Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

1
vote
1answer
88 views

Resolution of two buffs that affect attacking creatures

I have a creature, Wild Beastmaster, that increases all other creatures I control whenever it attacks (I assume that means the attack triggers this). However, since a card like Trumpet Blast only ...
1
vote
2answers
861 views

Modern affinity deck without Mox Opal

I am making a modern affinity deck with all the usual cards, Arcbound Ravager, Etched Champion, Inkmoth Nexus and the like. The problem is I can't afford the Mox Opals - they're over £200 for the ...
2
votes
1answer
230 views

Paying a Cost and Communicating

I have four Burning-Tree Emissary and one Firefist Striker on the field. My opponent is in his Precombat Main Phase. We are under Competitive Rules Enforcement Level (REL). The following actions occur ...
4
votes
2answers
230 views

How does Lava Burst work with hexproof/shroud?

How does Lava Burst work with hexproof/shroud ability? Lava Burst text says: If Lava Burst would deal damage to a creature, that damage can't be prevented or dealt instead to another creature or ...
7
votes
3answers
556 views

Communication - Saying “Draw”

My opponent was in his second main phase, sitting silently for about a minute. He finally gestured towards me and said, "Draw." I drew. My opponent then shouted, "Judge!" and told the judge that I ...
2
votes
1answer
168 views

Artisan of Forms and Gift of Immortality

Artisan of Forms says: Heroic — Whenever you cast a spell that targets Artisan of Forms, you may have Artisan of Forms become a copy of target creature and gain this ability. Say I play a Gift ...
3
votes
2answers
342 views

Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?

The text on Hammer of Purphoros reads: Sacrifice a land: Put a 3/3 colorless Golem enchantment artifact creature token onto the battlefield. I know that this doesn't allow me to destroy my ...
3
votes
2answers
469 views

What are the limitations on using a Planeswalker's loyalty abilities?

I assume I can only use a loyalty ability once per turn, is that right? Otherwise it'd seem to me that Planeswalkers would be hideously broken. And I assume that if you used the +1 ability that the 0 ...
1
vote
2answers
221 views

How long does a creature returned by the Whip of Erebos remain on the battlefield?

Whip of Erebos says Return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step. If it would leave the battlefield, exile it ...
2
votes
2answers
212 views

Gild and the Gold tokens it creates

Gild says "Exile target creature. Put a colorless artifact token named Gold onto the battlefield. It has "Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool."". I assume that that ...
5
votes
1answer
224 views

Question about interaction: levitation, then gravity sphere, then oblivion ring on each, then tranquility. Who flies away?

Here are the cards involved: Levitation Creatures you control gain flying. Gravity Sphere All creatures lose flying. Oblivion Ring When Oblivion Ring enters the battlefield, exile a ...
2
votes
1answer
459 views

Can Guttersnipe hit Planeswalkers?

Guttersnipe's ability states: Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, Guttersnipe deals 2 damage to each opponent. Now, Planeswalkers are classed as "Players". I found this ruling that ...
0
votes
2answers
307 views

Chained to the Rocks and shocklands

Chained to the Rocks says: Enchant Mountain you control. When Chained to the Rocks enters the battlefield, exile target creature an opponent controls until Chained to the Rocks leaves the ...
2
votes
1answer
158 views

Would Evacuation and Ambush Commander return all forests to their owners' hands?

Evacuation returns all creatures to owners hands. Ambush Commander turns all forests into creatures. Would that mean that Evacuation would return all forests to their owners hand?
5
votes
1answer
541 views

Combo question: urborg tomb of yawgmoth, torpor orb, kormus bell, dark depths = free Marit Lage?

If I have the following in play: Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth Each land is a Swamp in addition to its other land types. Kormus Bell All Swamps are 1/1 black creatures that are still lands. ...
2
votes
2answers
237 views

Can Crypt Rats be used from Graveyard

Can Crypt Rats be activated while in the graveyard? There is no tap, which is why it seems possible. If not, then why can cards like Rot Farm Skeleton have activated abilities that are usable only ...
3
votes
1answer
310 views

Can I cast a Slaughter Pact on a Spellskite after I played Lightning Storm and I already discarded some lands?

