Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

1
vote
3answers
904 views

Creature Ability List

Sudden Spoiling reads Creatures target player controls become 0/2 and lose all abilities until end of turn. Can someone help me find a list of abilities that they lose?
1
vote
2answers
127 views

What are the applications of brand?

Brand is a red spell with which you "Gain control of all permanents you own". What does this actually do? Wouldn't you already have control over your permanents? When would this card be useful? Does ...
1
vote
3answers
155 views

Thorncaster Sliver and Venom Sliver vs. Priority or Lack Thereof

I have been gone from MtG for some time now and recently played a couple games with some of my old friends. Midgame the same thing happened that always happens when I play with that group. A fight. ...
1
vote
2answers
313 views

Can tokens created by planeswalkers do commander damage

I was playing a game with someone and they said they do because planeswalkers can't attack, so the tokens created by them count as commander creatures. Is that true? I can't find any rules that talk ...
1
vote
4answers
286 views

Does cloning a card include color?

If Clone (for instance) comes in as a copy of a black creature and attacks and is blocked by a creature that has protection from black, how does it resolve? What if the blocking creature has ...
1
vote
3answers
427 views

Who determines the target creature or player when a card says “deals 1 damage to target creature or player”?

Vigilante Justice says "Whenever a Human enters the battlefield under your control, Vigilante Justice deals 1 damage to target creature or player." Do I decide if the damage goes to the creature or ...
1
vote
2answers
3k views

Can I play a Sorcery or Instant without paying its mana cost, in any way?

In Magic, there are creature cards with huge mana costs (like 15 for Emrakul, the Aeons Torn), that can hardly ever be paid in a normal game of Magic. Luckily, there are many ways to "cheat" creatures ...
1
vote
1answer
692 views

Permanent +1/+1, and −1/−1 until end of turn

As I understand things, if my Korozda Gorgon gives −1/−1 counter to a creature that has a +1/+1 counter on it, as a state-based effect the −1/−1 cancels one of the +1/+1 ...
1
vote
2answers
629 views

How does Valakut work?

Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle has an ability that says: Whenever a Mountain enters the battlefield under your control, if you control at least five other Mountains, you may have Valakut, the Molten ...
1
vote
3answers
962 views

Infractions/Player Communication - Infernal Tutor and Lion's Eye Diamond

In a Competitive REL tournament with an opponent, a player casts Lion Eye Diamond, Lion's Eye Diamond, Infernal Tutor, making a note of storm count after each spell is cast. If the active player has ...
1
vote
2answers
244 views

Is this card worded correctly and balanced?

I created this card recently and just want to make sure that it's balanced and that its ability is worded correctly/functionally: Wojek Lionheart (1)RW Creature - Human Soldier [Uncommon] ...
1
vote
2answers
496 views

Does Mogg Sentry gain +2/+2 for each spell?

I was playing with a friend who has Mogg Sentry on the field I then play Champion of the Parish and Vexing Devil. Does Mogg Sentry become a 5/5 creature until end of turn or is it just a 3/3?
1
vote
3answers
100 views

Why is Noble Hierarch so expensive?

Noble Hierarch costs {G}, is a 0/1 Human Druid with exalted, and taps for {G}, {W}, or {U}. Birds of Paradise costs {G}, is a 0/1 Bird with flying, and taps for one of any color. Noble Hierarch is ...
1
vote
1answer
133 views

MTG Myr Welder Exile question

On the card Myr Welder it says two things. Imprint -- {T} : Exile target artifact card from a graveyard. Myr Welder has all activated abilities of all cards exiled with it. My question is ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

Can you counter a spell with indestructible?

Can you counter an indestructible enchantment spell? For example, I cast Kruphix, God of Horizons. Can you counter the spell with a spell like Dissipate while it's on the stack?
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Must a “target creature” be on the battlefield?

