Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

2
votes
3answers
14k views

Do I get more cards if my hand is empty at the end of my turn?

What do I do if I have zero cards left in my hand at the end of my turn? Do I wait until the end of my turn then draw the usual one card at the beginning of my next turn or do I draw a new seven card ...
2
votes
2answers
934 views

How does Confusion in the Ranks trigger itself upon entering the battlefield?

Under the rulings for Confusion in the Ranks is this gem: 12/1/2004 Confusion in the Ranks triggers on itself entering the battlefield. If an opponent controls an enchantment, exchange ...
2
votes
2answers
343 views

Hypergenesis and Triggered abilities

If an opponent casts (or cascades into) Hypergenesis, starting with the caster each player takes it in turns to put a Creature, Artifact, Land or Enchantment onto the Battlefield. This can be repeated ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Merciless Eviction, how far does all go?

Got Merciless Eviction from a booster, and it states that you can choose one and then exile all artifacts, creatures, enchantments or planeswalkers. Does this mean that all instances in graveyards and ...
2
votes
1answer
468 views

Can I cast Killing Glare with X=0 while no creatures with zero power are on the battlefield?

I wonder if I am able to cast Killing Glare if there are no powerless creatures on the board? For example to Extort after casting.
2
votes
1answer
172 views

Who gets to use a reanimated Gamekeeper's ability?

I was playing a clunky Gamekeeper build of mine against a Legacy Reanimator deck when the following situation occurred: I had a Leyline of the Void in play (don't know if it's relevant). I had a ...
2
votes
1answer
223 views

In MTG what happens when you have multiple Aberrant Researcher in play?

Aberrant Researcher: At the beginning of your upkeep, put the top card of your library into your graveyard. If it's an instant or sorcery card, transform Aberrant Researcher. Considering I had ...
2
votes
1answer
239 views

What does “play this ability only if you could play a sorcery” mean?

This is a stretch and in no way am I trying to dull the game. However, I recently ran across this potential issue. Many cards have an ability that may read, '...Play this ability only any time you ...
2
votes
2answers
361 views

Will my Pelakka Wurm still deal trample damage vs Deathtouch? [duplicate]

I was playing my son using a green deck. I played a Pelakka Wurm which has trample. He played an Eldrazi with deathtouch. He is a firm believer as soon as the attackers and blockers are announced, ...
2
votes
3answers
203 views

Milling cards with discard an draw abilities

I have a Blue Black Mill deck with Sphinx's Tutelage and Day's Undoing (Whispering Madness works in the same way). If I had all four Tutelages on the field, and cast Days Undoing / Whispering Madness, ...
2
votes
1answer
253 views

Does the MtG lore have an official explanation for banned cards?

(Specifically, those other than: ante cards, un-cards, Shahrazad.) I remember reading someone speculating that knowledge of how to cast them was mostly lost, with those who still know generally ...
2
votes
1answer
328 views

Triggered ability of another card when two legendary creatures with the same name enter to the battlefield at the same time [duplicate]

If I have a Temur Ascendancy and a Savage Knuckleblade in the battlefield then I use See the Unwritten and put 2 Dragonlord Atarka into the battlefield. Do I draw one card or two cards? I know that ...
2
votes
1answer
102 views

Can I activate abilities in response to spells?

If my opponent plays Kill! Destroy! on my Caldera Kavu, can I activate its ability to turn it black?
2
votes
2answers
455 views

“Conduit of Ruin” and “Endless One”

If I have a Conduit of Ruin on the battlefield and say that I will be casting Endless One for 10 mana, will the cost reduction of 2 mana from the Conduit of Ruin's effect reduce the X so that the ...
2
votes
2answers
419 views

How does Life and Limb interact with Conspiracy

I control a Sporesower Thallid, Retreat to Emeria and a Kalastria Healer. Then I play Conspiracy and I choose Ally as Creature type. Then I play Life and Limb. Now my questions are: 1) Will future ...
2
votes
2answers
508 views

Bazaar Trader combo and Void Snare - Ownership vs. Control

I use Bazaar Trader and Act of Treason to gain control of a creature my opponent controls. If my opponent uses a card such as Void Snare on that creature, does the card go to my hand or my opponents ...
2
votes
2answers
226 views

How does double strike work?

