Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

9
votes
2answers
2k views

Will I lose the game if I dip below 0hp whilst there's a spell that'll heal me on the stack?

Take the following situation I'm at 2 life, I cast Sphinx's Revelation for 2 life gain on the stack. My opponent casts something like Warleader's Helix which deals 4 damage to me I then cast another ...
9
votes
12answers
17k views

What is an efficient way to organize my magic collection?

Currently, I have a rare binder with all of my rares, and the rest of my cards are broken into several boxes by color, gold/multi color, and land. The problem with this methodology is that if I have ...
9
votes
2answers
999 views

What tap effect has precedence?

Suppose I control Wellwisher: {T}: You gain 1 life for each Elf on the battlefield. And my friend controls Ballynock Trapper: {T}: Tap target creature. Whenever you cast a white spell, ...
9
votes
6answers
2k views

When should I add life gain cards to my deck in MTG?

One common mistake in MTG is to overvalue life-gain cards (at least in 2 player games) because they don't do anything to actually help you WIN the game, and only make you lose slower. This makes them ...
9
votes
3answers
7k views

Is there ANY way to activate a planeswalker ability at instant speed?

With the vast richness of magic rules on all the cards and the comp rules, is there any way at all to activate a planeswalker ability at instant speed? Typically, per the rules, you can only activate ...
9
votes
2answers
6k views

How do Isochron Scepter and the Fuse mechanic interact?

The split cards in the expansion set Dragon's Maze contain a new mechanic "Fuse". This mechanic allows you to cast both sides of the spell, a new option for cards of this type. Isochron Scepter ...
9
votes
3answers
3k views

Does the flanking provided by Slivers stack?

If I was to play 2 Sidewinder Slivers would the 'All Slivers have flanking' ability stack causing creatures blocking my Slivers to get -2/-2 until the end of the turn or would it gain flanking twice ...
9
votes
3answers
5k views

What cards give +1/+1 counters to all friendly creatures?

I wonder if there is any card that gives +1/+1 counters to all creature I have on the field? I have Krenko, Mob Boss, Abzan Battle Priest and Mirror Entity so it would be awesome to have +1/+1 ...
9
votes
5answers
30k views

Where can I sell my Magic: The Gathering cards?

I played for quite a few years and have a ton of cards that I want to get rid of. I have a mix of all editions before 2007. 7th, 8th, etc... So the question is where can I sell them effectively. And ...
9
votes
2answers
9k views

Can you sacrifice a tapped creature?

If a creature has both a sacrifice and tap ability can you tap it for the tap benefit and then sacrifice it for the sacrifice ability? (Example: Gemhide Sliver taps for mana, Basal Sliver gives mana ...
9
votes
3answers
8k views

Can you cast an instant damage spell between first strike and normal damage?

We had a situation occur in a game where my opponent had a creature with first strike, and I had one that didn't. They attacked and I blocked, first strike creature did it's damage which didn't kill ...
9
votes
3answers
638 views

Is Master of Arms pointless under new blocking rules?

Master of Arms 2W, Summon Soldier 2/2, Weatherlight Uncommon First strike 1W: Tap target creature blocking Master of Arms. I used to use this in my deck as powerful creature ...
9
votes
2answers
347 views

I am really confused on how corpseweft works?

So I'm relatively new to magic and recently went to a local draft. In one of my matches, my opponent played Corpseweft and activated its ability to exile 3 creatures from their graveyard and summoned ...
9
votes
3answers
3k views

What happens when I cast a spell incorrectly?

If I cast a spell which then turns out to be un-playable, what happens to my spell? E.G.: Casting a spell on something that has Hexproof and can't be targeted in the first place. Do I simply place my ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Sliver abilites and when they affect the Slivers

Let's say I have two Muscle Slivers, so they're both 3/3 creatures. Now if they attack at the same time, and I kill one Muscle Sliver, would the remaining Muscle Sliver continue to stay at 3/3 for the ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Mistakes a beginner should avoid in Magic the Gathering with more than 2 players

I have been playing Magic the Gathering for several years now and I have a solid understanding of basic strategy and deck building. Until now I have only played against a single opponent. Magic the ...
9
votes
1answer
968 views

Perplexing Chimera + Hypnotic Siren. Do I control all of my opponent's spells?

