Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

5
votes
2answers
675 views

Proposal of New Card in MTG

Where - if anywhere - can I go to put forward a proposal of a new card in magic the gathering? I figured that the cards must go through a process before being released I was wondering if I could get ...
3
votes
3answers
168 views

Can Supply-Line Cranes supply themselves?

When Supply-Line Cranes enter the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature. Can the cranes target themselves?
2
votes
1answer
365 views

Does “Sacrifice a creature” trigger “sacrifice this creature” [duplicate]

When choosing a creature to sacrifice (originated from a "sacrifice a creature" instruction), if the creature that is being sacrificed has "sacrifice this creature (for whatever result)", does it ...
2
votes
2answers
455 views

Ordering triggers

Hey I have yet another question from my esper rally deck. My opponent is at 3 life. I have no more cards in my library and no creatures in play. My graveyard has Nantuko Husk, Zulaport Cutthroat, 2 ...
5
votes
1answer
145 views

Does Misthollow Griffin's from-exile ability work if it's exiled face down?

Player A exiles their Misthollow Griffin face down with their Bane Alley Broker. Can player A cast that Misthollow Griffin from exile? If no, then: There are only 2 players, and player B ...
4
votes
1answer
479 views

How does the example of rule 601.2h work?

I'm having trouble understanding the example of rule 602.1h in the Magic Comprehensive Rules. 601.2h The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs ...
8
votes
5answers
560 views

Inherited thousands of Magic Cards

I have inherited over 20,000 Magic cards. What is the best way to find out what they are worth for selling. Do I need to look up each card? How? Where?
5
votes
1answer
2k views

What qualifies as a “monocolored creature”?

I'm a little confused about what a "monocolored creature" is. Defiler of Souls is definitely not, having a mana cost of 3BBR - Black and red is definitely not monocolored. Birds of Paradise ...
4
votes
3answers
371 views

How does Chains of Mephistopheles interact with Dredge

If Chains of Mephistopheles is on the battlefield, and I would use my a draw other than my first for the turn to trigger a dredge effect like Dakmor Salvage. What happens?
7
votes
1answer
486 views

Does Hellkite Tyrant in combination with Mycosynth Lattice steal lands?

Say you attack someone for player damage with Hellkite Tyrant whilst Mycosynth Lattice is in play (played by you if it makes a difference). Do you get control of all of your opponents lands? The ...
5
votes
2answers
352 views

Interaction of Pyxis of Pandemonium with Altar of the Brood

I play Pyxis of Pandemonium in a mill deck. I also run Undead Alchemist and Altar of the Brood. I understand that when Pyxis's 7-cost ability resolves, all relevant permanents enter at the same time, ...
7
votes
1answer
477 views

Can Body Double copy the back face of a card in the graveyard?

Just wondering, if the Ludevic's Test Subject is in the grave, can Body Double enter the play copying the Abomination side?
8
votes
3answers
461 views

How does one evaluate the “strength” of a hand in Magic the Gathering?

In MTG (or other games), if one player is dealt a strong hand, and the other a weak one, the first player is likely to win. Unless, of course, the first player plays much worse or is unlucky during ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

MTG Conspiracy cards allowed in modern

So I always thought that the Conspiracy set was allowed in Modern Format but I recently discovered that there are 65 cards that are not allowed. Can any give me a list or a link for a list of the ...
7
votes
1answer
318 views

MTG Cards that interact with each other by name

So I know that Bogbrew Witch, Festering Newt and Bubbling Cauldron all name each other in their rules text and I was wondering if there are any other cards that do this as well. How can I find more ...
0
votes
1answer
149 views

Can a blocking creature fight? How is damage dealt if it dies? [duplicate]

As the title says, can a blocking creature fight? If so, what happens if the blocking creature dies before damage is dealt? How would damage be dealt during combat? Example: Creature A is a 2/2 and ...
2
votes
2answers
419 views

How does Life and Limb interact with Conspiracy

I control a Sporesower Thallid, Retreat to Emeria and a Kalastria Healer. Then I play Conspiracy and I choose Ally as Creature type. Then I play Life and Limb. Now my questions are: 1) Will future ...
1
vote
2answers
524 views

How 'hard' is a Mindslaver lock?

