Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

3
votes
3answers
1k views

Will using Nephalia Smuggler save a creature targeted by a destruction spell?

If an opponent targets one of my creatures with a destroy spell, and in response I tap Nephalia Smuggler to exile that creature and return it to the battlefield, does the destroy spell fizzle due to ...
8
votes
2answers
7k views

What happens when a creature with Persist AND Undying dies? ('return to battlefield' issues…)

Say I have a creature with Persist and I give it Undying until end of turn. Later this turn, it is put into the graveyard, and I choose for the Persist ability to resolve before the Undying ability. ...
6
votes
4answers
4k views

When is a creature's toughness calculated

At what point is a creature's toughness calculated? If I have Korozda Guildmage where I can sacrifice a creature and put X 1/1 token creatures onto the battlefield, where X is the sacrificed ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

When does a token have the same name as another token?

I'm playing a Selesnya tokens deck, and my opponent casts Detention Sphere, which exiles all creatures with the "same name", on one of my tokens. Does he get to exile All of my tokens? All of the ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Cremate counter Flashback, Scavenge, and their ilk?

I'm looking at the card Cremate: Cremate - {B} Instant - common RTR Exile target card from a graveyard. Draw a card. Now, can I use this to respond to a flashback or scavenge? ...
5
votes
1answer
5k views

What happens if one of a spell's targets goes away before the spell resolves?

During the prerelease my opponent casts Rites of Reaping to give his creature +3/+3 and my creature -3/-3. In response I sacrifice my creature with the Golgari Guildmage. From my understanding the ...
7
votes
3answers
3k views

Hypersonic dragon => instant scavenge?

The rule text of Hypersonic Dragon says You may cast sorcery spells as though they had flash. (You may cast them any time you could cast an instant.) Can I cast scavenge as an instant now? ...
6
votes
2answers
867 views

Is there a specified order for abilities on cards, specifically creatures?

I was reviewing the a spreadsheet I created of the RTR spoiler to prepare my strategy for this coming weekend. In doing so, I noticed that here and on previous sets if a creature has flying, it is ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

Another aspect of regeneration in Magic the Gathering?

I read most of the articles about regeneration in MTG, but my question albeit being somewhat basic, still finds no answer. Here's the scenario: I attack with a creature that has the ability to ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

What would happen if I used regeneration on a creature that was the target of Annihilating Fire?

For example, what would happen if a freshly cast Lotleth Troll were to be regenerated in response to Annihilating Fire? My hypothesis is that it depends on whose turn it is. The regeneration being ...
4
votes
3answers
3k views

Are gates too slow for constructed play?

Gates are of a cycle of dual lands coming out in Return to Ravnica. There's a gate for each guild (WU, BG, UR, BR, GW), but they always enter the battlefield tapped. These are in stark contrast to the ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Unleash Unleashed

Looking at preview cards for Return for Ravnica a question about Unleash popped into my mind: "It can't block as long as it has a +1/+1 counter on it." Simple question really: if you cast Rakdos ...
6
votes
1answer
280 views

Parallel Lives and Dance of Many

I was wondering how Dance of Many and Parallel Lives interact. Dance of Many's Oracle text says: When Dance of Many enters the battlefield, put a token that's a copy of target nontoken creature ...
15
votes
1answer
8k views

Do creatures that enter the battlefield at the same time see each other enter? [duplicate]

Let's say I have Goldnight Commander on the board. He is a 2/2 that says: Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, creatures you control get +1/+1 until end of turn. ...
7
votes
1answer
705 views

Havengul Lich on Reassembling Skeleton - can the Lich cast itself for 1B this turn?

Havengul Lich says 1: You may cast target creature card in a graveyard this turn. When you cast that card this turn, Havengul Lich gains all activated abilities of that card until end of turn. ...
16
votes
2answers
783 views

Epic Experiment

My brother showed me Epic Experiment today. Now he says you can use it to put creatures in the graveyard and then fish them out with the free spells you get, because the free spells get put on the ...
4
votes
5answers
6k views

What are Riggers and Contraptions in MTG and how do I assmble them? (Steamflogger boss question)

I just saw this card called Steamflogger Boss today, but I've never heard of a Rigger, a Contraption, or an ability called 'assemble' in Magic. Am I missing something? Does this card refer to a very ...
7
votes
3answers
918 views

What happens when I Radiate a Time Stretch with Timesifter in play?

