Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

13
votes
3answers
317 views

What do I do if mandatory actions will inherently take a very long time to resolve? (Splinter Twin + Tyrant of Discord example)

Basically, if a game is already out of time, and we're within the resolution of a stack, yet the resolution will take an obnoxiously long time, what would the ruling be in a competitive environment ...
6
votes
1answer
547 views

Clever Impersonator copying Liliana Heretical Healer

I'm copying my opponent's non-transformed Liliana, Heretical Healer with Clever Impersonator. Then one of my other creatures dies. Does my Clever Impersonator come back as Liliana non-transformed ...
0
votes
1answer
111 views

Phasing vs Tribute

Does phasing allow for a Tribute to trigger twice, since the creature continues to re-enter the battle field? For example, if I enchant my Nessian Wilds Ravager with Vanishing, does this mean that my ...
0
votes
0answers
55 views

Urge to Feed rules [duplicate]

In regards to Urge to Feed, lets say I play urge to feed can i tap a creature i just played? Or does summoning sickness apply to that creature? Summoning sickness implies I can't tap creature to ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

How does Void Winnower affect face down spells and creatures?

Void Winnower says Your opponents can't cast spells with even converted mana costs. (Zero is even) Your opponents can't block with creatures with even converted mana costs. If I control a ...
6
votes
1answer
606 views

Does Void Winnower prevent my opponent from casting X spells with even base converted mana cost?

The part of Void Winnower's text that is relevant is Your opponents can't cast spells with even converted mana costs. (Zero is even) I know that when checking the converted mana cost of a card ...
1
vote
2answers
496 views

Who wins when everyone takes lethal damage simultaneously?

I am building an edh deck for about 5 dollars and was wondering, If I cast Sickening Dreams dealing more than enough damage to kill my opponent and I at the same time, who wins?
7
votes
2answers
514 views

Casting a spell after a spell resolves?

My question has to do with Ravenous trap. Say my opponent casts Thought Scour targeting themselves. Once the spell resolves they have two cards + thought scour itself in the graveyard this turn. I ...
6
votes
1answer
289 views

Hypergenesis vs Containment Priest - How does it resolve?

In an upcoming Legacy event near my residence, a friend of mine intends to play using an Hypergenesis deck. However, recently we have a certain abundance of Containment Priests in our region. This ...
0
votes
1answer
232 views

What is the name of this red creature card

In Magic the Gathering I played a guy that was using a mono - red goblin deck which exploited Impact Tremors ability with a certain creature that "blinks" out of the game when another spell is cast ...
4
votes
2answers
242 views

Can you Swerve Bioshift?

Since Bioshift targets a creature, THEN another one for the recipient of the counters, can I use Swerve to change the target? If so, which target can it be, the first or the second, or any?
3
votes
1answer
286 views

MTG: Sideboard if maindeck has more than 60 cards

I did some calculation and found out, that my Living End deck (modern) might be better of with 66 cards maindeck. SB still contains of 15 cards. Depending on the match up, I'd like to cut my deck for ...
0
votes
2answers
151 views

Cloudshifting Angel of Serenity in the middle of combat

I have a very specific situation in mind. My friend attacks me with some flying creatures, one of which is Angel of Serenity. Before I declare blockers, I cast a Moonmist and an Atarka's Command ...
4
votes
1answer
640 views

If Felidar Sovereign enters the battlefield during my upkeep, will he trigger?

Given that Felidar Sovereign is being reprinted in Battle for Zendikar, I have a question about the win condition and nobody I know can help. I was hoping someone on here could. If I am at over 40 ...
6
votes
1answer
261 views

Mindslaver vs. the Pact cycle

Last turn, player A casted a Pact spell, and then a copy of Mindslaver's ability, controlled by player B, resolved while targeting player A. ​ In player A's untap step, player A untapped 5 basic lands ...
2
votes
3answers
740 views

Can Mizzium Meddler steal the effect of a Renown ability?

Basically, I am thinking of a situation: say Outland Colossus attacks and deals damage to a player. Before the Renown ability resolves, can I activate Mizzium Meddler to steal the six +1/+1 counters? ...
0
votes
2answers
257 views

Is a tapped creature an illegal target?

