Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

12
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a Dimir Keyrune receive a Cipher, and does the encoded spell stay?

Here's the scenario (I hope I get this right by the rules): last turn, I summoned my Dimir Keyrune onto the battlefield. This turn, if I transform it into that "2/2 blue and black Horror artifact ...
0
votes
2answers
820 views

Does the Thorncaster Sliver's ability damage have to be assigned before or after blockers are declared?

If I have 5 slivers and one of them is a Thorncaster, will I need to assign the "1 damage to target creature or player" before or after my opponent declares blockers? My guess is that it is as I ...
12
votes
4answers
13k views

In plain English, how does casting spells and using creature abilities work with the stack and priority?

I'm a relatively new player to Magic: the Gathering. I was reading the expanded rules to try to understand exactly when it's okay to cast instants (e.g. Cancel) and use some abilities (e.g. Goblin ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a Thorncaster Sliver's ability have deathtouch?

If I have a Thorncaster that has deathtouch, does its "1 damage to target creature or player" have deathtouch? At first I thought no. Because the rules say "Combat Damage". But then I was reading ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Do Thorncaster Sliver's triggered abilities go on the stack?

I was guessing, since you actually target things instead of just dealing damage (similar to Hellrider), Thorncaster Sliver's triggered abilities would actually go on the stack. This came up in a ...
7
votes
3answers
3k views

Can multiple Thorncaster Slivers grant multiple copies of the same ability?

If I have two Thorncaster Slivers, does their effect stack? That is, do the other slivers I have get the "1 damage" ability twice? If not, why? What rule makes it so they can't have the ability ...
5
votes
3answers
556 views

Where can I learn to draft online?

I'm new to MtG and I really want to go to Friday Night Magic, but I've never done a draft before. Are there online resources with good advice for what to pick and when?
-2
votes
2answers
918 views

In multiplayer MTG, what happens if a player attacking you dies before combat damage is dealt? [duplicate]

What happens if a player attacking you dies by triggered ability damage before blockers were declared and combat damage is dealt? e.g.: Player 1: Life 2: Declares attackers (2x 3dmg) to Player 2. ...
11
votes
1answer
13k views

Can you activate an activated ability more than once per turn?

I am using the card Blood Bairn, which has the following activated ability: Sacrifice another creature: Blood Bairn gets +2/+2 until end of turn. I use my Blood Bairn in conjunction with ...
12
votes
4answers
19k views

Are there any non-green, non-artifact mana ramp cards?

I have looked and can't seem to find any. I have seen many green cards and some artifacts that do this, but nothing in Red, Blue, Black or White. Are there any? Note: By "Mana Ramp" I mean a card ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

How long are magic cards actually “printed”/“In production”

Basically I'm wondering how long Magic cards are actually printed/in production. IE: Being made. I would assume it's just whatever is in the standard block? but it could go further back. Wizards has ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

What is the safest way to approach discussing a prize split?

This came up for me at a tournament this weekend. I made it into the final where the first prize was sealed product with a value for the sake of discussion to be $100, and second prize was store ...
2
votes
2answers
701 views

When do copied abilities on a creature go away?

If I have a Phantasmal Image that enters the battlefield copying the abilities of another creature, when does that creature stop having the abilities of the copy? When it enters the graveyard, do ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

When would I use Leyline Phantom?

I'm a relatively new MtG player, and among my first batch of cards was Leyline Phantom: At first I wondered what I'd do with a card that might return to my hand regularly. Is it a relatively cheap ...
1
vote
2answers
4k views

Can someone counter a creature ability with a counter target creature?

If I activate a creature ability that puts creatures on the battlefield, can my opponet counter it with a counter target creature spell?
7
votes
1answer
446 views

Can a player respond while a spell is resolving?

I cast Wistful Thinking on my opponent, whose hand has two Mountain cards. Wistful Thinking resolves and my opponent draws a Shock and another Mountain. Can my opponent cast Shock before discarding ...
3
votes
2answers
57k views

Combat damage assignment with multiple blockers

After reading the comprehensive rules, the answer to these questions seem clear, but I'm still having trouble reconciling them in my mind. Here on some scenarios: (1) My opponent attacks me with a ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Is it possible to intentionally draw a game?

