Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

8
votes
3answers
397 views

How does one evaluate the “strength” of a hand in Magic the Gathering?

In MTG (or other games), if one player is dealt a strong hand, and the other a weak one, the first player is likely to win. Unless, of course, the first player plays much worse or is unlucky during ...
5
votes
2answers
599 views

MTG Conspiracy cards allowed in modern

So I always thought that the Conspiracy set was allowed in Modern Format but I recently discovered that there are 65 cards that are not allowed. Can any give me a list or a link for a list of the ...
6
votes
1answer
231 views

MTG Cards that interact with each other by name

So I know that Bogbrew Witch, Festering Newt and Bubbling Cauldron all name each other in their rules text and I was wondering if there are any other cards that do this as well. How can I find more ...
0
votes
1answer
134 views

Can a blocking creature fight? How is damage dealt if it dies? [duplicate]

As the title says, can a blocking creature fight? If so, what happens if the blocking creature dies before damage is dealt? How would damage be dealt during combat? Example: Creature A is a 2/2 and ...
2
votes
2answers
370 views

How does Life and Limb interact with Conspiracy

I control a Sporesower Thallid, Retreat to Emeria and a Kalastria Healer. Then I play Conspiracy and I choose Ally as Creature type. Then I play Life and Limb. Now my questions are: 1) Will future ...
1
vote
2answers
331 views

How 'hard' is a Mindslaver lock?

This is a Mindslaver Lock. Mindslaver controls an opponent's next turn — all actions and decision-making, short of conceding outright — completely. Ten mana (produced by the double-tower ...
6
votes
1answer
246 views

What counters can be attached to a player?

Steady Progress allows you to choose any player, and put another counter on them, of a type that already is on them. I am only aware of poison counters on players. Are there others?
5
votes
2answers
456 views

Does Laboratory Maniac's ability cause me to win before state-based actions are triggered?

The situation: I have 9 poison counters and no card in my library, and I control a Laboratory Maniac. I cast Steady Progress, and I choose to proliferate the poison counters on me. Do I win the game ...
2
votes
1answer
263 views

Would this hypothetical rule change ever matter?

One of Magic the Gathering's rules is 104.3f If a player would both win and lose the game simultaneously, he or she loses the game. . However, it seems to me like it "ought to be" the case that ...
7
votes
2answers
411 views

Damage distribution with Banding and Trample

This actually pertains to a deck I played long (about 15 years) ago, but I've always wondered as to the correct ruling. The deck in question had lots of banding and trample creatures, so that in the ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

In Magic, is the player going first advantaged?

It seems to me that the player going first has a considerable advantage in the game. How does the game balance that out for the player going second? I'm new to the game, there might be something I'm ...
4
votes
2answers
218 views

Clarification of “spirits” on “Devouring Greed” card

Devouring Greed states: As an additional cost to cast Devouring Greed, you may sacrifice any number of Spirits. Target player loses 2 life plus 2 life for each Spirit sacrificed this way. You gain ...
3
votes
1answer
133 views

Is 'Enchantment Creature' a creature type?

I'm specifically looking at interactions with Descendant's Path. If I have an enchantment creature on the battlefield, let's say Aegis of the Gods, and then Descendants' Path reveals Agent of ...
2
votes
0answers
83 views

How much mana should I put in my deck? [duplicate]

How much mana should I put in a deck with Mountains and Forests? How much of each? I counted the mana in my black deck to see how much I need, but I still don't know.
11
votes
1answer
312 views

Rally The Ancestors and 3 Lilianas

I cast Rally The Ancestors and bring back 3 Liliana, Heretical Healer and 2 Jace Vryn's Prodigy and 1 Clever Impersonator from the graveyard. How many zombie tokens can I get? Am I allowed to make the ...
2
votes
3answers
321 views

Does Aligned Hedron Network exile creatures that enter after it does?

In conjunction to my previous question here, I created some confusion for myself. I want to know how this scenario would pan out: My opponent casts 2-3 huge creatures (say Eldrazi Devastator, Ruin ...
10
votes
1answer
327 views

Are duel deck pairs always released with an even chance of winning?

