Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

5
votes
1answer
1k views

Why is Morph not considered an ability?

Reading FAQs concerning Muraganda Petroglyphs and morph cards, a face down morph creature will get the +2/+2 bonus from Muraganda Petroglyphs. What I don't understand is why. Since the face down ...
5
votes
1answer
882 views

Can you dredge twice for one card draw?

Say I have two Life from the Loams in my graveyard. Can I dredge twice — once for each of the Life from the Loams — when drawing my first card on my turn? I assume the answer is no, but I figured I'd ...
5
votes
1answer
465 views

What, generally, happens to card prices when a new set is released?

Journey to Nyx is about to come out an I noticed many of the websites have already priced the cards. I'm wondering if anyone has any advise on when the optimal time to pick up new cards is? I realize ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

When can you keep priority?

In Magic the gathering you have the concept of priority. This gives every players a chance to respond to every one's spells. But I knew you could keep priority between spells. Playing a spell and ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

How should the “and/or” text of a card be interpreted?

How should the "and/or" text of a card be interpreted? For example on a card like Pinnacle of Rage the text reads: Pinnacle of Rage deals 3 damage to each of two target creatures and/or players. ...
5
votes
5answers
2k views

Why so many people use “house rules” in EDH/Commander?

Since I'm an Eternal player (Legacy and sometimes Modern) that has played just few times EDH/Commander I found difficult to understand why often players use a more strict banned list in their matches; ...
5
votes
3answers
589 views

How does Armed // Dangerous interact with trample?

I have a Ghor-Clan Rampager on the battlefield and I fuse Armed/Dangerous on it. It is going to be a 5/5 with trample and double strike, and all of my opponents creatures are going to be forced to ...
5
votes
1answer
551 views

If creatures targeted by Living Inferno's ability all die, what happens?

If I were to target a ton of creatures with Living Inferno's ability and then all those creatures were to die (or be sacrificed, per Dismiss Into Dream) in response to Living Inferno's ability going ...
5
votes
3answers
32k views

Can I activate a bloodrush ability at instant speed?

Can I use a card with bloodrush in response to something? For example: If an evil opponent wants to kill my attacking Skarrg Guildmage with an Izzet Charm can I discard Scorchwalker and use it's ...
5
votes
5answers
9k views

MTG Gatecrash Simic Strategies for a Prerelease event

I am going to be playing this weekend at the prerelease of Gatecrash, with the chosen guild of Simic. Now the core strategy of Simic is to grow relentlessly, using the Evolve mechanic (whenever a ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

If an opponent unsummons my Goblin, does it spoil my Goblin Grenade? [duplicate]

If I'm launching a Goblin Grenade (that requires the sacrifice a Goblin) and my opponent uses an Unsummon on the Goblin (or similar effects like the ability of a Time Elemental) does this effectively ...
5
votes
1answer
9k views

Does a creature returned by the Undying effect have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

As far as I understand the undying ability, a creature returned to the battlefield by its undying effect with a +1/+1 counter on it is considered a new object. Due to this it cannot attack if it ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Are cards that are both Land and Creature affected by summoning sickness? [duplicate]

Are cards that are both Land and Creature affected by summoning sickness with regard to: Possibility to attack Activating special abilities with the TAP symbol?
5
votes
1answer
2k views

How does a Loyal Cathar react to Undying Evil?

Loyal Cathar states: When Loyal Cathar dies, return it to the battlefield transformed under your control at the beginning of the next end step. Undying Evil states: Target creature gains ...
4
votes
2answers
183 views

Does Illusory Gains make someone else's Commander my own forever?

If I play my Illusory Gains on my opponent's commander, does their commander become mine indefinitely? I have not played this card and I am unsure as to how playing it on a commander works.
4
votes
1answer
218 views

Will Karlov get multiple +1/+1 counters with Soul Warden when multiple tokens are created simultaneously?

When I have Karlov of the Ghost Council and Soul Warden on the battlefield and I cast something like Lingering Souls, does Karlov get two +1/+1 counters twice since two spirits enter the battlefield ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

What does “removed from the game” mean?

I've seen some cards that say "remove from the game". For example, an old version of Swords to Plowshares says "remove target creature from the game." What does that mean? Is it different from ...
4
votes
1answer
165 views

Do I choose my Annihilator sacrifices during resolution?