If an ability says "target creature," does the creature have to be on the battlefield? I think I found a loophole that depends on the answer.
1
vote
1answer
820 views

Athreos, God of Passage and Gift of Immortality

With Gift of Immortality, if a creature is destroyed, it is returned to the battlefield and then at the next end phase Gift of Immortality is returned onto the creature. With Athreos, God of Passage, ...
1
vote
2answers
468 views

Celestial Flare Question declaring blockers

Celestial Flare is an instant that says: Target player sacrifices an attacking or blocking creature. Suppose the instant is played on on the attacking player after the defending player has ...
1
vote
1answer
8k views

MTG: Can negative counters kill a creature?

I'm a MTG newbie and I have a question about some instant spells that add negative counters to a creature (for example, when this creature enters the battlefield, target creature gets -3/-3 until end ...
1
vote
1answer
457 views

Reduce toughness and cast dmg spell - cause of death?

Let's say on the board is a creature with toughness 6. I reduce the toughness of this creature by 3 until end of turn. After this spell resolves, I cast a burn spell which does 3 dmg to that creature. ...
1
vote
3answers
447 views

When can an Ætherling use its blinking ability?

If an Ætherling blocks something that could kill it, can it then use its blinking ability before it takes damage? I can't stop it with anything as it blocks and leaves with no damage. U: Exile ...
1
vote
1answer
677 views

Does Steel Hellkite destroy cards in my opponent's library and hand?

The rules for Steel Hellkite say any nonland permanent with converted mana cost X gets destroyed if I deal combat damage this turn. The second ruling states "It doesn't matter who controlled ...
1
vote
2answers
240 views

How to clone a Legendary card legally?

I want to clone Geist of Saint Traft without falling prey to the legend rule and without using Mirror Gallery. Are there any cards that allow you to copy a card's text without copying its name? I was ...
1
vote
3answers
198 views

vedalken orrery, aura of silence in reponse to opponents enchantment

If I have a Vedalken Orrery in play, and my opponent attempts to cast an enchantment, can I flash in Aura of Silence in response and force them to either pay 2 more mana or have their spell fizzle?
1
vote
2answers
137 views

How do Opalescence and Humility interact?

How exactly do Opalescence and Humility interact with each other?
1
vote
1answer
235 views

Lose Calm, if you make a creature attack does it become tapped?

Lose Calm says Gain control of target creature until end of turn. Untap that creature. It gains haste until end of turn and can't be blocked this turn except bye two or more creatures. So it ...
1
vote
1answer
152 views

Jhessian Thief and Aqueous Form

If I have a Jhessian Thief enchanted with an Aqueous Form, and it deals damage to my opponent, do I get to Scry 1 before or after I draw a card from Jhessian Thief's ability?
1
vote
2answers
449 views

When do you place the +1/+1 counter for Anafenza?

If I attack with Anafenza, the Foremost and one other creature do I get to place a +1/+1 counter on the other creature or does it have to be tapped before combat?
1
vote
2answers
433 views

Targeting question in regards to illegal target

I'm watching this video from the Judge's Corner on YouTube: Targeting - Judge's Corner #10. One example shows these cards being played: Middle first, left second, right third. The video says that ...
1
vote
2answers
4k views

When I tap a creature to attack with it, does that also activate abilities that require tapping it?

When I declare my attackers, that causes the attacker to be tapped. What happens if the attacker I tap has an ability that is triggered by tapping? Would I have to tap the creature before the combat ...
1
vote
1answer
350 views

Can you change the order of cards in a Graveyard?

My friend was counting the number of Creatures in his Graveyard and then randomizing the order the cards are in. Is this allowed?
1
vote
2answers
1k views

Can I always sacrifice a permanent whenever I want, without anything telling me to do so?

Can one sacrifice any permanent at any time for any reason, or is "permission" to sacrifice only granted by other cards?
1
vote
2answers
347 views

Crypt Incursion stack help

So me and my mate are just looking for clarification about Crypt Incursion. For example, I play Crypt Incursion, targeting my graveyard. In response he plays Crypt Incursion and also wants to target ...
1
vote
2answers
607 views

How long before I can move on to a different phase?

I was on one health and had two creatures in play. One of those was useless due to a card my opponent played to stop it doing anything. The other had an inspired ability that might have helped me ...
1
vote
1answer
3k views

Can I cast Enchant Creature cards on Enchantment Creatures (Bestow) that are on another creature?

