Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

3
votes
1answer
165 views

Can Grave Betrayal give me a Mutavault?

Would Grave Betrayal give me a Mutavault? I'm guessing no, but enough rules have changed since Onslaught that I'm not going to guess.
7
votes
2answers
2k views

How do you run a short multiplayer Conspiracy draft tournament?

There is a new set in Magic the Gathering coming out, called Conspiracy. Conspiracy is a set specifically designed for drafting, and notably, multiplayer games. My question revolves around how to ...
2
votes
1answer
280 views

Pyxis of Pandemonium and 'enters the battlefield' abilities

My question about Pyxis of Pandemonium is: When all of the cards are finally turned face up, what determines the order in which their "when X enters the battlefield..." effects resolve?
1
vote
1answer
145 views

Vastwood hydra + Cathars' Crusade + Mercy Killing

I have a question about a combat trick involving the cards mentioned in the Title. Situation is: I control a 4/4 Kalonian Hydra and a 4/4 Vastwood Hydra. I also have Cathars' Crusade on the ...
0
votes
1answer
119 views

Reverse the Sands and Sanguine Bond

If I have Sanguine Bond on the battlefield, and I play Reverse the Sands, will the redistribution of life trigger Sanguine Bond if I choose to distribute less life to my opponent than he originally ...
2
votes
4answers
203 views

What are desirable planeswalker characteristics?

Some planeswalkers, such as Jace, Architect of Thought and Domri Rade have seen a lot of tournament play, while others, such as Gideon, Champion of Justice and Vraska the Unseen are rarely used in ...
5
votes
1answer
117 views

Platinum Emperion and Tree of Redemption

If I have a Platinum Emperion on the battlefield and I tap my Tree of Redemption, will the Tree still change it's toughness to my current life total, or will the Platinum Emperion negate that effect, ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Why is Sword of Body and Mind regarded as the weakest of the Swords?

Sword of Body and Mind is part of a 5-card cycle: Sword of Body and Mind Sword of War and Peace Sword of Feast and Famine Sword of Fire and Ice Sword of Light and Shadow All cards in this cycle ...
1
vote
2answers
171 views

Crypt Incursion stack help

So me and my mate are just looking for clarification about Crypt Incursion. For example, I play Crypt Incursion, targeting my graveyard. In response he plays Crypt Incursion and also wants to target ...
3
votes
1answer
170 views

Does double strike work whilst blocking?

I'm attacking with a 1/1 Satyr Grovedancer. My opponent blocks with a 1/2 Two-Headed Cerberus with double strike. Does double strike still apply when the creature is blocking? I understand my Satyr ...
3
votes
1answer
364 views

Can I tap a card after I assign it to block? [duplicate]

During the combat phase, after I assign a blocker, can I then tap that blocker for its activated ability? What would happen? For example, say that a 1/1 Saproling token equipped with Healer's Headress ...
1
vote
2answers
151 views

If I respond to a permanent resolving is it in play when my spell/ability resolves?

Lets say that at my opponent's end step I cast Bile Blight on his Pack Rat that he already has 3 of total on the field, then he activates the ability of pack rat in response, can I respond to the ...
10
votes
3answers
880 views

Grave Betrayal vs. Blightsteel Colossus

My opponent has to sacrifice a creature. He sacrifices a Blightsteel Colossus. I have Grave Betrayal on the battlefield. Will my opponent get to shuffle the colossus into his deck again, or will it ...
5
votes
1answer
144 views

Pharika's Mender, Gray Merchant of Asphodel, Rescue From The Underworld

I have an Elvish Mystic (EM) and Pharika Mender (PM) in my graveyard, and a Gray Merchant of Asphodel (GMOA)on the battlefield. At the end of my opponent's turn, I play Rescue from The Underworld ...
5
votes
2answers
429 views

How does Humility affect creatures with an Echo cost?

If I cast a card with Echo and Humility is in play do I still have to pay the echo cost?
4
votes
1answer
256 views

Can I activate mana abilities even if I don't need the mana?

Rule 605.3a says: A player may activate an activated mana ability whenever he or she has priority, whenever he or she is casting a spell or activating an ability that requires a mana payment, or ...
1
vote
1answer
138 views

How does Humility affect Bestowable creatures?

