Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

7
votes
1answer
2k views

When must an Instant be played that prevents damage?

Consider the card Harm's Way or similar. The Oracle text states: The next 2 damage that a source of your choice would deal to you and/or permanents you control this turn is dealt to target ...
7
votes
3answers
5k views

What makes an ideal “control finisher”?

In Magic: The Gathering, many players talk about a "control finisher" -- some kind of big back-breaking spells that (usually) seals up your victory. I guess you could say that, if you boil down a ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can colorless mana be generated from things that say “Add one mana of any color to your mana pool”?

Can colorless mana be generated from things that say "Add one mana of any color to your mana pool"? One example card would be Coalition Relic. Reasons: For example for sunburst spells, when the ...
6
votes
1answer
185 views

Does Seeds of Strength trigger Heroic three times?

Seeds of Strength has the following text: Target creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn. Target creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn. Target creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn. Sage ...
6
votes
1answer
167 views

Triggered abilities from multiple players. Whose resolves first?

If triggered abilities from sources controlled by multiple players all trigger at the same time, in what order do they resolve? For example, if I control Obzedat, Ghost Council and at least two other ...
6
votes
2answers
473 views

Can a card effect make a creature block one that it otherwise could not?

Nature Shields Its Own is an Archenemy scheme that creates a blocking creature (green plant) any time the Archenemy is attacked and the attack is not blocked. We ran into a few issues last night ...
6
votes
3answers
918 views

Putting cards into your hand while the top of library is revealed

Anthony has Courser of Kruphix on the field. He begins resolving Dig Through Time. While Dig Through Time is resolving, must the top card be kept separate from the other six? I'm thinking that ...
6
votes
5answers
1k views

Why would I want to use the activated ability of “Scalding Tarn”?

I think I'm missing something here. I thought that land cards that have two colors at the bottom mean that they can be used as land for either of the colors. Take for example Scalding Tarn: It ...
6
votes
1answer
4k views

Can you play older versions of cards in standard?

Say, for example, you have a card that is still legal in standard but the version you have of it comes from a set that has since been rotated out. Can you still play the version from your older set?
6
votes
2answers
3k views

Ordeal of Heliod and changing creature control

Here is the situation that came up: Player 1 controls a creature enchanted with Ordeal of Heliod and two +1/+1 counters. On Player 2's turn, they cast Portent of Betrayal to take control of the ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

Do “enters the battlefield” abilities trigger when a creature is copied with Phyrexian Metamorph?

The card Phyrexian Metamorph says: You may have Phyrexian Metamorph enter the battlefield as a copy of any artifact or creature on the battlefield, except it's an artifact in addition to its other ...
6
votes
1answer
687 views

Is there a simple strategy for re-learning Magic the Gathering?

I began playing MTG around Beta/Unlimited but haven't played MTG since about 4th Edition/Fallen Empires/Ice Age. I have been considering picking the game back up, and could use some suggestions on ...
5
votes
1answer
723 views

Why is Morph not considered an ability?

Reading FAQs concerning Muraganda Petroglyphs and morph cards, a face down morph creature will get the +2/+2 bonus from Muraganda Petroglyphs. What I don't understand is why. Since the face down ...
5
votes
1answer
487 views

Can you dredge twice for one card draw?

Say I have two Life from the Loams in my graveyard. Can I dredge twice — once for each of the Life from the Loams — when drawing my first card on my turn? I assume the answer is no, but I figured I'd ...
5
votes
1answer
304 views

What, generally, happens to card prices when a new set is released?

Journey to Nyx is about to come out an I noticed many of the websites have already priced the cards. I'm wondering if anyone has any advise on when the optimal time to pick up new cards is? I realize ...
5
votes
2answers
863 views

How should the “and/or” text of a card be interpreted?

How should the "and/or" text of a card be interpreted? For example on a card like Pinnacle of Rage the text reads: Pinnacle of Rage deals 3 damage to each of two target creatures and/or players. ...
5
votes
5answers
1k views

Why so many people use “house rules” in EDH/Commander?

