Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

6
votes
2answers
2k views

Are lands colorless?

My opponent plays a vampire deck and has Vampire Nocturnus out. It says Play with the top card of your library revealed. As long as the top card of your library is black, Vampire Nocturnus and ...
2
votes
2answers
188 views

Don't the Planeswalkers in Commander 2014 that say they can be your Commander contradict the fact the Commanders have to be legendary creatures?

Ob Nixilis of the Black Oath and the other Commanders in Commander 2014 say they can be your Commander. Doesn't that contradict the rule that Commanders can only be Legendary Creatures?
0
votes
1answer
121 views

What happens when two players both play Control Magic on the same creature?

For example, I control a Pathraizer of Ulamog. One of my opponents cast Control Magic on it to take control of it. Then my other opponent casts the same spell. How can they both control it?
2
votes
1answer
106 views

What happens if I have two different cards that give me an extra turn after this one?

For example, I play Emrakul, the Aeons Torn. That gives me an extra turn after this one. Then I activate Ral Zarek's ultimate and only get one extra turn (one) heads. Will the Emrakul's extra turn ...
1
vote
2answers
137 views

What happens when a Jace, the Mind Sculptor is played in an unspecific format? [closed]

If I'm playing casual without a specific format but I'm still trying the rules, what happens when a Jace, the Mind Sculptor is played. It is banned from Modern but not from Legacy.
0
votes
1answer
148 views

What happens when a card with undying dies that has a +1/+1 counter put on it by something other that undying?

For example, I have a Howlgeist that I enchanted with Oath of Ancient Wood so it has a +1/+1 counter on it, when it dies does it not come back because of the +1/+1 counter even though it wasn't put ...
-2
votes
1answer
74 views

Can I use a card from Eighth Edition in Modern Format? [duplicate]

If I'm playing Modern Format, can I use an Eighth Edition Air Elemental?
3
votes
1answer
321 views

Is a countered flashback spell exiled?

If I flashback Past in Flames and it is countered by Cancel, is it exiled or put back into my graveyard?
1
vote
1answer
153 views

Can a Guildgate be tapped for colorless?

Can Izzet Guildgate be tapped for colorless mana? For example, could I tap 7 Guildgates to cast Karn Liberated?
0
votes
3answers
235 views

How exactly does Extort ability work?

So a friend of mine bought a new deck today which is (heavily) based on Extort ability: Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life. ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I sacrifice a creature that I lost control of after activating its ability?

My opponent controls a Rootwater Hunter enchanted with Charisma and I control a Tar Pitcher. I tap Tar Pitcher to sacrifice it to deal 2 damage to my opponent. In response, my opponent taps ...
4
votes
2answers
779 views

What happens if I must attack with two creatures, but am only allowed to attack with one?

I'm a little confused about what happens when the enchantment Dueling Grounds and Juggernaut. Juggernaut must attack each turn if able. Dueling Grounds only allows one creature to attack each turn. ...
0
votes
2answers
259 views

Can Skullcrack's damage be prevented?

Rule 608.2c. starts with "The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written.", and Skullcrack's effects read Players can't gain life this turn. Damage can't be ...
8
votes
2answers
210 views

“Counter target ability from a [quality] source” — changing [quality]?

Some cards counter abilities, but only from some sources. For example, Ouphe Vandals can only counter activated abilities of artifacts. I know that removing the source of an ability does not prevent ...
0
votes
1answer
111 views

Will an object trigger if the source is sacrificed to pay a cost?

Will "When/Whenever Foo" trigger if the source is sacrificed to pay a cost for Foo? Examples If I activate Birthing Pod's ability and sacrifice Kurkesh, Onakke Ancient, will Kurkesh trigger, ...
4
votes
2answers
333 views

Why can the activated ability of Genju of the Fields stack multiple times?

According to a ruling on Genju of the Fields, its activated ability can be activated multiple times to enhance its lifelink effects: 8/1/2005: When activated multiple times, it will have the ...
1
vote
2answers
460 views

Must a “target creature” be on the battlefield?

If an ability says "target creature," does the creature have to be on the battlefield? I think I found a loophole that depends on the answer.
0
votes
2answers
161 views

What are the password requirements for the new Planewalker points system?

