Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

0
votes
2answers
158 views

Can Skullcrack's damage be prevented?

Rule 608.2c. starts with "The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written.", and Skullcrack's effects read Players can't gain life this turn. Damage can't be ...
8
votes
2answers
169 views

“Counter target ability from a [quality] source” — changing [quality]?

Some cards counter abilities, but only from some sources. For example, Ouphe Vandals can only counter activated abilities of artifacts. I know that removing the source of an ability does not prevent ...
0
votes
1answer
94 views

Will an object trigger if the source is sacrificed to pay a cost?

Will "When/Whenever Foo" trigger if the source is sacrificed to pay a cost for Foo? Examples If I activate Birthing Pod's ability and sacrifice Kurkesh, Onakke Ancient, will Kurkesh trigger, ...
4
votes
2answers
290 views

Why can the activated ability of Genju of the Fields stack multiple times?

According to a ruling on Genju of the Fields, its activated ability can be activated multiple times to enhance its lifelink effects: 8/1/2005: When activated multiple times, it will have the ...
1
vote
1answer
336 views

Must a “target creature” be on the battlefield?

If an ability says "target creature," does the creature have to be on the battlefield? I think I found a loophole that depends on the answer.
0
votes
2answers
124 views

What are the password requirements for the new Planewalker points system?

What are the requirements for the new planeswalker points login system? I attempted to log in with my DCI number today (which I don't do often) and it informed me I needed to upgrade my account. It ...
1
vote
3answers
234 views

Does the attack or defender decide the order of damage assignment to blockers?

I read from the comprehensive rules guide that there is a damage assignment order, but I've always played the game as if there was a blocking order. Here is the relevant text: 509.2. Second, for ...
0
votes
1answer
78 views

Do opposite counters coexist or cancel each other out? [duplicate]

Nuance abounds nowadays; whereas it was commonplace to mentally coalesce opposing counters on a permanent, I imagine doing so is incorrect. Scenario 1 Suppose one Sengir Vampire has amassed five ...
3
votes
2answers
233 views

Is putting multiple counters onto a target an atomic action?

Consider these two cards: Fathom Mage Whenever a +1/+1 counter is placed on Fathom Mage, you may draw a card. Dragonscale Boon Put two +1/+1 counters on target creature and untap it. ...
1
vote
2answers
197 views

In what zone do the lingering effects of spells reside?

Cyclopean Tomb, for example, creates an effect that continues for the rest of the game, even if it is destroyed. Is there a name for the conceptual "board" of lingering effects whose originating ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

If both players are killed at the same time, do they both die?

I play Magic: The Gathering and I just had a really strange game with my opponent. We were both about to die (both sides with 2 life) when we both set down instants that damaged each other (at the ...
-2
votes
2answers
165 views

Can Fog Bank be killed by combat damage?

Let's say I have a 4/4 Serra Angel and my opponent has defender 0/2 Fog Bank, which has Defender, flying, prevent all combat damage that would be dealt to and dealt by Fog Bank. Since my Serra Angel ...
4
votes
2answers
211 views

Does doubling counters trigger Hardened Scales?

I have a Hardened Scales and Setessan Oathsworn with no counters on the battlefield. I cast Solidarity of Heroes on the Oathsworn, it gets three counters from it's heroic trigger which happens while ...
2
votes
2answers
197 views

Can I attack a player directly if they still have a flying defender?

Let's say I had a 4/2 Spiked Baloth (with trample, which is not relevant) and my opponent has an untapped 1/1 Bird with flying, and he has only 2 lives and I want to finish him off. Can I attack ...
2
votes
3answers
485 views

When is Ferocious checked?

When is Ferocious checked?   A. When casting begins   B. When the spell resolves   C. Both of the above   D. It depends I think the answer is D. If I ...
0
votes
2answers
151 views

Deck card rules for MTG [duplicate]

I'm new to the game and trying to make my first deck. My understanding of the card rule is I can only have four cards of one type. Does this mean I can only have four rat cards total or four rat cards ...
1
vote
1answer
93 views

Enchantment and other continuous effects priority [duplicate]

I have read a lot of questions about the priority in the stack and the triggered abilities. However, I would like to validate my understanding of the continuous effects priority rule. 613.6. ...
3
votes
1answer
93 views

Clone-ing a Vesuvan Doppelganger

If a Vesuvan Doppelganger is in play having assumed the characteristics of, say, a Royal Assassin, would cloning the Doppelganger at this point be tantamount to having cast a second Doppelganger? ...
5
votes
3answers
106 views

When resolving Extract, do I need to know what card I'm looking for?

