Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

6
votes
1answer
1k views

If I activate Shambling Vent's ability after it has been 'awakened', what happens at the end of the turn?

Let's say I control a Shambling Vent and then cast a spell with Awaken 3, targeting the Vent. The Shambling Vent becomes a 0/0 Land Creature - Elemental with 3 +1/+1 counters on it, no problem there. ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Is there a card that cancels the Legendary Rule?

For example, I am wanting to make token copies of a legendary creature such as Progenitus using something like Progenitor Mimic. I know this is illegal by itself, but does there exist a card that ...
6
votes
1answer
223 views

Creature with equipment attached is returned to owner's hand

If a creature has equipment attached, what happens to the equipment if this creature is returned to the owner's hand? Does it: Return to the owner's hand as well? Go to the graveyard? Remain on the ...
3
votes
3answers
1k views

How does Combat Damage Work with Undergrowth Champion?

Undergrowth Champion is a 2/2 creature with an ability that reads: If damage would be dealt to Undergrowth Champion while it has a +1/+1 counter on it, prevent that damage and remove a +1/+1 ...
3
votes
1answer
170 views

Stacking Sensei's Divining Top Abilities

I believe it is possible, but I am asking for confirmation: Can you activate Sensei's Divining Top's first ability, and then, in response, activate the second ability, allowing you to draw a card, put ...
6
votes
3answers
494 views

Will Endless One still enter with X +1/+1 counters while Humility's in play?

Humility says "all creatures lose all abilities and have base power and toughness 1/1" and Endless One comes into play with X +1/+1 counters. According to a comment in How to understand Humility once ...
9
votes
1answer
552 views

Will Myth Realized still become an X/X when Humility's in play?

Humility says "all creatures lose all abilities and have base power and toughness 1/1" and Myth Realized is an enchantment that can become a creature with P/T equal to the number of lore counters on ...
1
vote
1answer
267 views

Can you choose how to sacrifice a creature if you are forced to? [duplicate]

If an opponent, or anything else, makes me sacrifice a creature, and I have a Blood Host or something similar, can I choose to sacrifice the creature with the Blood Host?
1
vote
2answers
286 views

Multiple blockers and trample

I just thought about the fact that you can deal as much damage to one creature when multiple blocked So lets say I have an 8/8 with trample I attack with it Im blocked by a 1/1 a 2/2 and a 3/3 ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Does a God's own mana cost count towards its own devotion?

I'm quite new to playing MtG, and had a question about Erebos, God of the Dead. It needs five devotion (5 black mana on permanents on your field) to be able to be used as a creature (attack/block). ...
2
votes
2answers
238 views

When does showing a card in hand become free information?

Say I'm playing a game, and I start to cast a spell at the wrong time (e.g. an enchantment when I could only cast an instant). As I reveal the spell, an opponent points out that it's an enchantment ...
3
votes
1answer
673 views

Can an illegal target that will become a legal target before the spell resolves be targeted?

The interaction I'm wondering about is between Bounding Krasis, Harbinger of the Tides, and Collected Company. As a part of Collected Company's resolution, two creatures may enter the battlefield at ...
5
votes
3answers
315 views

How do I create an account with Wizards of the Coast if I have a very old DCI number without activation code?

During Battle for Zendikar prerelease yesterday I played my first "real cards" MTG tournament since GP Vienna around 2003-ish. Now I learned that there is now a DCI website where you can look up your ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I choose not to fly?

In Magic: The Gathering, can I choose not to use the "flying" ability of a creature when attacking (so that it can be blocked by non-flying creatures)?
13
votes
3answers
328 views

What do I do if mandatory actions will inherently take a very long time to resolve? (Splinter Twin + Tyrant of Discord example)

Basically, if a game is already out of time, and we're within the resolution of a stack, yet the resolution will take an obnoxiously long time, what would the ruling be in a competitive environment ...
6
votes
1answer
586 views

Clever Impersonator copying Liliana Heretical Healer

I'm copying my opponent's non-transformed Liliana, Heretical Healer with Clever Impersonator. Then one of my other creatures dies. Does my Clever Impersonator come back as Liliana non-transformed ...
0
votes
1answer
113 views

Phasing vs Tribute

Does phasing allow for a Tribute to trigger twice, since the creature continues to re-enter the battle field? For example, if I enchant my Nessian Wilds Ravager with Vanishing, does this mean that my ...
0
votes
0answers
55 views

Urge to Feed rules [duplicate]

In regards to Urge to Feed, lets say I play urge to feed can i tap a creature i just played? Or does summoning sickness apply to that creature? Summoning sickness implies I can't tap creature to ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

How does Void Winnower affect face down spells and creatures?