What are the requirements for the new planeswalker points login system? I attempted to log in with my DCI number today (which I don't do often) and it informed me I needed to upgrade my account. It ...
1
vote
3answers
545 views

Does the attack or defender decide the order of damage assignment to blockers?

I read from the comprehensive rules guide that there is a damage assignment order, but I've always played the game as if there was a blocking order. Here is the relevant text: 509.2. Second, for ...
0
votes
1answer
109 views

Do opposite counters coexist or cancel each other out? [duplicate]

Nuance abounds nowadays; whereas it was commonplace to mentally coalesce opposing counters on a permanent, I imagine doing so is incorrect. Scenario 1 Suppose one Sengir Vampire has amassed five ...
3
votes
2answers
287 views

Is putting multiple counters onto a target an atomic action?

Consider these two cards: Fathom Mage Whenever a +1/+1 counter is placed on Fathom Mage, you may draw a card. Dragonscale Boon Put two +1/+1 counters on target creature and untap it. ...
1
vote
2answers
206 views

In what zone do the lingering effects of spells reside?

Cyclopean Tomb, for example, creates an effect that continues for the rest of the game, even if it is destroyed. Is there a name for the conceptual "board" of lingering effects whose originating ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

If both players are killed at the same time, do they both die?

I play Magic: The Gathering and I just had a really strange game with my opponent. We were both about to die (both sides with 2 life) when we both set down instants that damaged each other (at the ...
-2
votes
2answers
385 views

Can Fog Bank be killed by combat damage?

Let's say I have a 4/4 Serra Angel and my opponent has defender 0/2 Fog Bank, which has Defender, flying, prevent all combat damage that would be dealt to and dealt by Fog Bank. Since my Serra Angel ...
4
votes
2answers
906 views

Does doubling counters trigger Hardened Scales?

I have a Hardened Scales and Setessan Oathsworn with no counters on the battlefield. I cast Solidarity of Heroes on the Oathsworn, it gets three counters from it's heroic trigger which happens while ...
2
votes
2answers
585 views

Can I attack a player directly if they still have a flying defender?

Let's say I had a 4/2 Spiked Baloth (with trample, which is not relevant) and my opponent has an untapped 1/1 Bird with flying, and he has only 2 lives and I want to finish him off. Can I attack ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

When is Ferocious checked?

When is Ferocious checked?   A. When casting begins   B. When the spell resolves   C. Both of the above   D. It depends I think the answer is D. If I ...
0
votes
2answers
233 views

Deck card rules for MTG [duplicate]

I'm new to the game and trying to make my first deck. My understanding of the card rule is I can only have four cards of one type. Does this mean I can only have four rat cards total or four rat cards ...
1
vote
1answer
99 views

Enchantment and other continuous effects priority [duplicate]

I have read a lot of questions about the priority in the stack and the triggered abilities. However, I would like to validate my understanding of the continuous effects priority rule. 613.6. ...
3
votes
1answer
136 views

Clone-ing a Vesuvan Doppelganger

If a Vesuvan Doppelganger is in play having assumed the characteristics of, say, a Royal Assassin, would cloning the Doppelganger at this point be tantamount to having cast a second Doppelganger? ...
5
votes
3answers
113 views

When resolving Extract, do I need to know what card I'm looking for?

Extract is a Sorcery which reads: Search target player's library for a card and exile it. Then that player shuffles his or her library. Which option below, if either, is equivalent to the actual ...
3
votes
1answer
158 views

Llawanor Elves Trampled on desert Oasis. Act of God or Force of Nature?

Suppose the defending player has an untapped Oasis in play, a Circle of Protection: Green, and an untapped 1/1 Llanowar Elves, which has just been assigned to block a strong creature with trample, ...
5
votes
1answer
410 views

Kruphix and Omnath, what color is the mana

Both Kruphix, God of Horizons and Omnath, Locus of Mana stop unused mana from emptying from your mana pool at the end fo each step. Omnath only works for green and keeps it green, while Kruphix works ...
0
votes
1answer
204 views

What happens when more than one creature dies causing a trigger

Overseer of the Damned is a creature with the ability "Whenever a nontoken creature an opponent controls dies, put a 2/2 black Zombie creature token onto the battlefield tapped" Now, lets say 3 of my ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Does exiling a morph card face down for the turn bring it back face up?

