Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

1
vote
1answer
2k views

Do creatures summoned by a Planeswalker have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

Elspeth, Sun's Champion has a loyalty ability which says: Place three 1/1 white soldier creature tokens onto the battlefield. When this ability is activated, do these soldiers have summoning ...
1
vote
1answer
412 views

In multiplayer, does Dictate of Erebos still take effect if the combat that kills its owner's creature defeats the owner?

I was playing a 4 way standard multiplayer match. One player had 3/3 on the field, and Dictate of Erebos which says: Whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature. I ...
1
vote
1answer
652 views

Could an actual mono black storm (Tendril of agony) deck be viable for Legacy?

From experienced deckbuilders, how would you approach building a budget-friendly Tendrils of Agony deck? I'm thinking of basically only swamps for the manabase, but the rest (hand disruption, tutors, ...
1
vote
1answer
334 views

When is a card returned to the owner's hand?

I'm after some explanation on the rules returning a card to the owner's hand the question was raised by Darking Merfolk Consider the scenario where I have Darting Merfolk in play My opponent ...
1
vote
2answers
330 views

How should I group rare Magic cards when selling them online? [closed]

[Background: this was previously part of a longer question which has been edited into multiple smaller questions. I’ve already researched selling Magic cards, including reading through How do I find ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

How do SBAs interact with the sacrifice of a creature enchanted with Gift of Immortality?

I am not very au fait of how state based actions work, so I'd like to understand an interaction. Say I have Brindle Boar enchanted with Gift of Immortality. There are basically no simple ways (barring ...
1
vote
2answers
708 views

What is the proper way way to play Butcher of Malakir and Falkenrath Noble?

I am not sure if I correctly understand what order the phases would be when playing Butcher of Malakir and Falkenrath Noble. Also the description causes confusion as it basically says "if creature ...
1
vote
3answers
379 views

How to play Ring of Valkas?

My understanding is that artifacts and equipment are permanents. When playing the Ring of Valkas, it states that at the beginning of every upkeep you can add a +1/+1 counter to equipped creature. My ...
1
vote
2answers
414 views

Proper way to play Ghostly Possession Enchantment Aura?

When playing Ghostly Possession, since it would make the enchanted creature useless by both preventing all combat damage that would be dealt by and also dealt to enchanted creature then what is the ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

Do creatures with Defender ability die?

If Angelic Wall (0/4) blocks a creature with a power of 5, would Angelic Wall die? My brother is playing Magic 2013 on his iPad, and basically when his creatures with Defender (the ability) blocks a ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

Glaring Spotlight anti-hexproof work on enchantments

Does the Glaring Spotlight's anti-hexproof work on enchantments? So if a creature is not hexproof but has an enchantment such as Alpha Authority, does it still cancel the hexproof?
1
vote
1answer
767 views

Can I have multiple copies of a creature with Cipher?

As far as I understand, Cipher works like so: when a card that contains Cipher is cast, you encode it onto a spell on the battlefield, like a creature for example. Every time that creature attacks and ...
1
vote
1answer
3k views

How does Vorinclex's second ability work at the time of his death?

The Green New Phyrexian Praetor Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger is quite the beast, his second ability reads: If an opponent taps a land for mana, it does not untap during his next untap step. Say ...
1
vote
1answer
541 views

What happens if you sacrifice a creature brought back with Postmortem Lunge?

Let’s say I have a creature in the graveyard. I then cast Postmortem Lunge, which reads Return target creature card with converted mana cost X from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains ...
1
vote
2answers
287 views

What's the missing white card in this New Phyrexia cycle?

There's a cycle of instants and sorceries in New Phyrexia that have an effect and adds at the end a loss of life to the targeted player or the targeted permanent's controller: Vapor Snag, Geth's ...
1
vote
1answer
146 views

Do the draw abilities of Kor Spiritdancer and Mesa Enchantress stack? [duplicate]

Suppose I have both Kor Spiritdancer and Mesa Enchantress under my control. They have two similar abilities: Kor Spiritdancer: Whenever you cast an Aura spell, you may draw a card. Mesa ...
1
vote
1answer
105 views

Does 'Other creatures you control have intimidate' affect new creatures brought out?

Bellowing Tanglewurm and Dwynen, Gilt-Leaf Daen have abilities like Other green creatures you control [...] and Other Elf creatures you control [...] Do abilities like these only affect ...
1
vote
2answers
273 views

What pauper cards are legal in MTGO but not paper?