Void Winnower says Your opponents can't cast spells with even converted mana costs. (Zero is even) Your opponents can't block with creatures with even converted mana costs. If I control a ...
6
votes
1answer
756 views

Does Void Winnower prevent my opponent from casting X spells with even base converted mana cost?

The part of Void Winnower's text that is relevant is Your opponents can't cast spells with even converted mana costs. (Zero is even) I know that when checking the converted mana cost of a card ...
2
votes
2answers
559 views

Who wins when everyone takes lethal damage simultaneously?

I am building an edh deck for about 5 dollars and was wondering, If I cast Sickening Dreams dealing more than enough damage to kill my opponent and I at the same time, who wins?
7
votes
2answers
527 views

Casting a spell after a spell resolves?

My question has to do with Ravenous trap. Say my opponent casts Thought Scour targeting themselves. Once the spell resolves they have two cards + thought scour itself in the graveyard this turn. I ...
6
votes
1answer
317 views

Hypergenesis vs Containment Priest - How does it resolve?

In an upcoming Legacy event near my residence, a friend of mine intends to play using an Hypergenesis deck. However, recently we have a certain abundance of Containment Priests in our region. This ...
0
votes
1answer
236 views

What is the name of this red creature card

In Magic the Gathering I played a guy that was using a mono - red goblin deck which exploited Impact Tremors ability with a certain creature that "blinks" out of the game when another spell is cast ...
4
votes
2answers
258 views

Can you Swerve Bioshift?

Since Bioshift targets a creature, THEN another one for the recipient of the counters, can I use Swerve to change the target? If so, which target can it be, the first or the second, or any?
3
votes
1answer
379 views

MTG: Sideboard if maindeck has more than 60 cards

I did some calculation and found out, that my Living End deck (modern) might be better of with 66 cards maindeck. SB still contains of 15 cards. Depending on the match up, I'd like to cut my deck for ...
0
votes
2answers
161 views

Cloudshifting Angel of Serenity in the middle of combat

I have a very specific situation in mind. My friend attacks me with some flying creatures, one of which is Angel of Serenity. Before I declare blockers, I cast a Moonmist and an Atarka's Command ...
4
votes
1answer
680 views

If Felidar Sovereign enters the battlefield during my upkeep, will he trigger?

Given that Felidar Sovereign is being reprinted in Battle for Zendikar, I have a question about the win condition and nobody I know can help. I was hoping someone on here could. If I am at over 40 ...
6
votes
1answer
270 views

Mindslaver vs. the Pact cycle

Last turn, player A casted a Pact spell, and then a copy of Mindslaver's ability, controlled by player B, resolved while targeting player A. ​ In player A's untap step, player A untapped 5 basic lands ...
2
votes
3answers
839 views

Can Mizzium Meddler steal the effect of a Renown ability?

Basically, I am thinking of a situation: say Outland Colossus attacks and deals damage to a player. Before the Renown ability resolves, can I activate Mizzium Meddler to steal the six +1/+1 counters? ...
0
votes
2answers
268 views

Is a tapped creature an illegal target?

I was playing the Magic 2015 game on my xbox 360 (I know it has a lot of problems but its midly entertaining, I much prefer the card game though but this brought something to my attention and made me ...
6
votes
1answer
763 views

If Anafenza, the Foremost dies at the same time as another creature, will the other creature be exiled?

Here is the situation: I have a Fetid Imp on the field, and my opponent has two Disowned Ancestors and Anafenza, the Foremost. Now I play Languish to give all creatures -4/-4. Is Fetid Imp exiled ...
19
votes
3answers
3k views

Can I win with a “you lose” effect on the stack?

Follow on to this question - with a similar setup, but a slightly different aim. Setup: I have a Bazaar Trader in play and without summoning sickness and an Immortal Coil in hand. Neither I nor my ...
2
votes
1answer
233 views

Immortal Coil & State Based Actions

I don't think I understand State Based Actions (SBA) and how they work with Immortal Coil. I understand that at ANY time I have Immortal Coil on the battlefield with no graveyard, I lose. I ...
7
votes
2answers
293 views

If my Consul's Lieutenant dies while its second ability is on the stack, does the ability do anything?

