Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

1
vote
1answer
304 views

Reduce toughness and cast dmg spell - cause of death?

Let's say on the board is a creature with toughness 6. I reduce the toughness of this creature by 3 until end of turn. After this spell resolves, I cast a burn spell which does 3 dmg to that creature. ...
1
vote
1answer
624 views

Tap/Untap Land and Casting Spells

This is along a similar vain to Casting a Spell Incorrectly but only in that it created a further question. At what point is it possible to decide that you don't want to cast a spell? It's a very ...
2
votes
1answer
103 views

Survival of the Fittest activations and priority

Can someone please explain the ability of Survival of the Fittest and the stack? Let say I have Survival of the Fittest out, and I have 1 creature in my hand, and I have priority. Assuming I have ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Will I lose the game if I dip below 0hp whilst there's a spell that'll heal me on the stack?

Take the following situation I'm at 2 life, I cast Sphinx's Revelation for 2 life gain on the stack. My opponent casts something like Warleader's Helix which deals 4 damage to me I then cast another ...
0
votes
1answer
526 views

Can I destroy a Planeswalker before its abilities are used? [duplicate]

If my opponent casts say an Elspeth, can I then Hero's Downfall that Planeswalker before any abilities are used? I think my question boils down to: are planeswalker abilities sorcery or instant ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

What happens when I cast a spell incorrectly?

If I cast a spell which then turns out to be un-playable, what happens to my spell? E.G.: Casting a spell on something that has Hexproof and can't be targeted in the first place. Do I simply place my ...
8
votes
2answers
329 views

How many is “A bunch”?

If someone has assembled the Deceiver Exarch/Splinter Twin combo, and they say "make a bunch of dudes and kill you", without telling me the number, what happens? The problem with asking him is that ...
2
votes
1answer
209 views

In Commander, does color identity prevent me from taking control of a different colored permanent?

In trying out EDH for the first time last night we ran into a confusing issue. I was using Olivia Voldaren as my commander. One opponent activated Ajani Goldmane's 6 point ability to summon a white ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you play older versions of cards in standard?

Say, for example, you have a card that is still legal in standard but the version you have of it comes from a set that has since been rotated out. Can you still play the version from your older set?
3
votes
1answer
650 views

MOTO Acronym for MTG Online

Some people refer to Magic: The Gathering Online as "MOTO" or "MODO". None of them can tell me what it stands for, so at first, I thought they just got the acronym wrong. It turns out to be pretty ...
8
votes
1answer
796 views

Perplexing Chimera + Hypnotic Siren. Do I control all of my opponent's spells?

Say I have a Perplexing Chimera. Text: Whenever an opponent casts a spell, you may exchange control of Perplexing Chimera and that spell. If you do, you may choose new targets for the spell. Then I ...
4
votes
1answer
354 views

When can you keep priority?

In Magic the gathering you have the concept of priority. This gives every players a chance to respond to every one's spells. But I knew you could keep priority between spells. Playing a spell and ...
5
votes
1answer
522 views

Can you cast creatures exiled by Ashiok/Nightveil Specter with bestow?

Say you exile a creature such as Eidolon of Countless Battles with a Nightveil Specter or Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver. Can you cast it with bestow as an enchantment aura or can you only cast it as a ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

When can lands be tapped?

I'm completely new to Magic the Gathering. I've read the basic rulebook pretty thoroughly and have a pretty good grasp of the basic rules, but it's unclear to me as to when you can tap lands to ...
1
vote
1answer
445 views

How can I play against enchantments while playing an all black deck?

I just need to know any and all black Magic cards that destroy enchantments. I already searched Gatherer and didn't find anything. It's casual play with family, so any card is fair game.
2
votes
1answer
291 views

Can I use old sets of magic cards in an EDH deck

I have all sorts of old magic cards, for example m12, X ,vintage, m13, I'm just curious if I can add any of these cards to my Commander deck that I have now ,or would it be illegal??
4
votes
2answers
315 views

Is there any interaction between hypothetical continuous effects?