For example, if I play Akroma, Angel of Fury down for its morph cost, then a Momentary Blink on the face down creature, does it come back into play face up?
3
votes
2answers
294 views

Dictate of Erebos and Bestowed creatures

Bestow is a mechanic with the following reminder text: (If you cast this card for its bestow cost, it’s an Aura spell with enchant creature. It becomes a creature again if it's not attached to a ...
2
votes
1answer
320 views

Does a copy of your commander count as your “Commander”?

The new Commander edition introduces a keyword Lieutenant, which gives bonuses as long as you control your commander. Is that bonus still granted if you control a clone of your commander only? And ...
3
votes
1answer
489 views

Will Awakening let me tap all my lands and get them immediately untapped?

With the card Awakening, could I tap all lands immediately after my untap step and then have them untap upon entering my upkeep? I ask this because I'm trying to maximize Omnath, Locus of Mana as my ...
0
votes
1answer
154 views

Which cards feature direct manipulation of counter types on permanents?

Are there any magic cards that allow for direct manipulation of arbitrary counter types? Eg, "Add a counter of any kind to target permanent"? At this point (2014) I would be surprised if something ...
2
votes
1answer
222 views

Does immediately ending the turn cause mana burn?

When cards such as Time Stop or Sundial of the Infinite that immediately end the turn are cast, are players subject to mana burn for excess mana in their mana pools?
0
votes
1answer
255 views

Cards changing mana color

What cards across all sets allow the utilization of mana, either colorless or otherwise, as colored mana of another color? One early example with an unlimited 1:1 ratio: Sunglasses of Urza ...
-1
votes
1answer
384 views

Which enchantments allow tapping a creature to inflict direct damage?

What creatures across all sets and expansions have the ability to inflict direct damage, à la Prodigal Sorcerer? Are there any Enchant Creature spells that have target creature gain "Tap to do 1 ...
-1
votes
2answers
281 views

Are there Magic cards that counter activated abilities?

Are there any Magic cards that nullify activated abilities? Edit: My apologies for such an easily query-able answer. I was not aware of the existence o such comprehensive databases and ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

If Anger of the Gods kills a creature, does it still trigger death effects? [duplicate]

Let's say I control Athreos, God of Passage and my opponent casts an Anger of the Gods. I'm fairly sure any creatures I own that die this turn are just exiled without Athreos' ability triggering, but ...
0
votes
1answer
148 views

Checking a +1/+1 counter requirement

Abzan Battle Priest has an ability that reads Each creature you control with a +1/+1 counter on it has lifelink. Does it grant lifelink to creatures with two +1/+1 counters?
2
votes
1answer
246 views

How does Imprinting and the affinity work together?

I'm currently working on a artifact deck (casual). I am thinking of imprinting Somber Hoverguard on Soul Foundry. But how do I dertermine the imprint cost, and will the activation cost of Soul Foundry ...
2
votes
2answers
582 views

Does the Strive mechanic give the opportunity to cast the spell multiple times, or just have multiple targets?

I'm wondering if the strive mechanic counts as one spell that can be cast multiple times by paying the extra cost, or is it just one spell that can affect multiple targets if you pay the mana? I'm ...
4
votes
1answer
936 views

Does Kill Shot-ing a morph during combat prevent damage?

I just started playing Magic this year, so this might a super-newb question, but here it goes: My opponent declares that he will attack with this 2/2 colorless morph. I declare no blockers because I ...
4
votes
1answer
411 views

Damage dealt by creatures and the order of damage

So I had an interesting one recently at our local win a box tournament. Scene - I have 12 life remaining, my opponent has 9. I have an un-monstrous Arbor Colossus and a Polukranos, World ...
3
votes
4answers
1k views

Why can an ability resolve even if I exiled the creature it came from? [duplicate]

I just started learning magic a week ago and I've been playing duels of the planeswalkers 2014 to kind of get a hang of things. I'm confused with something that has happened twice now. I'm playing ...