Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

0
votes
0answers
66 views

Creature lands dying [duplicate]

My friend said that when stirring wildwood dies, it turns back into a land. I thought it was sent to your graveyard. Who is correct?
3
votes
2answers
318 views

Can something have multiples of the same aura?

Can I have duplicate enchantment auras on the same creature? Example: I enchanted my Kor Spiritdancer with Ethereal Armor, can I cast another Ethereal Armor on her? Yes or no, and what's the ruling ...
1
vote
1answer
134 views

MTG Myr Welder Exile question

On the card Myr Welder it says two things. Imprint -- {T} : Exile target artifact card from a graveyard. Myr Welder has all activated abilities of all cards exiled with it. My question is ...
2
votes
2answers
175 views

Are there any cards that permanently take control of opponents creature

I know that the cards I'm familiar with such as Act of Treason and Act of Aggression all specify gaining control until end of turn. I'm wondering if something such as Illusory Gains, Beguiler of Wills,...
4
votes
1answer
231 views

How does drawing then discarding work with a full hand?

If my opponent has a full hand of 7 cards and I cast wistful thinking, what happens? Do they discard the two cards they draw and then discard four more for a total of six cards discarded?
3
votes
1answer
152 views

EDH Off Color ability in card text

Is it possible to run a Repentant Vampire in a Grixis (Red Blue Black) Commander deck? I don't see anything in the official rulings, and the card doesn't have a white mana symbol on it. I'm leaning ...
4
votes
2answers
275 views

Does Illusory Gains make someone else's Commander my own forever?

If I play my Illusory Gains on my opponent's commander, does their commander become mine indefinitely? I have not played this card and I am unsure as to how playing it on a commander works.
1
vote
2answers
143 views

Does tapping a creature force it to attack?

I was playing with my little brother, and during my turn he used Black Oak of Odunos's ability, paying the black mana and tapping Oreskos Sun Guide so that on his turn turn he could untap Oreskos and ...
2
votes
1answer
337 views

Triggered ability of another card when two legendary creatures with the same name enter to the battlefield at the same time [duplicate]

If I have a Temur Ascendancy and a Savage Knuckleblade in the battlefield then I use See the Unwritten and put 2 Dragonlord Atarka into the battlefield. Do I draw one card or two cards? I know that ...
2
votes
2answers
569 views

Foil rares in booster boxes?

Is it guaranteed that there is a foil rare in every booster box? I've recently finished opening a box and there was no foil rare and many duplicates. I already searched the web to see if it is ...
3
votes
1answer
222 views

Who is in charge of knowing abilities of blockers and attackers?

I was in a situation where I lost due to a combo where a creature that deals combat damage mills me due to an enchantment attached to it. I lost the game due to not knowing that ability was on the ...
1
vote
0answers
65 views

Can I run two different dual lands that produce the same colors of mana? [duplicate]

I have Thornwood Falls and Simic Guildgate. Am I allowed to run four of each of these cards in one deck? I cannot find a ruling on this, maybe my google-fu is a bit off though...
4
votes
4answers
243 views

What counts as a counter?

Does Chief of the Edge's ability count as a +1/+0 counter? I want want to use it for other cards such as Ainok Bond-Kin's ability ("each creature you control with a +1/+1 counter gets first strike"). ...
3
votes
1answer
126 views

Do spells that change power/toughness of all creatures until end of turn affect creatures played afterwards? [duplicate]

If I play Overrun or Infest, THEN play a creature after the prior spell resolves, is that creature affected? I assume so, but is this ever not true?
6
votes
1answer
136 views

Sphere of Resistance and Trinisphere

If I play lets say a artifact with CMC 1 and there is two Sphere of Resistance in play and a Trinisphere. Do you have to pay 5 mana or just 3?
2
votes
1answer
94 views

Lich + Laboratory maniac, replacement effects order

You have Lich and Laboratory Maniac in play, 3 cards in your deck, and you play Solemn Offering or Serene Offering on Lich (either one will heal 4 in this case). Do you win or lose?
6
votes
2answers
415 views

Can I sacrifice an enchantment when it is going to be destroyed?