Consider a battlefield where I control a Deadfall, a Sunweb, and a Muraganda Petroglyphs. Importantly, Sunweb says Sunweb can't block creatures with power 2 or less. Deadfall says Creatures ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens to my Athreos triggers when my opponent has an Aegis of the Gods?

This is an important interaction between two Journey into Nyx cards. Really it's a question about how "unless" interacts with targeting. Say I have an Athreos, God of Passage (spoiler link) in play: ...
1
vote
1answer
113 views

Resolution of two buffs that affect attacking creatures

I have a creature, Wild Beastmaster, that increases all other creatures I control whenever it attacks (I assume that means the attack triggers this). However, since a card like Trumpet Blast only ...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

Modern affinity deck without Mox Opal

I am making a modern affinity deck with all the usual cards, Arcbound Ravager, Etched Champion, Inkmoth Nexus and the like. The problem is I can't afford the Mox Opals - they're over £200 for the ...
2
votes
1answer
248 views

Paying a Cost and Communicating

I have four Burning-Tree Emissary and one Firefist Striker on the field. My opponent is in his Precombat Main Phase. We are under Competitive Rules Enforcement Level (REL). The following actions occur ...
4
votes
2answers
305 views

How does Lava Burst work with hexproof/shroud?

How does Lava Burst work with hexproof/shroud ability? Lava Burst text says: If Lava Burst would deal damage to a creature, that damage can't be prevented or dealt instead to another creature or ...
7
votes
3answers
584 views

Communication - Saying “Draw”

My opponent was in his second main phase, sitting silently for about a minute. He finally gestured towards me and said, "Draw." I drew. My opponent then shouted, "Judge!" and told the judge that I ...
2
votes
1answer
196 views

Artisan of Forms and Gift of Immortality

Artisan of Forms says: Heroic — Whenever you cast a spell that targets Artisan of Forms, you may have Artisan of Forms become a copy of target creature and gain this ability. Say I play a Gift ...
3
votes
2answers
363 views

Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?

The text on Hammer of Purphoros reads: Sacrifice a land: Put a 3/3 colorless Golem enchantment artifact creature token onto the battlefield. I know that this doesn't allow me to destroy my ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

What are the limitations on using a Planeswalker's loyalty abilities?

I assume I can only use a loyalty ability once per turn, is that right? Otherwise it'd seem to me that Planeswalkers would be hideously broken. And I assume that if you used the +1 ability that the 0 ...
1
vote
2answers
356 views

How long does a creature returned by the Whip of Erebos remain on the battlefield?

Whip of Erebos says Return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step. If it would leave the battlefield, exile it ...
2
votes
2answers
283 views

Gild and the Gold tokens it creates

Gild says "Exile target creature. Put a colorless artifact token named Gold onto the battlefield. It has "Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool."". I assume that that ...
5
votes
1answer
242 views

Question about interaction: levitation, then gravity sphere, then oblivion ring on each, then tranquility. Who flies away?

Here are the cards involved: Levitation Creatures you control gain flying. Gravity Sphere All creatures lose flying. Oblivion Ring When Oblivion Ring enters the battlefield, exile a ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Can Guttersnipe hit Planeswalkers?

Guttersnipe's ability states: Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, Guttersnipe deals 2 damage to each opponent. Now, Planeswalkers are classed as "Players". I found this ruling that ...
0
votes
2answers
482 views

Chained to the Rocks and shocklands

Chained to the Rocks says: Enchant Mountain you control. When Chained to the Rocks enters the battlefield, exile target creature an opponent controls until Chained to the Rocks leaves the ...
2
votes
1answer
185 views

Would Evacuation and Ambush Commander return all forests to their owners' hands?

Evacuation returns all creatures to owners hands. Ambush Commander turns all forests into creatures. Would that mean that Evacuation would return all forests to their owners hand?
5
votes
1answer
733 views

Combo question: urborg tomb of yawgmoth, torpor orb, kormus bell, dark depths = free Marit Lage?

If I have the following in play: Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth Each land is a Swamp in addition to its other land types. Kormus Bell All Swamps are 1/1 black creatures that are still lands. ...
2
votes
2answers
246 views

Can Crypt Rats be used from Graveyard

Can Crypt Rats be activated while in the graveyard? There is no tap, which is why it seems possible. If not, then why can cards like Rot Farm Skeleton have activated abilities that are usable only ...
3
votes
1answer
442 views

Can I cast a Slaughter Pact on a Spellskite after I played Lightning Storm and I already discarded some lands?