Say I have a Perplexing Chimera. Text: Whenever an opponent casts a spell, you may exchange control of Perplexing Chimera and that spell. If you do, you may choose new targets for the spell. Then I ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens when I copy Precursor Golem with Rite of Replication?

I came across this issue with my friend a while ago and came up with many possible answers: How many golems will you get if you copy Precursor Golem with a kicked Rite of Replication?
9
votes
1answer
460 views

Magic: Shuffle face down cards after opponent looked at one?

As I understand it, there is basically hidden and public information in Magic. Now let's suppose I have multiple face-down cards on the battlefield, and my opponent gets to look at one of them. Is ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens if you steal an Elixir of Immortality and then use it?

In an EDH (Commander) game recently, Alice used Thada Adel, Acquisitor to steal an artifact out of Bob's deck, the Elixir of Immortality, and cast it. That artifact's ability says: {2}, {T}: You ...
9
votes
1answer
581 views

How do I identify the role of a singleton in a well-tuned deck?

In this instance, I'm looking at Matt Sperling's Pro Tour top 8 Boros Burn deck, and there's one thing I don't get--what's the single Eidolon of the Great Revel doing here? Creatures: 4 ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

When a creature is summoned but still on the stack is it considered a permanent?

Suppose I cast a creature spell, let's say Elvish Mystic. It enters the stack, then in response another player casts Counterspell targeting it. Could I, in response to that, cast Avoid fate or is the ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

How big is a Consuming Aberration after it is stolen with Act of Treason?

Suppose I take a Consuming Aberration with an Act of Treason. Consuming Aberration says: Consuming Aberration's power and toughness are each equal to the number of cards in your opponents' graveyards. ...
9
votes
4answers
1k views

Is it legal to take advantage of my opponent's priority mistakes?

Suppose I attack with a creature with infect, and then my opponent tells me he won't block. My intent is to use Giant Growth on my infect creature regardless of whether or not my opponent blocks. ...
9
votes
1answer
8k views

Does trample damage hurt players even if the creature dies?

I'm playing myself with two Avacyn Restored decks from a 6-booster sealed prerelease tournament, and wonder whether a 6/4 creature with trample blocked by a 4/1 creature would still allow damage ...
9
votes
8answers
2k views

How fast can you win against a passive opponent in the Innistrad block format?

There have been legacy decks in the past that were able to win a game in the first round, without even giving your opponent a chance to act. I wonder how many rounds minimum it would take to win a ...
9
votes
2answers
6k views

What are good strategies for sealed deck?

In the same vein as my Drafting Strategies question, what strategies exist for a good sealed deck? I want to know about general strategies regardless of the card pool being played.
9
votes
1answer
885 views

Is Bioshift affected by Doubling Season?

I just want to know if Bioshift is affected by Doubling Season. The text states that Bioshift moves counters from a target to another, but is that the same as "putting them on" a target?
9
votes
2answers
5k views

After using Act of Treason and Cloudshift, does a creature re-enter the battlefield under my control?

If player A has a creature, and then on player B's turn, he/she uses Act of Treason on it, and then Cloudshift, does that card, once it has been cloudshift-ed, return to the battlefield under the ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Do things on the stack or state-based effects resolve between first strike and normal combat damage?

I have two examples of different scenarios that are confusing to me. First, if I have a 1/1 creature with first strike and deathtouch, and my opponent blocks it with a 2/2 creature, will my creature ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

How do Captivating Vampire and Deadeye Navigator abilities interact?

In a recent casual game, an opponent controlled a Captivating Vampire and had enough untapped Vampire creatures in play to use its ability. I had a Deadeye Navigator on the battlefield, and on my ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

What does an Evil Twin of an opponent's Essence of the Wild look like?

Let's say I have an Evil Twin entering the battlefield under my control, and my opponent controls an Essence of the Wild. I choose the Essence as the creature that the Twin will copy. When the Evil ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Does “Mountainwalk” imply “Snow-Covered Mountainwalk”?