My friends and I have acquired some of the recent duel decks over time — Heroes vs Monsters, Zendikar vs Edrazi, Elspeth vs Kiora, and Speed vs Cunning. We've tried each of them a few times, ...
1
vote
1answer
137 views

Multiplayer Rules Considering Enchantments

Rule 810.5 about the Two-Headed Giant game variant says: 810.5. With the exception of life total and poison counters, a team’s resources (cards in hand, mana, and so on) are not shared in the ...
3
votes
2answers
771 views

Does Void Winnower prevent casting spells for even alternative mana costs?

I was talking to a friend who said he played a game of Magic over the weekend. He said his opponent played a Void Winnower but it was okay because he was holding a Sheer Drop in hand. When the Void ...
2
votes
1answer
444 views

Aligned Hedron Network and Ulamog's Despoiler

If I was to use Aligned Hedron Network against an Eldrazi deck to exile big creatures, am I then able to send these creatures to the graveyard with the likes of Ulamog Despoiler to give him the 4 ...
0
votes
1answer
145 views

Will combat damage trigger fight abilities? [duplicate]

I've seen questions about if fighting damage is combat damage, but I don't think this is the same thing. The other questions I saw were asking if fight damage will trigger combat abilities. They say ...
1
vote
1answer
179 views

How does Paranoid Delusions work with Ingest

Lets say I've ciphered Paranoid Delusions on a Mist Intruder and successfully deal combat damage to a player, which card would get exiled and which go to the graveyard? Does the first card on the ...
7
votes
1answer
611 views

Fight and first strike

I was playing a game earlier and my opponent had a Drana, Liberator of Malakir that was a 4/3 and wanted to use a sorcery to fight Kozilek's Channeler that was a 4/4. We were wondering if the ...
6
votes
1answer
907 views

If I activate Shambling Vent's ability after it has been 'awakened', what happens at the end of the turn?

Let's say I control a Shambling Vent and then cast a spell with Awaken 3, targeting the Vent. The Shambling Vent becomes a 0/0 Land Creature - Elemental with 3 +1/+1 counters on it, no problem there. ...
5
votes
1answer
952 views

Is there a card that cancels the Legendary Rule?

For example, I am wanting to make token copies of a legendary creature such as Progenitus using something like Progenitor Mimic. I know this is illegal by itself, but does there exist a card that ...
6
votes
1answer
167 views

Creature with equipment attached is returned to owner's hand

If a creature has equipment attached, what happens to the equipment if this creature is returned to the owner's hand? Does it: Return to the owner's hand as well? Go to the graveyard? Remain on the ...
3
votes
3answers
940 views

How does Combat Damage Work with Undergrowth Champion?

Undergrowth Champion is a 2/2 creature with an ability that reads: If damage would be dealt to Undergrowth Champion while it has a +1/+1 counter on it, prevent that damage and remove a +1/+1 ...
3
votes
1answer
149 views

Stacking Sensei's Divining Top Abilities

I believe it is possible, but I am asking for confirmation: Can you activate Sensei's Divining Top's first ability, and then, in response, activate the second ability, allowing you to draw a card, put ...
6
votes
3answers
328 views

Will Endless One still enter with X +1/+1 counters while Humility's in play?

Humility says "all creatures lose all abilities and have base power and toughness 1/1" and Endless One comes into play with X +1/+1 counters. According to a comment in How to understand Humility once ...
9
votes
1answer
491 views

Will Myth Realized still become an X/X when Humility's in play?

Humility says "all creatures lose all abilities and have base power and toughness 1/1" and Myth Realized is an enchantment that can become a creature with P/T equal to the number of lore counters on ...
1
vote
1answer
205 views

Can you choose how to sacrifice a creature if you are forced to? [duplicate]

If an opponent, or anything else, makes me sacrifice a creature, and I have a Blood Host or something similar, can I choose to sacrifice the creature with the Blood Host?
1
vote
2answers
215 views

Multiple blockers and trample

I just thought about the fact that you can deal as much damage to one creature when multiple blocked So lets say I have an 8/8 with trample I attack with it Im blocked by a 1/1 a 2/2 and a 3/3 ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Does a God's own mana cost count towards its own devotion?

I'm quite new to playing MtG, and had a question about Erebos, God of the Dead. It needs five devotion (5 black mana on permanents on your field) to be able to be used as a creature (attack/block). ...
2
votes
2answers
233 views

When does showing a card in hand become free information?