I was told today that it's possible to do an effective "friendly mulligan" (draw to 7 cards) by intentionally tying the game and starting a new one. I've heard of people intentionally drawing ...
3
votes
1answer
651 views

What does a combo deck based around Thran Lens look like?

I like building casual decks based around obscure rares. This one has been sitting in my collection forever, and I've never used it. I'm completely stumped. Thran Lens is a two mana artifact that ...
5
votes
1answer
570 views

If creatures targeted by Living Inferno's ability all die, what happens?

If I were to target a ton of creatures with Living Inferno's ability and then all those creatures were to die (or be sacrificed, per Dismiss Into Dream) in response to Living Inferno's ability going ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I combo Dismiss Into Dream with Living Inferno or Cauldron of Souls?

So, at the Prerelease this past weekend I pulled a Dismiss Into Dream from the packs I won. I LOVE the flavor of this card and I think I could abuse it. I wanted to check on rulings though: Dismiss ...
3
votes
1answer
554 views

Could Armed/Dangerous target an opponent's creature, to force a block with all creatures in play?

Could I target an opponent's creature, then use all creatures from both sides to block that creature, so that Bam! I get rid of something nasty? I think this because the wording on Dangerous says "ALL ...
10
votes
3answers
8k views

Choosing the right Duel Deck

In our gaming circle there is one person who's unfamiliar with M:tG. Now, we had the idea of buying a duel deck to get her into it (at least so her presence is not excluding / excluded by Magic as The ...
9
votes
1answer
281 views

MTG: Zegana, Mul Daya Channellers and Green Suns's Zenith

Suppose I have Mul Daya Channelers (only her) in play and have some creature on top of the library so Mul Daya is 5/5. Now I play Green Sun's Zenith and find Prime Speaker Zegana and put her into ...
4
votes
1answer
315 views

Can Amber Prison prevent multiple permanents from untapping?

Amber Prison reads You may choose not to untap Amber Prison during your untap step. 4, Tap: Tap target artifact, creature, or land. That permanent doesn't untap during its controller's untap ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Does a Sengir Vampire survive when blocked by four 1/1s?

I attack with Sengir Vampire which is a 4/4 My opponent declares four 1/1 blockers Would Sengir Vampire die or would it gain counters from the three 1/1 creatures that died before attacking the ...
0
votes
1answer
953 views

Clarifying combat damage to player with abilities like Bloodthirst and Cipher

For cards like Vampire Outcasts or Shadow Slice, does Bloodthirst/Cipher only activate when combat damage is dealt directly to a player? For example, if an opponent blocks my attacking creature then ...
0
votes
1answer
4k views

Do triggered abilities still trigger if the creature is tapped?

For example if Falkenrath Noble was tapped and another creature dies then would his triggered ability still trigger or only if it was not tapped?
2
votes
1answer
9k views

How to properly play activated abilities of twilight drover and other creatures?

When playing Twilight Drover with multiple counters, I have the following questions which also apply to other creatures: How many times can I play the activated ability within one turn when it does ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Is there a card that protects me from a (self-)milling death?

Is there a card with the ability: You do not lose the game being for unable to draw a card? I've found one so far; Mine, Mine, Mine! but it applies to all players. A little back story; I have ...
2
votes
1answer
217 views

North Star and Fist of Suns

A discussion on Reddit about bad combos mentioned combining the following two cards (Oracle included here): Fist of Suns You may pay {W}{U}{B}{R}{G} rather than pay the mana cost for spells that ...
1
vote
2answers
6k views

Is a 'Can't be countered' ability the same as 'protection From' or 'Can't be targeted?'

Abrupt Decay, Loxodon Smiter and other Return to Ravnica cards have an ability that reads '{card name} can't be counterd by spells or abilites'. Does this mean it is not a legal target for a counter ...
3
votes
2answers
252 views

Render Silent and Abrupt Decay

If I cast render silent targeting abrupt decay, will my opponent still be unable to cast spells for the rest of the turn?
1
vote
1answer
462 views

Do i have to have a spell target to tap a wizard creature with Patron Wizard?