Say I have a Nessian Courser which is enchanted by a Nylea's Emmissary. I want to cast an Enchantment - Aura on the Nylea's Emissary, for example: Ordeal of Thassa. Perhaps for some reason, I ...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

Does the commander count as part of your deck?

Say I have an EDH/Commander deck with Omnath, Locus of Mana as my commander. Does that count as being in my deck? Or can I have another Omnath, Locus of Mana in my deck? (If so I imagine I would ...
1
vote
3answers
4k views

Underworld Connections: Tapping the Land for mana and ability?

Let's say i enchant a land with Underworld Connections. Would i be able to tap said land for mana, and use the ability of Underworld Connections concurrently?
1
vote
1answer
677 views

How to play a planeswalker such as Sorin, Lord of Innistrad?

When playing Sorin, Lord of Innistrad, I know I add 1 loyalty counter at my upkeep. However if I have 6 loyalty my questions are: Can I play the -2 ability twice or only once per upkeep? My other ...
1
vote
3answers
1k views

what is a storage counter on a land card and how do you use it?

I have a card called Calciform Pools. It uses something called a storage counter. What is it and how do you use it? Card Text: Tap: Add {1} to your mana pool. {1}, Tap: Put a storage counter ...
1
vote
2answers
735 views

Do Ensnaring Bridge and Tortoise Formation work together?

I would like to use Tortoise Formation to temporarily disable the effect of Ensnaring Bridge. My question therefore is: does that combo allow my creatures to attack, even if there are no cards in my ...
1
vote
1answer
117 views

Kindle the carnage, repercussion and safe passage

Let's say I have Repercussion on the table and I cast Kindle the Carnage. Can an opponent prevent the damage done by repercussion after Kindle the Carnage has resolved? A mate and I are in a debate ...
1
vote
1answer
273 views

How is infect a fair mechanic? [closed]

Thee infect mechanic from Scars of Mirrodin has never seemed fair to me in any way. All of the game's win conditions have always been equally difficult to achieve: dealing 20 damage, milling an ...
1
vote
2answers
458 views

How 'hard' is a Mindslaver lock?

This is a Mindslaver Lock. Mindslaver controls an opponent's next turn — all actions and decision-making, short of conceding outright — completely. Ten mana (produced by the double-tower ...
1
vote
2answers
278 views

Multiple blockers and trample

I just thought about the fact that you can deal as much damage to one creature when multiple blocked So lets say I have an 8/8 with trample I attack with it Im blocked by a 1/1 a 2/2 and a 3/3 ...
1
vote
2answers
384 views

Assigning damage to multiple blockers

Okay so when I was looking up the answer to a different question I had I found this You assign 2 damage on the first target, but he's not dead yet until you assign all 5 damage that you have. So ...
1
vote
2answers
287 views

Humble and losing ALL abilities: Does this affect creatures with equipped artifacts?

Humble causes a creature to become 0/1 and lose all abilities. If the target creature has an artifact equipped, giving it +1/+1, before this instant is played, does the target lose any benefits ...
1
vote
3answers
675 views

What is the “Timeshifted” rarity?

I'm confused about the "Timeshifted" cards. I looked at the Wizards of the Coast rarity scale. How rare are they and are they valid in Modern? (example Undertaker)
1
vote
1answer
4k views

How do I know what cards or sets are legal to play with? [duplicate]

Can I mix older Magic the Gathering cards with cards from Magic 2015? If I have mainly Magic 2015 cards can I play my friends who mainly have older decks?
1
vote
2answers
581 views

order of attack and blocking with a creature with modifying other creature's ability

Suppose a situation where you have a Paragon of Gathering Mists and another creature, say X, with 3/3 on the battlefield. PGM is 2/2 and X becomes 4/4 because of PGM. When I attack a player with both ...
1
vote
1answer
246 views

wheel of sun and moon and tutors

So let's say I have Wheel of Sun and Moon in play and cast a tutor that puts the card I searched for on top of my library. Let's say, Enlightened Tutor. In what order do things happen in then? Do I ...