Say I'm playing a game, and I start to cast a spell at the wrong time (e.g. an enchantment when I could only cast an instant). As I reveal the spell, an opponent points out that it's an enchantment ...
3
votes
1answer
640 views

Can an illegal target that will become a legal target before the spell resolves be targeted?

The interaction I'm wondering about is between Bounding Krasis, Harbinger of the Tides, and Collected Company. As a part of Collected Company's resolution, two creatures may enter the battlefield at ...
5
votes
3answers
209 views

How do I create an account with Wizards of the Coast if I have a very old DCI number without activation code?

During Battle for Zendikar prerelease yesterday I played my first "real cards" MTG tournament since GP Vienna around 2003-ish. Now I learned that there is now a DCI website where you can look up your ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I choose not to fly?

In Magic: The Gathering, can I choose not to use the "flying" ability of a creature when attacking (so that it can be blocked by non-flying creatures)?
13
votes
3answers
316 views

What do I do if mandatory actions will inherently take a very long time to resolve? (Splinter Twin + Tyrant of Discord example)

Basically, if a game is already out of time, and we're within the resolution of a stack, yet the resolution will take an obnoxiously long time, what would the ruling be in a competitive environment ...
6
votes
1answer
545 views

Clever Impersonator copying Liliana Heretical Healer

I'm copying my opponent's non-transformed Liliana, Heretical Healer with Clever Impersonator. Then one of my other creatures dies. Does my Clever Impersonator come back as Liliana non-transformed ...
0
votes
1answer
111 views

Phasing vs Tribute

Does phasing allow for a Tribute to trigger twice, since the creature continues to re-enter the battle field? For example, if I enchant my Nessian Wilds Ravager with Vanishing, does this mean that my ...
0
votes
0answers
55 views

Urge to Feed rules [duplicate]

In regards to Urge to Feed, lets say I play urge to feed can i tap a creature i just played? Or does summoning sickness apply to that creature? Summoning sickness implies I can't tap creature to ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

How does Void Winnower affect face down spells and creatures?

Void Winnower says Your opponents can't cast spells with even converted mana costs. (Zero is even) Your opponents can't block with creatures with even converted mana costs. If I control a ...
6
votes
1answer
590 views

Does Void Winnower prevent my opponent from casting X spells with even base converted mana cost?

The part of Void Winnower's text that is relevant is Your opponents can't cast spells with even converted mana costs. (Zero is even) I know that when checking the converted mana cost of a card ...
1
vote
2answers
491 views

Who wins when everyone takes lethal damage simultaneously?

I am building an edh deck for about 5 dollars and was wondering, If I cast Sickening Dreams dealing more than enough damage to kill my opponent and I at the same time, who wins?
7
votes
2answers
512 views

Casting a spell after a spell resolves?

My question has to do with Ravenous trap. Say my opponent casts Thought Scour targeting themselves. Once the spell resolves they have two cards + thought scour itself in the graveyard this turn. I ...
6
votes
1answer
286 views

Hypergenesis vs Containment Priest - How does it resolve?

In an upcoming Legacy event near my residence, a friend of mine intends to play using an Hypergenesis deck. However, recently we have a certain abundance of Containment Priests in our region. This ...
0
votes
1answer
231 views

What is the name of this red creature card

In Magic the Gathering I played a guy that was using a mono - red goblin deck which exploited Impact Tremors ability with a certain creature that "blinks" out of the game when another spell is cast ...
4
votes
2answers
241 views

Can you Swerve Bioshift?

Since Bioshift targets a creature, THEN another one for the recipient of the counters, can I use Swerve to change the target? If so, which target can it be, the first or the second, or any?
3
votes
1answer
283 views

MTG: Sideboard if maindeck has more than 60 cards

I did some calculation and found out, that my Living End deck (modern) might be better of with 66 cards maindeck. SB still contains of 15 cards. Depending on the match up, I'd like to cut my deck for ...
0
votes
2answers
150 views

Cloudshifting Angel of Serenity in the middle of combat

I have a very specific situation in mind. My friend attacks me with some flying creatures, one of which is Angel of Serenity. Before I declare blockers, I cast a Moonmist and an Atarka's Command ...