Patron Wizard says I have to tap an untapped wizard. That is before the ":", which means that is the cost. However, does there have to be a spell to target to use this ability, or can I just tap an ...
4
votes
1answer
185 views

Can I tap fewer than 7 creatures with Lullmage Mentor?

With Lullmage Mentor: Can I attempt to tap less than 7 creatures with his second ability? I know it would not activate his second ability, but can I at least make the attempt to tap 7? Basically ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

What are the ramifications of turning a planeswalker into a creature?

An answer on another question tells of a way to turn planeswalkers into creatures: Basically you start by playing the Mycosynth Lattice which turns all your permanents into artifacts, this ...
5
votes
1answer
956 views

What happens if you activate a loyalty ability from a creature instead of a planeswalker?

An answer on another question tells of a way to give loyalty abilities to creatures: Basically you start by playing the Mycosynth Lattice which turns all your permanents into artifacts, this ...
4
votes
1answer
514 views

Can you counter a Loyalty Ability?

I am confused by this rule: 606.1. Some activated abilities are loyalty abilities, which are subject to special rules. Now that seems to imply that a Loyalty ability is an activated ability ...
9
votes
3answers
7k views

Is there ANY way to activate a planeswalker ability at instant speed?

With the vast richness of magic rules on all the cards and the comp rules, is there any way at all to activate a planeswalker ability at instant speed? Typically, per the rules, you can only activate ...
1
vote
1answer
213 views

What happens if a transform trigger is copied?

Similarly to my previous question, what happens when a miracle trigger is copied?, Strionic Resonator, a new card printed in Magic 2014 could also be used to copy a transform trigger such as on ...
2
votes
1answer
661 views

What happens when a miracle trigger is copied?

One of the newly spoiled cards in Magic 2014, Strionic Resonator, allows you to copy a triggered ability you control. This allows you to copy any of a number of things that previously would happen ...
7
votes
4answers
3k views

How can I keep Magic foils flat?

Anyone who's collected Magic for a while knows the unfortunate tendency for foils — especially older foils and the heavier promotional foils — to curl up towards the foil side (presumably ...
1
vote
2answers
989 views

Does “each creature” include all creatures on the battlefield?

I'm referring to Pyroclasm. I want to make sure it deals damage to all creatures on the battlefield.
2
votes
2answers
233 views

Do other creatures have to survive to deal damage back to Alpha Brawl's target?

When Alpha Brawl is played, after the target creature deals damage to the opponents creatures, do only the ones that survive do damage back?
5
votes
4answers
1k views

How can I destroy Possibility Storm?

If an opponent plays Possibility Storm , what would be the best way to destroy it? If I played a card which allowed me to destroy target enchantment, would this destroy Possibility Storm before my ...
3
votes
1answer
674 views

Which MtG core set has had the greatest change in cards from a previous core set?

Magic the Gathering releases a new core set every year, although previous core set releases were every two years. Previously, core sets would only contain previously released cards, but that has ...
6
votes
1answer
136 views

Is there a naming convention for the various standard-formats as they existed throughout history?

It's very typical to say "current standard". Right now that means Innistrad (with Dark Ascension, Avacyn Restored, and M13) and Return to Ravnica (with Gatecrash, Dragon's Maze, and soon to come M14). ...
4
votes
5answers
1k views

Is there a way to beat Standstill?

If your opponent has a standstill on an otherwise empty board, is there a way to remove it without your opponent drawing cards? krosan grip doesn't work because split-second doesn't apply to ...
7
votes
4answers
12k views

What can I do against Aetherling?

Suppose that my opponent plays an Aethering: , and I can't counter it so it arrives on the battlefield. How can I remove that card from the battlefield? I'm playing Standard Constructed.
10
votes
1answer
386 views

How do I interrupt a loop after multiple iterations?

This is a question regarding infinite loops and shortcuts at Competitive REL. Here is a potential scenario. Both my opponent and myself are at 20 life each. I have no creatures on the ...