Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

0
votes
2answers
380 views

Chained to the Rocks and shocklands

Chained to the Rocks says: Enchant Mountain you control. When Chained to the Rocks enters the battlefield, exile target creature an opponent controls until Chained to the Rocks leaves the ...
2
votes
1answer
171 views

Would Evacuation and Ambush Commander return all forests to their owners' hands?

Evacuation returns all creatures to owners hands. Ambush Commander turns all forests into creatures. Would that mean that Evacuation would return all forests to their owners hand?
5
votes
1answer
628 views

Combo question: urborg tomb of yawgmoth, torpor orb, kormus bell, dark depths = free Marit Lage?

If I have the following in play: Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth Each land is a Swamp in addition to its other land types. Kormus Bell All Swamps are 1/1 black creatures that are still lands. ...
2
votes
2answers
242 views

Can Crypt Rats be used from Graveyard

Can Crypt Rats be activated while in the graveyard? There is no tap, which is why it seems possible. If not, then why can cards like Rot Farm Skeleton have activated abilities that are usable only ...
3
votes
1answer
359 views

Can I cast a Slaughter Pact on a Spellskite after I played Lightning Storm and I already discarded some lands?

My opponent has a Spellskite on board. He is at 17 life, has one blue mana and one land in hand. I just resolved Ad Nauseam + Angel's Grace and I have my entire deck in my hand. I have 2 Slaughter ...
2
votes
1answer
161 views

Are there any good intermediate deck building resources available in magic

I've gotten to the place where the run of the mill 'basic deck-building' guides offer no more help to me and yet the advanced deck building resources are still a little out of my reach. I am wondering ...
3
votes
1answer
305 views

What if someone attacks with Master of Cruelties and another creature?

My mate constantly plays Master of Cruelties which can only attack alone, Master of Cruelties isn't forced to attack, but if it does, it must do so alone. If you control another creature with an ...
1
vote
1answer
154 views

In MTG, what happens when a creature enchanted with Soul Link would deal lethal damage to a player?

Player A has 3 life left. Player B attacks with a Dauthi Marauder that has been enchanted by Player A's Soul Link. Does player B win, or does nothing happen? On the one hand, "whenever" makes it ...
4
votes
2answers
166 views

Cauldron of Souls and Wickerbough Elder

How many counters does Wickerbough Elder get when returned to battlefield with Cauldron of Souls? Assume that it died with no counters on it and was targeted by Cauldron of Souls. I can't tell if gets ...
0
votes
3answers
335 views

Mono-Green Deck: Responding to Sorceries/Instants?

I'm working on a mono-green overrun deck but I'm having some trouble responding to my opponent's non-creature cards. Against another creature-heavy deck it does very well, but up against anything ...
0
votes
2answers
172 views

Magic; Are you allowed to attack creatures instead of a player?

Are you allowed to attack creatures instead of a player during the combat phase? Because it seems to me it's much more easier to block (because you can actually choose what you attack) than to just ...
2
votes
1answer
171 views

Counter heavy proactive control with a distruption-based aggro deck in the Legacy format

[Feel free to edit my question, English is not my primary language] Legacy is a format with a pretty high number of cards available. It is arguably the format with the most possible different ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

Are these decks going to be playable? [closed]

I am thinking about getting into magic. I want to play in the standard format. The decks I want to play are either mono black devotion or mono blue devotion. My question is with the rotations how long ...
5
votes
2answers
582 views

How should the “and/or” text of a card be interpreted?

How should the "and/or" text of a card be interpreted? For example on a card like Pinnacle of Rage the text reads: Pinnacle of Rage deals 3 damage to each of two target creatures and/or players. ...
2
votes
1answer
189 views

+1/+1 counter, where does it go when my adversary bolts it's target?

Vastwood Hydra is on the field, 7/7 atm (7 x +1/+1 counters). My adversary blocks it for combined strength of 7, all creatures in combat die when the damage resolves. When Vastwood Hydra dies I get to ...
0
votes
2answers
212 views

Can a card be un-cast, if the player realises it was a bad decision?

Let's say a player casts a spell, completely allows it to resolve, and accepts its consequences - then realises that was a bad idea, or there was something better to do. That player realises there was ...
1
vote
1answer
91 views

Do Triggered effects stack?