I was playing the Magic 2015 game on my xbox 360 (I know it has a lot of problems but its midly entertaining, I much prefer the card game though but this brought something to my attention and made me ...
6
votes
1answer
619 views

If Anafenza, the Foremost dies at the same time as another creature, will the other creature be exiled?

Here is the situation: I have a Fetid Imp on the field, and my opponent has two Disowned Ancestors and Anafenza, the Foremost. Now I play Languish to give all creatures -4/-4. Is Fetid Imp exiled ...
17
votes
3answers
3k views

Can I win with a “you lose” effect on the stack?

Follow on to this question - with a similar setup, but a slightly different aim. Setup: I have a Bazaar Trader in play and without summoning sickness and an Immortal Coil in hand. Neither I nor my ...
2
votes
1answer
226 views

Immortal Coil & State Based Actions

I don't think I understand State Based Actions (SBA) and how they work with Immortal Coil. I understand that at ANY time I have Immortal Coil on the battlefield with no graveyard, I lose. I ...
7
votes
2answers
257 views

If my Consul's Lieutenant dies while its second ability is on the stack, does the ability do anything?

Consul's Lieutenant has Renown, and the ability Whenever Consul's Lieutenant attacks, if it's renowned, other attacking creatures you control get +1/+1 until end of turn. This is the scenario: ...
5
votes
1answer
337 views

Will an ability on the stack resolve if its source is removed? [duplicate]

Player A casts and resolves Nekrataal. Nekrataal's enters-the-battlefield ability triggers and A and targets Player B's Suntail Hawk. In response, Player B casts Swords to Plowshares, targeting ...
2
votes
2answers
287 views

Nahiri, the Lithomancer + Skullclamp + Cathar's Crusade

The following situation came up in an EDH game and I'm not sure what is supposed to happen. I control a Cathars' Crusade, Nahiri, the Lithomancer and a Skullclamp on the battlefield. I activate ...
5
votes
3answers
769 views

Is it worth it to buy booster boxes or singles to collect 4 regular and 4 foil Cards

Suppose I wanted to buy 4 of each card in both foil and regular quality near the time when a set comes out. Which would be more cost efficient? Buying booster boxes or pre-ordering singles? Or maybe a ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Is a white/black deck viable? [closed]

Hi I just started playing mtg a week ago and bought a white/green intro deck. However, I would want to create a deck combining one of these colors (if possible) with one that focuses on a more ...
8
votes
1answer
976 views

Can you attempt to counter an “can't-be-countered” spell?

Can you cast a counterspell on a spell that can't be countered, or is it not a legal target... Just wondering if you can Frightful Delusion something that can't be countered but still have the player ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Are the cards in Zendikar vs Eldrazi standard yet, before Battle for Zendikar comes out? [duplicate]

Is the new duel deck Zendikar vs Eldrazi considered standard before the Battle for Zendikar comes out? I have been playing it for a few days and I don't want to waste money buy more of those cards if ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Awaken targeting rules

If my opponent plays Ruinous Path and pays the Awaken cost, then I make the creature it targets invalid (e.g. bounce, protection, destroying it myself, ...) is that enough to counter the spell due to ...
2
votes
2answers
431 views

Bazaar Trader combo and Void Snare - Ownership vs. Control

I use Bazaar Trader and Act of Treason to gain control of a creature my opponent controls. If my opponent uses a card such as Void Snare on that creature, does the card go to my hand or my opponents ...
3
votes
2answers
328 views

How can I search MagicCards.info for an exact color identity match?

My friends and I are experimenting with various potential Commander decks at the moment — we're drafting far more than we're playing, for a mix of practice, learning, and fun. This means it's ...
4
votes
1answer
157 views

Does a creature's ability trigger while it's in the hand or graveyard?

When a creature card like Agent of the Fates is not on the battlefield but for example in the hand or graveyard, will its triggered abilities still trigger when I play Animate Dead or my opponent ...
0
votes
0answers
56 views

Help with activating abilities [duplicate]

I have multiple nivmagus elementals on the battlefield. Its effect says "exile an instant or sorcery spell you control: put two +1/+1 counters on Nivmagus Elemental." Does exiling one spell activate ...
4
votes
2answers
347 views

How do Hexproof and Combat Damage interact?

