Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

2
votes
1answer
761 views

Can the Mirror-Mad Phantasm rescue itself?

If I use a Mirror-Mad Phantasm in combat against a creature that does at least 1 damage, is it possible to activate its ability after combat damage has been applied but before the Phantasm enters the ...
2
votes
1answer
124 views

Does killing Might Sliver before damage affect other slivers' power and toughness? [duplicate]

I got quite confused on what exactly happens in this situation: Opponent is attacking, he does so with three (3/3) creatures. I declare blockers, which would be two unimportant (1/1) Slivers and a ...
2
votes
1answer
157 views

Creatures with Surge as Commander

Is it possible to use a creature with a surge ability as my commander? a creature such as Tyrant of Valakut? If so would this allow me to bypass the cost increase by using the surge ability, or would ...
2
votes
2answers
594 views

Foil rares in booster boxes?

Is it guaranteed that there is a foil rare in every booster box? I've recently finished opening a box and there was no foil rare and many duplicates. I already searched the web to see if it is ...
2
votes
1answer
161 views

Do I have to “choose” when not targetting?

This is related to this question, but without the targeting. Let's say I have Penance and Narset, Enlightened Master on the battlefield, my opponent having nothing but (colorless) lands. It's my turn, ...
2
votes
1answer
403 views

Does “Sacrifice a creature” trigger “sacrifice this creature” [duplicate]

When choosing a creature to sacrifice (originated from a "sacrifice a creature" instruction), if the creature that is being sacrificed has "sacrifice this creature (for whatever result)", does it ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

Are the cards in Zendikar vs Eldrazi standard yet, before Battle for Zendikar comes out? [duplicate]

Is the new duel deck Zendikar vs Eldrazi considered standard before the Battle for Zendikar comes out? I have been playing it for a few days and I don't want to waste money buy more of those cards if ...
2
votes
2answers
104 views

Can Panic Spellbomb be returned to the library in response to its ability?

When activating the ability on Panic Spellbomb (tap, Sacrifice Panic Spellbomb: Target creature can't block this turn.), can the opponent then use an Instant such as Banishing Stroke to put Panic ...
2
votes
1answer
133 views

Mindslaver and Conspiracy's vote cards

I have a Mindslaver and my opponent has a Coercive Portal on the board. I use the Mindslaver's ability to take control of my opponent's next turn. Do I get to choose what his vote is for the Portal's ...
2
votes
2answers
304 views

Can I bring Blightsteel Colossus back to my graveyard before it gets shuffled into my library?

If I discard a Blightsteel Colossus and the "Shuffle into library" trigger goes on the stack, can I, in response, do something to bring it back from my graveyard before it gets shuffled, such as by ...
2
votes
1answer
143 views

Scion of the Ur-Dragon and Grave Pact

When I use Scion of the Ur-Dragon's ability and put a dragon card from my library into the grave yard, does that trigger Grave Pact?
2
votes
1answer
222 views

Does “Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth” work on lands in libraries?

Legendary Land Each land is a Swamp in addition to its other land types. Does Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth work on lands in libraries? I.e., does it allow me to fetch any land using a Swamp-...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Kolaghan, The Storm's Fury dragon attacking ability

Does Kolaghan, The Storm's Fury's ability trigger for every dragon attacking or any dragons attacking? For reference it says "Whenever a dragon you control attacks, creatures you control gain +1/+0 ...
2
votes
1answer
690 views

What is the Infinite Squirrel deck?

I've heard of the Infinite Squirrel Deck, and it looks as though it revolves around Earthcraft and Squirrel Nest. Is this the only distinguishing feature of an Infinite Squirrel deck?
2
votes
1answer
330 views

If Soulflayer exiles a Winged Sliver from the graveyard via delve does it gain flying?

Soulflayer has delve and reads If a creature card with flying was exiled with Soulflayer's delve ability, Soulflayer has flying. The same is true for first strike, double strike, deathtouch, ...
2
votes
2answers
232 views

How do other auras interact with Gift of Immortality?

I'm pretty sure that if a creature is enchanted with some other aura, say Rancor, and then you put Gift of Immortality on it and the creature dies, Rancor falls off when it comes back to the ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Can I use a creature's ability on my opponent's turn?