Since I'm an Eternal player (Legacy and sometimes Modern) that has played just few times EDH/Commander I found difficult to understand why often players use a more strict banned list in their matches; ...
5
votes
3answers
428 views

How does Armed // Dangerous interact with trample?

I have a Ghor-Clan Rampager on the battlefield and I fuse Armed/Dangerous on it. It is going to be a 5/5 with trample and double strike, and all of my opponents creatures are going to be forced to ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Flickering a Commander

What happens when a Commander is hit with an effect such as Flicker or Otherworldly Journey, and that Commander's owner chooses to send the Commander to the Command zone instead of exile? Will the ...
5
votes
1answer
456 views

If creatures targeted by Living Inferno's ability all die, what happens?

If I were to target a ton of creatures with Living Inferno's ability and then all those creatures were to die (or be sacrificed, per Dismiss Into Dream) in response to Living Inferno's ability going ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Thrumming Stone ripple after ripple

The card Thrumming Stone says: Spells you cast have ripple 4. (Whenever you cast a spell, you may reveal the top four cards of your library. You may cast any revealed cards with the same name as ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I sacrifice a creature that is only temporarily under my control?

A creature is placed "under my control until the end of turn" through a sorcery spell. Do I have the option of sacrificing said creature if I cast a "sacrifice a creature" instant, or have a creature ...
5
votes
3answers
29k views

Can I activate a bloodrush ability at instant speed?

Can I use a card with bloodrush in response to something? For example: If an evil opponent wants to kill my attacking Skarrg Guildmage with an Izzet Charm can I discard Scorchwalker and use it's ...
5
votes
5answers
9k views

MTG Gatecrash Simic Strategies for a Prerelease event

I am going to be playing this weekend at the prerelease of Gatecrash, with the chosen guild of Simic. Now the core strategy of Simic is to grow relentlessly, using the Evolve mechanic (whenever a ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

How does a Loyal Cathar react to Undying Evil?

Loyal Cathar states: When Loyal Cathar dies, return it to the battlefield transformed under your control at the beginning of the next end step. Undying Evil states: Target creature gains ...
4
votes
2answers
408 views

Does “other” refer to that particular instance or all cards of the same name?

For example Chief of the Edge has the ability: Other Warrior creatures you control get +1/+0. So I understand that it would definitely affect Avalanche Tusker. But if I play another Chief of the ...
4
votes
1answer
386 views

What happens if I play Cloudshift during combat?

Would playing cards like Cloudshift end my combat phase? And if not could I attack then Cloudshift then attack again with the same card that was Cloudshifted? Also would cards like Amulet of Vigor ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you sacrifice a creature that's in the middle of an attack?

Earlier tonight, I was playing magic. My opponent had a card out that allowed him to place a 2/2 goblin token on the board for every creature that made an attack. He also had one out that allowed him ...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

Do cards that say “creatures you control” trigger Heroic?

If I have a creature or multiple creatures that have a heroic ability and I activate a sorcery or instant that has an effect to "creatures you control" will this trigger the heroic ability?
4
votes
2answers
441 views

Wording on Volrath's Shapeshifter

I was surprised to see that the wording on Volrath Shapeshifter is not just old card text, but the actual oracle wording. I am curious, why does it not simply copy the the other creature, and have ...
4
votes
2answers
341 views

How does Phyrexian Dreadnought and Volrath's Shapeshifter interact?

If I have a Phyrexian Dreadnought on top of my graveyard, and I put a Volrath Shapeshifter onto the battlefield, will I have to sacrifice other creatures with the total power of 12 or not? The same ...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

Prophet of Kruphix: Can I flash Bestow?

If I have Prophet of Kruphix out (which gives all my creatures flash), can I use the bestow ability of my enchantment creatures during my opponents turn? For example, can I bestow Thassa's Emissary on ...
4
votes
4answers
25k views

Which MTG booster packs have the highest rate of return on investment?

Most players will tell you that buying booster packs for values is a loosing investment, and for the most part this is true because the average expected value of cards in a set is lower than the ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

MTG: Activated abilities and change of control on the stack.

