Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

10
votes
3answers
806 views

Grave Betrayal vs. Blightsteel Colossus

My opponent has to sacrifice a creature. He sacrifices a Blightsteel Colossus. I have Grave Betrayal on the battlefield. Will my opponent get to shuffle the colossus into his deck again, or will it ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

How do two Notion Thieves interact with each other?

Notion Thief's text reads: If an opponent would draw a card except the first one he or she draws in each of his or her draw steps, instead that player skips that draw and you draw a card. ...
10
votes
4answers
15k views

Learning to build multi-color decks in Magic

I'm a MTG noob, and currently I've only built single-color decks. However, I want to explore the art of building decks that use cards of multiple colors. What are the advantages of a multicolor ...
10
votes
3answers
2k views

What happens when you blink a cipher-ed creature?

if I have a cipher ability encoded on a creature, and I cast a Restoration Angel, thus exiling and returning the creature to play, does the creature still have the cipher ability? How about creatures ...
10
votes
3answers
663 views

When should you side lands in and out?

Some Magic writers advise players to side out a land when on the draw in Limited, in order to improve the probability of drawing a strong starting hand. Is it reasonable to do the same (side out a ...
10
votes
1answer
724 views

Can I counter a land-creature?

Say my opponent plays Dryad Arbor. Can I counter it with a Cancel from my hand? I know that lands can't be countered because they don't go on the stack, but what about land-creatures?
10
votes
1answer
611 views

Can I change the order of cards when they change zones?

While goldfishing with my new UG self-mill standard deck, I realized that I have a particular habit that is probably not legal. When I cast Forbidden Alchemy, I have a habit of unintentionally ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

How does Perplexing Chimera work with multiple triggers on the stack?

Perplexing Chimera is a new card in Born of the Gods. It reads as follows Enchantment Creature - Chimera Whenever an opponent casts a spell, you may exchange control of Perplexing Chimera and ...
10
votes
2answers
560 views

Are copied spells cast from the graveyard?

If you copy Increasing Confusion or any other "cast from the graveyard" spell with Increasing Vengeance, does the copy act like it was cast from the graveyard? Or, since the copy technically was not ...
10
votes
1answer
420 views

“Creature does not untap” on Mutavault

I have a Mutavault on the battlefield, which has been animated so it is temporarily a 2/2 creature. My opponent has a Shipbreaker Kraken, which has the following monstrous ability: When ...
10
votes
1answer
952 views

Can a Dimir Keyrune receive a Cipher, and does the encoded spell stay?

Here's the scenario (I hope I get this right by the rules): last turn, I summoned my Dimir Keyrune onto the battlefield. This turn, if I transform it into that "2/2 blue and black Horror artifact ...
10
votes
3answers
4k views

How can I beat green Tron with a control deck?

I've been building a Modern control deck based around the Gifts reanimator engine. The general gameplan is to slow your opponent using counters and removal until you can reanimate a big creature for ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Can Meddling Mage Be Used as a Counter?

If a player activated an Æther Vial with two counters on it to drop in a Meddling Mage and named a spell already on the stack, would the named spell resolve?
10
votes
1answer
454 views

If there are two Lighthouse Chronologist with three players, will one player be pereptually skipped?

If you would play a game with 3 people (let's call them A, B, and C) and A and B have a Lighthouse chronologist, will this make A get a turn after B, and make B get a turn after A without C getting a ...
10
votes
3answers
6k views

How can I mana ramp in a Commander game without helping my opponents?

I'm working on a Commander deck and I'm looking at ways to ramp my mana that won't aid my opponents. I may eventually use all the listed ramp cards, but, I'd like to keep the restriction for the ...
10
votes
1answer
397 views

Dark Confidant and split cards

On my upkeep controlling a Dark Confidant I trigger revealing a card and losing life to it's cmc cost. What happens if I have a split card with 2 identifiable spells? Do I get to choose which one I ...
10
votes
1answer
700 views

Are tokens copying Essence of the Wild still tokens?

Some of my friends and I got into an argument about Essence of the Wild. With Essence on the battlefield, I played Fungal Sprouting and put 6 1/1 green saproling creature tokens on to battlefield. ...
10
votes
5answers
7k views

Where can I find a database with a list of all magic cards?

