Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

3
votes
2answers
290 views

sacred mesa and activated abilities between untap and upkeep

Sacred Mesa says "At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice Sacred Mesa unless you sacrifice a Pegasus." It also has an activated ability: 1W: Put a 1/1 white Pegasus creature token with flying ...
2
votes
1answer
384 views

Does heroic trigger when the creature is in a graveyard?

I have an Agent of the Fates in my graveyard. I return it to my hand with Disentomb. Does my opponent have to sacrifice a creature?
5
votes
2answers
247 views

What effect do Strionic Resonator and Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger have together?

If I have a Strionic Resonator and a Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger in play under my control, what will happen when I tap a land for mana, or when my opponent taps a land for mana?
3
votes
1answer
400 views

Will clone effects copy extra abilities applied to a creature? If not, why does Twinflame work?

Let's say my opponent has out Akroma's Memorial, Asceticism, Darksteel Forge, or something similar that uses the word "have" to give abilities. If I use a Clone effect to copy a creature my opponent ...
1
vote
1answer
111 views

Are there specific names for the signature images in the Ravnica guilds?

Each 2 colour combination has its own name and it's own picture used on cards that have both colours involved (generally in the background of the card text). Do the pictures themselves have a name ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Is there an easy way I can tell if a MTG card is “rare” just by looking at it?

I don't always have an internet connection to research the rarity of a MTG card. Is there an obvious indication of rarity on MTG cards themselves (other than foil)? Some sort of insignia? Or a class ...
4
votes
3answers
263 views

Will Eidolon of Rhetoric also prevent Cipher from working in the same turn as another spell?

Say Eidolon of Rhetoric is on the battlefield and an opponent has a Cipher card (Hidden Strings for example) encoded on one of their creatures. If that player casts a spell and then deals damage with ...
1
vote
1answer
259 views

Athreos, God of Passage and Gift of Immortality

With Gift of Immortality, if a creature is destroyed, it is returned to the battlefield and then at the next end phase Gift of Immortality is returned onto the creature. With Athreos, God of Passage, ...
6
votes
1answer
910 views

What happens when a creature with “Whenever a creature dies” dies simultaneously with multiple other creatures?

Marchesa, the Black Rose has the following ability: Whenever a creature you control with a +1/+1 counter on it dies, return that card to the battlefield under your control at the beginning of the ...
1
vote
1answer
222 views

If you block an attack, can the blocker be killed with an instant before you can sacrifice it?

Let's say I control a Brindle Boar. If I block an attacking Nessian Courser with it and then activate the ability of Brindle Boar, can my opponent interrupt it with say, a Shock to kill it before I ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

What color are Nissa, Worldwaker's lands?

Nissa, Worldwaker turns lands into 4/4 Elemental creatures. My question is... what color are these tokens? Are they green, the color that the land in question produces, or are they colorless since ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Are +1/+1 counters different from +1/+1 effects?

Is a +1/+1 counter I get from, say Unleash or Undying different than +1/+1 from something like Spear of Heliod or Master of Waves?
1
vote
2answers
556 views

polymorphist's jest and emrakul

Polymorphist's Jest says each creature target player controls loses all abilities and becomes a blue Frog with a base power and toughness 1/1. My question is... how would this work with Emrakul? Like ...
2
votes
1answer
274 views

You have to discard, but have no hand

If I play a spell that makes an opponent discard a card, but they have no hand, would they have to discard those cards from their library, or would nothing happen?
2
votes
2answers
718 views

How does Athreos, God of Passage respond to creature tokens?

If I have Athreos, God of Passage on the field and a creature token dies, does Athreos' effect trigger and they automatically lose three health because I can't return a token to my hand, or does it ...
4
votes
4answers
20k views

How Is the Magic Core Set 2015 “Deck Builder's Toolkit” Different From Other Core Set Offerings With Respect To Cards?

I'm getting ready to invest in the 2015 MTG Core Set and I'm confused by some of the offerings. What is the difference between: Magic: the Gathering - 2015 Core Set Deck Builder's Toolkit Magic: ...
1
vote
1answer
187 views

Phyrexian unlife and life gain

Phyrexian Unlife If your opponent has ten poison counters, he loses the game, so you just need to get your opponent to zero, then deal ten more damage to him. He'll take it in the form of poison ...
1
vote
2answers
103 views

Multiple stack abilities and casting spells in that time

My question is as follows: If I have multiple "At the beginning of your upkeep..." abilities, and I want to cast an instant spell or activate an ability during that time, can I cast the spell between ...
1
vote
2answers
721 views

When does Heroic trigger?

