Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

8
votes
5answers
570 views

Inherited thousands of Magic Cards

I have inherited over 20,000 Magic cards. What is the best way to find out what they are worth for selling. Do I need to look up each card? How? Where?
8
votes
1answer
2k views

When must an Instant be played that prevents damage?

Consider the card Harm's Way or similar. The Oracle text states: The next 2 damage that a source of your choice would deal to you and/or permanents you control this turn is dealt to target ...
7
votes
3answers
8k views

When can lands be tapped?

I'm completely new to Magic the Gathering. I've read the basic rulebook pretty thoroughly and have a pretty good grasp of the basic rules, but it's unclear to me as to when you can tap lands to ...
7
votes
1answer
988 views

Can uncounterable spells still be countered somehow?

I cast Fling, sacrificing my only creature to kill my opponent. My opponent responds with Last Word, which will win the game the other way. Last Word says it "can't be countered by spells or ...
7
votes
1answer
10k views

Are gods treated as creatures before they enter the battlefield?

Gods, such as Purphoros or Mogis, are not creatures if your devotion is not high enough. Does this count when casting them? If, for example, an opponent tries to counter with Essence Scatter when the ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Can I get an enters-the-battlefield effect out of a second legendary before I must sacrifice it?

If I have a legendary creature out, and I make a copy of it (such as by enchanting it with Splinter Twin or making a Clone), do I get enters-the-battlefield effects from the creature before I have to ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens when additional costs can't ultimately be paid, but the spell is on the stack?

I have a question that bothers me after reading a part of the big book of rules :). It's about the rule 717, illegal actions. 717.1. If a player realizes that he or she can’t legally take an ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

In multiplayer, what happens if a player you're attacking dies before combat damage is dealt?

I can't work this one out. For example: I declare a creature attacking one of my opponents (who's on 5 life). Before he/she declares blockers another player casts Beacon of Destruction (or similar), ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Cremate counter Flashback, Scavenge, and their ilk?

I'm looking at the card Cremate: Cremate - {B} Instant - common RTR Exile target card from a graveyard. Draw a card. Now, can I use this to respond to a flashback or scavenge? ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

Can non basic lands be tapped for colorless mana?

For example, Evolving Wilds has a mana fixing ability, but it doesn't say you can tap it for mana. Other non-basic lands have a mana ability listed on the card. Should I assume that Evolving Winds ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Do the Elf creatures put into the battlefield by Planeswalker Nissa Revane suffer from summoning sickness? [duplicate]

The 3rd ability of Nissa Revane Planeswalker is -7: Search your library for any number of Elf creature cards and put them onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library. So the question is do the ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

How can I play around targeted discard?

Many decks in competitive Magic have access to targeted discard spells, like Duress and Thoughtseize. Against counterspells, you can rely on a variety of tricks like baiting counters, bottlenecking ...
6
votes
1answer
888 views

If a creature loses flying after blockers are declared, is the block still legal?

My opponent declared attack with a flying creature, after that I declared a blocker with my own flying creature. He then cast Turn to Frog, targeting my blocker. My creature was a 6/6 flying, my ...
5
votes
3answers
939 views

Is there any way to stop someone from sacrificing a Golden Urn?

My friend had a Golden Urn on the board with 10 counters on it. If I destroy it and he sacs it in response to gain the life, is there anything that can be done about that? Like, can I put another ...
5
votes
1answer
601 views

What happens if a target for removal becomes ineligible after a card has been cast?

When you have a card like Complete Disregard which reads "Exile Target Creature with power 3 or less", as I understand it, it becomes untargetable if the opponent's creature power increases thanks to ...
5
votes
1answer
278 views

Is Argothian Elder a Druid?

Argothian Elder is listed on a lot of websites with the Druid creature type, but the card only lists "Elf". Is Argothian Elder a Druid too?
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Do deathtouch and deathtouch-like effects stop trample damage?

My friend has a trample deck, and I have a Stinkweed Imp that says "Whenever Stinkweed Imp deals combat damage to a creature, destroy that creature." Can a creature destroyed this way still deal ...
5
votes
2answers
739 views

If an effect would prevent a spell from doing damage, does it continue to prevent that damage after the spell changes zones?