Humility says each creature loses it's abilities. So how does that work with bestowable creatures? Normally, for auras, as I understand it, it depends on the timestamp that the aura vs. the humility ...
9
votes
2answers
415 views

Do I draw a card if I enchant an opponent's Eidolon of Blossoms with Hypnotic Siren?

The situation is just as stated in the title: my opponent controls Eidolon of Blossoms: Whenever Eidolon of Blossoms or another enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, draw a card. ...
4
votes
2answers
546 views

Mana Ramp for White and Blue? [closed]

What are some ramp cards for White or Blue decks (excluding High Tide in Blue)? Formats: All excluding Vintage.
0
votes
2answers
1k views

What does Will of the Council do with 2 Players?

Will of the Council -- Starting with you, each player votes for X. The X with the most votes does YZ. What happens when you have only two players, therefore making it in some cases impossible for ...
4
votes
1answer
263 views

Can you dredge twice for one card draw?

Say I have two Life from the Loams in my graveyard. Can I dredge twice — once for each of the Life from the Loams — when drawing my first card on my turn? I assume the answer is no, but I figured I'd ...
1
vote
1answer
347 views

Permanent +1/+1, and −1/−1 until end of turn

As I understand things, if my Korozda Gorgon gives −1/−1 counter to a creature that has a +1/+1 counter on it, as a state-based effect the −1/−1 cancels one of the +1/+1 ...
3
votes
1answer
211 views

Improve the Power of creatures in the graveyard?

So I have a deck that relies a lot on the Scavenge1 mechanic, and I was wondering if there was a good, effective way to improve the Power of creatures in the graveyard, so that I get more +1/+1 ...
18
votes
2answers
2k views

Can non-creature permanents have +1/+1 counters?

Say I have a Blinkmoth Nexus and Steel Overseer out. I tap the Steel Overseer for his ability to put +1/+1 counters while my Blinkmoth is a creature, and it gains a counter. After my Blinkmoth goes ...
0
votes
1answer
233 views

Does Athreos work on countered or discarded creatures?

So I know that if I have Athreos, God of Passage on the field and a creature spell is countered, it still counts as dying and Athreos's effect still kicks in. I was told it's because the creature ...
5
votes
1answer
154 views

Unearth and Return-to-Hand costs

I have Sedris, the Traitor King on the battlefield and a Grinning Ignus in my graveyard. I use the unearth ability Sedris grants to unearth my Grinning Ignus. Can I activate the Grinning Ignus's ...
5
votes
1answer
994 views

Would Guttersnipe plus a cyphered card result in an infinite loop of damage?

Guttersnipe says: Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, Guttersnipe deals 2 damage to each opponent. Hidden Strings says: You may tap or untap target permanent, then you may tap or ...
1
vote
1answer
694 views

MTG: Can negative counters kill a creature?

I'm a MTG newbie and I have a question about some instant spells that add negative counters to a creature (for example, when this creature enters the battlefield, target creature gets -3/-3 until end ...
-4
votes
2answers
96 views

Can I transform Skinshifter twice in one turn?

Let's say that you have Skinshifter in play and your opponent attacks with a 3/3 token. You choose to block with Skinshifter and in response to the block, transform him into a 4/4 rhino creature with ...
9
votes
1answer
179 views

Are “permanently” gained abilities copiable?

So I haven't been quite able to comprehend how copy effects interact with stuff not printed on the card itself. What happens when a creature that was revived with Fated Return is then copied by, say, ...
3
votes
2answers
452 views

Does Avacyn, Angel of Hope's ability continue to work even if tapped?

Avacyn, Angel of Hope has indestructible and gives the other creatures he controls indestructible as well. if it is tapped, are his other creatures still indestructible? Example, if he plays avacyn ...
1
vote
1answer
185 views

Are there 5/5 Beast Token cards?

There are at least two cards that I know of that make 5/5 Beast tokens (Spawning Ground and One Dozen Eyes). Yet I can't seem to find an actual token card that is a 5/5 Beast. Does such a card ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

When do you reveal the top card of your library with Courser of Kruphix and scry lands?

I have Courser of Kruphix in play, and a scry land (say Temple of Plenty) on top of my library revealed. If I then play the land off my library using the Courser's ability, which of the following ...
6
votes
2answers
5k views

How often does the standard set change?

