Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

0
votes
2answers
223 views

Can Shapesharer copy an enters the battlefield ability, like Stoneforge Mystic's?

If I use Shapesharer to copy Stoneforge Mystic do I get to search my library for an Equipment card when I perform the copy?
3
votes
2answers
646 views

Are Magic: the Gathering Conspiracy cards colorless?

What is the color of the following Magic conspiracy cards: Advantageous Proclamation Backup Plan Brago's Favor Double Stroke Immediate Action Iterative Analysis Muzzio's Preparations Power Play ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

What's the technical term for the period of time between when an opponent concludes their turn and mine begins?

Apologies if this is poorly phrased. I'll try to make this as clear as possible... I recently realized that I can utilize the period of time between a players turn and my turn in Magic. What's the ...
2
votes
1answer
137 views

Exalted trigger timing

My opponent is playing an exalted deck and I am playing Pyxis of Pandemonium. The exalted text reads: Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, that creature gets +1/+1 until the end of the ...
1
vote
1answer
264 views

Does Prophet of Kruphix apply to Planeswalker abilities that create creatures?

The Prophet of Kruphix has the ability You may cast creature cards as if they had flash. Does this apply to the Loyalty ability Put three 1/1 white soldier creature tokens onto the ...
2
votes
1answer
110 views

Does Deserter's Quarters get overriden by Horizon Boughs?

In a game of Planechase, suppose we're on Horizon Boughs, which says: All permanents untap during each player's untap step. I have Deserter's Quarters out, tapped using its second ability to ...
2
votes
1answer
144 views

Can one use a Wordly Tutor to fetch Nylea, God of the Hunt

Worldly Tutor searches your library for a creature card. So could I find Nylea, God of the Hunt with it since Nylea is an Enchantment Creature?
1
vote
1answer
353 views

Do creatures summoned by a Planeswalker have summoning sickness?

Elspeth, Sun's Champion has a loyalty ability which says: Place three 1/1 white soldier creature tokens onto the battlefield. When this ability is activated, do these soldiers have summoning ...
2
votes
1answer
107 views

Is there a Standard card similar to Debt to the Deathless? [closed]

With M15 around the corner I need a standard card that has a similar effect as Debt to the Deathless. Does anyone know a white, black, or green standard set card that works like this?
4
votes
1answer
759 views

Can you sacrifice a creature that's in the middle of an attack?

Earlier tonight, I was playing magic. My opponent had a card out that allowed him to place a 2/2 goblin token on the board for every creature that made an attack. He also had one out that allowed him ...
3
votes
1answer
647 views

Does “Destroy all creatures with power 4 or greater” also affect *my* creatures?

Does "Destroy all creatures with power 4 or greater" also affect my creatures? I have a planeswalker card that has this ability; will it also kill my creatures? Also, this only affects creatures on ...
2
votes
1answer
385 views

Does Phantasmal Bear get sacrificed if its affected by spells or abilities that don't say 'target'?

Phantasmal Bear says that if it becomes the target of a spell or ability that it must be sacrificed. If I played Phantasmal Bear and later in the game played a creature that gave all of my other blue ...
6
votes
2answers
502 views

Why are Tabernacle at Pendrell Vale and Pendrell Mists worded differently?

Tabernacle says the following: All creatures have "At the beginning of your upkeep, destroy this creature unless you pay 1." Pendrell Mists says the following: All creatures have "At the ...
2
votes
2answers
248 views

Pandemonium and Muscle Sliver

Pandemonium is an enchantment that says "Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, that creature's controller may have it deal damage equal to its power to target creature or player of his or her ...
7
votes
4answers
304 views

How does the wording “for each” work?

Some cards in magic has something happen for each {something}. For instance: Alive // Well makes you gain 2 life for each creature you control. Tapping Selvala adds one green mana to your mana pool, ...
1
vote
1answer
259 views

Can I use Plaxcaster Frogling to temporarily shut off Species Gorger's ability?

I'm currently working on a deck which is built around Species Gorger and its ability to return creatures I control to my hand. In order to make my deck work as intended, I need a way to "turn off" or ...
1
vote
1answer
327 views

Will Aegis of the Gods negate my opponent's Erebos, God of the Dead for me?