Lets say I have a Suture Priest creature that says "Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may gain 1 life." and I currently have all 4 of them in the battlefield. ...
2
votes
1answer
122 views

When is the hydra considered a player with the “Face the Hydra” deck?

Face the Hydra is a special game with special rules which can be found here. I know that a spell that deals direct damage to a player cast on the hydra will deal the damage to one of its head. The ...
1
vote
2answers
426 views

How long before I can move on to a different phase?

I was on one health and had two creatures in play. One of those was useless due to a card my opponent played to stop it doing anything. The other had an inspired ability that might have helped me ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens when additional costs can't ultimately be paid, but the spell is on the stack?

I have a question that bothers me after reading a part of the big book of rules :). It's about the rule 717, illegal actions. 717.1. If a player realizes that he or she can’t legally take an ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an instant spell be used before an upkeep triggered ability resolves?

I am looking into a new card for my deck and I was curious if instants could be used before an ability triggered 'at the beginning of your upkeep' resolves. Here is the potential situation: I ...
1
vote
2answers
215 views

Magic the Gathering lingering spell effect

I have a question about a card sequence. Let's say I play an instant card that says "all creatures who dealt damage this turn return to owners hand" in my first main phase. Then if my opponent ...
2
votes
1answer
255 views

How does targeting limitation work for Wild Ricochet?

I use Wild Ricochet on an opponent's spell that says "target creature you control" (A not overloaded Dynacharge for example). What are valid targets for the spell and the copy? If I can only choose ...
2
votes
1answer
178 views

Volatile Rig blocks Xathrid Necromancer: What happens?

My opponent has a Volatile Rig in play. The Rig has some silly coin flipping abilities: Whenever Volatile Rig is dealt damage, flip a coin. If you lose the flip, sacrifice Volatile Rig. When ...
2
votes
3answers
326 views

What happens if a tribute effect has no valid target?

What happens if I play a card that has a tribute ability with the word target in it, my opponent chooses not to pay the tribute, and ability that applies has no valid targets. Will the ability simply ...
2
votes
1answer
146 views

Does an Archetype affect summoning cost effects?

If I have say an Archetype of Imagination: Creatures you control have flying. Creatures your opponents control lose flying and can't have or gain flying. and a Warden of Evos Isle: ...
2
votes
2answers
382 views

Two Player Draft Formats

My friend and I are buying an RTR booster box mainly in hopes of getting some chase rares, but also for some fun. What are some Draft Variants for only 2 players?
0
votes
0answers
30 views

2 Player Draft Ideas [duplicate]

A friend and I are splitting a RTR Booster box, mostly with hope for some chase rares, but we also wanted to have some fun while opening. What are some Draft modes that only require two people?
11
votes
1answer
371 views

Ensnaring Bridge and Cranial Plating

Let's say that I have an Ensnaring Bridge in play, and no cards in my hand. My opponent has a 0/2 Ornithopter in play, and also a Cranial Plating (and some other artifacts to pump it up). Can he ...
3
votes
1answer
166 views

What happens when an Annihilating Fire meets an indestructible card?

Annihilating Fire says: Annihilating Fire deals 3 damage to target creature or player. If a creature dealt damage this way would die this turn, exile it instead. If I deal lethal damage to an ...
0
votes
1answer
97 views

MTG Multiplayer—Card Control and Losing the Game [duplicate]

I just need a bit of rules clarification that I'm confused about. If I Donate an enchantment to an opponent in a multiplayer game, and then lose the game myself, does the enchantment leave play with ...
6
votes
2answers
934 views

If I target my own Rancor with a Terastodon will the effect still take place and give me a 3/3 elephant token?

If I target my own Rancor with a Terastodon will the effect still take place and give me a 3/3 elephant token? I ask this question because there is a ruling on Terastodon that says: If a targeted ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Can you cast an instant damage spell between first strike and normal damage?

We had a situation occur in a game where my opponent had a creature with first strike, and I had one that didn't. They attacked and I blocked, first strike creature did it's damage which didn't kill ...
1
vote
1answer
155 views

How do multiple copies of Merrow Commerce interact?

