Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

1
vote
1answer
816 views

Can I have multiple copies of a creature with Cipher?

As far as I understand, Cipher works like so: when a card that contains Cipher is cast, you encode it onto a spell on the battlefield, like a creature for example. Every time that creature attacks and ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

Does transforming keyrunes count towards Evolve?

Suppose I animate my Simic Keyrune into a 2/3 artifact creature. Will it evolve my 1/1 Fathom Mage?
4
votes
1answer
3k views

Can regeneration save my creatures from Turn // Burn?

I have a creature with regeneration. My opponent responds to me activating regeneration with the Turn side of Turn // Burn. Can I then activate regeneration again to make it a 0/1 weird with ...
10
votes
2answers
5k views

How do two Notion Thieves interact with each other?

Notion Thief's text reads: If an opponent would draw a card except the first one he or she draws in each of his or her draw steps, instead that player skips that draw and you draw a card. ...
2
votes
1answer
409 views

Varolz, the Scar-Striped rulings with double-faced/flip cards

Varolz, the Scar-Striped says Each creature card in you graveyard has scavenge. Their scavenge cost is equal to its mana cost. My question is simple: do I get to choose which side I can ...
4
votes
2answers
5k views

Does the first spell from Possibility Storm go on the stack before being exiled?

I'm staring at the card Possibility Storm coming out of Dragon's Gate and thinking about cards such as Hive Mind that would add some additional chaos. The wording on Possibility Storm says ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Does activating Sensei's Divining Top make me miss my counterbalance trigger?

I have Sensei's Divining Top and Counterbalance on the table, with plenty of mana. My opponent casts a spell (for the sake of argument, lets say they cast Naturalize). I say "In response, spin the ...
7
votes
2answers
549 views

What happens if Ravager of the Fells can't target an opponent?

Ravager of the Fells (the flip-side of Huntmaster of the Fells) says, Whenever this creature transforms into Ravager of the Fells, it deals 2 damage to target opponent and 2 damage to up to one ...
0
votes
1answer
90 views

Where can I find reviews of a set once it's established?

The only set reviews I can find are when the set first comes out. Does anybody know of a reputable site that reviews the cards after a few months when the cards are more established? I am more ...
1
vote
1answer
174 views

Sensei's Divining Top activations

A player in a competitive REL tournament pays 1 mana to activate Sensei's Divining Top's ability to look at the top 3 cards of his library, looks at the 3 cards, changes the order and put them back. ...
2
votes
2answers
319 views

Hypergenesis and Triggered abilities

If an opponent casts (or cascades into) Hypergenesis, starting with the caster each player takes it in turns to put a Creature, Artifact, Land or Enchantment onto the Battlefield. This can be repeated ...
1
vote
3answers
933 views

Infractions/Player Communication - Infernal Tutor and Lion's Eye Diamond

In a Competitive REL tournament with an opponent, a player casts Lion Eye Diamond, Lion's Eye Diamond, Infernal Tutor, making a note of storm count after each spell is cast. If the active player has ...
9
votes
2answers
6k views

How do Isochron Scepter and the Fuse mechanic interact?

The split cards in the expansion set Dragon's Maze contain a new mechanic "Fuse". This mechanic allows you to cast both sides of the spell, a new option for cards of this type. Isochron Scepter ...
2
votes
2answers
729 views

Can split second be used to block damage prevention effects?

My friend plays a stupid amount of prevent all damage instants. If I attack, and use something with split second, can he still use his prevent all damage? Or with split second ending the stack, is he ...
5
votes
1answer
698 views

Humility and +1/+1 counters

If I play a kicked Quag Vampires, and my opponent has a Humility on the battlefield, will the Quag Vampires still get his counters and be larger than a 1/1?
7
votes
2answers
596 views

Is there a term for: “Doesn't untap during next untap step”?

There are a lot of cards that have the effect Target permanent does not untap during next untap step For example:Kashi-Tribe Elite and Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger. Is there a term for this? ...
4
votes
2answers
262 views

If I were to “cheat” a card into play, would Kurgadon activate?