Extract is a Sorcery which reads: Search target player's library for a card and exile it. Then that player shuffles his or her library. Which option below, if either, is equivalent to the actual ...
3
votes
1answer
143 views

Llawanor Elves Trampled on desert Oasis. Act of God or Force of Nature?

Suppose the defending player has an untapped Oasis in play, a Circle of Protection: Green, and an untapped 1/1 Llanowar Elves, which has just been assigned to block a strong creature with trample, ...
5
votes
1answer
297 views

Kruphix and Omnath, what color is the mana

Both Kruphix, God of Horizons and Omnath, Locus of Mana stop unused mana from emptying from your mana pool at the end fo each step. Omnath only works for green and keeps it green, while Kruphix works ...
0
votes
1answer
121 views

What happens when more than one creature dies causing a trigger

Overseer of the Damned is a creature with the ability "Whenever a nontoken creature an opponent controls dies, put a 2/2 black Zombie creature token onto the battlefield tapped" Now, lets say 3 of my ...
7
votes
2answers
613 views

Does exiling a morph card face down for the turn bring it back face up?

For example, if I play Akroma, Angel of Fury down for its morph cost, then a Momentary Blink on the face down creature, does it come back into play face up?
3
votes
2answers
205 views

Dictate of Erebos and Bestowed creatures

Bestow is a mechanic with the following reminder text: (If you cast this card for its bestow cost, it’s an Aura spell with enchant creature. It becomes a creature again if it's not attached to a ...
2
votes
1answer
200 views

Does a copy of your commander count as your “Commander”?

The new Commander edition introduces a keyword Lieutenant, which gives bonuses as long as you control your commander. Is that bonus still granted if you control a clone of your commander only? And ...
3
votes
1answer
447 views

Will Awakening let me tap all my lands and get them immediately untapped?

With the card Awakening, could I tap all lands immediately after my untap step and then have them untap upon entering my upkeep? I ask this because I'm trying to maximize Omnath, Locus of Mana as my ...
0
votes
1answer
125 views

Which cards feature direct manipulation of counter types on permanents?

Are there any magic cards that allow for direct manipulation of arbitrary counter types? Eg, "Add a counter of any kind to target permanent"? At this point (2014) I would be surprised if something ...
2
votes
1answer
187 views

Does immediately ending the turn cause mana burn?

When cards such as Time Stop or Sundial of the Infinite that immediately end the turn are cast, are players subject to mana burn for excess mana in their mana pools?
0
votes
1answer
109 views

Cards changing mana color

What cards across all sets allow the utilization of mana, either colorless or otherwise, as colored mana of another color? One early example with an unlimited 1:1 ratio: Sunglasses of Urza ...
-1
votes
1answer
105 views

Which enchantments allow tapping a creature to inflict direct damage?

What creatures across all sets and expansions have the ability to inflict direct damage, à la Prodigal Sorcerer? Are there any Enchant Creature spells that have target creature gain "Tap to do 1 ...
-1
votes
2answers
151 views

Are there Magic cards that counter activated abilities?

Are there any Magic cards that nullify activated abilities? Edit: My apologies for such an easily query-able answer. I was not aware of the existence o such comprehensive databases and ...
3
votes
2answers
764 views

If Anger of the Gods kills a creature, does it still trigger death effects? [duplicate]

Let's say I control Athreos, God of Passage and my opponent casts an Anger of the Gods. I'm fairly sure any creatures I own that die this turn are just exiled without Athreos' ability triggering, but ...
0
votes
1answer
119 views

Checking a +1/+1 counter requirement

Abzan Battle Priest has an ability that reads Each creature you control with a +1/+1 counter on it has lifelink. Does it grant lifelink to creatures with two +1/+1 counters?
2
votes
1answer
235 views

How does Imprinting and the affinity work together?