My opponent had an Elvish Lyrist and activated its sacrifice to destroy my Seal of Fire. I sacrificed Seal of Fire after that. Would my Seal still do its 2 points of damage?
1
vote
2answers
195 views

How do Opalescence and Humility interact?

How exactly do Opalescence and Humility interact with each other?
1
vote
2answers
418 views

Does Doubling Cube's ability affect the mana used to activate it?

Rules Question: When Doubling Cube doubles mana, does that include the mana used to activate the ability?
3
votes
4answers
679 views

Animated Planeswalkers

Say I have a Liliana of the Veil that is also a 3/3 creature (possibly via Enchanted Evening and Opalescence). My opponent attacks Lilly with a 4/4 lifelink, trample and I decide to block with Lilly. ...
0
votes
0answers
65 views

Multiple triggers with “Plunge into darkness” or only once? [duplicate]

I am still not sure about the following - hoping you can give me final certainty: Do cards such as "Renounce" or "Plunge into Darkness" cause Karlov of the Ghost Council to get two +1/+1 counters ...
3
votes
1answer
249 views

How does Elemental Resonance convert a Mana Cost to a Mana Source?

With the new updates to how mana is shown and displayed, someone pointed out to me that Elemental Resonance effectively converts the generic mana in its target's casting cost to colourless mana. ...
5
votes
1answer
226 views

When does an opponent make the decision to pay extra mana in response to a spell?

I have a rules question. Let's say I have 2 Judge's Familiar's in play and an opponent casts Lightning Bolt on another one of my creatures. In response, I sac one of the Judges to counter the spell. ...
7
votes
1answer
539 views

Playing lands with Ugin's ultimate

With Ugin, the Spirit Dragon's third ability, it says "Gain seven life, draw 7 cards, and place up to 7 permanents from your hand to the battlefield." Does this include land because land is a ...
6
votes
1answer
295 views

Does a -1/-1 effect from a static ability cause a creature to die before it can do anything, upon entering the battlefield?

My friend has played Engineered Plague, naming Elf. Is the Elvish Hexhunter of any use here? Imagine it has haste via Concordant Crossroads.
23
votes
1answer
12k views

What's the deal with the new Wastes land and the diamond symbol on it?

One of the cards revealed for Oath of the Gatewatch is the basic land Wastes with a new diamond symbol instead of one of the existing mana symbols. We also saw Kozilek, the Great Distortion, which has ...
3
votes
1answer
145 views

Karlov of the Ghost Council and multiple counters

when I have Karlov of the Ghost Council and Righteous Cause on the battlefield and I attack with three creatures, does Karlos get six +1/+1 counters or only two counters since the creatures attack ...
0
votes
2answers
129 views

Teysa, Orzhov Scion sacrificing one creature multiple times to exhile

I have a rules question for you all. I run Teysa, Orzhov Scion and many black/white creatures in my decks, and I'm wondering if I can sacrifice a black/white creature for her exile ability, and then ...
3
votes
1answer
285 views

Will Karlov get multiple +1/+1 counters with Soul Warden when multiple tokens are created simultaneously?

When I have Karlov of the Ghost Council and Soul Warden on the battlefield and I cast something like Lingering Souls, does Karlov get two +1/+1 counters twice since two spirits enter the battlefield ...
2
votes
1answer
103 views

Can I activate abilities in response to spells?

If my opponent plays Kill! Destroy! on my Caldera Kavu, can I activate its ability to turn it black?
0
votes
2answers
137 views

What triggers/resolves first, an effect from a creature dying or an effect from a creature going into the graveyard?

I'm trying to use Verdant Succession with only one copy of Worldspine Wurm in my deck. Need I say more? EDIT: Nevermind, lol, I'll just "say more." Worldspine Wurm automatically goes back in the ...
7
votes
2answers
351 views

Can a creature sacrifice itself?

Say I have Quagmire Druid as my only Creature. My opponent has Curse of the Bloody Tome. Can I use Quagmire Druid to destroy Curse of the Bloody Tome, sacrificing itself?
4
votes
1answer
2k views

What does “removed from the game” mean?