The question is based on the following situation: In a five person game, there has a been a Timesifter in play and the turn order has already been varied for a few turns. A player plays a Time ...
1
vote
3answers
471 views

What happens if I use Sudden Disappearance?

I just saw this card: Sudden Disappearance. Suppose I use it in my first main step. I attack while my opponent has his cards exiled. At the end step he gets them back. My question: Will those cards ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

How to counter an aggro deck with massive +1/+1 counter packing

I recently played with a guy who had a deck full of vampires and whenever one of his vampire attacks/deals combat damage/etc that vampire or all of his vampires get +1/+1 counters. How can I ...
4
votes
4answers
1k views

What can I do with my late game mana in Commander

I'm building some EDH decks and I keep running into a problem - lots of mana, no spells to cast. Now, this is moderately acceptable, but only because my opponents are often in the same state. It ...
6
votes
2answers
4k views

Can you Clone a creature with protection or shroud?

So, Clone doesn't say the word "target" anywhere in it's text: You may have Clone enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield. Does this mean that it isn't targeting the ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

Is a spell with split mana in its cost a multicolored spell?

Say I play a Noggle Bandit (or any card with split mana in its cost). Does its color depend on what mana I use to play it, or is it always both red and blue? It seems a little weird that this card ...
5
votes
1answer
523 views

Can I attempt to activate an equipment's equip ability without a valid target?

Say I have a Mycosynth Wellspring on the field and a Piston Sledge. The equip cost for piston sledge is "sacrifice an artifact". If I control no creatures, can I sacrifice the Mycosynth Wellspring to ...
2
votes
2answers
339 views

How can I learn about and keep track of major Magic tournaments in my local area?

I've been interested in going to a large Magic tournament for a while now, though whether I can go and how far I could travel varies week by week. I know how to look up the Grand Prix schedule and ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Can Kaalia of the Vast put Slumbering Dragon into play tapped and attacking?

I was looking at Slumbering dragon on Gatherer and ran across this quote in the discussion forum: Finally a dragon that doesn't mesh well with Kaalia of the Vast As I pondered this possibility, ...
7
votes
2answers
844 views

Can I play a card using flashback without it having been successfully cast first?

For instance, if I try to cast Army of the Damned and my opponent uses Cancel to stop it, can I still cast Army of the Damned from the graveyard for it's Flashback cost?
11
votes
3answers
486 views

Mimic Vat and Misthollow Griffin

Given that Misthollow Griffin can be cast from exile, if you somehow use Mimic Vat to imprint the Misthollow Griffin and then cast Misthollow Griffin and remove it from exile, can you still make ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

How many of each land do I need to support a draft tournament?

I am planning on running some booster draft tournaments, and want to make sure I am well supplied. The best case scenario is that each player takes 8 of one color and 8 of another color (assuming a ...
6
votes
1answer
576 views

Does Goblin Arsonist's ability deal 2 damage when there are two in play?

Does having two Goblin Arsonist on the battlefield cause their ability to deal 2 damage when one dies?
6
votes
5answers
2k views

Mana fixing in a Cube

I am building a cube and was wondering how much mana fixing is necessary to build a fun cube? Is it necessary to have all the fetch lands and revised duals or shock lands to make sure that the ...
10
votes
2answers
755 views

Can I cast a spell while another spell or ability is resolving?

My opponent has a Sorin, Lord of Innistrad with scads of loyalty. I've got a Gideon Jura and a Nihil Spellbomb on the battlefield. He activates Sorin's "ultimate" ability, targeting Gideon. -6: ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Pillar of Flame, Blood Artist and Goblin Arsonist Trigger Ability

Quick Question on these Spells Pillar of Flame, Blood Artist and Goblin Arsonist Lets say I cast pillar of flame on Goblin Arsonist or Blood Artist, would it still trigger their ability? From my ...
6
votes
4answers
1k views

What first turn kill in multiplayer FFA provides the best ratios?