If I have a creature with 4/4 double strike, does it kill each blocking creature with toughness 4 or less due to first strike?
2
votes
1answer
194 views

Blocker with First Strike and Blocker with Double Strike

I'm playing Magic Duels: Origins and I blocked a 2/2 with a 1/1 double strike and a 1/1 first strike. My interpretation is that that equals 2 damage during the first strike phase and 1 damage during ...
2
votes
2answers
226 views

Toughness and the Stack

If a creature's toughness were to reach 0 before the stack is finished resolving, does it die, or does the stack finish. For example, if a Llanowar Elf had Gigantic growth cast on it and the growth ...
2
votes
2answers
558 views

Can I pay two different costs with the same payment?

Say I have a Zombie token, Viscera Seer, and Altar of Dementia on the battlefield. Can I sacrifice the Zombie token to activate both the Altar's and Seer's abilities? Similarly, if I have one card in ...
2
votes
1answer
502 views

If I sacrifice a Sultai Emissary to a Gurmag Drowner's Exploit ability, which triggered ability resolves first?

I need to know what happens first if I exploit a Sultai Emissary with a Gurmag Drowner. Do I look at the top 4 cards in my library and choose a card to add to my hand first or do I manifest the top ...
2
votes
1answer
314 views

Does Hardened Scales interact with the undying mechanic?

Would a creature with undying (like Young Wolf) get 2 +1/+1 counters instead of 1 when it dies if I had Hardened Scales out?
2
votes
2answers
9k views

Can creatures with summoning sickness be tapped for convoke? [duplicate]

Can creatures or creature tokens be tapped for mana the turn they entered the battlefield when casting a spell with convoke or do they need haste? For example, can I cast Raise the Alarm for 2 ...
2
votes
1answer
301 views

Exiling Creatures: When is the card face up and when face down?

An opponent's Banisher Priest exiled my Goblin Shortcutter. As I was reading some rules, I came across the fact that in some situations exiled cards face upwards and sometimes downwards. What factor ...
2
votes
2answers
534 views

Is it now a good time to buy rotating Magic Cards? [closed]

There are many cards from the RTR block and M14 that I want just for my collection and not for play (maybe just some casual play), for example, I would like to buy a Domri Rade and a Kalonian Hydra. ...
2
votes
1answer
147 views

Do multiple Archetypes work together?

What if I had three different archetypes on the field: Archetype of Imagination (gives flying), Archetype of Endurance (gives hexproof), and Archetype of Finality (gives deathtouch)? Would all three ...
2
votes
2answers
365 views

Pandemonium and Muscle Sliver

Pandemonium is an enchantment that says "Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, that creature's controller may have it deal damage equal to its power to target creature or player of his or her ...
2
votes
1answer
179 views

Survival of the Fittest activations and priority

Can someone please explain the ability of Survival of the Fittest and the stack? Let say I have Survival of the Fittest out, and I have 1 creature in my hand, and I have priority. Assuming I have ...
2
votes
1answer
336 views

Artisan of Forms and Gift of Immortality

Artisan of Forms says: Heroic — Whenever you cast a spell that targets Artisan of Forms, you may have Artisan of Forms become a copy of target creature and gain this ability. Say I play a Gift ...
2
votes
1answer
691 views

How does targeting limitation work for Wild Ricochet?

I use Wild Ricochet on an opponent's spell that says "target creature you control" (A not overloaded Dynacharge for example). What are valid targets for the spell and the copy? If I can only choose ...
2
votes
2answers
383 views

Wild ricochet and clan defiance?

Suppose I cast a Wild Ricochet onto a Clan Defiance. My Clan Defiance targets flying, non flying and player: can I redirect all of them? If I do, can I choose the target to be all on the player or do ...
2
votes
2answers
816 views

Can split second be used to block damage prevention effects?

My friend plays a stupid amount of prevent all damage instants. If I attack, and use something with split second, can he still use his prevent all damage? Or with split second ending the stack, is he ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

How does the Miracle mechanic interact with Flashback?

The new Miracle mechanic causes a replacement effect for the casting cost of the card, which must be revealed and played immediately. How does this interact with flashback? If a player plays a card ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Can lands that say “Add one mana of any color to your mana pool” be used in a colorless EDH deck?