If I were to have a card on the battlefield such as Archers' Parapet and it was my opponents turn could I play the ability of Parapet if I had player priority? {1}{B}, {T}: Each opponent loses 1 ...
2
votes
1answer
174 views

Is Flesh Allergy combined with Grave Pact counterproductive?

I need a little help again. Imagine the following situation: I have Grave Pact, Bloodthrone Vampire and 9 other creatures on the battlefield. The opponent has only one creature on the battlefield but ...
2
votes
2answers
435 views

Does Marchesa and a creature with modular work together?

I control Marchesa, the Black Rose and Arcbound Ravager. When Ravager dies, will the abilities of Marchesa and Ravager both trigger? If you can confirm it with rules, that would be great.
2
votes
1answer
189 views

Does Essence Scatter affect Artifact Creatures?

Does the Instant Essence Scatter affect Artifact Creature spells such as Stuffy Doll?
2
votes
1answer
447 views

What happens after using Spinal Embrace on a Theros God?

Spinal Embrace: Cast Spinal Embrace only during combat. Untap target creature you don't control and gain control of it. It gains haste until end of turn. At the beginning of the next end step, ...
2
votes
2answers
904 views

Does the Strive mechanic give the opportunity to cast the spell multiple times, or just have multiple targets?

I'm wondering if the strive mechanic counts as one spell that can be cast multiple times by paying the extra cost, or is it just one spell that can affect multiple targets if you pay the mana? I'm ...
2
votes
2answers
5k views

Whenever someone casts an enchant on one of my creatures, do I control that enchantment? [duplicate]

Say I control Genesis Hydra, then an opponent casts Claustrophobia onto Genesis Hydra, do I control Claustrophobia?
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Hardened Scales trigger when +1/+1 counter are moved from one permanent to another?

If a +1/+1 counter get's moved from one creature to another does Hardened Scales double the amount of counters that the second creature gets?
2
votes
1answer
4k views

How to build decks with cards not present in my MTG Online collection

Previously in MTG Online was possible to build decks with cards not present in your collection. This is not possible any more in the latest MTG Online client. Can someone advice on how I can build a ...
2
votes
1answer
534 views

Does a heroic trigger still resolve if the heroic creature is gone?

Having read When does Heroic trigger? I think the answer is yes, but I'd just like to double check: I have Akroan Crusader and I cast Nyxborn Rollicker for its bestow cost so my stack looks like (...
2
votes
1answer
179 views

Are expansion sets in magic designed for use with specific deck archetypes?

I'm new to Magic so apologies in advance if this is an obvious question: Are expansion sets designed to accommodate any/all deck archetypes? For example, my current play style gravitates towards red ...
2
votes
1answer
226 views

How is Test of Faith resolved with multiple blockers?

As an extension of this related question, how is Test of Faith resolved in a situation where this instant is cast on one of multiple blocking creatures assigned to a single attacking creature? Let: ...
2
votes
1answer
355 views

Would Evacuation and Ambush Commander return all forests to their owners' hands?

Evacuation returns all creatures to owners hands. Ambush Commander turns all forests into creatures. Would that mean that Evacuation would return all forests to their owners hand?
2
votes
1answer
472 views

Are there any good intermediate deck building resources available in magic

I've gotten to the place where the run of the mill 'basic deck-building' guides offer no more help to me and yet the advanced deck building resources are still a little out of my reach. I am wondering ...
2
votes
1answer
318 views

Counter heavy proactive control with a distruption-based aggro deck in the Legacy format

[Feel free to edit my question, English is not my primary language] Legacy is a format with a pretty high number of cards available. It is arguably the format with the most possible different ...
2
votes
1answer
350 views

+1/+1 counter, where does it go when my adversary bolts it's target?

Vastwood Hydra is on the field, 7/7 atm (7 x +1/+1 counters). My adversary blocks it for combined strength of 7, all creatures in combat die when the damage resolves. When Vastwood Hydra dies I get to ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Is there a way to block MTG sorcery spells that view my hand?

Sorry if this is an obvious question but I didn't see it asked before and I'm very new to Magic The Gathering. Is there a way to block sorcery spells in MTG that threaten to view my hand? For ...
2
votes
1answer
389 views

Multiple effects causing extra phases in M:tG

Just checking that I understand rule 500.8 correctly: 500.8. Some effects can add phases to a turn. They do this by adding the phases directly after the specified phase. If multiple extra phases ...
2
votes
3answers
3k views

How do I make this zombie mill deck faster?