Suppose Player 1 controls a Favored Hoplite and casts Ordeal of Heliod targeting it. In response, player 2 casts Magma Jet on the Favored Hoplite. Does the Heroic trigger from Ordeal of Heliod happen ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Is there a limit to the number of special lands I can put in my deck, like the Temples?

I'm constructing a Deck and I want to make all the mana Temple Cards. More Specifically I want them to be Temple of Silence, Temple of Plenty, and Temple of Malady. Are these mana cards limited to ...
0
votes
2answers
229 views

Can Shapesharer copy an enters the battlefield ability, like Stoneforge Mystic's?

If I use Shapesharer to copy Stoneforge Mystic do I get to search my library for an Equipment card when I perform the copy?
3
votes
2answers
668 views

Are Magic: the Gathering Conspiracy cards colorless?

What is the color of the following Magic conspiracy cards: Advantageous Proclamation Backup Plan Brago's Favor Double Stroke Immediate Action Iterative Analysis Muzzio's Preparations Power Play ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

What's the technical term for the period of time between when an opponent concludes their turn and mine begins?

Apologies if this is poorly phrased. I'll try to make this as clear as possible... I recently realized that I can utilize the period of time between a players turn and my turn in Magic. What's the ...
2
votes
1answer
148 views

Exalted trigger timing

My opponent is playing an exalted deck and I am playing Pyxis of Pandemonium. The exalted text reads: Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, that creature gets +1/+1 until the end of the ...
1
vote
1answer
282 views

Does Prophet of Kruphix apply to Planeswalker abilities that create creatures?

The Prophet of Kruphix has the ability You may cast creature cards as if they had flash. Does this apply to the Loyalty ability Put three 1/1 white soldier creature tokens onto the ...
2
votes
1answer
130 views

Does Deserter's Quarters get overriden by Horizon Boughs?

In a game of Planechase, suppose we're on Horizon Boughs, which says: All permanents untap during each player's untap step. I have Deserter's Quarters out, tapped using its second ability to ...
2
votes
1answer
159 views

Can one use a Wordly Tutor to fetch Nylea, God of the Hunt

Worldly Tutor searches your library for a creature card. So could I find Nylea, God of the Hunt with it since Nylea is an Enchantment Creature?
1
vote
1answer
539 views

Do creatures summoned by a Planeswalker have summoning sickness?

Elspeth, Sun's Champion has a loyalty ability which says: Place three 1/1 white soldier creature tokens onto the battlefield. When this ability is activated, do these soldiers have summoning ...
2
votes
1answer
110 views

Is there a Standard card similar to Debt to the Deathless? [closed]

With M15 around the corner I need a standard card that has a similar effect as Debt to the Deathless. Does anyone know a white, black, or green standard set card that works like this?
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you sacrifice a creature that's in the middle of an attack?

Earlier tonight, I was playing magic. My opponent had a card out that allowed him to place a 2/2 goblin token on the board for every creature that made an attack. He also had one out that allowed him ...
3
votes
1answer
671 views

Does “Destroy all creatures with power 4 or greater” also affect *my* creatures?

Does "Destroy all creatures with power 4 or greater" also affect my creatures? I have a planeswalker card that has this ability; will it also kill my creatures? Also, this only affects creatures on ...
2
votes
1answer
409 views

Does Phantasmal Bear get sacrificed if its affected by spells or abilities that don't say 'target'?

Phantasmal Bear says that if it becomes the target of a spell or ability that it must be sacrificed. If I played Phantasmal Bear and later in the game played a creature that gave all of my other blue ...
6
votes
2answers
539 views

Why are Tabernacle at Pendrell Vale and Pendrell Mists worded differently?

Tabernacle says the following: All creatures have "At the beginning of your upkeep, destroy this creature unless you pay 1." Pendrell Mists says the following: All creatures have "At the ...
2
votes
2answers
252 views

Pandemonium and Muscle Sliver

Pandemonium is an enchantment that says "Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, that creature's controller may have it deal damage equal to its power to target creature or player of his or her ...
7
votes
4answers
349 views

How does the wording “for each” work?

