Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

2
votes
1answer
346 views

When do static bonuses go away relative to damage dealt?

I use Radiant Archangel in a deck full of flying creatures. It is a 3/3 flyer with +1/+1 for each other flying creature in play. During a game, I had seven other flying creatures, making it a 10/10. ...
2
votes
1answer
7k views

Can Guttersnipe hit Planeswalkers?

Guttersnipe's ability states: Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, Guttersnipe deals 2 damage to each opponent. Now, Planeswalkers are classed as "Players". I found this ruling that ...
2
votes
3answers
4k views

Can a flashed creature block?

If I summon a creature with the flash rule in my opponent's turn as a response to their attack is it able to block? Or is it suffering from summoning sickness and can't do anything?
2
votes
2answers
515 views

Is it possible to copy a land with Mimic Vat that is turned into creature by an enchantment?

I am considering creating a deck which utilizes a strange combo if it can be done. It uses Mimic Vat in combination with Awaken the Ancient. I want to make it so that when my land, which is a 7/7 ...
2
votes
3answers
946 views

Are some MTG sets statistically more likely to yield more valuable cards?

When buying booster packs, I always wonder which one I should by this time, and I often pick randomly (or for superficial reasons). However, it must be that some sets have more useful, valuable or ...
2
votes
3answers
316 views

In magic the gathering can I tap a creature at the attacking/blocking phase?

I was looking at this link and was kind of confused. In Magic, when can I tap my opponent's creatures to prevent them from attacking? So if a instant says tap target creature and they attack I ...
2
votes
2answers
319 views

Nahiri, the Lithomancer + Skullclamp + Cathar's Crusade

The following situation came up in an EDH game and I'm not sure what is supposed to happen. I control a Cathars' Crusade, Nahiri, the Lithomancer and a Skullclamp on the battlefield. I activate ...
2
votes
2answers
784 views

It That Betrays in a multiplayer game

How does It That Betrays' triggered ability work in a multiplayer game, if two of us controls a It That Betrays, and a third player sacrifices a card?
2
votes
2answers
439 views

can you activate abilities during a resolving stack?

So for example: I have Krenko, Mob Boss with Thornbite Staff equipped. He is targeted with Doom Blade. In response I tap Krenko to make 1 Goblin token. I also have Goblin Bombardment to sacrifice the ...
2
votes
4answers
737 views

When a permanent is being made to copy another, does it count as entering the battlefield? [duplicate]

I want to cast Polymorphous Rush on a strong creature on my battlefield so that my Hamletback Goliath's ability will trigger. The creature that will become the copy is already on the battlefield, but ...
2
votes
1answer
315 views

Does this creature give itself +1/+1?

So I was playing a game and this card came out and we couldn't decide if by "Other Minotaur creatures" it means not this creature, or if it included it. Also, we assumed that it would give Trample to ...
2
votes
2answers
248 views

Don't the Planeswalkers in Commander 2014 that say they can be your Commander contradict the fact the Commanders have to be legendary creatures?

Ob Nixilis of the Black Oath and the other Commanders in Commander 2014 say they can be your Commander. Doesn't that contradict the rule that Commanders can only be Legendary Creatures?
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I use tokens and basic lands from outside my format?

This may sound like a noob question but I cannot find answer anywhere and I still learning all new stuff since I last played so I will ask here. What does the rules say about using non-format tokens ...
2
votes
1answer
5k views

Do cards with abilities that target trigger heroic?

Would something like Satyr Grovedancer or something that has "When ~ enters the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature" trigger Heroic? It has the keyword target, but does it count as an ...
2
votes
2answers
560 views

Do spells targeting Daring Thief follow it after control is exchanged?

Suppose I have Daring Thief out. My opponent attempts to kill it via Doom Blade or another kill spell. In response I untap Daring Thief with Thassa's Ire, and attempt to gain control of, say, my ...
2
votes
2answers
311 views

Can Crypt Rats be used from Graveyard

Can Crypt Rats be activated while in the graveyard? There is no tap, which is why it seems possible. If not, then why can cards like Rot Farm Skeleton have activated abilities that are usable only ...
2
votes
2answers
10k views

Can my opponent respond to an “enters the battlefield” ability?