My opponent has a Spellskite on board. He is at 17 life, has one blue mana and one land in hand. I just resolved Ad Nauseam + Angel's Grace and I have my entire deck in my hand. I have 2 Slaughter ...
2
votes
1answer
147 views

Are there any good intermediate deck building resources available in magic

I've gotten to the place where the run of the mill 'basic deck-building' guides offer no more help to me and yet the advanced deck building resources are still a little out of my reach. I am wondering ...
3
votes
1answer
273 views

What if someone attacks with Master of Cruelties and another creature?

My mate constantly plays Master of Cruelties which can only attack alone, Master of Cruelties isn't forced to attack, but if it does, it must do so alone. If you control another creature with an ...
1
vote
1answer
135 views

In MTG, what happens when a creature enchanted with Soul Link would deal lethal damage to a player?

Player A has 3 life left. Player B attacks with a Dauthi Marauder that has been enchanted by Player A's Soul Link. Does player B win, or does nothing happen? On the one hand, "whenever" makes it ...
4
votes
2answers
158 views

Cauldron of Souls and Wickerbough Elder

How many counters does Wickerbough Elder get when returned to battlefield with Cauldron of Souls? Assume that it died with no counters on it and was targeted by Cauldron of Souls. I can't tell if gets ...
0
votes
3answers
288 views

Mono-Green Deck: Responding to Sorceries/Instants?

I'm working on a mono-green overrun deck but I'm having some trouble responding to my opponent's non-creature cards. Against another creature-heavy deck it does very well, but up against anything ...
0
votes
2answers
167 views

Magic; Are you allowed to attack creatures instead of a player?

Are you allowed to attack creatures instead of a player during the combat phase? Because it seems to me it's much more easier to block (because you can actually choose what you attack) than to just ...
2
votes
1answer
160 views

Counter heavy proactive control with a distruption-based aggro deck in the Legacy format

[Feel free to edit my question, English is not my primary language] Legacy is a format with a pretty high number of cards available. It is arguably the format with the most possible different ...
1
vote
2answers
802 views

Are these decks going to be playable? [closed]

I am thinking about getting into magic. I want to play in the standard format. The decks I want to play are either mono black devotion or mono blue devotion. My question is with the rotations how long ...
5
votes
2answers
533 views

How should the “and/or” text of a card be interpreted?

How should the "and/or" text of a card be interpreted? For example on a card like Pinnacle of Rage the text reads: Pinnacle of Rage deals 3 damage to each of two target creatures and/or players. ...
2
votes
1answer
182 views

+1/+1 counter, where does it go when my adversary bolts it's target?

Vastwood Hydra is on the field, 7/7 atm (7 x +1/+1 counters). My adversary blocks it for combined strength of 7, all creatures in combat die when the damage resolves. When Vastwood Hydra dies I get to ...
0
votes
2answers
208 views

Can a card be un-cast, if the player realises it was a bad decision?

Let's say a player casts a spell, completely allows it to resolve, and accepts its consequences - then realises that was a bad idea, or there was something better to do. That player realises there was ...
1
vote
1answer
89 views

Do Triggered effects stack?

Lets say I have a Suture Priest creature that says "Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may gain 1 life." and I currently have all 4 of them in the battlefield. ...
2
votes
1answer
111 views

When is the hydra considered a player with the “Face the Hydra” deck?

Face the Hydra is a special game with special rules which can be found here. I know that a spell that deals direct damage to a player cast on the hydra will deal the damage to one of its head. The ...
1
vote
2answers
414 views

How long before I can move on to a different phase?

I was on one health and had two creatures in play. One of those was useless due to a card my opponent played to stop it doing anything. The other had an inspired ability that might have helped me ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens when additional costs can't ultimately be paid, but the spell is on the stack?

I have a question that bothers me after reading a part of the big book of rules :). It's about the rule 717, illegal actions. 717.1. If a player realizes that he or she can’t legally take an ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an instant spell be used before an upkeep triggered ability resolves?

