Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

9
votes
2answers
2k views

Can an opponent make me discard a Miracle card before I cast it, after it is revealed?

For example, if my hand is empty and I draw and reveal Temporal Mastery, can an opponent cast Funeral Charm and make me discard it before I have a chance to cast it for its Miracle Cost?
9
votes
2answers
998 views

Mistakes a beginner should avoid in Magic the Gathering with more than 2 players

I have been playing Magic the Gathering for several years now and I have a solid understanding of basic strategy and deck building. Until now I have only played against a single opponent. Magic the ...
9
votes
1answer
956 views

What happens if you steal an Elixir of Immortality and then use it?

In an EDH (Commander) game recently, Alice used Thada Adel, Acquisitor to steal an artifact out of Bob's deck, the Elixir of Immortality, and cast it. That artifact's ability says: {2}, {T}: You ...
9
votes
1answer
910 views

Does priority matter in Magic?

When does priority actually matter in magic? I have been playing Magic since Time Spiral and have never once seen the rules for priority matter. I've never heard a question from a player about a ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Can Conjurer's Closet be used to keep a stolen Commander?

We had this situation come up in a game last night, and we think we stumbled upon the right answer, but we're not sure. So, Player A's Commander (Sliver Overlord) was stolen by Player B using a ...
9
votes
2answers
694 views

When a creature is summoned but still on the stack is it considered a permanent?

Suppose I cast a creature spell, let's say Elvish Mystic. It enters the stack, then in response another player casts Counterspell targeting it. Could I, in response to that, cast Avoid fate or is the ...
9
votes
1answer
959 views

How big is a Consuming Aberration after it is stolen with Act of Treason?

Suppose I take a Consuming Aberration with an Act of Treason. Consuming Aberration says: Consuming Aberration's power and toughness are each equal to the number of cards in your opponents' graveyards. ...
9
votes
1answer
5k views

Does trample damage hurt players even if the creature dies?

I'm playing myself with two Avacyn Restored decks from a 6-booster sealed prerelease tournament, and wonder whether a 6/4 creature with trample blocked by a 4/1 creature would still allow damage ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

How to deal with damaged cards from a MTG booster pack?

I bought a Magic the Gathering display box today with cards from the new edition Innistrad. Unfortunately one of the cards in a booster pack was damaged. It is not just a simple scratch - one corner ...
9
votes
1answer
456 views

Is Bioshift affected by Doubling Season?

I just want to know if Bioshift is affected by Doubling Season. The text states that Bioshift moves counters from a target to another, but is that the same as "putting them on" a target?
9
votes
2answers
3k views

After using Act of Treason and Cloudshift, does a creature re-enter the battlefield under my control?

If player A has a creature, and then on player B's turn, he/she uses Act of Treason on it, and then Cloudshift, does that card, once it has been cloudshift-ed, return to the battlefield under the ...
9
votes
2answers
743 views

Do things on the stack or state-based effects resolve between first strike and normal combat damage?

I have two examples of different scenarios that are confusing to me. First, if I have a 1/1 creature with first strike and deathtouch, and my opponent blocks it with a 2/2 creature, will my creature ...
9
votes
2answers
5k views

How many of the same artifact can be on the battlefield at once?

How many of the same artifact can be on the battlefield at once? For example, could I play more than one Dragon's Claw or Angel's Feather?
9
votes
2answers
1k views

How do Captivating Vampire and Deadeye Navigator abilities interact?

In a recent casual game, an opponent controlled a Captivating Vampire and had enough untapped Vampire creatures in play to use its ability. I had a Deadeye Navigator on the battlefield, and on my ...
9
votes
3answers
5k views

How can I play around graveyard hate?

Graveyard-based strategies are common in casual and tournament MTG. The graveyard offers players easy ways to cheat on costs (e.g. Reanimator), grind out incremental advantage (e.g. Sun Titan decks, ...
9
votes
8answers
2k views

How fast can you win against a passive opponent in the Innistrad block format?

There have been legacy decks in the past that were able to win a game in the first round, without even giving your opponent a chance to act. I wonder how many rounds minimum it would take to win a ...
9
votes
2answers
967 views

What does an Evil Twin of an opponent's Essence of the Wild look like?