I am going to write a program to manage my library of Magic cards and I am looking for a database file or list of all of the cards that have been released. I know that the Gathering site is useful, ...
10
votes
1answer
255 views

How do I interrupt a loop after multiple iterations?

This is a question regarding infinite loops and shortcuts at Competitive REL. Here is a potential scenario. Both my opponent and myself are at 20 life each. I have no creatures on the ...
10
votes
2answers
15k views

What happens when a commander is exiled?

Let's say you have a commander on the field, and an opponent uses Sisters Of Stone Death to force your commander to block the sisters and then exiles your commander? Does it remain exiled, or does it ...
10
votes
1answer
5k views

Do you die instantaneously if your life total hits 0?

Way back when, the first combo I built a deck around was Force of Nature with a Spirit Link on it. If, at the beginning of my upkeep, I have less than 8 life and I don't pay the upkeep, will I lose ...
10
votes
1answer
901 views

What's a cantrip?

In discussions of Magic cards, I've heard a card called a cantrip on several occasions, but I haven't been able to find a definition of what that term means for MtG. Is a cantrip a particular card, a ...
10
votes
1answer
4k views

How does poison work in Commander?

In Commander / EDH players have 40 life. In normal magic 10 poison counters results in a player being eliminated. Is it still 10 poison counters in Commander / EDH? In Commander / EDH a player is ...
10
votes
1answer
908 views

What does it take to play a Battle of Wits deck successfully at a tournament?

Magic tournament rules specify that players must be able to randomize their decks in an appropriate amount of time (three minutes for pre-game procedures). As Matt Sperling points out, this may be ...
9
votes
5answers
1k views

Why does Wizards of the Coast print terrible MTG cards?

I understand that there needs to be a wide variety of power levels in Magic: The Gathering. Even bad cards will see play in limited formats, some because they fill a specific niche (flying removal, ...
9
votes
3answers
4k views

Can poison counters be removed?

Is there some way to remove or counteract poison counters? Specifically, once you've already accumulated them, not when you are dealt them. For example, say I already have 9 poison counters. Is there ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Will I lose the game if I dip below 0hp whilst there's a spell that'll heal me on the stack?

Take the following situation I'm at 2 life, I cast Sphinx's Revelation for 2 life gain on the stack. My opponent casts something like Warleader's Helix which deals 4 damage to me I then cast another ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Why was the banding ability 'removed' from MTG? What was so complicated about it?

While the banding ability was never actually removed from the game, no cards have been printed that use the ability in any set following sixth edition and it has never appeared on any rules summary ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

How do Isochron Scepter and the Fuse mechanic interact?

The split cards in the expansion set Dragon's Maze contain a new mechanic "Fuse". This mechanic allows you to cast both sides of the spell, a new option for cards of this type. Isochron Scepter ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Does the flanking provided by Slivers stack?

If I was to play 2 Sidewinder Slivers would the 'All Slivers have flanking' ability stack causing creatures blocking my Slivers to get -2/-2 until the end of the turn or would it gain flanking twice ...
9
votes
4answers
27k views

How should I determine how many lands of each different color to put in my deck?

Situation: You've built your at least 2 color deck, know exactly what number of lands you want in it, but don't know how many to put in of each basic-land type. How do pro-players figure this out? ...
9
votes
4answers
8k views

Where can I sell my Magic: The Gathering cards?

I played for quite a few years and have a ton of cards that I want to get rid of. I have a mix of all editions before 2007. 7th, 8th, etc... So the question is where can I sell them effectively. And ...
9
votes
2answers
5k views

Can you sacrifice a tapped creature?

If a creature has both a sacrifice and tap ability can you tap it for the tap benefit and then sacrifice it for the sacrifice ability? (Example: Gemhide Sliver taps for mana, Basal Sliver gives mana ...
9
votes
1answer
4k views

Can I tap a creature with summoning sickness to pay “tap an untapped creature you control” costs?