Some cards in magic has something happen for each {something}. For instance: Alive // Well makes you gain 2 life for each creature you control. Tapping Selvala adds one green mana to your mana pool, ...
1
vote
1answer
271 views

Can I use Plaxcaster Frogling to temporarily shut off Species Gorger's ability?

I'm currently working on a deck which is built around Species Gorger and its ability to return creatures I control to my hand. In order to make my deck work as intended, I need a way to "turn off" or ...
1
vote
1answer
416 views

Will Aegis of the Gods negate my opponent's Erebos, God of the Dead for me?

I am playing a life gain deck and I find that if an opponent plays Erebos, God of the Dead my deck is ruined because of its effect "your opponents can't gain life." If I run Aegis of the Gods, whose ...
0
votes
1answer
116 views

What's the name of the type of expansion set “packs” that MTG players can buy at release events?

I've heard that MTG vendors can have release events for expansion sets. During these events, players can spend a relatively small amount (say, $20 bucks) and get a collection of cards from that set ...
1
vote
1answer
204 views

In multiplayer, does Dictate of Erebos still take effect if the combat that kills its owner's creature defeats the owner?

I was playing a 4 way standard multiplayer match. One player had 3/3 on the field, and Dictate of Erebos which says: Whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature. I ...
5
votes
1answer
655 views

When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?

My friend has been playing a sliver commander deck and uses Root Sliver which is a thorn in the side of my control. Lets say I have an instant in my had that can destroy the Root Sliver and a counter ...
3
votes
2answers
590 views

Forests you control vs Forests in play

I was playing MTG with a friend last night when we had a slight disagreement about the wording of some cards. Sometimes cards will be marked as having a special ability "for each forest you control" ...
4
votes
3answers
473 views

Dictate of Erebos and Undercity Informer stack question

Situation: My opponent has Dictate of Erebos out ("Whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature."). He then attacks me with one of his creatures; I defend, killing his ...
-4
votes
1answer
285 views

When a card asks you to flip a coin is it against the rules to use a two headed coin?

I know in a casual setting it's probably considered unsportsmanlike conduct, but let's say I was in some sort of tournament and I played a card that said I have to flip a coin. Would a judge issue me ...
3
votes
1answer
492 views

Do creatures come into play tapped if they come into play at the same time as a card which says “Creatures come into play tapped”?

An example situation : Living Death resolves while there is a Urabrask the Hidden in my graveyard and another creature in my opponent's graveyard. Urabrask says "Creatures your opponents control ...
5
votes
2answers
379 views

Do MTG Core sets contain new (never before seen) cards? How does this compare with expansion sets?

(I clearly didn't format my prior question appropriately so I'll rephrase things). Do MTG Core sets contain new (never before seen) cards? Or is it just cards for the prior year's expansion set? ...
2
votes
2answers
251 views

Priorities at End of Turn

So I announce the end of my turn. My opponent responds with a lightning bolt to my head. It resolves so I take 3. Do I still have priority to do something else, eg to play instants that says do ...
3
votes
1answer
270 views

Will Yixlid Jailer negate Snapcaster Mage's flashback-giving ability?

Yixlid Jailer makes all cards in graveyard lose their abilities while Snapcaster Mage giveths a card in graveyard the flashback ability. In this scenario, Yixlid Jailer's ability prevails, correct? ...
1
vote
1answer
143 views

Could Cemetery Puca copy a Primordial Hydra?

If I kill my opponents 4/4 Primordial Hydra, will I be able to use my Cemetery Puca's activated ability on the Hydra, and have it become a 4/4 Primordial Hydra, or will my Puca die because the Hydra ...
1
vote
1answer
104 views

When do static bonuses go away relative to damage dealt?

I use Radiant Archangel in a deck full of flying creatures. It is a 3/3 flyer with +1/+1 for each other flying creature in play. During a game, I had seven other flying creatures, making it a 10/10. ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Does a +1/+1 counter remove a -1/-1 counter?

My opponent controls a Kulrath Knight. I control a 4/4 creature (with a -1/-1 counter on it, due to an earlier cast Black Sun's Zenith). If I use an ability to put a +1/+1 counter on my 4/4 ...