I played Shadowborn demon. It has the ability When Shadowborn Demon enters the battlefield, destroy target non-Demon creature. Can my friend play Fall of the Hammer on the target creature that ...
2
votes
1answer
6k views

Playing Multiple Lands in One Turn

I know that for the most part you can only play one land per turn. However I also know that it is possible to put multiple lands onto the field with the effects of certain spells. I want to know if ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

do basic lands count against sideboard total?

http://www.starcitygames.com/magic/legacy/21524_The_Long_And_Winding_Road_Legacy_Elves.html All the spells in that deck are green as are all the creatures. And yet the deck has two fetch lands - ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I use Hibernation Sliver to return slivers from my graveyard?

I have a Hibernation Sliver in play which states that all slivers have "Pay 2 life: Return this permanent to its owner's hand." I have slivers in my graveyard. Can I pay 2 life and return a sliver ...
2
votes
2answers
9k views

In what ways does a Commander in their Command zone influence the game?

Oloro, Ageless Ascetic has an ability that functions whilst in the command zone. As a newbie to the Commander format, that leaves me unclear about something: Whilst a Commander is in their Command ...
2
votes
1answer
676 views

What happens when a miracle trigger is copied?

One of the newly spoiled cards in Magic 2014, Strionic Resonator, allows you to copy a triggered ability you control. This allows you to copy any of a number of things that previously would happen ...
2
votes
1answer
428 views

Varolz, the Scar-Striped rulings with double-faced/flip cards

Varolz, the Scar-Striped says Each creature card in you graveyard has scavenge. Their scavenge cost is equal to its mana cost. My question is simple: do I get to choose which side I can ...
2
votes
1answer
119 views

Can I pay kicker on a creature put into play with Kaalia's ability?

I've attacked with Kaalia of the Vast and I decide to use her triggered ability to put Desolation Angel onto the battlefield. Do I get the opportunity to pay for the kicker and destroy my opponents ...
2
votes
1answer
212 views

How much damage do I take when I Trample a Stuffy Doll that has Pariah attached?

Last game I played I faced the following combo: Stuffy Doll played by an opponent, opponent chose me Pariah attached to Stuffy Doll This resulted in an invincible opponent, as long as Pariah is ...
2
votes
1answer
217 views

Jace, Telepath Unbound and Casting a Spell from the Graveyard

I was playing MTG Duels. I had Jace, Telepath Unbound on the battlefield and activated its second ability: You may cast target instant or sorcery card from your graveyard this turn. If that ...
2
votes
1answer
449 views

How does Tarmogoyf interact with changelings?

What would happen if you had a Mirror Entity (or any card with changeling) in your graveyard and a Tarmogoyf in play? Would Tarmogoyf's ability only count Mirror Entity as a shapeshifter type creature ...
2
votes
2answers
143 views

How exactly does “fight” work?

Of all keywords, fight is the most confusing to me. Whan creature X fights creature Y, do you only count plain power/toughness? How do you count enchantments, counters, static abilities of other ...
2
votes
2answers
468 views

Ordering triggers

Hey I have yet another question from my esper rally deck. My opponent is at 3 life. I have no more cards in my library and no creatures in play. My graveyard has Nantuko Husk, Zulaport Cutthroat, 2 ...
2
votes
2answers
597 views

Who wins when everyone takes lethal damage simultaneously?

I am building an edh deck for about 5 dollars and was wondering, If I cast Sickening Dreams dealing more than enough damage to kill my opponent and I at the same time, who wins?
2
votes
2answers
449 views

Dropping from a sanctioned event mid-draft

The tournament rules say: Players who drop during limited events own the cards that they correctly have in their possession at that time. This includes any unopened or partially drafted ...
2
votes
2answers
635 views

Brutal Hordechief & Bloodthrone Vampire

I have a timing question: Is it possible to attack with "Bloodthrone Vampire" and let's say 10 other creatures at the same time, while using BOTH abilities of "Brutal Hordechief" and therefore cause ...
2
votes
3answers
307 views

Can I respond to a draw from Gitaxan probe?

