Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

7
votes
2answers
945 views

Mystery cards in Magic 2015 card list

If you look at the full card list for Magic 2015, at Gatherer or elsewhere, you'll see a bunch of cards listed with collectors number 270-284. What are these cards, and why are they listed as being ...
4
votes
2answers
341 views

Does “other” refer to that particular instance or all cards of the same name?

For example Chief of the Edge has the ability: Other Warrior creatures you control get +1/+0. So I understand that it would definitely affect Avalanche Tusker. But if I play another Chief of the ...
0
votes
2answers
189 views

What does “each other player” mean on Unwinding Clock?

If I am playing a four man free for all, when do my artifacts untap using Unwinding Clock's ability? I'm having trouble understanding. The card says "each other player". If I am player one, are ...
-3
votes
1answer
109 views

Magic the gathering deck foundation [duplicate]

I have 800 cards dated between 2004 up to 2011.... Is it cool to to build a deck from a variety of sets? Trying to get into mtg and need a boost of knowledge.
2
votes
1answer
608 views

What happens to cards cast from exile?

There are a few cards that allow you to exile cards and then cast them later (Narset, Enlightened Master for example). After a spell cast this way resolves, does it go back into exile, or does it ...
3
votes
1answer
792 views

Does Sarkhan, the Dragonspeaker's first ability trigger “enters the battlefield” effects? [duplicate]

Sarkhan, the Dragonspeaker has the ability [+1]: Until end of turn, Sarkhan, the Dragonspeaker becomes a legendary 4/4 red Dragon creature with flying, indestructible, and haste. (He doesn't lose ...
2
votes
2answers
209 views

Statistics on a booster pack (to make my own re-packs)

I have a lot of magic cards. For constructed play they are mostly worthless. I would like to pack these up into re-packs that are like booster packs. But I am not sure what cards go into a booster ...
-1
votes
1answer
118 views

Order of multiple triggered abilities [duplicate]

What happens if two of my creatures, have triggered abilities, which trigger on attack, in what order it resolves? For example I have on board Prognostic Sphinx and Narset, Enlightened Master, and ...
6
votes
3answers
851 views

What happens if I have two Pledges of Loyalty attached to a creature?

Let's say, I only have Ersatz Gnomes (1/1 Artifact Creature) with Pledge of Loyalty on it. Since the Pledge is my only colored permanent, it will grant the Gnomes protection from white. If I now use ...
10
votes
1answer
577 views

Can you cast a creature with Bestow while you control a Steel Golem?

You control a Steel Golem, which says "you can't cast creature spells". Can you pay the Bestow cost on, say, a Hopeful Eidolon, and cast it as an aura enchanting the Steel Golem? My reading of the ...
3
votes
2answers
617 views

Why do some decks run only one of a card? [duplicate]

This Death and Taxes deck, for example, has 1x Cavern of Souls, 1x Horizon Canopy, and 1x Ancient Den. Since it's a 60 card deck the odds of drawing any one of them is 1/60. ie. quite slim. So why do ...
0
votes
1answer
92 views

Resolving triggered abilities [duplicate]

I control the following two enchantments: Bottomless Pit and Necrogen Mists. At the beginning of my opponent's upkeep do I get to choose which one of the triggered abilities that goes on the stack ...
5
votes
1answer
459 views

What effect does Coat of Arms have on face-down creatures?

I was playing a Sliver deck vs a co-worker today, and he played an illusion deck with Ixidron. I was having a hard time grasping how Coat of Arms would work with Ixidron turning everything face down. ...
1
vote
1answer
143 views

Can Ink Treader Nephilim's Electrolyze copies target players?

I am curious if the Electrolyze copies created by targeting Ink-Treader Nephilim can be aimed at players for 1 point of damage or if all the damage must go to the creatures that Inky specifies the ...
5
votes
2answers
671 views

Can my opponent and I decide on a victory condition to avoid a draw?

Say I'm playing against a player and we finish game 2 with 5 minutes left in the round. If we draw, both of us will be knocked down, and most likely neither will be eligible for prizes. I know ...
-2
votes
1answer
74 views

Looking for a specific playmat [closed]

I was at the prerelease this weekend and someone had a mat that a friend of mine mentioned that he wanted. I tried some googling, but didn't have much success and was hoping someone here might ...
4
votes
1answer
85 views

Are there cards which work differently on Ink-Treader Nephilim depending on who controls it?

