Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

2
votes
2answers
371 views

Pandemonium and Muscle Sliver

Pandemonium is an enchantment that says "Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, that creature's controller may have it deal damage equal to its power to target creature or player of his or her ...
2
votes
1answer
184 views

Survival of the Fittest activations and priority

Can someone please explain the ability of Survival of the Fittest and the stack? Let say I have Survival of the Fittest out, and I have 1 creature in my hand, and I have priority. Assuming I have ...
2
votes
1answer
342 views

Artisan of Forms and Gift of Immortality

Artisan of Forms says: Heroic — Whenever you cast a spell that targets Artisan of Forms, you may have Artisan of Forms become a copy of target creature and gain this ability. Say I play a Gift ...
2
votes
1answer
723 views

How does targeting limitation work for Wild Ricochet?

I use Wild Ricochet on an opponent's spell that says "target creature you control" (A not overloaded Dynacharge for example). What are valid targets for the spell and the copy? If I can only choose ...
2
votes
2answers
388 views

Wild ricochet and clan defiance?

Suppose I cast a Wild Ricochet onto a Clan Defiance. My Clan Defiance targets flying, non flying and player: can I redirect all of them? If I do, can I choose the target to be all on the player or do ...
2
votes
2answers
853 views

Can split second be used to block damage prevention effects?

My friend plays a stupid amount of prevent all damage instants. If I attack, and use something with split second, can he still use his prevent all damage? Or with split second ending the stack, is he ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

How does the Miracle mechanic interact with Flashback?

The new Miracle mechanic causes a replacement effect for the casting cost of the card, which must be revealed and played immediately. How does this interact with flashback? If a player plays a card ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Can lands that say “Add one mana of any color to your mana pool” be used in a colorless EDH deck?

A couple of other questions have been asked regarding cards that "Add one mana of any color to your mana pool", but One is for EDH decks in general (which, in most cases, have at least one color) ...
2
votes
1answer
141 views

Are counters the same as a creature's power/toughness?

I put 4 +1/+1 counters on a 1/1 creature, so now it is a 5/5. My opponent casts a spell that says to remove all +1/+1 counters from target creature. Is my creature now a 1/1? Or are all creatures 0/0 ...
2
votes
1answer
125 views

Do creature tokens get removed along with the permanent that created them?

I have this card called Militia's Pride which lets me summon 1/1 creature token onto the battlefield. My question is: if Militia's Pride is sent to the graveyard, do my 1/1 tokens stay or are they ...
2
votes
3answers
166 views

Spells are not exiled by Jace, Telepath Unbound's second ability in MTG Duels

I used Jace, Telepath Unbound's second ability, which is casting a spell from the graveyard. It says the spell will be exiled. However, it didn't. For example, Adverse Conditions was in the graveyard ...
2
votes
1answer
382 views

How do you stop this combination?

Consider the following combination of cards in the Standard Format of Magic the Gathering, encompassing Khans of Tarkir, Fate Reforged, Dragons of Tarkir, Magic Origins, Battle for Zendikar, and Oath ...
2
votes
1answer
241 views

“Put into graveyard” versus “exile graveyard”

Does the ability "Exile all cards from target player's graveyard" counter "When ~ is put into a graveyard from anywhere, its owner shuffles his or her graveyard into his or her library"? For example: ...
2
votes
1answer
501 views

Aligned Hedron Network and Ulamog's Despoiler

If I was to use Aligned Hedron Network against an Eldrazi deck to exile big creatures, am I then able to send these creatures to the graveyard with the likes of Ulamog Despoiler to give him the 4 +1/+...
2
votes
1answer
402 views

How do costs to attack work?

Despite having what I feel is a fairly solid understanding of most rules and timings, I can't figure out Archangel of Tithes, and I'm clashing with intent and wording. Archangel of Tithes says "As ...
2
votes
3answers
2k views

What pauper cards are legal in MTGO but not paper?

I am trying to collect most cards relevant to pauper. All cards that have ever been printed at the common level on paper are legal for pauper, except for 8 cards on the pauper the ban list. Because ...
2
votes
1answer
430 views

Does a card like Languish count as a damage-dealing sorcery?