I am looking into a new card for my deck and I was curious if instants could be used before an ability triggered 'at the beginning of your upkeep' resolves. Here is the potential situation: I ...
1
vote
2answers
199 views

Magic the Gathering lingering spell effect

I have a question about a card sequence. Let's say I play an instant card that says "all creatures who dealt damage this turn return to owners hand" in my first main phase. Then if my opponent ...
2
votes
1answer
208 views

How does targeting limitation work for Wild Ricochet?

I use Wild Ricochet on an opponent's spell that says "target creature you control" (A not overloaded Dynacharge for example). What are valid targets for the spell and the copy? If I can only choose ...
2
votes
1answer
169 views

Volatile Rig blocks Xathrid Necromancer: What happens?

My opponent has a Volatile Rig in play. The Rig has some silly coin flipping abilities: Whenever Volatile Rig is dealt damage, flip a coin. If you lose the flip, sacrifice Volatile Rig. When ...
2
votes
3answers
281 views

What happens if a tribute effect has no valid target?

What happens if I play a card that has a tribute ability with the word target in it, my opponent chooses not to pay the tribute, and ability that applies has no valid targets. Will the ability simply ...
2
votes
1answer
140 views

Does an Archetype affect summoning cost effects?

If I have say an Archetype of Imagination: Creatures you control have flying. Creatures your opponents control lose flying and can't have or gain flying. and a Warden of Evos Isle: ...
2
votes
2answers
291 views

Two Player Draft Formats

My friend and I are buying an RTR booster box mainly in hopes of getting some chase rares, but also for some fun. What are some Draft Variants for only 2 players?
0
votes
0answers
30 views

2 Player Draft Ideas [duplicate]

A friend and I are splitting a RTR Booster box, mostly with hope for some chase rares, but we also wanted to have some fun while opening. What are some Draft modes that only require two people?
11
votes
1answer
360 views

Ensnaring Bridge and Cranial Plating

Let's say that I have an Ensnaring Bridge in play, and no cards in my hand. My opponent has a 0/2 Ornithopter in play, and also a Cranial Plating (and some other artifacts to pump it up). Can he ...
3
votes
1answer
153 views

What happens when an Annihilating Fire meets an indestructible card?

Annihilating Fire says: Annihilating Fire deals 3 damage to target creature or player. If a creature dealt damage this way would die this turn, exile it instead. If I deal lethal damage to an ...
0
votes
1answer
84 views

MTG Multiplayer—Card Control and Losing the Game [duplicate]

I just need a bit of rules clarification that I'm confused about. If I Donate an enchantment to an opponent in a multiplayer game, and then lose the game myself, does the enchantment leave play with ...
6
votes
2answers
929 views

If I target my own Rancor with a Terastodon will the effect still take place and give me a 3/3 elephant token?

If I target my own Rancor with a Terastodon will the effect still take place and give me a 3/3 elephant token? I ask this question because there is a ruling on Terastodon that says: If a targeted ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

Can you cast an instant damage spell between first strike and normal damage?

We had a situation occur in a game where my opponent had a creature with first strike, and I had one that didn't. They attacked and I blocked, first strike creature did it's damage which didn't kill ...
1
vote
1answer
150 views

How do multiple copies of Merrow Commerce interact?

If I have more than one copy of Merrow Commerce in play, they both trigger during my end step. Can I take actions after the first one resolves, but before the second one does? I'm thinking of ...
2
votes
3answers
705 views

What can be played during an opponents turn?

What types of cards can you play on another players turn / i.e. sorcery or enchantments? Or can only instants/flash be played? It seems foolish to us as new players that every card other then land ...
4
votes
1answer
384 views

Does Into the Wilds stack?

The enchantment Into the Wilds allows a player to look at the top card of their library and play it if it's a land. If I have 4 Into the Wilds in play, can I look at the top card four times, and, in ...
1
vote
2answers
102 views

What would Resolve first?

If my opponent has one Timberwatch Elf tapped, and I use Yamabushi Flame on it, can my opponent respond with a Wirewood Lodge and then use Timberwatch Elf to protect it?
3
votes
1answer
239 views

If a creature with an effect is destroyed by blocking do other attacking creatures lose the effect?

I have a Rageblood Shaman that says: Other Minotaur creatures you control get +1/+1 and have trample. If I attack with it and multiple other creatures any my opponent blocks it and destroys it ...