If I had a Kurgadon and a Didgeridoo, hacked to say "beast" instead of "minotaur" with Artificial Evolution, in play, and I used Didgeridoo to put Symbiotic Beast into play, would Kurgadon's ability ...
5
votes
3answers
749 views

Can I sacrifice a permanent to pay an ability cost while the permanent's spell is still on the stack?

At what point does a creature/artifact/whatever become a legal candidate for being sacrificed to pay an activation cost? For example, suppose I cast an artifact creature spell, and my opponent ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

When someone dies who controls a permanent but does not own it, what happens? [duplicate]

In a multiplayer game, if I were to give someone a permanent with Donate and they were to die while controlling that permanent, then would I get that permanent back? Or would the permanent get put ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I flicker Aurelia to get more than two attack phases?

Whenever Aurelia, the Warleader attacks for the first time each turn, untap all creatures you control. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase. If I attack with Aurelia once, ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Pillar of Flame exile creatures with undying?

Let's say Pillar of Flame is used on a creature with undying, such as Butcher Ghoul, when it doesn't have any counters on it. If Pillar of Flame deals enough damage to kill it, and therefore exile it, ...
7
votes
1answer
7k views

What are the differences between combat damage, direct damage, and loss of life?

From reading the rules it would appear there are two kinds of damage and then straight loss of life: 118.3 If an effect causes a player to gain or lose life, that player's life total is adjusted ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

Can Conjurer's Closet be used to keep a stolen Commander?

We had this situation come up in a game last night, and we think we stumbled upon the right answer, but we're not sure. So, Player A's Commander (Sliver Overlord) was stolen by Player B using a ...
34
votes
7answers
207k views

What are the names for Magic's different colour combinations?

For example, Esper refers to decks made up of White, Blue and Black cards. What are the names of the other colour combinations? In particular, how do we refer to a Red-White-Black deck?
2
votes
4answers
1k views

Are Basic Lands (Mana) Block/Set Agnostic? [duplicate]

What is the point in Wizard creating RtR Forests and M13 Forests, for example? It seems like it would be a lot more efficient and cost effective to everyone involved if these basic land types were ...
7
votes
2answers
4k views

Is there something like Gatherer but with inventory management?

Gatherer is great (sort of) for building decks, but I'd like the additional filter of specifying the search specifically to the cards I own. Is this a feature I'm just not seeing or is there an app ...
4
votes
2answers
481 views

Is it better to start with M13 and splash in RtR and GTC when building a deck?

I've been doing some reading on deck building and I'm getting the feeling that using the RtR and GC expansions are better mixed in with a solid M13 deck. However, I can't really confirm this ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Merciless Eviction, how far does all go?

Got Merciless Eviction from a booster, and it states that you can choose one and then exile all artifacts, creatures, enchantments or planeswalkers. Does this mean that all instances in graveyards and ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

How big is a Consuming Aberration after it is stolen with Act of Treason?

Suppose I take a Consuming Aberration with an Act of Treason. Consuming Aberration says: Consuming Aberration's power and toughness are each equal to the number of cards in your opponents' graveyards. ...
1
vote
1answer
164 views

Do my creatures get a boon from previously played spells?

Suppose I am playing modern BW tokens and have a Hero of Bladehold on the field. I cast Zealous Persecution in my main phase. Do the tokens created my my Hero also get the +1/+1 bonus from the ...
3
votes
2answers
10k views

Why should I buy Booster Packs over Battle Packs?

While grabbing some booster packs today I saw a Booster Battle Pack. Looked them up online to see what they were and grabbed one. Doing the math, I determined the following: Booster Pack - $0.26 / ...
9
votes
2answers
5k views

After using Act of Treason and Cloudshift, does a creature re-enter the battlefield under my control?

If player A has a creature, and then on player B's turn, he/she uses Act of Treason on it, and then Cloudshift, does that card, once it has been cloudshift-ed, return to the battlefield under the ...
11
votes
5answers
3k views

Why does Wizards of the Coast print terrible MTG cards?

I understand that there needs to be a wide variety of power levels in Magic: The Gathering. Even bad cards will see play in limited formats, some because they fill a specific niche (flying removal, ...
2
votes
5answers
2k views

Card Organization: Multi-Color Cards

As my collection has started growing (new to MtG) I'm now needing to organize. I've done quite a bit of blog reading on the different methods and strategies but one thing I can't quite seem to ...
8
votes
3answers
1k views

Are counters (noun) physical things?