I have a Chosen of Markov on the battlefield and I played a vampire earlier this turn. Can I tap both to transform Chosen of Markov even though I just played the vampire? Extra Example: I play Battle ...
9
votes
3answers
459 views

Is Master of Arms pointless under new blocking rules?

Master of Arms 2W, Summon Soldier 2/2, Weatherlight Uncommon First strike 1W: Tap target creature blocking Master of Arms. I used to use this in my deck as powerful creature ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

What happens when I cast a spell incorrectly?

If I cast a spell which then turns out to be un-playable, what happens to my spell? E.G.: Casting a spell on something that has Hexproof and can't be targeted in the first place. Do I simply place my ...
9
votes
2answers
341 views

Will Elesh Norn kill creatures if I don't pay the extra cost for Flash?

Suppose I use Flash to bring Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite into play, then choose to sacrifice her rather than pay her mana cost. Will my opponent's creatures with two or less toughness die?
9
votes
6answers
421 views

Where can I get my Magic the Gathering play critiqued?

I started playing Magic again last year right after the release of Dark Ascension after a long hiatus. I decided to get more serious in trying to win, but I've hit a roadblock in my play. I go x-1 in ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens when I copy Precursor Golem with Rite of Replication?

I came across this issue with my friend a while ago and came up with many possible answers: How many golems will you get if you copy Precursor Golem with a kicked Rite of Replication?
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can an opponent make me discard a Miracle card before I cast it, after it is revealed?

For example, if my hand is empty and I draw and reveal Temporal Mastery, can an opponent cast Funeral Charm and make me discard it before I have a chance to cast it for its Miracle Cost?
9
votes
1answer
866 views

What happens if you steal an Elixir of Immortality and then use it?

In an EDH (Commander) game recently, Alice used Thada Adel, Acquisitor to steal an artifact out of Bob's deck, the Elixir of Immortality, and cast it. That artifact's ability says: {2}, {T}: You ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can Conjurer's Closet be used to keep a stolen Commander?

We had this situation come up in a game last night, and we think we stumbled upon the right answer, but we're not sure. So, Player A's Commander (Sliver Overlord) was stolen by Player B using a ...
9
votes
2answers
802 views

Mistakes a beginner should avoid in Magic the Gathering with more than 2 players

I have been playing Magic the Gathering for several years now and I have a solid understanding of basic strategy and deck building. Until now I have only played against a single opponent. Magic the ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Finding places to play Magic the Gathering games

A friend of mine recently got MTG for the XBox and is talking us into getting real cards. I'm all up for starting but I dread the idea of playing the same two people over and over with no change ...
9
votes
1answer
885 views

How big is a Consuming Aberration after it is stolen with Act of Treason?

Suppose I take a Consuming Aberration with an Act of Treason. Consuming Aberration says: Consuming Aberration's power and toughness are each equal to the number of cards in your opponents' graveyards. ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

How to deal with damaged cards from a MTG booster pack?

I bought a Magic the Gathering display box today with cards from the new edition Innistrad. Unfortunately one of the cards in a booster pack was damaged. It is not just a simple scratch - one corner ...
9
votes
2answers
289 views

Do I draw a card if I enchant an opponent's Eidolon of Blossoms with Hypnotic Siren?

The situation is just as stated in the title: my opponent controls Eidolon of Blossoms: Whenever Eidolon of Blossoms or another enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, draw a card. ...
9
votes
1answer
352 views

Is Bioshift affected by Doubling Season?

I just want to know if Bioshift is affected by Doubling Season. The text states that Bioshift moves counters from a target to another, but is that the same as "putting them on" a target?
9
votes
2answers
2k views

After using Act of Treason and Cloudshift, does a creature re-enter the battlefield under my control?

If player A has a creature, and then on player B's turn, he/she uses Act of Treason on it, and then Cloudshift, does that card, once it has been cloudshift-ed, return to the battlefield under the ...
9
votes
2answers
634 views

Do things on the stack or state-based effects resolve between first strike and normal combat damage?

I have two examples of different scenarios that are confusing to me. First, if I have a 1/1 creature with first strike and deathtouch, and my opponent blocks it with a 2/2 creature, will my creature ...