Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

-3
votes
1answer
147 views

exiling cards from graveyard. can each trigger for multiple cards in play [closed]

if i have multiple cards in play with activated abilities involving exiling cards from my graveyard can each exiled card activate for each of my cards in play? card gets +1+1 for each card exiled and ...
1
vote
2answers
444 views

Will this bounce work?

Here is my problem: I made a really awesome Animar EDH deck and one of my infinite combos involves Animar, Soul of elements with 4 +1/+1 counters on it. This will allow me to summon Pierce Strider for ...
10
votes
3answers
2k views

Why are MUD decks called MUD?

I have done numerous Google searches, and come up with nothing remotely definitive for the reason for the name MUD given to MUD decks. The definition of MUD appears to be, an artifact deck, that uses ...
3
votes
2answers
731 views

How many Tokens does Sidisi, the Brood Tyrant make when multiple creature cards enter the graveyard simultaneously?

If two creature cards are placed in the graveyard by one card effect, will Sidisi, Brood Tyrant make one or two tokens?
7
votes
1answer
434 views

Can abilities that trigger when a permanent becomes targeted trigger multiple times from the same spell?

Some abilities trigger whenever a (certain) permanent "becomes the target of a spell or ability." For example, Cephalid Illusionist says Whenever Cephalid Illusionist becomes the target of a spell ...
6
votes
1answer
295 views

Does Seeds of Strength trigger Heroic three times?

Seeds of Strength has the following text: Target creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn. Target creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn. Target creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn. Sage ...
1
vote
2answers
263 views

When do you place the +1/+1 counter for Anafenza?

If I attack with Anafenza, the Foremost and one other creature do I get to place a +1/+1 counter on the other creature or does it have to be tapped before combat?
2
votes
2answers
271 views

Does Vorinclex help its controller or its owner?

I play a Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger commander deck casually with friends. If one of my opponents plays Mind Control (or something similar) and takes control of Vorinclex, do the triggered abilities ...
1
vote
1answer
370 views

When Turn to Frog changes a creature's base power/toughness to 1/1 do any affects that change creature's power and toughness still apply?

Turn to Frog changes a creature's base power and toughness to 1/1. Does that mean if target creature has a +1/+1 counter when Turn to Frog is cast, it becomes 2/2? If it has -1/-1 counter on it, would ...
4
votes
1answer
476 views

Can I counter Rite of Replication by destroying the copied creature?

Let's say my friend casts Rite of Replication on one of his creatures. Right after that, I play an instant--Flesh to Dust--and destroy his creature. Would that counter the sorcery? If not, would I ...
4
votes
2answers
864 views

What cards can give an opponent control of an Island so I can use Islandwalk on them?

I'm working on a blue/black deck with some cards that have Islandwalk and I'm trying to find cards that can force an opponent to control an island. I have Stormtide Leviathan but I was looking for ...
0
votes
1answer
390 views

Will returning a creature trigger Prowess?

Pre-amble So I am currently building a Blue & White Prowess + Heroic deck in Standard. The idea that I can boost my heroic creatures with instants and auras and reap the benefit across all my ...
0
votes
1answer
485 views

When does Mardu Hordechief's raid ability trigger?

I'm new to MTG and I'm quite confused about when exactly raid is triggered. For instance, say I have Mardu Hordechief (which creates 1/1 tokens) and I tapped, let's say, 2 creatures to attack. What ...
4
votes
1answer
994 views

Magic the Gathering: Hero's Blade vs Lightning Bolt

My opponent has Hero's Blade on the battlefield. He plays Yisan, the Wanderer Bard and attempts to attach Hero's Blade to it. In response, I cast Lightning Bolt and attempt to deal Yisan 3 damage and ...
2
votes
3answers
368 views

When does Chief of the Edge die?

Lets say my friend attacks with Chief of the Edge and two other Warrior creatures, and I declare three blockers, one on each creature. If Chief of the Edge dies due to combat damage from blockers, ...
0
votes
1answer
403 views

Can I play two instants back to back?

Basically lets say I attack with Triton Shorestalker. My opponent can't block. Can I then play Become Immense and Titanic Growth? Or if I attack with a creature that can be blocked and my opponent ...
1
vote
1answer
180 views

MTG. Using goblin chirurgeon's ability only for sacrifice

I had a Goblin Sharpshooter, sixty-some goblin tokens, and a Goblin Chirurgeon on the field (all with haste). My opponent had an enchantment that kept me from directly attacking him (2 life or {W} for ...
2
votes
1answer
280 views

Does this creature give itself +1/+1?