Card example: Beckon Apparition (Gatecrash) There are a lot of cards that use counter as a noun. I did some Googling but I'm just not clear on what I need to use for counters. Are they physical ...
7
votes
4answers
10k views

Can I target an indestructible creature with a 'destroy target creature' spell?

Of course the spell won't resolve, but is the indestructible creature a legal target for a spell with the effect "destroy target creature"? For example, can I target Gideon, Champion of Justice, ...
3
votes
2answers
985 views

Can I save my spark trooper with a delayed flicker?

What exactly defines the beginning and end of a specific step? Because I'm wondering if my logic seems solid enough. I'm thinking of trying to avoid the sac requirement on my Spark Trooper by using ...
5
votes
2answers
5k views

Can an indestructible creature die by a combination of damage and -X/-X effects?

Say I have a 5/5 indestructible creature. An opponent plays a 3 damage spell on this creature. After that spell resolves, the opponent then plays a spell which gives the creature -2/-2 until end of ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

Can non basic lands be tapped for colorless mana?

For example, Evolving Wilds has a mana fixing ability, but it doesn't say you can tap it for mana. Other non-basic lands have a mana ability listed on the card. Should I assume that Evolving Winds ...
2
votes
3answers
344 views

Does gaining +x/+x trigger “when counters are added” abilities?

If I had a Fathom Mage and played Giant Growth onto it would the "gain +3/+3" activate the ability to draw a card when a counter is added, or are stat improvements and counters completely separate?
13
votes
6answers
2k views

Looking for the “magic'al” formula

Im a big fan of the Magic the Gathering trading card game. And with all these new cards coming in, I was wondering how the cards were balanced, and manacost calculated. Im thinking there must be a ...
1
vote
3answers
931 views

what is a storage counter on a land card and how do you use it?

I have a card called Calciform Pools. It uses something called a storage counter. What is it and how do you use it? Card Text: Tap: Add {1} to your mana pool. {1}, Tap: Put a storage counter ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Do cards that say “Each player…” still affect players with Shroud?

I have a True Believer out which gives me shroud. My opponent has an enchantment that says that each player must sacrifice whenever he sacrifices a card. Does the enchantment target me, thus allowing ...
1
vote
2answers
194 views

I Don't Understand Scab-Clan Charger's Ability

I have this card and I don't understand the following: Discard Scab-Clan Charger: Target attacking creature gets +2/+4 until end of turn Alright, so the discard makes sense. What is "Target ...
7
votes
2answers
4k views

If a +1/+1 counter is removed after a creature takes damage, does it die?

I have two creatures out. Creature One gives Creature Two +1/+1. Creature One is a 2/2 and Creature Two is a 4/4 after adding the +1/+1 from Creature Two. My opponent casts a spell doing 3 damage ...
4
votes
3answers
27k views

If I am going to start playing Magic The Gathering, what set should I start with?

I know how this site works so I'm going to try my hardest to ask questions that have answers and aren't too open to interpretation. I'm considering getting (back) into Magic. My son is 12 now and he ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Do I still get to draw cards if I can't sacrifice Soul Ransom when its ability resolves?

Soul Ransom has an interesting ability: Discard two cards: Soul Ransom's controller sacrifices it, then draws two cards. Only any opponent may activate this ability. I'm aware that the normal ...
10
votes
6answers
565 views

Where can I get my Magic the Gathering play critiqued?

I started playing Magic again last year right after the release of Dark Ascension after a long hiatus. I decided to get more serious in trying to win, but I've hit a roadblock in my play. I go x-1 in ...
3
votes
3answers
523 views

Do Gather The Townsfolk's (or cards like it) tokens go on the stack separately?

A friend of mine was playing a deck that uses Cathars' Crusade and Gather the Townsfolk (and cards like it) to pump his creatures. Another guy was watching and said that all the tokens went on the ...
5
votes
3answers
5k views

How much money would I have to spend to play in tournaments?

In posing this question, I realize that it may be out of scope for boardgames.SE; this question could be subjective and the monetary costs vary quite a bit between cheapest and most expensive decks. ...