I've seen some cards that say "remove from the game". For example, an old version of Swords to Plowshares says "remove target creature from the game." What does that mean? Is it different from "exile"?...
3
votes
2answers
340 views

Highest possible power of a creature

What is the highest possible power of a creature, assuming a deck of 60 cards and infinite time?
4
votes
1answer
334 views

Can an opponent bolt a mana-generating creature to stop me from generating mana? [duplicate]

What happens if I tap a Llanowar Elves for its ability and the creature is destroyed in response with an Ultimate Price? And why? (a brief explanation will suffice) This may sound as a silly question ...
2
votes
1answer
160 views

Do I have to “choose” when not targetting?

This is related to this question, but without the targeting. Let's say I have Penance and Narset, Enlightened Master on the battlefield, my opponent having nothing but (colorless) lands. It's my turn, ...
0
votes
0answers
117 views

Magic the gathering cards [duplicate]

My husband has been dead for 18 years I have a full set of the cards in a plastic protected notebook advice on how or were to sale to get the full value. I'm in need of the money???
3
votes
2answers
836 views

MTG: Is there a lower-limit for life total?

If I am playing a game where I have a card in play that makes it so I don't lose from loss of life, and go to -1 life, would I need to gain 2 life in order to be safe without the anti-loss card ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens to Death Cloud when there aren't enough legal targets

Probably a really easy one but if I play Death Cloud where X=5 and my opponent only has 4 creatures does Death Cloud get countered because there aren't enough legal targets or does it just force him ...
4
votes
1answer
195 views

Do I choose my Annihilator sacrifices during resolution?

It was suggested to me recently that Annihilator sacrifices (such as Emrakul, the Aeons Torn's) are only chosen during resolution, rather than while they're going on the stack. Do I choose those ...
2
votes
1answer
532 views

Tarfire vs the tarmogoyf

Can a Tarfire kill a Tarmogoyf when both players' graveyards are empty?
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you sacrifice Animate Dead AND the creature it enchants?

My opponent has a creature with Animate Dead attached to it. I attacked him with Emrakul, the Aeons Torn, forcing him to sacrifice 6 permanents to Annihilator. He wanted to sacrifice both Animate Dead ...
2
votes
1answer
143 views

Will double strike still do anything if I Cloudshift my blocker?

My friend attacks with a creature with double strike (e.g. Boros Swiftblade). I block with a creature, then I Cloudshift it. Do I or my creature take any damage from the double strike?
8
votes
1answer
825 views

How are you supposed to fight a discard deck?

I get this is kind of a noob question, so bear with me. My friend plays a legacy discard deck, and he'll usually dark ritual or something to make me discard 3-5 cards in the first 3 turns, and by turn ...
3
votes
1answer
203 views

What can I sacrifice for Champion of Stray Souls' ability?

I have a Champion of Stray Souls. It says, in short, that I can trade any number of creatures (sacrifice) for any other creatures in my graveyard. It does not say creatures in my hand or on the ...
4
votes
1answer
544 views

Alesha, Who Smiles at Death, and cards with a * as their power

So my question is if I have Alesha, Who Smiles at Death on the battlefield can I use her ability to bring back a creature where * is the cards power, for example Kolaghan Forerunners?
2
votes
2answers
511 views

“Conduit of Ruin” and “Endless One”

If I have a Conduit of Ruin on the battlefield and say that I will be casting Endless One for 10 mana, will the cost reduction of 2 mana from the Conduit of Ruin's effect reduce the X so that the ...
8
votes
1answer
961 views

Can King Macar the Gold-Cursed be tapped without attacking?

So a buddy and I were playing a game of Magic that turned out to be a really quick game because he got King Macar, the Gold-Cursed out on the battlefield early. He was tapping it without attacking ...
2
votes
3answers
628 views

Can you cast Hangarback Walker for X=0 and have it survive with Hardened Scales?

I'm building a deck with Hangarback Walker and Hardened Scales, and I was wondering if I could cast Hangarback for X=0, and it would activate Hardened Scales. Just a thought.
6
votes
1answer
297 views

Creatures Dying At Same Time Controller Loses

Player A, B, and C are in a Multiplayer Game. It is player A's turn. Player A has: Sword of Vengeance attached to Kobolds of Kher Keep, a Mystic Crusader, and 1 life. Player B has: Memnite, a ...