So I was playing a game and this card came out and we couldn't decide if by "Other Minotaur creatures" it means not this creature, or if it included it. Also, we assumed that it would give Trample to ...
2
votes
2answers
165 views

How do other auras interact with Gift of Immortality?

I'm pretty sure that if a creature is enchanted with some other aura, say Rancor, and then you put Gift of Immortality on it and the creature dies, Rancor falls off when it comes back to the ...
0
votes
1answer
410 views

Which “enters the battlefield” effects happen first, cards that are entering, or cards already on the battlefield?

A couple scenarios: Cloudfin Raptor with evolve is at 0/1 Satyr Grovedancer (1/1) enters the battlefield causing Cloudfin Raptor to evolve to 1/2 Put the counter from Satyr Grovedancer on Cloudfin ...
2
votes
1answer
259 views

Can the Planeswalker type be removed from permanents?

I was in my local card store tonight and one of the people there mentioned some sort of combo to have multiple of the same planeswalker in play at once, involving some way to turn planeswalkers into ...
4
votes
2answers
479 views

Are old Magic: the Gathering boosters worth more sealed, or should I open them?

I won some magic the gathering 10th edition core set booster packs, are they worth anything? Or should I open to get rare cards? Also have 2 core sets — Molimo's might and Exincar's tyranny ...
5
votes
1answer
229 views

How do major online game stores set Magic: the Gathering card prices? [closed]

I understand complete answers might not be public, but is there any public information on how major sites (like StarCityGames, TCGPlayer, Abu, etc), price their cards? In particular, since the prices ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

What cards give +1/+1 counters to all creatures?

I wonder if there is any card that gives +1/+1 counters to all creature I have on the field? I have Krenko, Mob Boss, Abzan Battle Priest and Mirror Entity so it would be awesome to have +1/+1 ...
18
votes
6answers
3k views

Am I obligated to identify cards owned by an opponent?

Nathan controls Jeskai Infiltrator. His deck has green sleeves. Anthony controls three Mountains. His deck has blue sleeves. Anthony casts and resolves Act of Treason, gaining control of Infiltrator. ...
3
votes
1answer
115 views

What are all the previous Oracle text revisions for Time Vault?

On Gatherer, I can see the original wording for Time Vault: Tap to gain an additional turn after the current one. Time Vault doesn't untap normally during untap phase; to untap it, you must skip a ...
3
votes
1answer
112 views

Does Livewire Lash trigger if a spell is countered by Chalice of the Void

I have a creature equipped with Livewire Lash and my opponent has Chalice of the Void in play. I play a spell which targets the creature equipped with Livewire Lash but the spell is countered due to ...
7
votes
1answer
410 views

Why did Wizards of the Coast change the minimum deck size for Constructed from 40 to 60 cards?

In the beginning, Magic: the Gathering decks had to have at least 40 cards. Later, the developers changed the deckbuilding rules in two ways: The minimum deck size went from 40 cards to 60 cards in ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

Will a creature cast with Dash still return to your hand if it dies in combat?

While going through Fate Reforged, I became a little bit confused by the new mechanic Dash. For example, if you take a look at Goblin Heelcutter, the ability states as such: Whenever Goblin ...
6
votes
1answer
301 views

Triggered abilities from multiple players. Whose resolves first?

If triggered abilities from sources controlled by multiple players all trigger at the same time, in what order do they resolve? For example, if I control Obzedat, Ghost Council and at least two other ...
0
votes
1answer
308 views

Can I turn a manifested card face up during the declare blockers step?

If I attack with a manifested (face down) card and my opponent declares blockers, is priority then passed to me so I can turn it face up for its mana cost, or must I turn it up after declaring ...
2
votes
1answer
557 views

Can I use a creature's ability on my opponent's turn?

If I were to have a card on the battlefield such as Archers' Parapet and it was my opponents turn could I play the ability of Parapet if I had player priority? {1}{B}, {T}: Each opponent loses 1 ...
4
votes
2answers
365 views

Why are some decks (i.e. Meandeck Tendrils) not playable in tournaments?