Consul's Lieutenant has Renown, and the ability Whenever Consul's Lieutenant attacks, if it's renowned, other attacking creatures you control get +1/+1 until end of turn. This is the scenario: ...
5
votes
1answer
360 views

Will an ability on the stack resolve if its source is removed? [duplicate]

Player A casts and resolves Nekrataal. Nekrataal's enters-the-battlefield ability triggers and A and targets Player B's Suntail Hawk. In response, Player B casts Swords to Plowshares, targeting ...
2
votes
2answers
311 views

Nahiri, the Lithomancer + Skullclamp + Cathar's Crusade

The following situation came up in an EDH game and I'm not sure what is supposed to happen. I control a Cathars' Crusade, Nahiri, the Lithomancer and a Skullclamp on the battlefield. I activate ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Is it worth it to buy booster boxes or singles to collect 4 regular and 4 foil Cards

Suppose I wanted to buy 4 of each card in both foil and regular quality near the time when a set comes out. Which would be more cost efficient? Buying booster boxes or pre-ordering singles? Or maybe a ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Is a white/black deck viable? [closed]

Hi I just started playing mtg a week ago and bought a white/green intro deck. However, I would want to create a deck combining one of these colors (if possible) with one that focuses on a more ...
8
votes
1answer
986 views

Can you attempt to counter an “can't-be-countered” spell?

Can you cast a counterspell on a spell that can't be countered, or is it not a legal target... Just wondering if you can Frightful Delusion something that can't be countered but still have the player ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

Are the cards in Zendikar vs Eldrazi standard yet, before Battle for Zendikar comes out? [duplicate]

Is the new duel deck Zendikar vs Eldrazi considered standard before the Battle for Zendikar comes out? I have been playing it for a few days and I don't want to waste money buy more of those cards if ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Awaken targeting rules

If my opponent plays Ruinous Path and pays the Awaken cost, then I make the creature it targets invalid (e.g. bounce, protection, destroying it myself, ...) is that enough to counter the spell due to ...
2
votes
2answers
493 views

Bazaar Trader combo and Void Snare - Ownership vs. Control

I use Bazaar Trader and Act of Treason to gain control of a creature my opponent controls. If my opponent uses a card such as Void Snare on that creature, does the card go to my hand or my opponents ...
3
votes
2answers
413 views

How can I search MagicCards.info for an exact color identity match?

My friends and I are experimenting with various potential Commander decks at the moment — we're drafting far more than we're playing, for a mix of practice, learning, and fun. This means it's ...
4
votes
1answer
165 views

Does a creature's ability trigger while it's in the hand or graveyard?

When a creature card like Agent of the Fates is not on the battlefield but for example in the hand or graveyard, will its triggered abilities still trigger when I play Animate Dead or my opponent ...
0
votes
0answers
56 views

Help with activating abilities [duplicate]

I have multiple nivmagus elementals on the battlefield. Its effect says "exile an instant or sorcery spell you control: put two +1/+1 counters on Nivmagus Elemental." Does exiling one spell activate ...
4
votes
2answers
563 views

How do Hexproof and Combat Damage interact?

Here's a quick question: suppose your opponent attacks with an 8/8 with Trample, and you block with a 5/5 with Defender, Indestructible, and Hexproof. You also have Hexproof. Trample is an ability, ...
-2
votes
1answer
197 views

Do I need mana in my mana pool to summon a creature card? [closed]

Is there a limit to how many creatures I can summon in a turn?
1
vote
3answers
218 views

Casting a creature and hexproofing

If I play Krenko, Mob Boss and retain priority and cast Swiftfoot Boots on Krenko Mob Boss and at the same time my opponent casts Unsummon on Krenko Mob Boss, will my creature be safe or will he be ...
5
votes
1answer
351 views

Does the newly implemented Scry Rule change the way we play Magic: the Gathering?

At Pro Tour Magic Origins, Wizards decided to implement a new rule, dubbed the Scry Rule. This rule stated that after mulligans (if any) had been taken, any player with fewer cards than the original ...