Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

3
votes
2answers
142 views

Stealing and Phasing

Say I borrowed an opponent's creature (e.g. via Threaten) and then let it phase out (e.g. via Reality Ripple). Under whose control does it phase in, and when? Under whose control does it phase in if ...
7
votes
1answer
473 views

How do I identify the role of a singleton in a well-tuned deck?

In this instance, I'm looking at Matt Sperling's Pro Tour top 8 Boros Burn deck, and there's one thing I don't get--what's the single Eidolon of the Great Revel doing here? Creatures: 4 ...
5
votes
3answers
275 views

Animated Urborg and Humility

We all know that a really messed up rules situation must involve a Humility. So here we go. This site discusses the scenario when an Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth becomes animated (e.g. via Nissa, ...
2
votes
1answer
118 views

Do multiple Archetypes work together?

What if I had three different archetypes on the field: Archetype of Imagination (gives flying), Archetype of Endurance (gives hexproof), and Archetype of Finality (gives deathtouch)? Would all three ...
0
votes
1answer
296 views

Is it worthwhile to build a competive Standard M15 deck when a block is about to rotate out? [closed]

So I want to start playing competitive magic again, in the standard format (just started up again after about 6 years of not playing). Is it worth it for me to build a competitive standard deck right ...
1
vote
2answers
144 views

Do I get to keep the 2nd Kalonian Twingrove when I got it via a Mimic Vat?

Say I have this situation: I have a Mimic Vat out. An opponent's non-token Kalonian Twingrove dies during my turn and I choose to imprint it and put it as a copy token on my side of the battlefield. ...
3
votes
3answers
1k views

Can more lands be tapped for mana than needed?

I was playing with a friend last night, and during one of our games i miscalculated the amount of mana needed to activate various abilities on my permanents. I ended up tapping too many lands (2 too ...
1
vote
1answer
219 views

How many counters does Kalonian Hydra get with two Corpsejack Menaces on the battlefield?

Suppose I have 2 Corspejack Menaces on the battlefield. I play a Kalonian Hydra which is given haste by another effect, and decide to attack with it right away. How many counters are actually put on ...
3
votes
1answer
158 views

How should I determine whether a deck is legal in a particular format?

I have a list of cards for a deck I want to build or buy. What should I do to check whether that deck is legal in a particular format (Standard, for example)?
1
vote
1answer
148 views

Will Exquisite Blood trigger even if the life loss eliminates the player

We are trying to workout a ruling for a multi player game of mtg involving 8 players and a 1 player with an Exquisite Blood. So lets say there are eight players. Player #3 has Exquisite Blood. Player ...
1
vote
2answers
458 views

Can I play a Sorcery or Instant without paying its mana cost, in any way?

In Magic, there are creature cards with huge mana costs (like 15 for Emrakul, the Aeons Torn), that can hardly ever be paid in a normal game of Magic. Luckily, there are many ways to "cheat" creatures ...
0
votes
1answer
219 views

In MTG, when sacrificing another player's creature, who performs the discard into the graveyard?

Dovetailing off this question... Can I sacrifice a creature that is only temporarily under my control? ...where the answer is, yes, you definitely can. 'Who' discards it? I'm specifically looking ...
0
votes
2answers
217 views

Can you untap an attacking creature to use its ability at the end of declare blockers?

Looking at this question and this question, it seems like I can activate abilities after blockers are declared (and before damage is assigned). So if I'm attacking with Scourge of Skola Vale, can I ...
3
votes
3answers
220 views

Remove bestow target, does it become a creature?

If my opponent was to cast bestow onto a creature, and i then remove the creature, does the bestow get countered and go to the graveyard, or does it become a creature?
1
vote
1answer
399 views

Do cards with abilities that target trigger heroic?

Would something like Satyr Grovedancer or something that has "When ~ enters the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature" trigger Heroic? It has the keyword target, but does it count as an ...
1
vote
2answers
118 views

order of attack and blocking with a creature with modifying other creature's ability

Suppose a situation where you have a Paragon of Gathering Mists and another creature, say X, with 3/3 on the battlefield. PGM is 2/2 and X becomes 4/4 because of PGM. When I attack a player with both ...
0
votes
2answers
228 views

Can Cancel counter a creature on the battlefield?