I have been working with Meandeck Tendrils lately. In the linked article, Stephen Menendian indicated that while the decklist was tournament legal (at the time), it was not possible to play it in a ...
1
vote
1answer
339 views

When a permanent has a “When a creature dies” ability, and gets destroyed at the same time as creatures, does that ability trigger? [duplicate]

Say I control Fecundity, which states: Whenever a creature dies, that creature's controller may draw a card. If I control 2 creatures and my opponent controls one creature, and I cast Planar ...
0
votes
2answers
221 views

Do pre constructed decks refresh standard rotation? [duplicate]

I'm a starting player, so I'll be getting the Fate Reforged Clash Pack coming next week to hopefully get playing into Standard. I get this clash pack can be made into a BG Dredge deck, which seems ...
4
votes
1answer
204 views

What is the status of Fruitcake elemental?

I have found a card called fruitcake elemental. This card does that does not appear to be on gatherer, but is on magiccardinfo.com. It is a 7/7 green indestructable creature costing: 1{G}{G}. At ...
2
votes
1answer
192 views

Does Hardened Scales interact with the undying mechanic?

Would a creature with undying (like Young Wolf) get 2 +1/+1 counters instead of 1 when it dies if I had Hardened Scales out?
5
votes
3answers
389 views

Are you required to pay all mandatory additional costs for Wild Evocation?

I found this year old question on a blog. Anthony controls Wild Evocation. At the beginning of his upkeep, he triggers and begins resolving Wild Evocation's triggered ability, revealing Disaster ...
2
votes
1answer
6k views

Do Manifested or Morphed creatures count as tokens?

Does a manifested creature or even a morph creature count as a token? I was told yes, but I was also told that a card can never be considered a token! So I'm asking you guys!
2
votes
1answer
244 views

How serious is forgetting my life gain triggered abilities?

I recently started playing a Soul Sisters / Martyr Life deck, and sometimes have problems remembering triggered abilities every time they're triggered. Whenever another creature enters the ...
3
votes
1answer
440 views

If I concede with a morph card on the stack, do I have to reveal the card to my opponent?

I understand that if a morph card is on the battlefield at the end of the game, I have to reveal it to my opponent, but what if my opponent responds to me casting the morph with a counterspell. If I ...
1
vote
1answer
805 views

Can you counter a spell with indestructible?

Can you counter an indestructible enchantment spell? For example, I cast Kruphix, God of Horizons. Can you counter the spell with a spell like Dissipate while it's on the stack?
5
votes
1answer
618 views

Do I need to reveal a face-down card if it is put on top of my library?

If I have a face-down card (such as a morph or manifested card), and an effect puts it on top of my library, do I need to reveal the card (as I would if it was destroyed or exiled)? Example: I ...
2
votes
3answers
292 views

Is there a “consensus” definition of what constitutes a “strong” or “weak” deck? [closed]

In various Magic the Gathering posts, I've seen references to "strong" and weak" decks, and specifically to decks that are "too strong" or "too weak" to be "playable. Is a deck that is "too strong" ...
5
votes
2answers
6k views

What happens if you manifest a creature card with morph?

If a player manifests a creature card with the morph ability, can that player pay the morph cost to turn it face up? For example, if Anthony casts Formless Nurturing to manifest Abomination of ...
7
votes
2answers
784 views

When must one communicate denial of a shortcut?

Anthony begins his turn by drawing a card. He then immediately turns his creatures sideways and declares "I attack with Runeclaw Bear and Alpine Grizzly." Anthony's opponent, Nathan, has 6 life. ...
8
votes
2answers
315 views

Spell targets player in multiplayer game, and that player leaves. Does it still resolve?

Let's say I have infinite mana, Soulfire Grand Master and Crater's Claws. I play a multiplayer game with 5 other players. I use Soulfire Grand Master last ability with infinite damage crater claws on ...
2
votes
1answer
138 views

Is Flesh Allergy combined with Grave Pact counterproductive?

I need a little help again. Imagine the following situation: I have Grave Pact, Bloodthrone Vampire and 9 other creatures on the battlefield. The opponent has only one creature on the battlefield but ...
3
votes
3answers
677 views

Indestructible and the stack

If I play an instant that grants target creature "indestructible" can an opponent use an instant in response to destroy said creature? Would the stack resolve their ability first? If so, would I be ...
6
votes
1answer
241 views

Victory conditions with the “Limited Range of Influence” option

In a ten player Grand Melee, Anthony controls a Darksteel Reactor with 20 counters on it. Anthony has satisfied the trigger condition for Darksteel Reactor. The trigger resolves, and he wins the ...