Are there any cards I could play on Ink-Treader Nephilim that would act differently based on who had control of the creature, for that matter, are there any cards in the game that do this at all?
5
votes
3answers
859 views

What Mana Fixing should I use in Khans of Tarkir Sealed Format?

How do you know how much banners do you place in your deck? I've been practicing with this sealed pool generato link, and on average, I get 1 Wedge Land, and 2-3 Heal Lands. Is that enough mana ...
3
votes
1answer
128 views

Can I use Mirror Strike on Ink-treader Nephilim when it's not attacking?

So I am making an EDH deck featuring Ink-Treader Nephilim (yes I know its not legendary but the deck will be like five bucks to make and I'm sure someone will want to play with it). As I am looking up ...
2
votes
2answers
265 views

Can I use tokens and basic lands from outside my format?

This may sound like a noob question but I cannot find answer anywhere and I still learning all new stuff since I last played so I will ask here. What does the rules say about using non-format tokens ...
0
votes
2answers
243 views

Do “enter the battlefield” abilities trigger heroic? Do creatures that leave and reenter the battlefield trigger again?

So, here's the play: Player 1 has Staunch-Hearted Warrior on the field. They play Living Totem and target the warrior, giving the warrior a +1/1 counter. Question 1: Would Living Totem's ability ...
0
votes
2answers
136 views

Are there any resources available for building custom battle decks?

I work with a group of people who frequently like to play table top games and the like during lunch hour, and I've been wanting to play some M:TG. The problem though, is that Only myself and one ...
1
vote
2answers
420 views

How does Rageblood Shaman's ability work?

How does the static ability of e.g. Rageblood Shaman work? The wording is "Other Minotaur creatures you control get +1/+1 and have trample. " The questions I have are: a) If Rageblood Shaman is on ...
3
votes
2answers
327 views

How can I remove a Darksteel Citadel animated by Nissa, Worldwaker?

After the coming rotation with Khans of Tarkir being released, will there be any way to remove from the battlefield a Darksteel Citadel that has been turned into a creature by Nissa, Worldwaker's ...
-1
votes
1answer
150 views

Is older MTG Online client not supported any more?

I have both older MTG Online III (version 3.4.82.414) and the very latest MTG Online client installed. The older one fails when running both Kicker.exe or Renamer.exe since it tries to reach which ...
2
votes
1answer
460 views

How to build decks with cards not present in my MTG Online collection

Previously in MTG Online was possible to build decks with cards not present in your collection. This is not possible any more in the latest MTG Online client. Can someone advice on how I can build a ...
1
vote
1answer
131 views

Is it possible to determine the exact probability of getting a card in a pack?

I am building a draft cube and cannot decide how many of a certain card I should put into it. Is there anyway to know exactly how likely a specific card is so that I can attempt to duplicate the ...
2
votes
2answers
259 views

Is there an official rule on “setting up” your deck before play? [duplicate]

It never occured to me that this might not be an action sanctioned for tournament, but me and my friends have always done it as long as I can remember. Every time before a new game, we look through ...
0
votes
2answers
135 views

Where are official changes announced by Wizard? [duplicate]

At events and on conversation boards everyone is has stated that as Khans comes out M14 and the Return to Ravnica block is going to be rotating out of standard. I can't find any reason this would ...
1
vote
1answer
452 views

How do I know what cards or sets are legal to play with? [duplicate]

Can I mix older Magic the Gathering cards with cards from Magic 2015? If I have mainly Magic 2015 cards can I play my friends who mainly have older decks?
5
votes
1answer
431 views

How does Gideon, Champion of Justice's ability work?

Say I use Gideon, Champion of Justice's second ability to turn him into a creature: 0: Until end of turn, Gideon, Champion of Justice becomes a Human Soldier creature with power and toughness each ...
8
votes
1answer
4k views

Does killing a face-down morph trigger the death triggers printed on the card?

Consider a card like Ashcloud Phoenix (or, for that matter, any card with a death triggers that's turned face down by an Ixidron). When Ashcloud Phoenix dies, return it to the battlefield face ...
-6
votes
1answer
125 views

Where can I buy Magic: The Gathering cards? [closed]

Are there web sites where I can buy cards from Magic: The Gathering? I want to buy the Exalted Darkness and Dream Puppets decks from the Xbox 360 version of Magic: The Gathering 2013.
0
votes
1answer
123 views

Can players use cards from a core set in a Block Constructed tournament?