People love to figure out first turn kills in Magic: the Gathering, and have been around since the beginning, when someone threw together a deck with Channel, Black Lotus, Fireball, Mountain. Pulling ...
4
votes
3answers
869 views

Lifelink and fatal damage question

My life is down to 1 and my opponent 4. I attack with a 4/4 lifelink creature, and my opponent answered with a Shock to deal two damage to me, will I lose or will lifelink save me first?
10
votes
2answers
519 views

Will Elesh Norn kill creatures if I don't pay the extra cost for Flash?

Suppose I use Flash to bring Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite into play, then choose to sacrifice her rather than pay her mana cost. Will my opponent's creatures with two or less toughness die?
7
votes
3answers
3k views

Can nonbasic dual lands such as “Azorius Chancery” be destroyed by the card text “destroy target land”?

My cousin and I play MtG together sometimes. He has many years of experience, and I just started playing recently and we have had an argument when I tried to destroy his nonbasic dual lands such as ...
6
votes
3answers
420 views

How does Jandor's Ring work with modern Magic rules?

A 2004 Oracle ruling for Jandor Ring, above, states: If you do not have the card still in your hand, you can't pay the cost. There is currently no way to prove that it was the card you drew except ...
4
votes
5answers
39k views

Which MTG booster packs have the highest rate of return on investment?

Most players will tell you that buying booster packs for values is a loosing investment, and for the most part this is true because the average expected value of cards in a set is lower than the ...
8
votes
1answer
900 views

Choosing new targets for a spell with a variable number of targets

Rolling Thunder can have any number of targets. I play the Rolling Thunder choosing three target creatures. I copy the Rolling Thunder with Reverberate and can choose new targets for the copy. Can I ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Do undying creatures get counters if I sacrifice them with Plaguemaw Beast?

I'm building a deck with undying creatures. Suppose I have a card named Plaguemaw Beast, which has the ability {T}, Sacrifice a creature: Proliferate. What happens If I sacrifice a creature ...
19
votes
3answers
25k views

Does an ability resolve if the source of the ability leaves the battlefield?

Player A taps Goblin Fireslinger targeting Player B; its "deals 1 damage to target player" ability is placed on the stack. Player B gets priority and responds with Snap, targeting Goblin Fireslinger. ...
9
votes
3answers
646 views

Is Master of Arms pointless under new blocking rules?

Master of Arms 2W, Summon Soldier 2/2, Weatherlight Uncommon First strike 1W: Tap target creature blocking Master of Arms. I used to use this in my deck as powerful creature ...
5
votes
3answers
754 views

Can Dismember kill my Gloryscale Viashino after I cast Armadillo Cloak?

I have a Gloryscale Viashino creature on the board. I cast the spell Armadillo Cloak to enchant this creature. My opponent responds playing Dismember. His intention is to kill my creature before it ...
11
votes
4answers
22k views

If I lose control of an equipped creature, does the equipment stay attached to it?

If I have an equipped creature and my opponent Mind Controls it, does my equipment remain attached to it? Can I re-equip that equipment to one of my creatures on my turn? I assume since I control the ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

If an opponent unsummons my Goblin, does it spoil my Goblin Grenade? [duplicate]

If I'm launching a Goblin Grenade (that requires the sacrifice a Goblin) and my opponent uses an Unsummon on the Goblin (or similar effects like the ability of a Time Elemental) does this effectively ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

If they counter my Goblin Grenade, do I still lose my goblin?

If they use a Counter Spell or some other similar way to counter my Goblin Grenade do I still lose the sacrificed goblin?
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Do I need to sacrifice again if I copy Goblin Grenade?

Let's say that I cast Goblin Grenade, sacrificing a goblin to pay it's additional cost. Then, before it resolves I cast Increasing Vengeance, which allows me to copy the Goblin Grenade. Since I've ...
26
votes
3answers
36k views

How do you calculate the likelihood of drawing certain cards in your opening hand?

In Magic, at the start of the game, you draw 7 cards. How would you calculate the likelihood of drawing a specific card in your opening hand? For example, let's say I have a 60 card deck, and I'm ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

Would Pillar of Flames get rid of a Blightsteel Colossus?

Blightsteel Colossus is indestructible. The rules for indestructable says: 700.4. If a permanent is indestructible, rules and effects can’t destroy it. (See rule 701.6, “Destroy.”) Such permanents ...