Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

4
votes
1answer
452 views

Can I counter Rite of Replication by destroying the copied creature?

Let's say my friend casts Rite of Replication on one of his creatures. Right after that, I play an instant--Flesh to Dust--and destroy his creature. Would that counter the sorcery? If not, would I ...
4
votes
2answers
725 views

What cards can give an opponent control of an Island so I can use Islandwalk on them?

I'm working on a blue/black deck with some cards that have Islandwalk and I'm trying to find cards that can force an opponent to control an island. I have Stormtide Leviathan but I was looking for ...
0
votes
1answer
364 views

Will returning a creature trigger Prowess?

Pre-amble So I am currently building a Blue & White Prowess + Heroic deck in Standard. The idea that I can boost my heroic creatures with instants and auras and reap the benefit across all my ...
0
votes
1answer
445 views

When does Mardu Hordechief's raid ability trigger?

I'm new to MTG and I'm quite confused about when exactly raid is triggered. For instance, say I have Mardu Hordechief (which creates 1/1 tokens) and I tapped, let's say, 2 creatures to attack. What ...
4
votes
1answer
940 views

Magic the Gathering: Hero's Blade vs Lightning Bolt

My opponent has Hero's Blade on the battlefield. He plays Yisan, the Wanderer Bard and attempts to attach Hero's Blade to it. In response, I cast Lightning Bolt and attempt to deal Yisan 3 damage and ...
2
votes
3answers
343 views

When does Chief of the Edge die?

Lets say my friend attacks with Chief of the Edge and two other Warrior creatures, and I declare three blockers, one on each creature. If Chief of the Edge dies due to combat damage from blockers, ...
0
votes
1answer
318 views

Can I play two instants back to back?

Basically lets say I attack with Triton Shorestalker. My opponent can't block. Can I then play Become Immense and Titanic Growth? Or if I attack with a creature that can be blocked and my opponent ...
1
vote
1answer
165 views

MTG. Using goblin chirurgeon's ability only for sacrifice

I had a Goblin Sharpshooter, sixty-some goblin tokens, and a Goblin Chirurgeon on the field (all with haste). My opponent had an enchantment that kept me from directly attacking him (2 life or {W} for ...
2
votes
1answer
274 views

Does this creature give itself +1/+1?

So I was playing a game and this card came out and we couldn't decide if by "Other Minotaur creatures" it means not this creature, or if it included it. Also, we assumed that it would give Trample to ...
2
votes
2answers
164 views

How do other auras interact with Gift of Immortality?

I'm pretty sure that if a creature is enchanted with some other aura, say Rancor, and then you put Gift of Immortality on it and the creature dies, Rancor falls off when it comes back to the ...
0
votes
1answer
361 views

Which “enters the battlefield” effects happen first, cards that are entering, or cards already on the battlefield?

A couple scenarios: Cloudfin Raptor with evolve is at 0/1 Satyr Grovedancer (1/1) enters the battlefield causing Cloudfin Raptor to evolve to 1/2 Put the counter from Satyr Grovedancer on Cloudfin ...
2
votes
1answer
243 views

Can the Planeswalker type be removed from permanents?

I was in my local card store tonight and one of the people there mentioned some sort of combo to have multiple of the same planeswalker in play at once, involving some way to turn planeswalkers into ...
4
votes
2answers
461 views

Are old Magic: the Gathering boosters worth more sealed, or should I open them?

I won some magic the gathering 10th edition core set booster packs, are they worth anything? Or should I open to get rare cards? Also have 2 core sets — Molimo's might and Exincar's tyranny ...
5
votes
1answer
219 views

How do major online game stores set Magic: the Gathering card prices? [closed]

I understand complete answers might not be public, but is there any public information on how major sites (like StarCityGames, TCGPlayer, Abu, etc), price their cards? In particular, since the prices ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

What cards give +1/+1 counters to all creatures?

I wonder if there is any card that gives +1/+1 counters to all creature I have on the field? I have Krenko, Mob Boss, Abzan Battle Priest and Mirror Entity so it would be awesome to have +1/+1 ...
18
votes
6answers
3k views

Am I obligated to identify cards owned by an opponent?

Nathan controls Jeskai Infiltrator. His deck has green sleeves. Anthony controls three Mountains. His deck has blue sleeves. Anthony casts and resolves Act of Treason, gaining control of Infiltrator. ...
3
votes
1answer
110 views

What are all the previous Oracle text revisions for Time Vault?