What are the rules regarding playing DCI sanctioned Block Constructed formats with cards from a core set such as M15? (I'm thinking of Innistrad-Avacyn Restored block). Do all players in a game have ...
5
votes
1answer
637 views

Why is Morph not considered an ability?

Reading FAQs concerning Muraganda Petroglyphs and morph cards, a face down morph creature will get the +2/+2 bonus from Muraganda Petroglyphs. What I don't understand is why. Since the face down ...
4
votes
2answers
280 views

Gaining control of a creature while an Aura targeting it is on the stack

It's my opponent turn. I have Prophet of Kruphix on the battlefield, which means I can play creatures as though they had flash. My opponent plays Boonweaver Giant and chooses Spectra Ward, which ...
3
votes
1answer
255 views

Will Repercussion deal damage to a controller beyond a creature's toughness?

Repercussion's text reads as follows: Whenever a creature is dealt damage, Repercussion deals that much damage to that creature's controller. So: if, for example, a 1/1 creature is dealt 10 ...
2
votes
1answer
284 views

Would stealing control of my opponent's commander with Control Magic and killing it let me maintain control of it?

If I played Control Magic and enchanted Marath, Will of the Wild, then took off the 3 counters, would Marath return to my opponent's command zone or would I retain control and have the option of ...
1
vote
2answers
121 views

Polymorphous Rush targeting Young Pyromancer and X Tokens

If I cast Polymorphous Rush targeting X tokens, turning them all into copies of a Young Pyromancer, do I get an elemental token from each copy, similar to Scapeshift with Valakut on the battlefield?
2
votes
2answers
251 views

Do deathtouch and deathtouch-like effects stop trample damage?

My friend has a trample deck, and I have a Stinkweed Imp that says "Whenever Stinkweed Imp deals combat damage to a creature, destroy that creature." Can a creature destroyed this way still deal ...
6
votes
2answers
698 views

Why did Experiment One not get a counter when my Undying creature returned to play?

Yesterday on MTGO an ability didn't trigger and I don't understand why. I had Experiment One in play, with one +1/+1 counter on it, so it was 2/2. Experiment One has Evolve (Whenever a creature ...
4
votes
1answer
236 views

Can a single Myr Servitor save itself when sacrificed to Eldrazi Monument?

I have Eldrazi Monument and Myr Servitor on the board. Is the following play legal? My upkeep begins. Eldrazi Monument and Myr Servitor trigger at the same time, so I put the Servitor's ability on ...
2
votes
2answers
248 views

Is it now a good time to buy rotating Magic Cards? [closed]

There are many cards from the RTR block and M14 that I want just for my collection and not for play (maybe just some casual play), for example, I would like to buy a Domri Rade and a Kalonian Hydra. ...
6
votes
2answers
768 views

How do I identify non-English Magic cards?

In my collection is a Magic card printed in a language other than English. How can I determine which card this is?
2
votes
1answer
224 views

Will Boartusk Liege give +1/+1 to Goblins if Dralnu's Crusade is in play?

Say I have Boartusk Liege and Dralnu's Crusade in play. Boartusk Liege gives all other red creatures +1/+1 and Dralnu's Crusade says "all Goblins are black and are Zombies in addition to their other ...
3
votes
1answer
427 views

In what order should I present the basics of Magic? [closed]

I am working on a multimedia presentation (a series of images with an audio of explanation; video can be used too but should be less than the images) about Magic The Gathering. The scope is to explain ...
2
votes
1answer
173 views

Stalling/Slow Play and Control

As a control player, there are times where it takes a while to resolve the first game, and there are many times where I'm up a game. Are there any rulings against stonewalling the opponent and not ...
-2
votes
1answer
74 views

What is the expansion symbol of Face the Hydra set?

What is the expansion symbol from the Face the Hydra set?
3
votes
3answers
438 views

If a single effect would destroy a permanent multiple times, can regeneration replace it?

Nancy controls a Runeclaw Bear enchanted by Hyena Umbra. Hyena Umbra has a regeneration shield, granted by Reknit. Anthony casts Planar Cleansing. This causes two replacement effects to apply. ...
0
votes
0answers
52 views

Do +1/+1 and -1/-1 counters remain on a god if it's not a creature [duplicate]

If I'm fighting a Keranos (or any god) and I give a creature infect to put -1/-1 counters on it, when Keranos ceases to be a creature due to devotion being so low, do those counters remain?