Anthony casts Searing Blood, targeting Nathan's Elvish Mystic. Nathan casts and resolves Dromoka's Command, choosing to 1) prevent all damage that would be dealt by Searing Blood this turn and 2) put ...
5
votes
1answer
369 views

What are the characteristics of a flip card in my library?

Are the characteristics of a flip card in my library determined by both faces or just the front face? For example, can I use an Enlightened Tutor to fetch Sasaya, Orochi Ascendant? Enlightened Tutor ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

How long does mana from Burning-Tree Emissary stay around?

Does mana added to your pool from Burning-Tree Emissary get destroyed when the card that added it is destroyed?
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Is your commander still a “commander” if it gets turned face down? [duplicate]

Does your commander still count as being your commander if it is turned face down? For example, I have my commander on the battlefield and my opponent plays Ixidron. Ixidron then turns my commander ...
4
votes
2answers
4k views

Can an Aura which was not cast be attached to a permanent with shroud?

If an Aura is placed on the battlefield using Genesis Wave or an ability like Sun Titan's, can it enchant a creature that has shroud (or an opponent-controlled creature with hexproof)? I'm looking at ...
4
votes
3answers
288 views

How can I tell what has changed in a Comprehensive Rules update?

As an example, the Comp Rules were updated February 1, 2012. I know that a reference to "Fateful Hour" was added to 207.2c since I know to search for fateful hour, but how do I know what else changed?...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

How does the four card limit work?

I'm new to the game and trying to make my first constructed deck. My understanding of the card rule is I can only have four cards of one kind. What does this precisely mean? For instance, does this ...
4
votes
1answer
202 views

Can I defeat an opponent with their own commander?

I know that if I gain control of my opponent's commander, it won't lose the status of commander. How is the commander damage calculated in this case? Can I do the 21 commander damage with the stolen ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Do commanders “die” if they go to the command zone instead?

If my commander would die and I opt to move it to the command zone instead of the graveyard, does it cause a "when a creature dies" ability trigger? An example would be Fool's Demise. If my opponent ...
4
votes
1answer
466 views

Changing control of an attacking or blocking creature mid-combat

I've happened upon a new scenario I didn't realise was possible: I attack or block with Jackal Pup, and after blockers are declared, I use Zedruu the Greatheated or Bazaar Trader to give the Jackal ...
4
votes
1answer
788 views

Pyxis of Pandemonium and 'enters the battlefield' abilities [duplicate]

My question about Pyxis of Pandemonium is: When all of the cards are finally turned face up, what determines the order in which their "when X enters the battlefield..." effects resolve?
4
votes
3answers
4k views

Are (un)tapped permanents still legal targets for “(un)tap target permanent” effects?

So I noticed that many cards with tap-effects ship with a clause specifying that they can only be used on untapped permanents, such as Earthcraft and Crackleburr. So here's my question: Doesn't ...
4
votes
1answer
583 views

What happens when a creature enchanted with Soul Link would deal lethal damage to a player?

Player A has 3 life left. Player B attacks with a Dauthi Marauder that has been enchanted by Player A's Soul Link. Does player B win, or does nothing happen? On the one hand, "whenever" makes it ...
3
votes
1answer
767 views

Returning permanents from my graveyard

If i have a sorcery or instant or creature ability that allows me to return target permanent to its owners hand, can I use that ability or spell to return permanents from my graveyard
3
votes
1answer
438 views

MTG: Sideboard if maindeck has more than 60 cards

I did some calculation and found out, that my Living End deck (modern) might be better of with 66 cards maindeck. SB still contains of 15 cards. Depending on the match up, I'd like to cut my deck for ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

How does metalcraft work in Two-Headed-Giant?

I'm playing Two-Headed-Giant and have a creature with metalcraft. I control 1 artifact and my teammate controls 2. Does my creature's metalcraft ability 'trigger'? I know metalcraft says "if you ...
3
votes
3answers
2k views

How does priority work in these cases?

