Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

1
vote
4answers
1k views

What should Mono-B put in sideboard against GW-Tokens?

My brother plays a Mono-Black standard-format deck against me often. He has some big threats in there like Phyrexian Obliterator, Sheoldred, Whispering One and Lashwrithe as well as many cards with ...
1
vote
1answer
80 views

What happens to an unattached Aura?

I haven't played magic in forever and I need some clarification on a rule. Let's say I cast Arrest on a creature my opponent controls. Then on his turn he returns the creature to his hand. Now I'm ...
1
vote
1answer
86 views

MTG Sliver Commander: Can I declare Brood Slivers tokens as attackers?

So in my sliver deck I am running Brood Sliver and Heart Sliver. Let's say their both on the field and a sliver deals damage to a player, could I declare the tokens made as attackers or is it too ...
1
vote
1answer
219 views

Triggering “On Cast” Effects When Sacrificing [duplicate]

I've been playing Magic 2015 and I noticed an interaction I didn't expect. I had a Young Pyromancer out and cast Fling, sacrificing the Pyromancer. The game triggered Young Pyromancer's effect and ...
1
vote
1answer
103 views

When does Skullcage have its effect activated?

I am new to Magic, so forgive me if this is common knowledge. Does the opponent's draw step happen before or after the Skullcage condition is checked?
1
vote
1answer
4k views

What happens to enchantments that are attached to creatures when the creatures are returned to your hand?

What happens to enchantments that are attached to creatures when the creatures are returned to your hand?
1
vote
1answer
11k views

What planeswalker cards can be used as commanders?

Can any Planeswalker be used as a Commander, or just the ones that say "XXXX can be your Commander" on the card?
1
vote
1answer
593 views

Double Hardened Scales

I'm having issues understanding how a possible turn would go which I'll try to explain best I can. Say I currently had two Battlewise Hoplite's currently on the board. One of them currently has ...
1
vote
1answer
114 views

When something is put into play, who controls it and why?

It seems to me that the underlying assumption with Hive Stirrings is that the Sliver tokens come into play under your control. However, I am building a random standard Polymorph deck (random standard ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

When a spell targeting a creature with heroic gets countered, does heroic still trigger?

Tethmos High Priest has the heroic ability: Whenever you cast a spell that targets Tethmos, return target creature card with converted mana cost 2 or less from graveyard to battlefield. Suppose ...
1
vote
1answer
983 views

When a Creature dies, does the Enchantment Creature attached to that Creature go in the graveyard?

Or can you place that Enchantment Creature as a Creature on the battlefield after the Creature it was attached to dies?
1
vote
1answer
170 views

Can a Guildgate be tapped for colorless?

Can Izzet Guildgate be tapped for colorless mana? For example, could I tap 7 Guildgates to cast Karn Liberated?
1
vote
1answer
246 views

Can Ink Treader Nephilim's Electrolyze copies target players?

I am curious if the Electrolyze copies created by targeting Ink-Treader Nephilim can be aimed at players for 1 point of damage or if all the damage must go to the creatures that Inky specifies the ...
1
vote
2answers
685 views

Do “enter the battlefield” abilities trigger heroic? Do creatures that leave and reenter the battlefield trigger again?

So, here's the play: Player 1 has Staunch-Hearted Warrior on the field. They play Living Totem and target the warrior, giving the warrior a +1/1 counter. Question 1: Would Living Totem's ability ...
1
vote
1answer
925 views

How many counters does Kalonian Hydra get with two Corpsejack Menaces on the battlefield?

Suppose I have 2 Corspejack Menaces on the battlefield. I play a Kalonian Hydra which is given haste by another effect, and decide to attack with it right away. How many counters are actually put on ...
1
vote
1answer
260 views

Will Exquisite Blood trigger even if the life loss eliminates the player

We are trying to workout a ruling for a multi player game of mtg involving 8 players and a 1 player with an Exquisite Blood. So lets say there are eight players. Player #3 has Exquisite Blood. Player ...
1
vote
1answer
605 views

Can I activate a tap ability multiple times, though on different turns?

I have a card named Alloy Myr. It's an artifact creature with the ability {T}: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool. Can this ability be used multiple times, but in different turns of ...
1
vote
1answer
176 views

Do abilities that trigger when a card is turned face up trigger when that card is in exile?