Say, I have Cancel, which is an Instant, on my hand. It can counter any spells. The opponent has had a creature, for example Ajani's Pridemate, on the battlefield for several turns attacking and ...
7
votes
2answers
324 views

Generator Servent with Nemesis of Mortals

Nemesis of Mortals says: Nemesis of Mortals costs 1 less to cast for each creature card in your graveyard. and Generator Servant says: Tap, Sacrifice Generator Servant: Add 2 to your mana ...
0
votes
2answers
141 views

What to consider when naming decks [closed]

I'm relatively new to deck building, but I have noticed that sometimes players name their decks. What are the things to consider when I come to name decks? Here are a few things that I consider ...
3
votes
3answers
921 views

Do +1/+1 counters accumulate?

This might be quite basic. I am just a beginner and searched through the web and the rule book and couldn't find the answer. For instance, Ajani's Pridemate lets you, Whenever you gain life, you ...
2
votes
3answers
706 views

Does Phytotitan return to the battlefield when it first died and then was exiled?

I have a question regarding Phytotitan, it's a 7/2 creature wich states: When Phytotitan dies, return it to the battlefield under its owner's control tapped at the beginning of his or her next ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

What do I say when an opponent asks if I'm “tapped out”, especially if I still have a means of casting a spell?

When my opponent asks if I am "tapped out" is it reasonable to assume they are referring to land only? Say for example my opponent goes to declare attackers and asks if I am "tapped out". I have no ...
4
votes
2answers
286 views

What happens when creature has two mutually exclusive restrictions on what can block them?

What happens if I equip my Juggernaut Juggernaut can't be blocked by Walls. with a Prowler's Helm Equipped creature can't be blocked except by Walls. or if I enchant my Charging Rhino ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Enchant artifact used to enchant Artifact creature

I'm somewhat new to Magic the Gathering and my friend is slightly more experienced than me, so I gave him this one, but am questioning it: He has a card called Ensoul Artifact which says Enchant ...
1
vote
1answer
186 views

Can I activate a tap ability multiple times, though on different turns?

I have a card named Alloy Myr. It's an artifact creature with the ability {T}: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool. Can this ability be used multiple times, but in different turns of ...
2
votes
1answer
250 views

Can Act of Treason allow a Detained creature to attack?

Suppose an opponent plays a card such as Lyev Decree to detain one or two of my creatures until the opponents next turn. If I have Act of Treason in my hand, would I be able to use Act of Treason to ...
0
votes
1answer
97 views

In what order do single spells or abilities that target multiple targets trigger?

When a spell (for example, Dauntless Onslaught) that targets more than a single target, if both of them have a reaction (Heroic, for example) to being targeted which happens first? The specific case ...
2
votes
1answer
242 views

What can I do if I still do not understand an interaction from a DCI online test?

The instruction pages for the online DCI Judges exams/practice tests (requires login) says: Before you start, it's important to note that, in order for the testing experience to remain relevant ...
1
vote
1answer
84 views

Do abilities that trigger when a card is turned face up trigger when that card is in exile?

If I have a card with an ability that triggers when it is turned face up, such as Coral Trickster, does it still trigger when turned face up in exile, for example when imprinted on a dying Clone ...
3
votes
2answers
370 views

When is a battalion trigger considered “missed” at Competitive REL?

At exactly what stage of combat would a Competitive REL judge change his ruling from "The trigger happens" to "Your opponent decides" to "The trigger was missed"? The trigger happens -> Your ...
0
votes
0answers
47 views

Sacrifice help With MTG [duplicate]

If I have to sacrifice a creature every beginning of my upkeep and I play Rescue from Underworld, will I get past the sacrifice? Thanks
1
vote
3answers
296 views

What happens if 2 separate abilities require you to sacrifice a creature?

If i have two cards that force opponents to sacrifice every upkeep like for example Mogis God of Slaughter "At the beginning of each opponent’s upkeep, Mogis deals 2 damage to that player unless he or ...
3
votes
2answers
270 views

sacred mesa and activated abilities between untap and upkeep

Sacred Mesa says "At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice Sacred Mesa unless you sacrifice a Pegasus." It also has an activated ability: 1W: Put a 1/1 white Pegasus creature token with flying ...
2
votes
1answer
328 views

Does heroic trigger when the creature is in a graveyard?