I am trying to collect most cards relevant to pauper. All cards that have ever been printed at the common level on paper are legal for pauper, except for 8 cards on the pauper the ban list. Because ...
1
vote
2answers
163 views

Order of triggered abilties

I control an Illusory Gains. My opponent casts Torch Slinger. Does my opponent get to do his kicker and damage my creature, or do I gain control of the card prior to the kicker ability and I do the ...
1
vote
2answers
89 views

What state and trigger events apply when you “put creatures onto the battlefield?”

For instance, the -8 ability for Liliana Vess says, Put all creature cards from all graveyards onto the battlefield under your control. This sounds distinct from casting/summoning, and there's ...
1
vote
1answer
80 views

What zone is a spell or ability in when it is resolving?

When I cast a spell or activate an ability, or a triggered ability triggers, it goes on the stack, and then some time later, it resolves. Is it still on the stack while it is resolving? If not, is it ...
1
vote
1answer
169 views

Where/how does the Magic: the Gathering Quick Start Guide booklet actually get distributed in the physical world?

Magic: the Gathering has a basic rules PDF, aka the Quick Start Guide, that was instrumental in my understanding the basics of the game (like the stack and spellcasting). The M15 version is available ...
1
vote
3answers
111 views

Can Bloodrush satisfy a forced discard? [duplicate]

If my opponent makes me discard a card and I choose a creature card with the Bloodrush ability, can I pay the cost during the forced discard in order to activate the ability?
1
vote
1answer
183 views

In MTG when can I tap land [duplicate]

If I tap a land, end my turn, and then play an instant allowing me to untap it again, can I tap that land for more mana, and when does that mana get used up. Basically, if I tap mana on my opponents ...
1
vote
1answer
134 views

Phyrexian Unlife and Necropotence

So I have a 5 color deck and I was wondering how Necropotence and Phyrexian Unlife interact in certain circumstances. I understand that once my life becomes 0 or less I cannot pay life to draw cards, ...
1
vote
1answer
363 views

When Turn to Frog changes a creature's base power/toughness to 1/1 do any affects that change creature's power and toughness still apply?

Turn to Frog changes a creature's base power and toughness to 1/1. Does that mean if target creature has a +1/+1 counter when Turn to Frog is cast, it becomes 2/2? If it has -1/-1 counter on it, would ...
1
vote
1answer
108 views

Enchantment and other continuous effects priority [duplicate]

I have read a lot of questions about the priority in the stack and the triggered abilities. However, I would like to validate my understanding of the continuous effects priority rule. 613.6. ...
1
vote
1answer
257 views

What happens when more than one creature dies causing a trigger

Overseer of the Damned is a creature with the ability "Whenever a nontoken creature an opponent controls dies, put a 2/2 black Zombie creature token onto the battlefield tapped" Now, lets say 3 of my ...
1
vote
2answers
178 views

Polymorphous Rush targeting Young Pyromancer and X Tokens

If I cast Polymorphous Rush targeting X tokens, turning them all into copies of a Young Pyromancer, do I get an elemental token from each copy, similar to Scapeshift with Valakut on the battlefield?
1
vote
2answers
1k views

Can you untap an attacking creature to use its ability at the end of declare blockers?

Looking at this question and this question, it seems like I can activate abilities after blockers are declared (and before damage is assigned). So if I'm attacking with Scourge of Skola Vale, can I ...
1
vote
2answers
181 views

Multiple stack abilities and casting spells in that time

My question is as follows: If I have multiple "At the beginning of your upkeep..." abilities, and I want to cast an instant spell or activate an ability during that time, can I cast the spell between ...
1
vote
1answer
382 views

Does Prophet of Kruphix apply to Planeswalker abilities that create creatures?

The Prophet of Kruphix has the ability You may cast creature cards as if they had flash. Does this apply to the Loyalty ability Put three 1/1 white soldier creature tokens onto the ...
1
vote
1answer
306 views

Are there 5/5 Beast Token cards?

There are at least two cards that I know of that make 5/5 Beast tokens (Spawning Ground and One Dozen Eyes). Yet I can't seem to find an actual token card that is a 5/5 Beast. Does such a card ...
1
vote
3answers
777 views

Mono-Green Deck: Responding to Sorceries/Instants?