On Gatherer, I can see the original wording for Time Vault: Tap to gain an additional turn after the current one. Time Vault doesn't untap normally during untap phase; to untap it, you must skip a ...
3
votes
1answer
104 views

Does Livewire Lash trigger if a spell is countered by Chalice of the Void

I have a creature equipped with Livewire Lash and my opponent has Chalice of the Void in play. I play a spell which targets the creature equipped with Livewire Lash but the spell is countered due to ...
7
votes
1answer
371 views

Why did Wizards of the Coast change the minimum deck size for Constructed from 40 to 60 cards?

In the beginning, Magic: the Gathering decks had to have at least 40 cards. Later, the developers changed the deckbuilding rules in two ways: The minimum deck size went from 40 cards to 60 cards in ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

Will a creature cast with Dash still return to your hand if it dies in combat?

While going through Fate Reforged, I became a little bit confused by the new mechanic Dash. For example, if you take a look at Goblin Heelcutter, the ability states as such: Whenever Goblin ...
6
votes
1answer
277 views

Triggered abilities from multiple players. Whose resolves first?

If triggered abilities from sources controlled by multiple players all trigger at the same time, in what order do they resolve? For example, if I control Obzedat, Ghost Council and at least two other ...
0
votes
1answer
280 views

Can I turn a manifested card face up during the declare blockers step?

If I attack with a manifested (face down) card and my opponent declares blockers, is priority then passed to me so I can turn it face up for its mana cost, or must I turn it up after declaring ...
2
votes
1answer
411 views

Can I use a creature's ability on my opponent's turn?

If I were to have a card on the battlefield such as Archers' Parapet and it was my opponents turn could I play the ability of Parapet if I had player priority? {1}{B}, {T}: Each opponent loses 1 ...
4
votes
2answers
355 views

Why are some decks (i.e. Meandeck Tendrils) not playable in tournaments?

I have been working with Meandeck Tendrils lately. In the linked article, Stephen Menendian indicated that while the decklist was tournament legal (at the time), it was not possible to play it in a ...
1
vote
1answer
287 views

When a permanent has a “When a creature dies” ability, and gets destroyed at the same time as creatures, does that ability trigger? [duplicate]

Say I control Fecundity, which states: Whenever a creature dies, that creature's controller may draw a card. If I control 2 creatures and my opponent controls one creature, and I cast Planar ...
0
votes
2answers
204 views

Do pre constructed decks refresh standard rotation? [duplicate]

I'm a starting player, so I'll be getting the Fate Reforged Clash Pack coming next week to hopefully get playing into Standard. I get this clash pack can be made into a BG Dredge deck, which seems ...
4
votes
1answer
198 views

What is the status of Fruitcake elemental?

I have found a card called fruitcake elemental. This card does that does not appear to be on gatherer, but is on magiccardinfo.com. It is a 7/7 green indestructable creature costing: 1{G}{G}. At ...
2
votes
1answer
174 views

Does Hardened Scales interact with the undying mechanic?

Would a creature with undying (like Young Wolf) get 2 +1/+1 counters instead of 1 when it dies if I had Hardened Scales out?
5
votes
3answers
381 views

Are you required to pay all mandatory additional costs for Wild Evocation?

I found this year old question on a blog. Anthony controls Wild Evocation. At the beginning of his upkeep, he triggers and begins resolving Wild Evocation's triggered ability, revealing Disaster ...
2
votes
1answer
6k views

Do Manifested or Morphed creatures count as tokens?

Does a manifested creature or even a morph creature count as a token? I was told yes, but I was also told that a card can never be considered a token! So I'm asking you guys!
2
votes
1answer
234 views

How serious is forgetting my life gain triggered abilities?

I recently started playing a Soul Sisters / Martyr Life deck, and sometimes have problems remembering triggered abilities every time they're triggered. Whenever another creature enters the ...
3
votes
1answer
438 views

If I concede with a morph card on the stack, do I have to reveal the card to my opponent?

I understand that if a morph card is on the battlefield at the end of the game, I have to reveal it to my opponent, but what if my opponent responds to me casting the morph with a counterspell. If I ...
1
vote
1answer
633 views

Can you counter a spell with indestructible?

Can you counter an indestructible enchantment spell? For example, I cast Kruphix, God of Horizons. Can you counter the spell with a spell like Dissipate while it's on the stack?
5
votes
1answer
595 views

Do I need to reveal a face-down card if it is put on top of my library?