If I am playing a deck with Snow-Covered Mountains, does a creature with Mountainwalk become unblockable or do they require Snow-Covered Mountainwalk (where "mountain" is interchangeable with plains, ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Flickering a Commander

What happens when a Commander is hit with an effect such as Flicker or Otherworldly Journey, and that Commander's owner chooses to send the Commander to the Command zone instead of exile? Will the ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

How does Inquisitor's Flail interact with Trample?

Lets say I am attacking with a Runeclaw Bear with an Inquisitor's Flail equipped. My opponent uses a Runeclaw Bear of his own to block. I then use Kessig Wolf Run to give my creature +3/+0 and ...
9
votes
2answers
921 views

Does Rot Wolf's ability work even if he dies?

Scenario 1: My Rot Wolf (2/2 with Infect) is attacking. My opponent assigns his Defiant Elf (1/1 with Trample) to block. He then plays Giant Growth on his 1/1 to become a 4/4 until end of turn. ...
9
votes
1answer
274 views

MTG: Zegana, Mul Daya Channellers and Green Suns's Zenith

Suppose I have Mul Daya Channelers (only her) in play and have some creature on top of the library so Mul Daya is 5/5. Now I play Green Sun's Zenith and find Prime Speaker Zegana and put her into ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Does 'shuffle your library' mandate that the cards actually change order?

According to the comprehensive rules, the definition of shuffling is thus: 701.16a To shuffle a library or a face-down pile of cards, randomize the cards within it so that no player knows their ...
9
votes
1answer
5k views

Does Goblin Electromancer reduce both sides of a fused split card?

Does Goblin Electromancer reduce the cost of a fuse spell on both sides of the card? Would Turn // Burn be {1}{U}{R} to cast both sides?
9
votes
1answer
31k views

In Magic free-for-all multiplayer, what happens when someone dies? [duplicate]

In a free-for-all multiplayer Magic game, what happens when someone dies? Specifically: What happens to spells they've cast that are on the stack? What happens to enchantments they have cast onto ...
9
votes
1answer
21k views

Does Courser of the Kruphix's ability play multiple land cards?

Courser of Kruphix says: Play with the top card of your library revealed. You may play the top card of your library if it's a land card. Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if Genesis Wave puts Fists of Ironwood onto a battlefield with no creatures?

This question arose as a response to a recent question about putting Auras onto creatures with Shroud. What happens if I cast Genesis Wave, let's say for 2, and reveal Fists of Ironwood on an ...
9
votes
2answers
10k views

What caused “Liliana of the Veil” to double its price during a single week?

When Innistrad came out in the beginning of September 2011, the most expensive card was "Liliana of the Veil", selling for a little over $25. This card kept this price for almost a month. On ...
9
votes
1answer
254 views

When should a judge intervene in a match?

I started judging at Regular last week, and one thing that made me uncomfortable was watching players break rules. Sometimes the opponent would look at me like, "Are you really going to let this ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

Can I pump my blocker after the attacker has chosen their order, before damage assignment?

The answer to this question about blockers and summoning sickness, reminded me of a seldom treaded area of the combat phase, which has caused confusion in a number of games. When blockers are ...
9
votes
1answer
227 views

Crimson Hellkite vs Telekinetic Sliver + Darkheart Sliver

If player A taps his Telekinetic Sliver to tap an opponent's Crimson Hellkite, the opponent can pay 2 red mana (he can pay X, but lets say he pays two) and tap the Crimson Hellkite to put the effect ...
9
votes
1answer
492 views

Will Myth Realized still become an X/X when Humility's in play?

Humility says "all creatures lose all abilities and have base power and toughness 1/1" and Myth Realized is an enchantment that can become a creature with P/T equal to the number of lore counters on ...
9
votes
1answer
388 views

Are “permanently” gained abilities copiable?

So I haven't been quite able to comprehend how copy effects interact with stuff not printed on the card itself. What happens when a creature that was revived with Fated Return is then copied by, say, ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Can ciphers be countered?

Can a cipher copy be countered by a counter spell? Or, since the card has been encoded to a creature, does it act more like an ability, and can only be countered by cards like Stifle and others like ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I flicker Aurelia to get more than two attack phases?

Whenever Aurelia, the Warleader attacks for the first time each turn, untap all creatures you control. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase. If I attack with Aurelia once, ...