Let's say I have an Evil Twin entering the battlefield under my control, and my opponent controls an Essence of the Wild. I choose the Essence as the creature that the Twin will copy. When the Evil ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Does “Mountainwalk” imply “Snow-Covered Mountainwalk”?

If I am playing a deck with Snow-Covered Mountains, does a creature with Mountainwalk become unblockable or do they require Snow-Covered Mountainwalk (where "mountain" is interchangeable with plains, ...
9
votes
4answers
943 views

Is it legal to take advantage of my opponent's priority mistakes?

Suppose I attack with a creature with infect, and then my opponent tells me he won't block. My intent is to use Giant Growth on my infect creature regardless of whether or not my opponent blocks. ...
9
votes
1answer
228 views

MTG: Zegana, Mul Daya Channellers and Green Suns's Zenith

Suppose I have Mul Daya Channelers (only her) in play and have some creature on top of the library so Mul Daya is 5/5. Now I play Green Sun's Zenith and find Prime Speaker Zegana and put her into ...
9
votes
1answer
7k views

What is the resolution of tapping a blocking creature?

Let's say I have declared a blocker during the correct phase and during the activate abilities step I choose to tap the blocker to use its ability. All the abilities resolve and now we move to the ...
9
votes
1answer
896 views

How does Inquisitor's Flail interact with Trample?

Lets say I am attacking with a Runeclaw Bear with an Inquisitor's Flail equipped. My opponent uses a Runeclaw Bear of his own to block. I then use Kessig Wolf Run to give my creature +3/+0 and ...
9
votes
1answer
5k views

Can you activate an activated ability more than once per turn?

I am using the card Blood Bairn, which has the following activated ability: Sacrifice another creature: Blood Bairn gets +2/+2 until end of turn. I use my Blood Bairn in conjunction with ...
9
votes
1answer
4k views

Does Goblin Electromancer reduce both sides of a fused split card?

Does Goblin Electromancer reduce the cost of a fuse spell on both sides of the card? Would Turn // Burn be {1}{U}{R} to cast both sides?
9
votes
1answer
18k views

In Magic free-for-all multiplayer, what happens when someone dies? [duplicate]

In a free-for-all multiplayer Magic game, what happens when someone dies? Specifically: What happens to spells they've cast that are on the stack? What happens to enchantments they have cast onto ...
9
votes
2answers
4k views

What are the possible archetypes in Innistrad draft?

Assuming Innistrad-Innistrad-Innistrad in a booster draft, what are the potential archetypes a player could draft? For a reference, see Alex P's answer to another quetion here
9
votes
2answers
639 views

Do Friday Night Magic games count toward your DCI rating?

I've gone to a few FNM drafts, and it's structured as three qualifying matches, followed by a single-elimination tournament for the top 8. Do all these games affect your DCI rating?
9
votes
2answers
4k views

In EDH/Commander, what is the 'color identity' of a double-faced card?

The official deck construction rules for Commander (nee EDH) at http://mtgcommander.net/rules.php say that 'A card's colour identity is its colour plus the colour of any mana symbols in the card's ...
9
votes
1answer
173 views

Crimson Hellkite vs Telekinetic Sliver + Darkheart Sliver

If player A taps his Telekinetic Sliver to tap an opponent's Crimson Hellkite, the opponent can pay 2 red mana (he can pay X, but lets say he pays two) and tap the Crimson Hellkite to put the effect ...
9
votes
1answer
211 views

Are “permanently” gained abilities copiable?

So I haven't been quite able to comprehend how copy effects interact with stuff not printed on the card itself. What happens when a creature that was revived with Fated Return is then copied by, say, ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I pump my blocker after the attacker has chosen their order, before damage assignment?

The answer to this question about blockers and summoning sickness, reminded me of a seldom treaded area of the combat phase, which has caused confusion in a number of games. When blockers are ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Can ciphers be countered?

Can a cipher copy be countered by a counter spell? Or, since the card has been encoded to a creature, does it act more like an ability, and can only be countered by cards like Stifle and others like ...
9
votes
4answers
987 views

Software to search for MTG decks based on a list of cards

I haven't played MTG for a while, but I still own about 500 cards. Some of them were from pre-built decks, but now the cards are all randomized. I have the full inventory (quantity and name) on a ...
9
votes
1answer
404 views

When two card texts confict, which takes priority?