Although I'm not that bad at sealed deck format (I usually end up in the first 5 places) I suck at draft. This is my first attempt to build a T2 deck. I need help because I think the deck is too slow. ...
2
votes
1answer
4k views

Strongest early-game counters for a Modern deck?

Magic's Modern format has a rather large card pool, including 90-ish counterspells with a good variety of mana costs and limitations. Assume you're playing a control deck that can fairly reliably take ...
2
votes
1answer
177 views

Are the gods of Theros considered creatures in my hand? [duplicate]

For example if I have one god of Theros in my hand like Xenagos, God of Revels Can I play it using a Quicksilver Amulet even though I dont have enough devotion?
2
votes
2answers
180 views

Are there any cards that permanently take control of opponents creature

I know that the cards I'm familiar with such as Act of Treason and Act of Aggression all specify gaining control until end of turn. I'm wondering if something such as Illusory Gains, Beguiler of Wills,...
2
votes
1answer
144 views

Will double strike still do anything if I Cloudshift my blocker?

My friend attacks with a creature with double strike (e.g. Boros Swiftblade). I block with a creature, then I Cloudshift it. Do I or my creature take any damage from the double strike?
2
votes
1answer
272 views

Would this hypothetical rule change ever matter?

One of Magic the Gathering's rules is 104.3f If a player would both win and lose the game simultaneously, he or she loses the game. . However, it seems to me like it "ought to be" the case that ...
2
votes
2answers
3k views

Is a white/black deck viable? [closed]

Hi I just started playing mtg a week ago and bought a white/green intro deck. However, I would want to create a deck combining one of these colors (if possible) with one that focuses on a more ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

“If a creature would enter the battlefield and it wasn't cast…”

Can someone explain precisely what this means (i.e. all the technical details)? I'm referring to cards like Containment Priest and Hallowed Moonlight. I don't understand this mechanic at all.
2
votes
1answer
94 views

Mutavault and effects [duplicate]

when I have "Mentor of the Meek" and the "Mutavault"-land on the battlefield, and when I make Mutavault into a 2/2 creature, can I draw a card when I pay the mana cost for a creature entering the ...
2
votes
3answers
2k views

When is it worth adding nonbasic land or artifacts to your deck over basic land?

I'm having trouble choosing a basic land over something like Orzhov Guildgate or Gruul Cluestone. Why and when would you want one of these in your deck and would it replace a basic land or augment the ...
2
votes
1answer
864 views

If a commander becomes a colorless forest, is it still a commander? [duplicate]

In Magic the Gathering, I cast Song of the Dryads on an opponent's commander. It is now a colorless forest land. My opponent has an Angelic Field Marshal on the field which gains power if you control ...
2
votes
2answers
718 views

Does the 2nd ability of Teysa, Orzhov Scion trigger with mass destruction? [duplicate]

Let's say Teysa, Orzhov Scion and my ten other black creatures are wiped out with "Wrath of God". Do then 10 white 1/1 Spirits appear on the battlefield even though Teysa has just been destroyed? ...
2
votes
2answers
11k views

Can a tapped creature attack or block?

If I tap a creature to use its activated ability before combat, can I use the same creature to block or attack on the same turn? My guess: you cannot block and/or attack with a tapped creature on the ...
2
votes
1answer
491 views

How does Dig Through Time work with Courser of Kruphix?

When Courser of Kruphix is on the battlefield and I resolve a Dig Through Time, do I reveal the top card of my library AFTER I pick two cards from the seven I get to look at, or does the top card ...
2
votes
1answer
194 views

Can Legion's Initiative save permanents from Bearer of Heavens's destruction ability?

When Bearer of Heavens dies, it destroys all permanents. If my opponent's creature destroys Bearer of Heavens can he activate Legion Initiative's ability (to exile his creatures until the start of his ...
2
votes
1answer
396 views

Stalling/Slow Play and Control

As a control player, there are times where it takes a while to resolve the first game, and there are many times where I'm up a game. Are there any rulings against stonewalling the opponent and not ...