I'm currently working on a artifact deck (casual). I am thinking of imprinting Somber Hoverguard on Soul Foundry. But how do I dertermine the imprint cost, and will the activation cost of Soul Foundry ...
2
votes
2answers
222 views

Does the Strive mechanic give the opportunity to cast the spell multiple times, or just have multiple targets?

I'm wondering if the strive mechanic counts as one spell that can be cast multiple times by paying the extra cost, or is it just one spell that can affect multiple targets if you pay the mana? I'm ...
4
votes
1answer
486 views

Does Kill Shot-ing a morph during combat prevent damage?

I just started playing Magic this year, so this might a super-newb question, but here it goes: My opponent declares that he will attack with this 2/2 colorless morph. I declare no blockers because I ...
4
votes
1answer
371 views

Damage dealt by creatures and the order of damage

So I had an interesting one recently at our local win a box tournament. Scene - I have 12 life remaining, my opponent has 9. I have an un-monstrous Arbor Colossus and a Polukranos, World ...
3
votes
4answers
556 views

Why can an ability resolve even if I exiled the creature it came from? [duplicate]

I just started learning magic a week ago and I've been playing duels of the planeswalkers 2014 to kind of get a hang of things. I'm confused with something that has happened twice now. I'm playing ...
2
votes
2answers
320 views

Whenever someone casts an enchant on one of my creatures, do I control that enchantment? [duplicate]

Say I control Genesis Hydra, then an opponent casts Claustrophobia onto Genesis Hydra, do I control Claustrophobia?
2
votes
1answer
187 views

Will double strike trigger cipher twice?

Say I am playing with a creature that has double strike (e.g. Two-Headed Cerberus), and I cipher Hidden Strings to it. This allows me to tap/untap up to 2 target permanents whenever the creature deals ...
1
vote
3answers
221 views

Do -1/-1 counters count as damage?

I am wondering if -1/-1 counters are considered damage? On creatures with the wither ability is says that the creature deals damage in the form of -1/-1 counters. As such I would like to know if a ...
0
votes
1answer
89 views

Mimic Vat and Exiling

If I used Mimic Vat on a Licid, created a copy of that Licid, and attached it to a creature, would I still have to exile it during my end step even though it's now an enchantment?
2
votes
1answer
291 views

Losing Control of Bestowed Enchantment Creatures [duplicate]

I've been playing Magic for about six months and thought I had a decent handle on how things work until I ran into the following problem: Set-up: I was playing mono black devotion against blue-green ...
0
votes
0answers
44 views

Spectra Ward and creatures that give other creatures with +1/1 counters on them buffs [duplicate]

So I'm just wondering if I have creatures that say "other creatures you control have deathtouch, lifelink, first strike, trample, etc." and I put Spectra Ward on one of those creatures with a +1/+1 ...
1
vote
1answer
271 views

How does Dig Through Time work with Courser of Kruphix?

When Courser of Kruphix is on the battlefield and I resolve a Dig Through Time, do I reveal the top card of my library AFTER I pick two cards from the seven I get to look at, or does the top card ...
0
votes
0answers
42 views

What happens when I use Feast on the Fallen on Bloodcrazed Hoplite? [duplicate]

Me and a friend were playing magic, and I cast the enchantment Feast on the Fallen, I dealt 3 damage with Jagwasp Swarm. Then at the beginning of his upkeep I put 2 +1/+1 counters on Bloodcrazed ...
4
votes
3answers
595 views

What happens when a double-sided card is returned to the battlefield or a copy of it appears?

Say I cast Oblivion Ring on Garruk, the Veil-Cursed (i.e. a transformed Garruk Relentless). What happens when my Oblivion Ring gets destroyed? My interpretation was that Garruk returns in his ...
-2
votes
1answer
103 views

Does Standard Type 2 Rules applies for lands? MTG [closed]

Does Standard Type 2 Cycling Rules applies for lands too? Those lands that generates two, three manas for example?
4
votes
3answers
803 views

Will infinite loops still force a draw if I have a way to end them?

The comprehensive rules of MTG state: 104.4b If a game that’s not using the limited range of influence option (including a two-player game) somehow enters a “loop” of mandatory actions, repeating ...
2
votes
1answer
431 views

Does Hardened Scales trigger when +1/+1 counter are moved from one permanent to another?

If a +1/+1 counter get's moved from one creature to another does Hardened Scales double the amount of counters that the second creature gets?