A couple of other questions have been asked regarding cards that "Add one mana of any color to your mana pool", but One is for EDH decks in general (which, in most cases, have at least one color) ...
2
votes
3answers
147 views

Spells are not exiled by Jace, Telepath Unbound's second ability in MTG Duels

I used Jace, Telepath Unbound's second ability, which is casting a spell from the graveyard. It says the spell will be exiled. However, it didn't. For example, Adverse Conditions was in the graveyard ...
2
votes
1answer
378 views

How do you stop this combination?

Consider the following combination of cards in the Standard Format of Magic the Gathering, encompassing Khans of Tarkir, Fate Reforged, Dragons of Tarkir, Magic Origins, Battle for Zendikar, and Oath ...
2
votes
1answer
205 views

“Put into graveyard” versus “exile graveyard”

Does the ability "Exile all cards from target player's graveyard" counter "When ~ is put into a graveyard from anywhere, its owner shuffles his or her graveyard into his or her library"? For example: ...
2
votes
1answer
491 views

Aligned Hedron Network and Ulamog's Despoiler

If I was to use Aligned Hedron Network against an Eldrazi deck to exile big creatures, am I then able to send these creatures to the graveyard with the likes of Ulamog Despoiler to give him the 4 ...
2
votes
1answer
365 views

How do costs to attack work?

Despite having what I feel is a fairly solid understanding of most rules and timings, I can't figure out Archangel of Tithes, and I'm clashing with intent and wording. Archangel of Tithes says "As ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

What pauper cards are legal in MTGO but not paper?

I am trying to collect most cards relevant to pauper. All cards that have ever been printed at the common level on paper are legal for pauper, except for 8 cards on the pauper the ban list. Because ...
2
votes
1answer
385 views

Does a card like Languish count as a damage-dealing sorcery?

I was thinking of using Mark of Asylum to protect my creatures from cards like Languish, but does giving all creatures -4/-4 count as damage dealt in the same way, for instance, Swirling Sandstorm ...
2
votes
1answer
236 views

Spells with multiple free abilities

I am very new to the game, and I have a basic question about the mechanics. Some spells have multiple abilities; for instance, the creature Azorius Guildmage has two abilities, and it is my ...
2
votes
2answers
282 views

If I have an Equipment equipped to something and it's enchanted by Ensoul Artifact, how is that handled?

Imagine I have an Equipment attached to something, e.g. a Chariot of Victory on a Runeclaw Bear. I then enchant that equipment with Ensoul Artifact. Would the Equipment card still grant its effects ...
2
votes
1answer
302 views

Do card abilities that grant mana stack? [duplicate]

For example, if I have a creature card that says Creatures you control have "{T}: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool." and I have two of these creatures out, do they stack so I can tap ...
2
votes
3answers
794 views

When you “sacrifice 3 creatures” as a cost, are they sacrificed one at a time?

If you want to activate the activated ability of Teysa, Orzhov Scion, does "sacrifice 3 creatures" count as 1 cost, or 3 separate costs? And, does it matter which it is at all? 601.2g says The player ...
2
votes
2answers
476 views

Djinn of Infinite Deceits interacting with other control-changing effects

I have two closely-related questions regarding Djinn of Infinite Deceits. I think I understand how both of these cases work, but my rules-fu is rusty and I'd love the opinion of the experts here. ...
2
votes
2answers
446 views

Mishra's Factory - Rarity and Peasant/Pauper Legality

So, I'm getting my feet wet with Peasant Magic, and wanted to know what exactly Mishra's Factory counts as in terms of rarity. For those who don't know, Peasant is an inofficial constructed format ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

How are M:TG cards printed in regards to the rarity of each card?

I've seen pictures of the source sheets. They pack many different cards per plate, not one card repeated a hundread times in the same plate. Suppose that a set contains 300 cards and there are 3 ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Damage to player when activating Flying ability after 'Declare Blockers' step

If I attack with a Leaping Master and my opponent blocks it with an Alpine Grizzly and I then activate the Leaping Master's Flying ability (i.e. at the end of the 'Declare Blockers' step), the Alpine ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Would stealing control of my opponent's commander with Control Magic and killing it let me maintain control of it?

If I played Control Magic and enchanted Marath, Will of the Wild, then took off the 3 counters, would Marath return to my opponent's command zone or would I retain control and have the option of ...