Here's a quick question: suppose your opponent attacks with an 8/8 with Trample, and you block with a 5/5 with Defender, Indestructible, and Hexproof. You also have Hexproof. Trample is an ability, ...
-2
votes
1answer
168 views

Do I need mana in my mana pool to summon a creature card? [closed]

Is there a limit to how many creatures I can summon in a turn?
1
vote
3answers
201 views

Casting a creature and hexproofing

If I play Krenko, Mob Boss and retain priority and cast Swiftfoot Boots on Krenko Mob Boss and at the same time my opponent casts Unsummon on Krenko Mob Boss, will my creature be safe or will he be ...
3
votes
1answer
265 views

Does the newly implemented Scry Rule change the way we play Magic: the Gathering?

At Pro Tour Magic Origins, Wizards decided to implement a new rule, dubbed the Scry Rule. This rule stated that after mulligans (if any) had been taken, any player with fewer cards than the original ...
8
votes
1answer
429 views

When does my opponent have to tell me if they will play first?

If I am playing in a tournament and I win the first game of the round, when does my opponent decide if they will play first? Does it happen before side boarding or does it take place some time after ...
1
vote
1answer
184 views

Do the draw abilities of Kor Spiritdancer and Mesa Enchantress stack? [duplicate]

Suppose I have both Kor Spiritdancer and Mesa Enchantress under my control. They have two similar abilities: Kor Spiritdancer: Whenever you cast an Aura spell, you may draw a card. Mesa ...
4
votes
3answers
582 views

Can The Card “Suppression Bonds” enchant a creature with Shroud

So the description of Suppression Bonds states: Enchant non land permanent. Enchanted permanent can't attack or block, and it's activated abilities can't be activated. The card doesn't use the ...
0
votes
0answers
68 views

Multiple lands in MTG [duplicate]

What's the best way to play additional lands in a turn? I am assembling a black/white deck but want to play with cards that have higher casting cost. I do not, however, want my deck to lose speed as a ...
2
votes
2answers
538 views

Can non-exile related return effects bring a card out of exile?

So I stumbled upon this land, Karakas. Can this return effect reach a card in exile? I read the rules regarding exile, and it appears to me that Karakas' effect (and similar return/play/add effects) ...
4
votes
2answers
430 views

The 'speed' of conceding a game

During a game of Commander at my local store last week some of the folks I was playing with stated that conceding the game was a 'sorcery speed' action. The playgroup made some valid points about this ...
1
vote
0answers
236 views

How does Magic the Gathering play differently with proxies? [closed]

I was once a kitchen table Magic: the Gathering player, but I quit because the cost of buying enough singles and packs to create a competitive deck (or even a fun kitchen table deck) was simply too ...
3
votes
2answers
339 views

Is there a card that lets me draw whenever a card is put in an opponent's graveyard?

I have a mill deck that uses Sphinx's Tutelage among other things. I'd like to find a card that could combo with it by allowing me to draw when a card is put in an opponent's graveyard. I'm not sure ...
2
votes
2answers
210 views

How does double strike work?

If I have a creature with 4/4 double strike, does it kill each blocking creature with toughness 4 or less due to first strike?
2
votes
1answer
187 views

Lose Calm, if you make a creature attack does it become tapped?

Lose Calm says Gain control of target creature until end of turn. Untap that creature. It gains haste until end of turn and can't be blocked this turn except bye two or more creatures. So it ...
3
votes
2answers
954 views

What does outlast do?

On Disowned Ancestor it says Outlast {1}{B} ({1}{B}, tap: Put a +1/+1 counter on this creature. Outlast only as a sorcery.) Why do you pay the cost to activate it twice? Would it not be the same ...
2
votes
1answer
273 views

How do costs to attack work?

Despite having what I feel is a fairly solid understanding of most rules and timings, I can't figure out Archangel of Tithes, and I'm clashing with intent and wording. Archangel of Tithes says "As ...
4
votes
2answers
623 views

What is the timing of “you may pay” abilities?

With abilities that allow a player to pay for optional effects, is that payment made as the ability resolves or as it goes onto the stack? If it's made as it resolves, do you have the opportunity to ...
-1
votes
1answer
131 views

Can I untap an attacking creature and avoid exchanging combat damage? [duplicate]

Can I untap an opponent's attacking creature with Kiora's Follower's ability, and avoid the combat damage that I would be dealt by that creature in the combat phase?