I am playing a life gain deck and I find that if an opponent plays Erebos, God of the Dead my deck is ruined because of its effect "your opponents can't gain life." If I run Aegis of the Gods, whose ...
0
votes
1answer
115 views

What's the name of the type of expansion set “packs” that MTG players can buy at release events?

I've heard that MTG vendors can have release events for expansion sets. During these events, players can spend a relatively small amount (say, $20 bucks) and get a collection of cards from that set ...
1
vote
1answer
169 views

In multiplayer, does Dictate of Erebos still take effect if the combat that kills its owner's creature defeats the owner?

I was playing a 4 way standard multiplayer match. One player had 3/3 on the field, and Dictate of Erebos which says: Whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature. I ...
5
votes
1answer
638 views

When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?

My friend has been playing a sliver commander deck and uses Root Sliver which is a thorn in the side of my control. Lets say I have an instant in my had that can destroy the Root Sliver and a counter ...
3
votes
2answers
556 views

Forests you control vs Forests in play

I was playing MTG with a friend last night when we had a slight disagreement about the wording of some cards. Sometimes cards will be marked as having a special ability "for each forest you control" ...
4
votes
3answers
411 views

Dictate of Erebos and Undercity Informer stack question

Situation: My opponent has Dictate of Erebos out ("Whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature."). He then attacks me with one of his creatures; I defend, killing his ...
-4
votes
1answer
276 views

When a card asks you to flip a coin is it against the rules to use a two headed coin?

I know in a casual setting it's probably considered unsportsmanlike conduct, but let's say I was in some sort of tournament and I played a card that said I have to flip a coin. Would a judge issue me ...
3
votes
1answer
455 views

Do creatures come into play tapped if they come into play at the same time as a card which says “Creatures come into play tapped”?

An example situation : Living Death resolves while there is a Urabrask the Hidden in my graveyard and another creature in my opponent's graveyard. Urabrask says "Creatures your opponents control ...
5
votes
2answers
341 views

Do MTG Core sets contain new (never before seen) cards? How does this compare with expansion sets?

(I clearly didn't format my prior question appropriately so I'll rephrase things). Do MTG Core sets contain new (never before seen) cards? Or is it just cards for the prior year's expansion set? ...
2
votes
2answers
223 views

Priorities at End of Turn

So I announce the end of my turn. My opponent responds with a lightning bolt to my head. It resolves so I take 3. Do I still have priority to do something else, eg to play instants that says do ...
3
votes
1answer
242 views

Will Yixlid Jailer negate Snapcaster Mage's flashback-giving ability?

Yixlid Jailer makes all cards in graveyard lose their abilities while Snapcaster Mage giveths a card in graveyard the flashback ability. In this scenario, Yixlid Jailer's ability prevails, correct? ...
1
vote
1answer
135 views

Could Cemetery Puca copy a Primordial Hydra?

If I kill my opponents 4/4 Primordial Hydra, will I be able to use my Cemetery Puca's activated ability on the Hydra, and have it become a 4/4 Primordial Hydra, or will my Puca die because the Hydra ...
1
vote
1answer
98 views

When do static bonuses go away relative to damage dealt?

I use Radiant Archangel in a deck full of flying creatures. It is a 3/3 flyer with +1/+1 for each other flying creature in play. During a game, I had seven other flying creatures, making it a 10/10. ...
7
votes
2answers
881 views

Does a +1/+1 counter remove a -1/-1 counter?

My opponent controls a Kulrath Knight. I control a 4/4 creature (with a -1/-1 counter on it, due to an earlier cast Black Sun's Zenith). If I use an ability to put a +1/+1 counter on my 4/4 ...
2
votes
1answer
157 views

Are expansion sets in magic designed for use with specific deck archetypes?

I'm new to Magic so apologies in advance if this is an obvious question: Are expansion sets designed to accommodate any/all deck archetypes? For example, my current play style gravitates towards red ...
1
vote
1answer
103 views

When do transformed creatures go back to their original forms?

It's not clear to me from reading Double-Faced Card Rules: do transformed creatures revert back to their original type automatically? And if so, when? End of your turn or beginning of your next turn?
6
votes
5answers
894 views

Why would I want to use the activated ability of “Scalding Tarn”?