I was thinking of using Mark of Asylum to protect my creatures from cards like Languish, but does giving all creatures -4/-4 count as damage dealt in the same way, for instance, Swirling Sandstorm ...
2
votes
1answer
249 views

Spells with multiple free abilities

I am very new to the game, and I have a basic question about the mechanics. Some spells have multiple abilities; for instance, the creature Azorius Guildmage has two abilities, and it is my ...
2
votes
2answers
284 views

If I have an Equipment equipped to something and it's enchanted by Ensoul Artifact, how is that handled?

Imagine I have an Equipment attached to something, e.g. a Chariot of Victory on a Runeclaw Bear. I then enchant that equipment with Ensoul Artifact. Would the Equipment card still grant its effects ...
2
votes
1answer
310 views

Do card abilities that grant mana stack? [duplicate]

For example, if I have a creature card that says Creatures you control have "{T}: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool." and I have two of these creatures out, do they stack so I can tap ...
2
votes
3answers
824 views

When you “sacrifice 3 creatures” as a cost, are they sacrificed one at a time?

If you want to activate the activated ability of Teysa, Orzhov Scion, does "sacrifice 3 creatures" count as 1 cost, or 3 separate costs? And, does it matter which it is at all? 601.2g says The player ...
2
votes
2answers
499 views

Djinn of Infinite Deceits interacting with other control-changing effects

I have two closely-related questions regarding Djinn of Infinite Deceits. I think I understand how both of these cases work, but my rules-fu is rusty and I'd love the opinion of the experts here. ...
2
votes
2answers
478 views

Mishra's Factory - Rarity and Peasant/Pauper Legality

So, I'm getting my feet wet with Peasant Magic, and wanted to know what exactly Mishra's Factory counts as in terms of rarity. For those who don't know, Peasant is an inofficial constructed format ...
2
votes
2answers
3k views

How are M:TG cards printed in regards to the rarity of each card?

I've seen pictures of the source sheets. They pack many different cards per plate, not one card repeated a hundread times in the same plate. Suppose that a set contains 300 cards and there are 3 ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Damage to player when activating Flying ability after 'Declare Blockers' step

If I attack with a Leaping Master and my opponent blocks it with an Alpine Grizzly and I then activate the Leaping Master's Flying ability (i.e. at the end of the 'Declare Blockers' step), the Alpine ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Would stealing control of my opponent's commander with Control Magic and killing it let me maintain control of it?

If I played Control Magic and enchanted Marath, Will of the Wild, then took off the 3 counters, would Marath return to my opponent's command zone or would I retain control and have the option of ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

When would I play a Quickling?

I have just started playing MTG and am really liking it. In the six games I have played, with a couple of people, the Quickling card keeps coming up. We just don't understand under what circumstances ...
2
votes
3answers
2k views

Does Phytotitan return to the battlefield when it first died and then was exiled?

I have a question regarding Phytotitan, it's a 7/2 creature wich states: When Phytotitan dies, return it to the battlefield under its owner's control tapped at the beginning of his or her next ...
2
votes
1answer
378 views

Can one use a Wordly Tutor to fetch Nylea, God of the Hunt

Worldly Tutor searches your library for a creature card. So could I find Nylea, God of the Hunt with it since Nylea is an Enchantment Creature?
2
votes
1answer
334 views

Paying a Cost and Communicating

I have four Burning-Tree Emissary and one Firefist Striker on the field. My opponent is in his Precombat Main Phase. We are under Competitive Rules Enforcement Level (REL). The following actions occur ...
2
votes
1answer
312 views

Volatile Rig blocks Xathrid Necromancer: What happens?

My opponent has a Volatile Rig in play. The Rig has some silly coin flipping abilities: Whenever Volatile Rig is dealt damage, flip a coin. If you lose the flip, sacrifice Volatile Rig. When ...
2
votes
2answers
5k views

What happens to other Auras on a Creature enchanted with bestowing, when the Creature dies?

Case in point: Ill-Tempered Cyclops has the Auras of (bestowed) Thassa's Emissary and Aqueous Form. Then the Cyclops changes zone (returned to library, hand, gets exiled or moved to graveyard by ...
2
votes
1answer
250 views

Tapping opponents creatures

If your opponent uses the ability where you can't untap until next turn can he use another card like that and have it stack for multiple turns?
2
votes
1answer
468 views

When is a card returned to the owner's hand?