This is a Mindslaver Lock. Mindslaver controls an opponent's next turn — all actions and decision-making, short of conceding outright — completely. Ten mana (produced by the double-tower ...
6
votes
1answer
261 views

What counters can be attached to a player?

Steady Progress allows you to choose any player, and put another counter on them, of a type that already is on them. I am only aware of poison counters on players. Are there others?
5
votes
2answers
493 views

Does Laboratory Maniac's ability cause me to win before state-based actions are triggered?

The situation: I have 9 poison counters and no card in my library, and I control a Laboratory Maniac. I cast Steady Progress, and I choose to proliferate the poison counters on me. Do I win the game ...
2
votes
1answer
270 views

Would this hypothetical rule change ever matter?

One of Magic the Gathering's rules is 104.3f If a player would both win and lose the game simultaneously, he or she loses the game. . However, it seems to me like it "ought to be" the case that ...
7
votes
2answers
521 views

Damage distribution with Banding and Trample

This actually pertains to a deck I played long (about 15 years) ago, but I've always wondered as to the correct ruling. The deck in question had lots of banding and trample creatures, so that in the ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

In Magic, is the player going first advantaged?

It seems to me that the player going first has a considerable advantage in the game. How does the game balance that out for the player going second? I'm new to the game, there might be something I'm ...
4
votes
2answers
248 views

Clarification of “spirits” on “Devouring Greed” card

Devouring Greed states: As an additional cost to cast Devouring Greed, you may sacrifice any number of Spirits. Target player loses 2 life plus 2 life for each Spirit sacrificed this way. You gain ...
3
votes
1answer
182 views

Is 'Enchantment Creature' a creature type?

I'm specifically looking at interactions with Descendant's Path. If I have an enchantment creature on the battlefield, let's say Aegis of the Gods, and then Descendants' Path reveals Agent of ...
2
votes
0answers
84 views

How much mana should I put in my deck? [duplicate]

How much mana should I put in a deck with Mountains and Forests? How much of each? I counted the mana in my black deck to see how much I need, but I still don't know.
11
votes
1answer
346 views

Rally The Ancestors and 3 Lilianas

I cast Rally The Ancestors and bring back 3 Liliana, Heretical Healer and 2 Jace Vryn's Prodigy and 1 Clever Impersonator from the graveyard. How many zombie tokens can I get? Am I allowed to make the ...
2
votes
3answers
524 views

Does Aligned Hedron Network exile creatures that enter after it does?

In conjunction to my previous question here, I created some confusion for myself. I want to know how this scenario would pan out: My opponent casts 2-3 huge creatures (say Eldrazi Devastator, Ruin ...
10
votes
1answer
383 views

Are duel deck pairs always released with an even chance of winning?

My friends and I have acquired some of the recent duel decks over time — Heroes vs Monsters, Zendikar vs Edrazi, Elspeth vs Kiora, and Speed vs Cunning. We've tried each of them a few times, ...
1
vote
1answer
170 views

Multiplayer Rules Considering Enchantments

Rule 810.5 about the Two-Headed Giant game variant says: 810.5. With the exception of life total and poison counters, a team’s resources (cards in hand, mana, and so on) are not shared in the ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Void Winnower prevent casting spells for even alternative mana costs?

I was talking to a friend who said he played a game of Magic over the weekend. He said his opponent played a Void Winnower but it was okay because he was holding a Sheer Drop in hand. When the Void ...
2
votes
1answer
491 views

Aligned Hedron Network and Ulamog's Despoiler

If I was to use Aligned Hedron Network against an Eldrazi deck to exile big creatures, am I then able to send these creatures to the graveyard with the likes of Ulamog Despoiler to give him the 4 ...
0
votes
1answer
234 views

Will combat damage trigger fight abilities? [duplicate]

I've seen questions about if fighting damage is combat damage, but I don't think this is the same thing. The other questions I saw were asking if fight damage will trigger combat abilities. They say ...
1
vote
1answer
193 views

How does Paranoid Delusions work with Ingest

Lets say I've ciphered Paranoid Delusions on a Mist Intruder and successfully deal combat damage to a player, which card would get exiled and which go to the graveyard? Does the first card on the ...
7
votes
1answer
631 views

Fight and first strike

I was playing a game earlier and my opponent had a Drana, Liberator of Malakir that was a 4/3 and wanted to use a sorcery to fight Kozilek's Channeler that was a 4/4. We were wondering if the ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

If I activate Shambling Vent's ability after it has been 'awakened', what happens at the end of the turn?