I started playing Magic (or started again rather) just after the Theros set had come out. The standard format was defined to include the Return to Ravnica block and the entire Theros block of which ...
0
votes
2answers
99 views

how does Argothian Enchantress interact with Sasaya, Orochi Ascendant?

If Sasaya, Orochi Ascendant successfully transforms would Argothian Enchantress's ability kick into effect during that transformation?
2
votes
1answer
233 views

Can Sasaya, Orochi Ascendant be fetched by an Enlightened Tutor?

Can I use an Enlightened Tutor to fetch Sasaya, Orochi Ascendant? Enlightened Tutor searches for enchantments and artifacts. If Sasaya is only an Enchantment after she's flipped, does that count?
2
votes
2answers
373 views

Do spells targeting Daring Thief follow it after control is exchanged?

Suppose I have Daring Thief out. My opponent attempts to kill it via Doom Blade or another kill spell. In response I untap Daring Thief with Thassa's Ire, and attempt to gain control of, say, my ...
6
votes
1answer
165 views

Will a copy of a flashed-back Increasing Vengeance still make two copies?

Increasing Vengeance says Copy target instant or sorcery spell you control. If Increasing Vengeance was cast from a graveyard, copy that spell twice instead. You may choose new targets for the ...
0
votes
1answer
119 views

MTG Increasing Vengence and swerve infinite combo?

Okay, so say you play an instant or sorcery spell and then play Increasing Vengeance targeting it could you then play Swerve changing the target of Increasing Vengeance from the random instant or ...
5
votes
1answer
255 views

What, generally, happens to card prices when a new set is released?

Journey to Nyx is about to come out an I noticed many of the websites have already priced the cards. I'm wondering if anyone has any advise on when the optimal time to pick up new cards is? I realize ...
2
votes
1answer
622 views

Does “When enter on the battlefield” trigger heroic?

When a Satyr Grovedancer enters on the battlefield and I choose a creature with heroic to recieve the a +1/+1 counter, does it trigger the heroic? I don't think so because the heroic says explicitly ...
4
votes
1answer
663 views

Who is “You” when the creature controller is not the owner?

Assume I have both a Firedrinker Satyr and a Daring Thief out in play. My Daring Thief untaps and I swap ownership of the Firedrinker with another creature of theirs. If I then proceed to Lightning ...
9
votes
1answer
429 views

Is Bioshift affected by Doubling Season?

I just want to know if Bioshift is affected by Doubling Season. The text states that Bioshift moves counters from a target to another, but is that the same as "putting them on" a target?
1
vote
1answer
367 views

Could an actual mono black storm (Tendril of agony) deck be viable for Legacy?

From experienced deckbuilders, how would you approach building a budget-friendly Tendrils of Agony deck? I'm thinking of basically only swamps for the manabase, but the rest (hand disruption, tutors, ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Athreos, God of Passage and Undying

I am curious about how this scenario will play out: I have both Athreos, God of Passage and Geralf's Messenger in play and Geralf's Messenger dies (with no +1/+1 counters on it) . My guess is that ...
7
votes
1answer
419 views

How does Perplexing Chimera work with Strionic Resonator?

I have a Perplexing Chimera and a Strionic Resonator on the battlefield. My opponent casts Shock. I choose to use my Strionic Resonator's activated ability to copy my Perplexing Chimera's triggered ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

Can I use strive to target the same object more than once?

I have a question about the new mechanic Strive from Journey into Nyx. Could I use the pay the strive cost to target the same object more than once with the spell, or can I only target any particular ...
3
votes
1answer
267 views

Does something which affects “defending player” target that player?

If I have shroud or hexproof, because I control Ivory Mask or Witchbane Orb, am I immune to something which affects "defending player," such as a creature with Annihilator, or will I still have to ...
3
votes
1answer
265 views

Gods dieing and the legends rule

So this came up in a game I was playing today. I had an Athreos, God of Passage with enough devotion that it was a creature, and I cast another (it makes sense, I swear). I chose to sacrifice the ...
4
votes
1answer
185 views

Can I control a planeswalker with Confiscate?

Can I control a planeswalker with Confiscate? Is a planeswalker a permanent that can be the target of Confiscate?