If I resolve a Gitaxian Probe, can I crack a Lion Eye Diamond before I draw?
2
votes
3answers
491 views

When does Chief of the Edge die?

Lets say my friend attacks with Chief of the Edge and two other Warrior creatures, and I declare three blockers, one on each creature. If Chief of the Edge dies due to combat damage from blockers, ...
2
votes
3answers
344 views

Is there a “consensus” definition of what constitutes a “strong” or “weak” deck? [closed]

In various Magic the Gathering posts, I've seen references to "strong" and weak" decks, and specifically to decks that are "too strong" or "too weak" to be "playable. Is a deck that is "too strong" ...
2
votes
1answer
877 views

Does a copy of your commander count as your “Commander”?

The new Commander edition introduces a keyword Lieutenant, which gives bonuses as long as you control your commander. Is that bonus still granted if you control a clone of your commander only? And ...
2
votes
1answer
569 views

Losing Control of Bestowed Enchantment Creatures [duplicate]

I've been playing Magic for about six months and thought I had a decent handle on how things work until I ran into the following problem: Set-up: I was playing mono black devotion against blue-green ...
2
votes
1answer
994 views

Does heroic trigger when the creature is in a graveyard?

I have an Agent of the Fates in my graveyard. I return it to my hand with Disentomb. Does my opponent have to sacrifice a creature?
2
votes
1answer
585 views

If you block an attack, can the blocker be killed with an instant before you can sacrifice it?

Let's say I control a Brindle Boar. If I block an attacking Nessian Courser with it and then activate the ability of Brindle Boar, can my opponent interrupt it with say, a Shock to kill it before I ...
2
votes
2answers
3k views

How does Athreos, God of Passage respond to creature tokens?

If I have Athreos, God of Passage on the field and a creature token dies, does Athreos' effect trigger and they automatically lose three health because I can't return a token to my hand, or does it ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

Priorities at End of Turn

So I announce the end of my turn. My opponent responds with a lightning bolt to my head. It resolves so I take 3. Do I still have priority to do something else, eg to play instants that says do ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

When do you reveal the top card of your library with Courser of Kruphix and scry lands?

I have Courser of Kruphix in play, and a scry land (say Temple of Plenty) on top of my library revealed. If I then play the land off my library using the Courser's ability, which of the following ...
2
votes
1answer
506 views

Diplomatic Immunity, card's self abilities and equipments

I have card Diplomatic Immunity (from Mercadian Masques) It says that both the enchantment itself and the creature enchanted can't be target of spells or abilities (called shroud now, it seems). ...
2
votes
5answers
2k views

Card Organization: Multi-Color Cards

As my collection has started growing (new to MtG) I'm now needing to organize. I've done quite a bit of blog reading on the different methods and strategies but one thing I can't quite seem to ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Do face-down creatures with death trigger activate normally?

If a face-down creature has a "When this dies [...]" effect (i.e. because of Ixidron), will that effect activate when it dies?
2
votes
1answer
638 views

Regeneration specifics: activation of the ability in combat

I'm aware of this question about regeneration, which covers almost everything about it, but the focus of that question was on instants such as Shock or Doom Blade. My question is different and wasn't ...
2
votes
1answer
241 views

What is the sequence of actions when my Shocker removes cards and places cards in my opponents hand? [duplicate]

I have a fun little shocker deck. From Gatherer Whenever Shocker deals damage to a player, that player discards all the cards in his or her hand, then draws that many cards. Note that the errata ...
2
votes
1answer
162 views

Magic The Gathering, Blinking the source of a transformation

When the action that makes a card flip back-face up goes on the stack, I use a card ability like the Eldrazi Displacer to blink Archangel Avacyn After the "blink" resolves, the card I have on the ...
2
votes
3answers
206 views

What is the difference between Owning and Controlling an object on the Battlefield?

I’m a little confused on what the outcome of this scenario is – any help would be appreciated. Let’s say I cast Turn Against on one my opponent’s creatures. So I would “Gain control of target ...
2
votes
1answer
254 views

Why would anyone use Necromancer's Assistant? [closed]

The card Necromancer's Assistant is kind of useless. You sacrifice 3 random cards to play it, it can be destroyed by any card, and its power is only decent. When would you use this card?