If I have a face-down card (such as a morph or manifested card), and an effect puts it on top of my library, do I need to reveal the card (as I would if it was destroyed or exiled)? Example: I ...
2
votes
3answers
285 views

Is there a “consensus” definition of what constitutes a “strong” or “weak” deck? [closed]

In various Magic the Gathering posts, I've seen references to "strong" and weak" decks, and specifically to decks that are "too strong" or "too weak" to be "playable. Is a deck that is "too strong" ...
5
votes
2answers
6k views

What happens if you manifest a creature card with morph?

If a player manifests a creature card with the morph ability, can that player pay the morph cost to turn it face up? For example, if Anthony casts Formless Nurturing to manifest Abomination of ...
7
votes
2answers
778 views

When must one communicate denial of a shortcut?

Anthony begins his turn by drawing a card. He then immediately turns his creatures sideways and declares "I attack with Runeclaw Bear and Alpine Grizzly." Anthony's opponent, Nathan, has 6 life. ...
8
votes
2answers
303 views

Spell targets player in multiplayer game, and that player leaves. Does it still resolve?

Let's say I have infinite mana, Soulfire Grand Master and Crater's Claws. I play a multiplayer game with 5 other players. I use Soulfire Grand Master last ability with infinite damage crater claws on ...
2
votes
1answer
136 views

Is Flesh Allergy combined with Grave Pact counterproductive?

I need a little help again. Imagine the following situation: I have Grave Pact, Bloodthrone Vampire and 9 other creatures on the battlefield. The opponent has only one creature on the battlefield but ...
3
votes
3answers
660 views

Indestructible and the stack

If I play an instant that grants target creature "indestructible" can an opponent use an instant in response to destroy said creature? Would the stack resolve their ability first? If so, would I be ...
6
votes
1answer
236 views

Victory conditions with the “Limited Range of Influence” option

In a ten player Grand Melee, Anthony controls a Darksteel Reactor with 20 counters on it. Anthony has satisfied the trigger condition for Darksteel Reactor. The trigger resolves, and he wins the ...
2
votes
2answers
228 views

Does Marchesa and a creature with modular work together?

I control Marchesa, the Black Rose and Arcbound Ravager. When Ravager dies, will the abilities of Marchesa and Ravager both trigger? If you can confirm it with rules, that would be great.
0
votes
1answer
119 views

Will my opponent lose from his own Plague Spitter enchanted with Soul Link, if the Plague Spitter deals him lethal damage? [duplicate]

My opponent is at 1 life. He controls a Plague Spitter and 2 other creatures (1/1 tokens). In his second main phase, he puts Soul Link on the Plague Spitter and passes the turn. In my turn I do ...
4
votes
1answer
888 views

Does Deathtouch apply to damage dealt via Fall of the Hammer?

Does Deathtouch (from my creature) apply if Fall of the Hammer is used on an enemy creature? The rules say about deathtouch: The rule that causes creatures dealt damage by a source with ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Are there cards which turn life gain into damage instead?

I was playing Hearthstone the other day and was intrigued by a card that causes healing spells to do damage instead. I was curious if there was ever anything printed in MTG that would have a similar ...
2
votes
1answer
193 views

What happens when I deal lethal damage to everyone at the same time?

In an EDH game, I was able to get infinite mana, and I used it to cast a Squall Line with X = 1,000,000. What is the result of this decision? Do I win, or does everyone lose and thus tie?
1
vote
1answer
4k views

What happens to enchantments that are attached to creatures when the creatures are returned to your hand?

What happens to enchantments that are attached to creatures when the creatures are returned to your hand?
-10
votes
1answer
176 views

How many rules does Magic have?

More specifically, how many subrules exist in the September 25, 2014 revision of the Comprehensive Rules, located here? 1 Game Concepts Not a rule. This is a header. 100 General Also not a ...
2
votes
3answers
210 views

Did Balance change when its wording was changed?

I noticed that the original text of Balance, from Alpha, says that someone must discard some number of lands to equalize (sorta). In the most recent reprint, I notice they have to choose some number ...
0
votes
1answer
91 views

Can I activate an ability after part of a spell has resolved? (please read example) [duplicate]

I made a Phelddagrif group hug deck with Windfall as my win condition (obviously I would only use it in an emergency) and Elixir of Immortality. So, I cast Windfall with, say, 40 cards in my hand, ...