Let's say I control a Shambling Vent and then cast a spell with Awaken 3, targeting the Vent. The Shambling Vent becomes a 0/0 Land Creature - Elemental with 3 +1/+1 counters on it, no problem there. ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Is there a card that cancels the Legendary Rule?

For example, I am wanting to make token copies of a legendary creature such as Progenitus using something like Progenitor Mimic. I know this is illegal by itself, but does there exist a card that ...
6
votes
1answer
249 views

Creature with equipment attached is returned to owner's hand

If a creature has equipment attached, what happens to the equipment if this creature is returned to the owner's hand? Does it: Return to the owner's hand as well? Go to the graveyard? Remain on the ...
3
votes
3answers
1k views

How does Combat Damage Work with Undergrowth Champion?

Undergrowth Champion is a 2/2 creature with an ability that reads: If damage would be dealt to Undergrowth Champion while it has a +1/+1 counter on it, prevent that damage and remove a +1/+1 ...
3
votes
1answer
176 views

Stacking Sensei's Divining Top Abilities

I believe it is possible, but I am asking for confirmation: Can you activate Sensei's Divining Top's first ability, and then, in response, activate the second ability, allowing you to draw a card, put ...
6
votes
3answers
530 views

Will Endless One still enter with X +1/+1 counters while Humility's in play?

Humility says "all creatures lose all abilities and have base power and toughness 1/1" and Endless One comes into play with X +1/+1 counters. According to a comment in How to understand Humility once ...
9
votes
1answer
564 views

Will Myth Realized still become an X/X when Humility's in play?

Humility says "all creatures lose all abilities and have base power and toughness 1/1" and Myth Realized is an enchantment that can become a creature with P/T equal to the number of lore counters on ...
1
vote
1answer
284 views

Can you choose how to sacrifice a creature if you are forced to? [duplicate]

If an opponent, or anything else, makes me sacrifice a creature, and I have a Blood Host or something similar, can I choose to sacrifice the creature with the Blood Host?
1
vote
2answers
316 views

Multiple blockers and trample

I just thought about the fact that you can deal as much damage to one creature when multiple blocked So lets say I have an 8/8 with trample I attack with it Im blocked by a 1/1 a 2/2 and a 3/3 ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Does a God's own mana cost count towards its own devotion?

I'm quite new to playing MtG, and had a question about Erebos, God of the Dead. It needs five devotion (5 black mana on permanents on your field) to be able to be used as a creature (attack/block). ...
2
votes
2answers
240 views

When does showing a card in hand become free information?

Say I'm playing a game, and I start to cast a spell at the wrong time (e.g. an enchantment when I could only cast an instant). As I reveal the spell, an opponent points out that it's an enchantment ...
3
votes
1answer
681 views

Can an illegal target that will become a legal target before the spell resolves be targeted?

The interaction I'm wondering about is between Bounding Krasis, Harbinger of the Tides, and Collected Company. As a part of Collected Company's resolution, two creatures may enter the battlefield at ...
5
votes
3answers
340 views

How do I create an account with Wizards of the Coast if I have a very old DCI number without activation code?

During Battle for Zendikar prerelease yesterday I played my first "real cards" MTG tournament since GP Vienna around 2003-ish. Now I learned that there is now a DCI website where you can look up your ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I choose not to fly?

In Magic: The Gathering, can I choose not to use the "flying" ability of a creature when attacking (so that it can be blocked by non-flying creatures)?
13
votes
3answers
334 views

What do I do if mandatory actions will inherently take a very long time to resolve? (Splinter Twin + Tyrant of Discord example)

Basically, if a game is already out of time, and we're within the resolution of a stack, yet the resolution will take an obnoxiously long time, what would the ruling be in a competitive environment ...