to its ...
3
votes
1answer
4k views

What happens if 7 Soldiers block a Phyrexian Obliterator?

This is a situation I am confronted with more often than I want to. My opponent attacks me with his Phyrexian Obliterator (5/5). The card says: Trample; Whenever a source deals damage to Phyrexian ...
16
votes
1answer
1k views

Do face-down creatures have “the same name” as each other?

My opponent has three face-down morphs on the battlefield. I play Sever the Bloodline targeting one of them. Do we exile all three because they all have the "same name"? Or do we exile just one ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

Can Mirrorworks' ability be activated multiple times for the same artifact?

Mirrorworks reads like this: Whenever another nontoken artifact enters the battlefield under your control, you may pay 2 (colorless). If you do, put a token that's a copy of that artifact onto ...
5
votes
1answer
706 views

What happens if you use a Clone Effect on a Double Faced Card that's Transformed?

Say someone has Ludevic's Test Subject, which is a 0/3 Defender, and after some mechanics, transforms into a 13/13 Lizard Horror with Trample. Say this someone managed to transform said card into its ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens if the target of equipping dies?

My opponent plays the living weapon Lashwrithe. Afterwards he spends 4 life to equip it to his Vault Skirge. While doing this, I kill his Vault Skirge with a Galvanic Blast. What I think will happen: ...
9
votes
8answers
2k views

How fast can you win against a passive opponent in the Innistrad block format?

There have been legacy decks in the past that were able to win a game in the first round, without even giving your opponent a chance to act. I wonder how many rounds minimum it would take to win a ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

MtG: making makeshift cards for home play

A friend and I got into Magic and get together to play a few games once a week. Each of us has ~110 cards, the bulk of them being a Magic 2012 intro pack, the rest boosters. We thought we'd mix ...
2
votes
3answers
2k views

How do I make this zombie mill deck faster?

Although I'm not that bad at sealed deck format (I usually end up in the first 5 places) I suck at draft. This is my first attempt to build a T2 deck. I need help because I think the deck is too slow. ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

What mechanics exist that trigger Burning Vengeance?

Burning Vengeance is an enchantment that states: Whenever you cast a spell from your graveyard, Burning Vengeance deals 2 damage to target creature or player. I know the Flashback keyword will ...
13
votes
4answers
2k views

If I cast Flicker on an unearthed creature, does it remain exiled?

The rules for the Unearth ability are as follows: 702.82a Unearth is an activated ability that functions while the card with unearth is in a graveyard. Unearth [cost] means [Cost]: Return this ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

How does a Loyal Cathar react to Undying Evil?

Loyal Cathar states: When Loyal Cathar dies, return it to the battlefield transformed under your control at the beginning of the next end step. Undying Evil states: Target creature gains ...
1
vote
1answer
499 views

What happens if you sacrifice a creature brought back with Postmortem Lunge?

Let’s say I have a creature in the graveyard. I then cast Postmortem Lunge, which reads Return target creature card with converted mana cost X from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains ...
6
votes
2answers
410 views

Is death from deathtouch a state based action?

If someone attacks me with a trample creature say, 6/6, I block with a 1/1 deathtouch AND have Dissipation Field in play (returns permanents that damage me to their owners' hands), will the wyrm go ...
7
votes
1answer
667 views

How does trample work against infect?

My opponent attacks me with say, a 6/6 trample generic Wyrm of some sort, and I block with a Whispering Specter, a 1/1 infect with flying. When damage is dealt the Specter will deal it in the form of ...
3
votes
1answer
138 views

Brink of Disaster timing

Brink of Disaster says: Enchant creature or land. When enchanted permanent becomes tapped, destroy it. If you enchant something like Shrine of Burning Rage, and it's owner goes to tap and ...
1
vote
4answers
1k views

What should Mono-B put in sideboard against GW-Tokens?

My brother plays a Mono-Black standard-format deck against me often. He has some big threats in there like Phyrexian Obliterator, Sheoldred, Whispering One and Lashwrithe as well as many cards with ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if Genesis Wave puts Fists of Ironwood onto a battlefield with no creatures?

This question arose as a response to a recent question about putting Auras onto creatures with Shroud. What happens if I cast Genesis Wave, let's say for 2, and reveal Fists of Ironwood on an ...