I'm working on a mono-green overrun deck but I'm having some trouble responding to my opponent's non-creature cards. Against another creature-heavy deck it does very well, but up against anything ...
1
vote
1answer
190 views

How do multiple copies of Merrow Commerce interact?

If I have more than one copy of Merrow Commerce in play, they both trigger during my end step. Can I take actions after the first one resolves, but before the second one does? I'm thinking of ...
1
vote
2answers
121 views

What would Resolve first?

If my opponent has one Timberwatch Elf tapped, and I use Yamabushi Flame on it, can my opponent respond with a Wirewood Lodge and then use Timberwatch Elf to protect it?
1
vote
1answer
251 views

What strategies are effective against a spot destruction deck?

In Standard (Return to Ravnica, M14, and the first Theros set), a friend of mine is currently working with a tri-color RGB deck heavy on control via spot destruction: Abrupt Decay, Dreadbore, Ultimate ...
1
vote
2answers
3k views

Resetting Soulbound

Say I have a creature with the Soulbound ability, Stonewright, which is currently bound to my Llanowar Elves. If I play a Birds of Paradise, can I switch my Stonewright to be bound to the Birds ...
1
vote
2answers
700 views

How to replace Leatherback Baloth in the post-Zendikar environment in a deck of this type?

Artifacts 2x Birthing Pod Creatures 2x Thrun, the Last Troll 4x Acidic Slime 4x Cudgel Troll 3x Dungrove Elder 2x Elvish Archdruid 2x Garruk's Companion 4x Llanowar Elves 2x Primeval Titan Land ...
1
vote
1answer
78 views

Does adding a subtype to a creature count as entering the battlefield? [duplicate]

I have Seraph Sanctuary in play, which lets me gain life when an Angel enters the battlefield. If I play Call to Serve on a creature, turning it into an Angel, does adding the subtype like that count ...
1
vote
1answer
83 views

Does Humility affect the graveyard?

Does Humility effect cards in the graveyard? (EX. If Humility in play, can I discard Blightsteel Colossus without the shuffle?)
1
vote
1answer
191 views

Where can I find raw data for DCI sanctioned Constructed tournaments?

It is often easier to answer questions about Magic experimentally instead of mathematically. Anyone can see the final standing of a deck in a tournament and find out who piloted it. Here is an ...
1
vote
1answer
154 views

Ways to find and purchase out-of-print / rare / old supplies?

My question came from missing out on finding a copy of the Ajani v. Nicol Bolas Duel Deck box to complete my set of duel decks. When something goes out of print, it obviously becomes harder to find. ...
1
vote
1answer
150 views

Can crackleburr respond to himself?

Let's say my opponent has a Crackleburr, two red and blue useless tokens, and an infinite amount of red and blue mana. Crackleburr's card text is this: {U/R}{U/R}{T}, Tap two untapped red ...
1
vote
1answer
176 views

MTG. Using goblin chirurgeon's ability only for sacrifice

I had a Goblin Sharpshooter, sixty-some goblin tokens, and a Goblin Chirurgeon on the field (all with haste). My opponent had an enchantment that kept me from directly attacking him (2 life or {W} for ...
1
vote
1answer
331 views

When a permanent has a “When a creature dies” ability, and gets destroyed at the same time as creatures, does that ability trigger? [duplicate]

Say I control Fecundity, which states: Whenever a creature dies, that creature's controller may draw a card. If I control 2 creatures and my opponent controls one creature, and I cast Planar ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Are there any turn 1 win decks? [closed]

So the question is in the title: Is there any deck that can(in the very best case) win in turn 1? It should not be tournament legal, it should not be legacy legal, but it should follow the basic ...
1
vote
1answer
448 views

If a commander becomes a colorless forest, is it still a commander? [duplicate]

In Magic the Gathering, I cast Song of the Dryads on an opponent's commander. It is now a colorless forest land. My opponent has an Angelic Field Marshal on the field which gains power if you control ...
1
vote
1answer
220 views

Protection, damage and Leyline of Punishment

I was wondering about the following scenario: I have a Leyline of Punishment on board. My opponent has Auriok Champion I cast Anger of the gods. Will the damage from the Anger of the Gods still come ...
1
vote
1answer
217 views

Are there any consequences, if you cannot block Loathsome Catoblepas?

Loathsome Catoblepas doesn't tell on it's card about consequences, so I felt it's important to make sure, what happens if you cannot block this creature in any way.