It was suggested to me recently that Annihilator sacrifices (such as Emrakul, the Aeons Torn's) are only chosen during resolution, rather than while they're going on the stack. Do I choose those ...
4
votes
3answers
301 views

How does Chains of Mephistopheles interact with Dredge

If Chains of Mephistopheles is on the battlefield, and I would use my a draw other than my first for the turn to trigger a dredge effect like Dakmor Salvage. What happens?
4
votes
2answers
942 views

Dealing Damage to Creature soulbonded to Deadeye Navigator

A scenario played out last night that at the time I felt was correct, but the more I think about it, the more I feel uncomfortable about it. I had on the field: Goblin Bombardment Furnace of Rath ...
4
votes
1answer
390 views

Can I cast an instant in the middle of an ability resolving?

Suppose my opponent has Nahiri, the Lithomancer and an equipment card on the battlefield, then uses Nahiri's +2 ability to create a 1/1 soldier and attach the equip to it. +2: Put a 1/1 white Kor ...
4
votes
2answers
491 views

Does “other” refer to that particular instance or all cards of the same name?

For example Chief of the Edge has the ability: Other Warrior creatures you control get +1/+0. So I understand that it would definitely affect Avalanche Tusker. But if I play another Chief of the ...
4
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens to a creature enchanted with totem armor if both are destroyed at the same time?

If a player controls a Boon Satyr enchanted with Hyena Umbra providing totem armor, and an opponent plays Fracturing Gust to destroy all artifacts and more importantly enchantments. What happens? An ...
4
votes
1answer
574 views

What happens if I play Cloudshift during combat?

Would playing cards like Cloudshift end my combat phase? And if not could I attack then Cloudshift then attack again with the same card that was Cloudshifted? Also would cards like Amulet of Vigor ...
4
votes
1answer
23k views

Is there an easy way I can tell if a MTG card is “rare” just by looking at it?

I don't always have an internet connection to research the rarity of a MTG card. Is there an obvious indication of rarity on MTG cards themselves (other than foil)? Some sort of insignia? Or a class ...
4
votes
2answers
4k views

What color are Nissa, Worldwaker's lands?

Nissa, Worldwaker turns lands into 4/4 Elemental creatures. My question is... what color are these tokens? Are they green, the color that the land in question produces, or are they colorless since ...
4
votes
1answer
8k views

Can you sacrifice a creature that's in the middle of an attack?

Earlier tonight, I was playing magic. My opponent had a card out that allowed him to place a 2/2 goblin token on the board for every creature that made an attack. He also had one out that allowed him ...
4
votes
1answer
4k views

Do cards that say “creatures you control” trigger Heroic?

If I have a creature or multiple creatures that have a heroic ability and I activate a sorcery or instant that has an effect to "creatures you control" will this trigger the heroic ability?
4
votes
2answers
548 views

Wording on Volrath's Shapeshifter

I was surprised to see that the wording on Volrath Shapeshifter is not just old card text, but the actual oracle wording. I am curious, why does it not simply copy the the other creature, and have ...
4
votes
2answers
431 views

How does Phyrexian Dreadnought and Volrath's Shapeshifter interact?

If I have a Phyrexian Dreadnought on top of my graveyard, and I put a Volrath Shapeshifter onto the battlefield, will I have to sacrifice other creatures with the total power of 12 or not? The same ...
4
votes
1answer
4k views

Prophet of Kruphix: Can I flash Bestow?

If I have Prophet of Kruphix out (which gives all my creatures flash), can I use the bestow ability of my enchantment creatures during my opponents turn? For example, can I bestow Thassa's Emissary on ...
4
votes
5answers
1k views

Is there a way to beat Standstill?

If your opponent has a standstill on an otherwise empty board, is there a way to remove it without your opponent drawing cards? krosan grip doesn't work because split-second doesn't apply to ...
4
votes
5answers
39k views

Which MTG booster packs have the highest rate of return on investment?

Most players will tell you that buying booster packs for values is a loosing investment, and for the most part this is true because the average expected value of cards in a set is lower than the ...
4
votes
3answers
275 views

How can I tell what has changed in a Comprehensive Rules update?