If I have a card with an ability that triggers when it is turned face up, such as Coral Trickster, does it still trigger when turned face up in exile, for example when imprinted on a dying Clone ...
1
vote
1answer
295 views

Phyrexian unlife and life gain

Phyrexian Unlife If your opponent has ten poison counters, he loses the game, so you just need to get your opponent to zero, then deal ten more damage to him. He'll take it in the form of poison ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

Do creatures summoned by a Planeswalker have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

Elspeth, Sun's Champion has a loyalty ability which says: Place three 1/1 white soldier creature tokens onto the battlefield. When this ability is activated, do these soldiers have summoning ...
1
vote
1answer
399 views

In multiplayer, does Dictate of Erebos still take effect if the combat that kills its owner's creature defeats the owner?

I was playing a 4 way standard multiplayer match. One player had 3/3 on the field, and Dictate of Erebos which says: Whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature. I ...
1
vote
1answer
641 views

Could an actual mono black storm (Tendril of agony) deck be viable for Legacy?

From experienced deckbuilders, how would you approach building a budget-friendly Tendrils of Agony deck? I'm thinking of basically only swamps for the manabase, but the rest (hand disruption, tutors, ...
1
vote
1answer
325 views

When is a card returned to the owner's hand?

I'm after some explanation on the rules returning a card to the owner's hand the question was raised by Darking Merfolk Consider the scenario where I have Darting Merfolk in play My opponent ...
1
vote
2answers
314 views

How should I group rare Magic cards when selling them online? [closed]

[Background: this was previously part of a longer question which has been edited into multiple smaller questions. I’ve already researched selling Magic cards, including reading through How do I find ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

How do SBAs interact with the sacrifice of a creature enchanted with Gift of Immortality?

I am not very au fait of how state based actions work, so I'd like to understand an interaction. Say I have Brindle Boar enchanted with Gift of Immortality. There are basically no simple ways (barring ...
1
vote
2answers
677 views

What is the proper way way to play Butcher of Malakir and Falkenrath Noble?

I am not sure if I correctly understand what order the phases would be when playing Butcher of Malakir and Falkenrath Noble. Also the description causes confusion as it basically says "if creature ...
1
vote
3answers
371 views

How to play Ring of Valkas?

My understanding is that artifacts and equipment are permanents. When playing the Ring of Valkas, it states that at the beginning of every upkeep you can add a +1/+1 counter to equipped creature. My ...
1
vote
2answers
405 views

Proper way to play Ghostly Possession Enchantment Aura?

When playing Ghostly Possession, since it would make the enchanted creature useless by both preventing all combat damage that would be dealt by and also dealt to enchanted creature then what is the ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

Glaring Spotlight anti-hexproof work on enchantments

Does the Glaring Spotlight's anti-hexproof work on enchantments? So if a creature is not hexproof but has an enchantment such as Alpha Authority, does it still cancel the hexproof?
1
vote
1answer
757 views

Can I have multiple copies of a creature with Cipher?

As far as I understand, Cipher works like so: when a card that contains Cipher is cast, you encode it onto a spell on the battlefield, like a creature for example. Every time that creature attacks and ...
1
vote
1answer
3k views

How does Vorinclex's second ability work at the time of his death?

The Green New Phyrexian Praetor Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger is quite the beast, his second ability reads: If an opponent taps a land for mana, it does not untap during his next untap step. Say ...
1
vote
1answer
524 views

What happens if you sacrifice a creature brought back with Postmortem Lunge?

Let’s say I have a creature in the graveyard. I then cast Postmortem Lunge, which reads Return target creature card with converted mana cost X from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains ...
1
vote
2answers
270 views

What's the missing white card in this New Phyrexia cycle?

There's a cycle of instants and sorceries in New Phyrexia that have an effect and adds at the end a loss of life to the targeted player or the targeted permanent's controller: Vapor Snag, Geth's ...
1
vote
2answers
150 views

Order of triggered abilties

I control an Illusory Gains. My opponent casts Torch Slinger. Does my opponent get to do his kicker and damage my creature, or do I gain control of the card prior to the kicker ability and I do the ...
1
vote
2answers
77 views

What state and trigger events apply when you “put creatures onto the battlefield?”