I'm after some explanation on the rules returning a card to the owner's hand the question was raised by Darking Merfolk Consider the scenario where I have Darting Merfolk in play My opponent ...
2
votes
1answer
5k views

Converted mana costs of tokens and manlands

So let's say I have a Pernicious Deed that lets you "destroy each artifact, creature, and enchantment with converted mana cost X or less". Do tokens (e.g. those produced by Sliver Queen) get destroyed?...
2
votes
2answers
349 views

Doubt about Hissing Miasma

Hissing Miasma Types: Enchantment Card Text: Whenever a creature attacks you, its controller loses 1 life. My question is: does the attacker lose one life per attacking creature?
2
votes
2answers
5k views

Magic card database for websites [closed]

How is it that websites like SCG or CFB created their card database inventory. How would i be able to do this myself now? I want to create a similar website where a user can search and find any card ...
2
votes
1answer
299 views

Kozilek vs Stonecloaker

So what i wanted to ask is this... Kozilek, Butcher of Truth goes to graveyard and I have Stonecloaker in hand! My queston is can I exile Kozilek with my Stonecloaker before Kozileks ability resolves ...
2
votes
2answers
835 views

Is it possible to destroy Dragon Mantle without the owner successfully activating it?

I was playing last night, and the following situation arose. I had a creature out with Dragon Mantle on it, which allows me to spend a red mana to give it +1/+0. My opponent wants to swing in with ...
2
votes
2answers
489 views

Activating abilities of creatures while it is in stack

When I cast a creature with an ability that costs 2 mana to gain hexproof.Can I activate its ability as I'm casting it ?
2
votes
2answers
727 views

Bestow and Intimidate - what color do I need?

What color do I need to block a bestowed creature which got intimidate? Example: I cast a black bestow aura which grants intimidate on a blue creature. Do I need a blue creature to block it?
2
votes
1answer
383 views

Wake the Reflections and Young Pyromancer

I think i got this right, but I'd like to make a sanity check. If you cast Wake the Reflections with Young Pyromancer in play, the pyromancer's trigger will resolve first, so that you will get a ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Are permanent +1/+1 counters considered enchantments?

If a creature has one or more permanent +1/+1 counters are those counters considered "enchantments"?
2
votes
2answers
749 views

When do copied abilities on a creature go away?

If I have a Phantasmal Image that enters the battlefield copying the abilities of another creature, when does that creature stop having the abilities of the copy? When it enters the graveyard, do "...
2
votes
1answer
9k views

How to properly play activated abilities of twilight drover and other creatures?

When playing Twilight Drover with multiple counters, I have the following questions which also apply to other creatures: How many times can I play the activated ability within one turn when it does ...
2
votes
1answer
221 views

North Star and Fist of Suns

A discussion on Reddit about bad combos mentioned combining the following two cards (Oracle included here): Fist of Suns You may pay {W}{U}{B}{R}{G} rather than pay the mana cost for spells that ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I use both abilities of Tainted Field? What's the difference?

When using Tainted Field, can I use both abilities if I have a Swamp? I was told I can only use one ability or the other but not both, but I do not understand the benefit of using one over the other. ...
2
votes
2answers
722 views

Illusionist's bracers and werewolf rulings

Lets assume that I equip an Illusionist's Bracers on Mayor Of Avabruck. When he flips on the trigger of not casting a spell, can he technically flip twice, meaning that he would turn into a werewolf ...
2
votes
2answers
590 views

Will a Havengul Vampire get its +1/+1 counter for killing a creature and prevent it from dying?

Suppose my opponent has a Havengul Vampire, and I have a Young Wolf which has a +1/+1 counter on it so it is 2/2. What happens if they deal damage to each other, for example during combat? Will the ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

What mechanics exist that trigger Burning Vengeance?

Burning Vengeance is an enchantment that states: Whenever you cast a spell from your graveyard, Burning Vengeance deals 2 damage to target creature or player. I know the Flashback keyword will ...