I have an Agent of the Fates in my graveyard. I return it to my hand with Disentomb. Does my opponent have to sacrifice a creature?
5
votes
2answers
240 views

What effect do Strionic Resonator and Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger have together?

If I have a Strionic Resonator and a Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger in play under my control, what will happen when I tap a land for mana, or when my opponent taps a land for mana?
3
votes
1answer
301 views

Will clone effects copy extra abilities applied to a creature? If not, why does Twinflame work?

Let's say my opponent has out Akroma's Memorial, Asceticism, Darksteel Forge, or something similar that uses the word "have" to give abilities. If I use a Clone effect to copy a creature my opponent ...
1
vote
1answer
110 views

Are there specific names for the signature images in the Ravnica guilds?

Each 2 colour combination has its own name and it's own picture used on cards that have both colours involved (generally in the background of the card text). Do the pictures themselves have a name ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Is there an easy way I can tell if a MTG card is “rare” just by looking at it?

I don't always have an internet connection to research the rarity of a MTG card. Is there an obvious indication of rarity on MTG cards themselves (other than foil)? Some sort of insignia? Or a class ...
4
votes
3answers
239 views

Will Eidolon of Rhetoric also prevent Cipher from working in the same turn as another spell?

Say Eidolon of Rhetoric is on the battlefield and an opponent has a Cipher card (Hidden Strings for example) encoded on one of their creatures. If that player casts a spell and then deals damage with ...
1
vote
1answer
196 views

Athreos, God of Passage and Gift of Immortality

With Gift of Immortality, if a creature is destroyed, it is returned to the battlefield and then at the next end phase Gift of Immortality is returned onto the creature. With Athreos, God of Passage, ...
6
votes
1answer
810 views

What happens when a creature with “Whenever a creature dies” dies simultaneously with multiple other creatures?

Marchesa, the Black Rose has the following ability: Whenever a creature you control with a +1/+1 counter on it dies, return that card to the battlefield under your control at the beginning of the ...
1
vote
1answer
202 views

If you block an attack, can the blocker be killed with an instant before you can sacrifice it?

Let's say I control a Brindle Boar. If I block an attacking Nessian Courser with it and then activate the ability of Brindle Boar, can my opponent interrupt it with say, a Shock to kill it before I ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

What color are Nissa, Worldwaker's lands?

Nissa, Worldwaker turns lands into 4/4 Elemental creatures. My question is... what color are these tokens? Are they green, the color that the land in question produces, or are they colorless since ...
7
votes
3answers
739 views

Are +1/+1 counters different from +1/+1 effects?

Is a +1/+1 counter I get from, say Unleash or Undying different than +1/+1 from something like Spear of Heliod or Master of Waves?
1
vote
2answers
512 views

polymorphist's jest and emrakul

Polymorphist's Jest says each creature target player controls loses all abilities and becomes a blue Frog with a base power and toughness 1/1. My question is... how would this work with Emrakul? Like ...
2
votes
1answer
217 views

You have to discard, but have no hand

If I play a spell that makes an opponent discard a card, but they have no hand, would they have to discard those cards from their library, or would nothing happen?
2
votes
2answers
492 views

How does Athreos, God of Passage respond to creature tokens?

If I have Athreos, God of Passage on the field and a creature token dies, does Athreos' effect trigger and they automatically lose three health because I can't return a token to my hand, or does it ...
4
votes
4answers
17k views

How Is the Magic Core Set 2015 “Deck Builder's Toolkit” Different From Other Core Set Offerings With Respect To Cards?

I'm getting ready to invest in the 2015 MTG Core Set and I'm confused by some of the offerings. What is the difference between: Magic: the Gathering - 2015 Core Set Deck Builder's Toolkit Magic: ...
1
vote
1answer
170 views

Phyrexian unlife and life gain

Phyrexian Unlife If your opponent has ten poison counters, he loses the game, so you just need to get your opponent to zero, then deal ten more damage to him. He'll take it in the form of poison ...
1
vote
2answers
88 views

Multiple stack abilities and casting spells in that time

My question is as follows: If I have multiple "At the beginning of your upkeep..." abilities, and I want to cast an instant spell or activate an ability during that time, can I cast the spell between ...