My opponent has a Spellskite on board. He is at 17 life, has one blue mana and one land in hand. I just resolved Ad Nauseam + Angel's Grace and I have my entire deck in my hand. I have 2 Slaughter ...
2
votes
1answer
178 views

Are there any good intermediate deck building resources available in magic

I've gotten to the place where the run of the mill 'basic deck-building' guides offer no more help to me and yet the advanced deck building resources are still a little out of my reach. I am wondering ...
3
votes
1answer
356 views

What if someone attacks with Master of Cruelties and another creature?

My mate constantly plays Master of Cruelties which can only attack alone, Master of Cruelties isn't forced to attack, but if it does, it must do so alone. If you control another creature with an ...
1
vote
1answer
183 views

In MTG, what happens when a creature enchanted with Soul Link would deal lethal damage to a player?

Player A has 3 life left. Player B attacks with a Dauthi Marauder that has been enchanted by Player A's Soul Link. Does player B win, or does nothing happen? On the one hand, "whenever" makes it ...
4
votes
2answers
174 views

Cauldron of Souls and Wickerbough Elder

How many counters does Wickerbough Elder get when returned to battlefield with Cauldron of Souls? Assume that it died with no counters on it and was targeted by Cauldron of Souls. I can't tell if gets ...
0
votes
3answers
392 views

Mono-Green Deck: Responding to Sorceries/Instants?

I'm working on a mono-green overrun deck but I'm having some trouble responding to my opponent's non-creature cards. Against another creature-heavy deck it does very well, but up against anything ...
0
votes
2answers
182 views

Magic; Are you allowed to attack creatures instead of a player?

Are you allowed to attack creatures instead of a player during the combat phase? Because it seems to me it's much more easier to block (because you can actually choose what you attack) than to just ...
2
votes
1answer
180 views

Counter heavy proactive control with a distruption-based aggro deck in the Legacy format

[Feel free to edit my question, English is not my primary language] Legacy is a format with a pretty high number of cards available. It is arguably the format with the most possible different ...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

Are these decks going to be playable? [closed]

I am thinking about getting into magic. I want to play in the standard format. The decks I want to play are either mono black devotion or mono blue devotion. My question is with the rotations how long ...
5
votes
2answers
650 views

How should the “and/or” text of a card be interpreted?

How should the "and/or" text of a card be interpreted? For example on a card like Pinnacle of Rage the text reads: Pinnacle of Rage deals 3 damage to each of two target creatures and/or players. ...
2
votes
1answer
209 views

+1/+1 counter, where does it go when my adversary bolts it's target?

Vastwood Hydra is on the field, 7/7 atm (7 x +1/+1 counters). My adversary blocks it for combined strength of 7, all creatures in combat die when the damage resolves. When Vastwood Hydra dies I get to ...
0
votes
2answers
213 views

Can a card be un-cast, if the player realises it was a bad decision?

Let's say a player casts a spell, completely allows it to resolve, and accepts its consequences - then realises that was a bad idea, or there was something better to do. That player realises there was ...
1
vote
1answer
96 views

Do Triggered effects stack?

Lets say I have a Suture Priest creature that says "Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may gain 1 life." and I currently have all 4 of them in the battlefield. ...
2
votes
1answer
132 views

When is the hydra considered a player with the “Face the Hydra” deck?

Face the Hydra is a special game with special rules which can be found here. I know that a spell that deals direct damage to a player cast on the hydra will deal the damage to one of its head. The ...
1
vote
2answers
447 views

How long before I can move on to a different phase?

I was on one health and had two creatures in play. One of those was useless due to a card my opponent played to stop it doing anything. The other had an inspired ability that might have helped me ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens when additional costs can't ultimately be paid, but the spell is on the stack?

I have a question that bothers me after reading a part of the big book of rules :). It's about the rule 717, illegal actions. 717.1. If a player realizes that he or she can’t legally take an ...