If I have more than one copy of Merrow Commerce in play, they both trigger during my end step. Can I take actions after the first one resolves, but before the second one does? I'm thinking of ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

What can be played during an opponents turn?

What types of cards can you play on another players turn / i.e. sorcery or enchantments? Or can only instants/flash be played? It seems foolish to us as new players that every card other then land ...
4
votes
1answer
433 views

Does Into the Wilds stack?

The enchantment Into the Wilds allows a player to look at the top card of their library and play it if it's a land. If I have 4 Into the Wilds in play, can I look at the top card four times, and, in ...
1
vote
2answers
102 views

What would Resolve first?

If my opponent has one Timberwatch Elf tapped, and I use Yamabushi Flame on it, can my opponent respond with a Wirewood Lodge and then use Timberwatch Elf to protect it?
3
votes
1answer
272 views

If a creature with an effect is destroyed by blocking do other attacking creatures lose the effect?

I have a Rageblood Shaman that says: Other Minotaur creatures you control get +1/+1 and have trample. If I attack with it and multiple other creatures any my opponent blocks it and destroys it ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I cast Enchant Creature cards on Enchantment Creatures (Bestow) that are on another creature?

Say I have a Nessian Courser which is enchanted by a Nylea's Emmissary. I want to cast an Enchantment - Aura on the Nylea's Emissary, for example: Ordeal of Thassa. Perhaps for some reason, I ...
8
votes
1answer
8k views

Does Courser of the Kruphix's ability play multiple land cards?

Courser of Kruphix says: Play with the top card of your library revealed. You may play the top card of your library if it's a land card. Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your ...
7
votes
1answer
611 views

Why can't an overloaded Counterflux beat Pyromancer Ascension?

In his write-up of Pro Tour BTG in Valencia, pro player Gaudenis Vidugiris described this game, the last one he played to get to the top 16 (emphasis added): Round 14 I battled against RWU ...
2
votes
1answer
227 views

Is there a MTG card similar (either in image or name) to R2D2 for a Star Wars theme deck? [closed]

I'm putting together a theme deck and I've already selected the following: Nephalia Smuggler Sylvan Yeti Black Knight Brass Man There are several candidate cards for Leia or Luke or even light ...
5
votes
1answer
318 views

Do bestow count toward cards that say “when [sub-type] enters on the battlefield”

Champion of the Parish gains +1/+1 "Whenever a another human enters the battlefield under your control". If I play Nyxborn Shieldmate as a bestow does it count toward this effect? I know it does not ...
7
votes
4answers
832 views

If a Creature-Planeswalker blocks a creature with infect, what happens?

If a planeswalker than has been turned into a creature (not a planeswalker that turns itself into a creature with "prevent all damage" like Gideon) takes Infect damage, what happens? I know that ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Are gods treated as creatures before they enter the battlefield?

Gods, such as Purphoros or Mogis, are not creatures if your devotion is not high enough. Does this count when casting them? If, for example, an opponent tries to counter with Essence Scatter when the ...
4
votes
0answers
87 views

do creatures created after a “all creatures get -1/-1 until end of turn” instant get -1/-1 as well? [duplicate]

Let's say I cast Golgari Charm (an instant) before my opponent attacks. I choose the "all creatures get -1/-1 until end of turn" and then my opponent attacks with, among other creatures, a Precinct ...
1
vote
3answers
272 views

Nightveil Specter - Do I have to play them in order they were exiled?

Nightveil Spectre has the following ability: Whenever Nightveil Specter deals combat damage to a player, that player exiles the top card of his or her library. You may play cards exiled ...
4
votes
1answer
222 views

“Each” and Targeting

I played with a group recently who was convinced that an effect like "each creature" will target (while "all creatures" does not). I consider rule 114.9a good enough to prove that it must say ...
4
votes
2answers
463 views

Do negative counters trigger Protean Hydra?

Damage to Protean Hydra is prevented by removing +1/+1 counters from it. The card states: Whenever a +1/+1 counter is removed from Protean Hydra, put two +1/+1 counters on it at the beginning of ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Do cards that say “creatures you control” trigger Heroic?

If I have a creature or multiple creatures that have a heroic ability and I activate a sorcery or instant that has an effect to "creatures you control" will this trigger the heroic ability?