I think I'm missing something here. I thought that land cards that have two colors at the bottom mean that they can be used as land for either of the colors. Take for example Scalding Tarn: It ...
4
votes
2answers
716 views

Do gods keep their +1/+1 counters if they stop being creatures? [duplicate]

Do counters added to a god with Gleam of Battle disappear when the god stops being a creature? Scenario: Purphoros, God of the Forge is a creature (due to devotion reaching the required amount) and ...
0
votes
2answers
123 views

Celestial Flare Question declaring blockers

Celestial Flare is an instant that says: Target player sacrifices an attacking or blocking creature. Suppose the instant is played on on the attacking player after the defending player has ...
4
votes
1answer
355 views

Can a red spell (Sorcery, Instant, etc) affect a green creature?

I have a red/green deck. Can I use my red spells on my green creatures, and my green spells on my red creatures? I am fairly new to MtG so I am sorry if this appears as a sort of nooby question.
2
votes
1answer
135 views

How is Test of Faith resolved with multiple blockers?

As an extension of this related question, how is Test of Faith resolved in a situation where this instant is cast on one of multiple blocking creatures assigned to a single attacking creature? Let: ...
5
votes
3answers
323 views

Which is authoritative: Ban List or Gatherer?

I built me a comannder deck for Athreos, God of Passage. I did some searching for ways to get card draw (because I was running out of cards) and one of the card I looked at was Yawgmoth's Bargain. ...
3
votes
1answer
302 views

Abilities that need a name and unnamed tokens

I am fairly sure on this one, but I wanted to ask to be really sure. Say I have Secrets of Paradise and a deck with a lot of Rousing of Souls. Am I right in thinking that because the tokens made ...
7
votes
1answer
332 views

Drawing and going first

In what scenarios or formats can a player draw even when they are going first? For example: I usually play that if there are more than 2 teams (each team having 1 or more players) then the first team ...
4
votes
1answer
316 views

Can I activate the tap ability of a creature summoned last turn before I have to remove it to my hand?

We had this situation come in a game last night, and I wanted to make sure that we played it correctly and that I understood the rules. Player A had an Eiganjo Free-Riders in play. During this turn, ...
2
votes
2answers
327 views

Cards entering the battlefield simultaneously and “Enter the Battlefield” effects

I was playing modern with the owner of a shop. He played a Scapeshift which he used to bring in 7 lands: 5 basic mountains and 2 Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle cards. He then claimed that each Valakut ...
5
votes
2answers
365 views

Stifling a storm card

Can I play Stifle on the storm trigger on cards like Grapeshot to prevent any copies from being made?
1
vote
1answer
147 views

Wall of Frost vs a cyphered Hidden Strings

My mate just attacked with 2 creatures. One is unblockable and has Hidden Strings as a cypher on it. The other has been blocked by Wall of Frost, which now doesn't untap next untap step. Can hidden ...
5
votes
2answers
251 views

What happens when I redirect multiple large sources of damage through the en-Kor ability to Mogg Maniac?

The situation is this: I control a Shaman en-Kor and a Nomads en-Kor and a Mogg Maniac. During my opponent's turn, I cast Inferno, dealing 6 damage to all creatures and all players. Is it possible ...
3
votes
1answer
165 views

Can Grave Betrayal give me a Mutavault?

Would Grave Betrayal give me a Mutavault? I'm guessing no, but enough rules have changed since Onslaught that I'm not going to guess.
7
votes
2answers
2k views

How do you run a short multiplayer Conspiracy draft tournament?

There is a new set in Magic the Gathering coming out, called Conspiracy. Conspiracy is a set specifically designed for drafting, and notably, multiplayer games. My question revolves around how to ...
2
votes
1answer
276 views

Pyxis of Pandemonium and 'enters the battlefield' abilities

My question about Pyxis of Pandemonium is: When all of the cards are finally turned face up, what determines the order in which their "when X enters the battlefield..." effects resolve?
1
vote
1answer
144 views

Vastwood hydra + Cathars' Crusade + Mercy Killing

I have a question about a combat trick involving the cards mentioned in the Title. Situation is: I control a 4/4 Kalonian Hydra and a 4/4 Vastwood Hydra. I also have Cathars' Crusade on the ...
0
votes
1answer
117 views

Reverse the Sands and Sanguine Bond

If I have Sanguine Bond on the battlefield, and I play Reverse the Sands, will the redistribution of life trigger Sanguine Bond if I choose to distribute less life to my opponent than he originally ...