I understand the ruling that when a Planeswalker resolves the player controlling the walker can activate its ability without their opponent getting priority in between. Are there any other rules ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a creature's sacrifice benefit be taken when it is sacrificed to Eldrazi Monument?

I asked a general question about double sacrifice bonus, but thought it better to ask a specific question. If a creature has a "Sacrifice this creature for X" ability, can you sacrifice it for that ...
2
votes
1answer
4k views

What happens to cards cast from exile?

There are a few cards that allow you to exile cards and then cast them later (Narset, Enlightened Master for example). After a spell cast this way resolves, does it go back into exile, or does it ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

Who draws a card if my opponent has stolen control of Pelakka Wurm when it dies?

If an opponent casts Act of Treason to gain control of Pelakka Wurm then sacrifices it who will draw the card?
2
votes
4answers
2k views

Are Basic Lands (Mana) Block/Set Agnostic? [duplicate]

What is the point in Wizard creating RtR Forests and M13 Forests, for example? It seems like it would be a lot more efficient and cost effective to everyone involved if these basic land types were ...
2
votes
3answers
2k views

What pauper cards are legal in MTGO but not paper?

I am trying to collect most cards relevant to pauper. All cards that have ever been printed at the common level on paper are legal for pauper, except for 8 cards on the pauper the ban list. Because ...
2
votes
1answer
5k views

Do cards with abilities that target trigger heroic?

Would something like Satyr Grovedancer or something that has "When ~ enters the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature" trigger Heroic? It has the keyword target, but does it count as an ...
2
votes
1answer
531 views

Does a heroic trigger still resolve if the heroic creature is gone?

Having read When does Heroic trigger? I think the answer is yes, but I'd just like to double check: I have Akroan Crusader and I cast Nyxborn Rollicker for its bestow cost so my stack looks like (...
2
votes
1answer
346 views

When do static bonuses go away relative to damage dealt?

I use Radiant Archangel in a deck full of flying creatures. It is a 3/3 flyer with +1/+1 for each other flying creature in play. During a game, I had seven other flying creatures, making it a 10/10. ...
1
vote
1answer
158 views

Are there specific names for the signature images in the Ravnica guilds?

Each 2 colour combination has its own name and it's own picture used on cards that have both colours involved (generally in the background of the card text). Do the pictures themselves have a name ...
1
vote
3answers
834 views

What happens if 2 separate abilities require you to sacrifice a creature?

If i have two cards that force opponents to sacrifice every upkeep like for example Mogis God of Slaughter "At the beginning of each opponent’s upkeep, Mogis deals 2 damage to that player unless he or ...
1
vote
2answers
3k views

When a spell targeting a creature with heroic gets countered, does heroic still trigger?

Tethmos High Priest has the heroic ability: Whenever you cast a spell that targets Tethmos, return target creature card with converted mana cost 2 or less from graveyard to battlefield. Suppose ...
1
vote
2answers
5k views

When does Heroic trigger?

Suppose Player 1 controls a Favored Hoplite and casts Ordeal of Heliod targeting it. In response, player 2 casts Magma Jet on the Favored Hoplite. Does the Heroic trigger from Ordeal of Heliod happen ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Cards changing mana color

What cards across all sets allow the utilization of mana, either colorless or otherwise, as colored mana of another color? One early example with an unlimited 1:1 ratio: Sunglasses of Urza ...
1
vote
2answers
460 views

How should I group rare Magic cards when selling them online? [closed]

[Background: this was previously part of a longer question which has been edited into multiple smaller questions. I’ve already researched selling Magic cards, including reading through How do I find ...
1
vote
1answer
600 views

When a permanent has a “When a creature dies” ability, and gets destroyed at the same time as creatures, does that ability trigger? [duplicate]

Say I control Fecundity, which states: Whenever a creature dies, that creature's controller may draw a card. If I control 2 creatures and my opponent controls one creature, and I cast Planar ...
1
vote
1answer
339 views

What happens when more than one creature dies causing a trigger

Overseer of the Damned is a creature with the ability "Whenever a nontoken creature an opponent controls dies, put a 2/2 black Zombie creature token onto the battlefield tapped" Now, lets say 3 of my ...