Let's suppose there are creatures in play and someone plays Humility. It's clear that all the creatures lose their abilities. How is this situation changed if True Conviction were in play? Is the ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Can I flicker Aurelia to get more than two attack phases?

Whenever Aurelia, the Warleader attacks for the first time each turn, untap all creatures you control. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase. If I attack with Aurelia once, ...
8
votes
10answers
2k views

Why do cards have different rarity levels in Magic: The Gathering?

I've been reflecting on this concept and trying to come up with a concise answer: Why do different levels of card rarity exist in MtG? In order for this concept of different numbers of different cards ...
8
votes
4answers
6k views

In plain English, how does casting spells and using creature abilities work with the stack and priority?

I'm a relatively new player to Magic: the Gathering. I was reading the expanded rules to try to understand exactly when it's okay to cast instants (e.g. Cancel) and use some abilities (e.g. Goblin ...
8
votes
3answers
7k views

Destroying a Planewalker before its ability is used

Say my opponent plays a planeswalker during their first main phase. I have a Hero's Downfall or some other effect that will kill it after it is already in play, but before they use any of its ...
8
votes
6answers
1k views

When should I add life gain cards to my deck in MTG?

One common mistake in MTG is to overvalue life-gain cards (at least in 2 player games) because they don't do anything to actually help you WIN the game, and only make you lose slower. This makes them ...
8
votes
3answers
7k views

Nivmagus and cipher card rulings

Well since the new set is available I was wondering the combo between Nivmagus Elemental and cipher cards[1]. So let's assume that Nivmagus is on the field then I cast a cipher spell from my hand can ...
8
votes
2answers
234 views

Identical creatures entering the battlefield

If I have two cards called Sin Collector in hand and I play my first, Sin Collector (A). I use its triggered ability. "When Sin Collector enters the battlefield, target opponent reveals his or her ...
8
votes
4answers
6k views

What general strategy exists for countering a white swarm/pump deck?

A white swarm/pump deck is a deck with a lot of small, inexpensive white creatures that are subsequently improved by enchantments such as Honor of the Pure or other bonuses. The goal of this deck is ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if a creature has no toughness defined?

I'm not sure that this is possible with current cards, but what happens if a card such as Tarmogoyf loses all abilities? A quick Gatherer search wasn't able to find any card that would make creatures ...
8
votes
2answers
344 views

How many is “A bunch”?

If someone has assembled the Deceiver Exarch/Splinter Twin combo, and they say "make a bunch of dudes and kill you", without telling me the number, what happens? The problem with asking him is that ...
8
votes
3answers
407 views

Where can I find a good source for standard decks in Magic: The Gathering?

I am just getting back into Magic: The Gathering, and I see a lot of people talking about specific decks, like CawBlade. So my question is two fold, is there someplace that lists what cards make up ...
8
votes
1answer
839 views

Perplexing Chimera + Hypnotic Siren. Do I control all of my opponent's spells?

Say I have a Perplexing Chimera. Text: Whenever an opponent casts a spell, you may exchange control of Perplexing Chimera and that spell. If you do, you may choose new targets for the spell. Then I ...
8
votes
2answers
704 views

When are suspend card counterable

When can you counter a suspend card (when it is suspended or when the final time counters get removed) and would I need to play a counterspell (counter a spell) or a stifle (counters an ability) to do ...
8
votes
2answers
653 views

Commander damage from Mimic Vat token?

I've exiled my commander using Mimic Vat. Do the tokens it creates from it deal commander damage?
8
votes
2answers
947 views

If I cast a spell that gives haste to all my creatures until end of turn, then cast a creature, will it gain haste?

For example, I play Goblin Lackey, then I use Burst of Speed and it gains haste. I attack with it and my opponent doesn't block. I put a Siege-Gang Commander due to Goblin Lackey's effect. Does the ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Do undying creatures get counters if I sacrifice them with Plaguemaw Beast?

I'm building a deck with undying creatures. Suppose I have a card named Plaguemaw Beast: What happens If I sacrifice a creature with undying? A. The creature returns and gets the 2 counters ...