As an example, the Comp Rules were updated February 1, 2012. I know that a reference to "Fateful Hour" was added to 207.2c since I know to search for fateful hour, but how do I know what else ...
3
votes
1answer
375 views

Do you have to choose a target for a spell, or can you just cast it with no target and let it fizzle?

Let's say I have Lightning Bolt and my one opponent as Leyline of Sanctity and no creatures in play. I might still want to cast Lightning Bolt to delve it later or to buff up my Tarmogoyf or whatever. ...
3
votes
2answers
255 views

Does marking a card affect its legality?

I have a deck I am working on that I cannot find all the cards for yet. For use in casual play I have put in proxies that are land cards with the name of the card written on them. If I end up playing ...
3
votes
1answer
662 views

Will double strike trigger cipher twice?

Say I am playing with a creature that has double strike (e.g. Two-Headed Cerberus), and I cipher Hidden Strings to it. This allows me to tap/untap up to 2 target permanents whenever the creature deals ...
3
votes
1answer
360 views

Can Teysa, Orzhov Scion sacrifice itself and still use its 2nd ability?

What happens if I sacrifice Teysa, Orzhov Scion along with two other "white and black" creatures (in order to remove another creature from the game) - do I still get my 2 spirit tokens from the other ...
3
votes
3answers
3k views

Do +1/+1 counters accumulate?

This might be quite basic. I am just a beginner and searched through the web and the rule book and couldn't find the answer. For instance, Ajani's Pridemate lets you, Whenever you gain life, you ...
3
votes
2answers
538 views

sacred mesa and activated abilities between untap and upkeep

Sacred Mesa says "At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice Sacred Mesa unless you sacrifice a Pegasus." It also has an activated ability: 1W: Put a 1/1 white Pegasus creature token with flying ...
3
votes
2answers
10k views

What are the limitations on using a Planeswalker's loyalty abilities?

I assume I can only use a loyalty ability once per turn, is that right? Otherwise it'd seem to me that Planeswalkers would be hideously broken. And I assume that if you used the +1 ability that the 0 ...
3
votes
1answer
370 views

Show and Tell and permanents that target other permanents

Say I cast Show and Tell. I put down Angel of Despair and my opponent puts down Crystalline Sliver. "When Angel of Despair enters the battlefield, [you] destroy target permanent". Crystalline Sliver ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

How does Fuse work?

If you have a card like Profit and Loss you get the Fuse special rule I'm a little unclear how it works? Do you have to cast both sides in the same turn? If you don't can you cast one of the ...
3
votes
2answers
942 views

What is the difference between Hexproof and a card like Canopy Cover?

Canopy Cover is an Aura enchantment that includes this effect: Enchanted creature can't be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control. This sounds the same as Hexproof's definition ...
3
votes
1answer
380 views

Can I “hide” a Vesuvan Shapeshifter?

Suppose I control a Vesuvan Shapeshifter and a face-down morph creature, and I then choose to turn the Vesuvan Shapeshifter face-down. My opponent definitely should still be able to tell which of the ...
3
votes
2answers
6k views

Do creatures with summoning sickness deal damage while blocking?

I know creatures with summoning sickness can not attack unless they have haste. My brother is using this to his defense as if you use a 3/3 creature with summoning sickness to block an attack from a ...
3
votes
1answer
143 views

Brink of Disaster timing

Brink of Disaster says: Enchant creature or land. When enchanted permanent becomes tapped, destroy it. If you enchant something like Shrine of Burning Rage, and it's owner goes to tap and ...
3
votes
2answers
10k views

How can I improve a Zombie deck to work faster?

I created a deck with the new expansion (Dark Ascension) using the cards I got from a couple of boosters last week. My initial deck form is [Zombies Nightmare] (created by me) but I feel like it ...
2
votes
1answer
447 views

Aligned Hedron Network and Ulamog's Despoiler

If I was to use Aligned Hedron Network against an Eldrazi deck to exile big creatures, am I then able to send these creatures to the graveyard with the likes of Ulamog Despoiler to give him the 4 ...
2
votes
1answer
225 views

Immortal Coil & State Based Actions

I don't think I understand State Based Actions (SBA) and how they work with Immortal Coil. I understand that at ANY time I have Immortal Coil on the battlefield with no graveyard, I lose. I ...