Let's say I play an activated ability of one of my creatures; for example, this one: My opponent responds to this with an instant that takes control of this creature: Question: Will the effect ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens to a creature enchanted with totem armor if both are destroyed at the same time?

If a player controls a Boon Satyr enchanted with Hyena Umbra providing totem armor, and an opponent plays Fracturing Gust to destroy all artifacts and more importantly enchantments. What happens? An ...
3
votes
1answer
252 views

Can Teysa, Orzhov Scion sacrifice itself and still use its 2nd ability?

What happens if I sacrifice Teysa, Orzhov Scion along with two other "white and black" creatures (in order to remove another creature from the game) - do I still get my 2 spirit tokens from the other ...
3
votes
3answers
2k views

Do +1/+1 counters accumulate?

This might be quite basic. I am just a beginner and searched through the web and the rule book and couldn't find the answer. For instance, Ajani's Pridemate lets you, Whenever you gain life, you ...
3
votes
1answer
436 views

Pyxis of Pandemonium and 'enters the battlefield' abilities

My question about Pyxis of Pandemonium is: When all of the cards are finally turned face up, what determines the order in which their "when X enters the battlefield..." effects resolve?
3
votes
3answers
930 views

Two Player Draft Formats

My friend and I are buying an RTR booster box mainly in hopes of getting some chase rares, but also for some fun. What are some Draft Variants for only 2 players?
3
votes
1answer
262 views

Show and Tell and permanents that target other permanents

Say I cast Show and Tell. I put down Angel of Despair and my opponent puts down Crystalline Sliver. "When Angel of Despair enters the battlefield, [you] destroy target permanent". Crystalline Sliver ...
3
votes
2answers
786 views

How does Fuse work?

If you have a card like Profit and Loss you get the Fuse special rule I'm a little unclear how it works? Do you have to cast both sides in the same turn? If you don't can you cast one of the ...
3
votes
2answers
580 views

What is the difference between Hexproof and a card like Canopy Cover?

Canopy Cover is an Aura enchantment that includes this effect: Enchanted creature can't be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control. This sounds the same as Hexproof's definition ...
3
votes
1answer
311 views

Can I “hide” a Vesuvan Shapeshifter?

Suppose I control a Vesuvan Shapeshifter and a face-down morph creature, and I then choose to turn the Vesuvan Shapeshifter face-down. My opponent definitely should still be able to tell which of the ...
3
votes
4answers
643 views

Is there a way to beat Standstill?

If your opponent has a standstill on an otherwise empty board, is there a way to remove it without your opponent drawing cards? krosan grip doesn't work because split-second doesn't apply to ...
3
votes
1answer
135 views

Brink of Disaster timing

Brink of Disaster says: Enchant creature or land. When enchanted permanent becomes tapped, destroy it. If you enchant something like Shrine of Burning Rage, and it's owner goes to tap and ...
3
votes
2answers
8k views

How can I improve a Zombie deck to work faster?

I created a deck with the new expansion (Dark Ascension) using the cards I got from a couple of boosters last week. My initial deck form is [Zombies Nightmare] (created by me) but I feel like it ...
2
votes
2answers
212 views

What does X mean in a spell's cost?

What does the X in a spell's cost do? For example, Strength of the Tajuru has X in its cost. What do I need to do in order to cast that spell, and what happens with the X when it resolves? Note: If ...
2
votes
3answers
426 views

When you “sacrifice 3 creatures” as a cost, are they sacrificed one at a time?

If you want to activate the activated ability of Teysa, Orzhov Scion, does "sacrifice 3 creatures" count as 1 cost, or 3 separate costs? And, does it matter which it is at all? 601.2g says The player ...
2
votes
2answers
477 views

Can I use tokens and basic lands from outside my format?

This may sound like a noob question but I cannot find answer anywhere and I still learning all new stuff since I last played so I will ask here. What does the rules say about using non-format tokens ...
2
votes
1answer
274 views

Paying a Cost and Communicating

I have four Burning-Tree Emissary and one Firefist Striker on the field. My opponent is in his Precombat Main Phase. We are under Competitive Rules Enforcement Level (REL). The following actions occur ...