For instance, the -8 ability for Liliana Vess says, Put all creature cards from all graveyards onto the battlefield under your control. This sounds distinct from casting/summoning, and there's ...
1
vote
1answer
79 views

What zone is a spell or ability in when it is resolving?

When I cast a spell or activate an ability, or a triggered ability triggers, it goes on the stack, and then some time later, it resolves. Is it still on the stack while it is resolving? If not, is it ...
1
vote
1answer
137 views

Where/how does the Magic: the Gathering Quick Start Guide booklet actually get distributed in the physical world?

Magic: the Gathering has a basic rules PDF, aka the Quick Start Guide, that was instrumental in my understanding the basics of the game (like the stack and spellcasting). The M15 version is available ...
1
vote
3answers
106 views

Can Bloodrush satisfy a forced discard? [duplicate]

If my opponent makes me discard a card and I choose a creature card with the Bloodrush ability, can I pay the cost during the forced discard in order to activate the ability?
1
vote
1answer
169 views

In MTG when can I tap land [duplicate]

If I tap a land, end my turn, and then play an instant allowing me to untap it again, can I tap that land for more mana, and when does that mana get used up. Basically, if I tap mana on my opponents ...
1
vote
1answer
130 views

Phyrexian Unlife and Necropotence

So I have a 5 color deck and I was wondering how Necropotence and Phyrexian Unlife interact in certain circumstances. I understand that once my life becomes 0 or less I cannot pay life to draw cards, ...
1
vote
1answer
299 views

When Turn to Frog changes a creature's base power/toughness to 1/1 do any affects that change creature's power and toughness still apply?

Turn to Frog changes a creature's base power and toughness to 1/1. Does that mean if target creature has a +1/+1 counter when Turn to Frog is cast, it becomes 2/2? If it has -1/-1 counter on it, would ...
1
vote
1answer
105 views

Enchantment and other continuous effects priority [duplicate]

I have read a lot of questions about the priority in the stack and the triggered abilities. However, I would like to validate my understanding of the continuous effects priority rule. 613.6. ...
1
vote
1answer
244 views

What happens when more than one creature dies causing a trigger

Overseer of the Damned is a creature with the ability "Whenever a nontoken creature an opponent controls dies, put a 2/2 black Zombie creature token onto the battlefield tapped" Now, lets say 3 of my ...
1
vote
2answers
173 views

Polymorphous Rush targeting Young Pyromancer and X Tokens

If I cast Polymorphous Rush targeting X tokens, turning them all into copies of a Young Pyromancer, do I get an elemental token from each copy, similar to Scapeshift with Valakut on the battlefield?
1
vote
2answers
944 views

Can you untap an attacking creature to use its ability at the end of declare blockers?

Looking at this question and this question, it seems like I can activate abilities after blockers are declared (and before damage is assigned). So if I'm attacking with Scourge of Skola Vale, can I ...
1
vote
2answers
173 views

Multiple stack abilities and casting spells in that time

My question is as follows: If I have multiple "At the beginning of your upkeep..." abilities, and I want to cast an instant spell or activate an ability during that time, can I cast the spell between ...
1
vote
1answer
373 views

Does Prophet of Kruphix apply to Planeswalker abilities that create creatures?

The Prophet of Kruphix has the ability You may cast creature cards as if they had flash. Does this apply to the Loyalty ability Put three 1/1 white soldier creature tokens onto the ...
1
vote
1answer
288 views

Are there 5/5 Beast Token cards?

There are at least two cards that I know of that make 5/5 Beast tokens (Spawning Ground and One Dozen Eyes). Yet I can't seem to find an actual token card that is a 5/5 Beast. Does such a card ...
1
vote
3answers
754 views

Mono-Green Deck: Responding to Sorceries/Instants?

I'm working on a mono-green overrun deck but I'm having some trouble responding to my opponent's non-creature cards. Against another creature-heavy deck it does very well, but up against anything ...
1
vote
1answer
124 views

Do Triggered effects stack?

Lets say I have a Suture Priest creature that says "Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may gain 1 life." and I currently have all 4 of them in the battlefield. ...