Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

1
vote
1answer
101 views

Could I double team a blocker with Swift Kick?

Swift Kick So lets say I have a 1/1 and another 1/1 on the field My opponent has a 3/3 I attack with 1/1, and they block with 3/3 If I play Swift Kick on my unused 1/1 making it a 2/1 and target ...
1
vote
1answer
174 views

Does 'Other creatures you control have intimidate' affect new creatures brought out?

Bellowing Tanglewurm and Dwynen, Gilt-Leaf Daen have abilities like Other green creatures you control [...] and Other Elf creatures you control [...] Do abilities like these only affect ...
0
votes
1answer
153 views

Creature fights target creature

So I've read a few cards that say this and only just now notices while reading Hunt the Weak It says specifically "Each deals damage equal to its power to the other" So does a +1/+1 counter add to ...
0
votes
1answer
153 views

Does attacking creature take damage when playing instant “Ride Down” before combat damage but after blockers declared

If I attack with a 4/4 and am blocked with a 4/4 Can I play an instant before combat damage, Im pretty sure I can so If I play Ride Down to destroy their blocker Does my attacking creature still take ...
0
votes
1answer
174 views

Does Lighting Shriekers ability activate if it dies or was exiled?

So if anyone noticed I've been asking a few random unrelated questions since last night Im new to magic and I bought a box of bulk common cards to get started (Theres been a few I added to my main ...
5
votes
1answer
719 views

Is the scry mulligan rule implemented in the rules at large yet?

On Friday, my local store said the mulligan rule being tested at PTORI (Before starting the game, any player who mulligans to less than 7 gets to scry 1) had been implemented into the game proper. But ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Does turning a card face up cause it to lose any counters it had on it?

If a card is played face down for some reason, like Guardian Shield-Bearer: Megamorph 3G (You may cast this card face down as a 2/2 creature for 3. Turn it face up any time for its megamorph cost ...
0
votes
0answers
70 views

Magic the Gathering, when a player dies what happens to their cards? [duplicate]

Today me and 3 friends were playing Magic, we are all new to it (One guy taught my friend, my friend taught me and his girlfriend, I taught my sister, besides the first guy thats who was playing) My ...
0
votes
1answer
132 views

Who gets the tokens from Chasm Skulker? [duplicate]

If a player takes control of your Chasm Skulker, then it dies while they control it, do they also get the tokens it creates?
0
votes
2answers
1k views

What pauper cards are legal in paper but not MTGO

Note: This is exactly the opposite question of: What pauper cards are legal in MTGO but not paper? I am trying to collect most cards relevant to pauper. Because MTGO pauper is more popular than ...
3
votes
1answer
840 views

Does “sacrifice those creatures” happen all at once?

Do the sacrifice triggers of Wake the Dead happen at the same time, or do I get to stack them? As an example, say I cast Wake the Dead targeting Liliana, Heretical Healer and another creature. ...
0
votes
1answer
141 views

Do multiple Eternal Thirst give a creature multiple copies of the same triggered ability? [duplicate]

If I have a creature with two copies of Eternal Thirst on it, and a creature my opponent control dies, do I get one or two +1/+1 counters?
1
vote
1answer
153 views

Jhessian Thief and Aqueous Form

If I have a Jhessian Thief enchanted with an Aqueous Form, and it deals damage to my opponent, do I get to Scry 1 before or after I draw a card from Jhessian Thief's ability?
0
votes
3answers
180 views

What does it mean that only permanents are legal targets for spells or abilities?

I just noticed rule 114.2 in the comprehensive rules: 114.2 Only permanents are legal targets for spells and abilities, unless a spell or ability (a) specifies that it can target an object in ...
0
votes
1answer
107 views

Does a countered spell still target? [duplicate]

I have a Phantasmal Dragon in play. My opponent casts Unsummon on it. In response, I cast Cancel on the Unsummon. Do I sacrifice my Phantasmal Dragon because it was the target of the Unsummon, or does ...
0
votes
0answers
92 views

What paper pauper cards on not legal in MTGO [duplicate]

I am trying to collect most cards relevant to pauper. Because MTGO pauper is more popular than paper pauper, and because it is so easily available electronically, it is easy to find data and analysis ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

What pauper cards are legal in MTGO but not paper?

I am trying to collect most cards relevant to pauper. All cards that have ever been printed at the common level on paper are legal for pauper, except for 8 cards on the pauper the ban list. Because ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Is my black-bordered foil from 8th edition a counterfeit? Where can I find more copies?

I have a black-bordered 8th edition foil Thorn Elemental. I really like this card, and I tried to find a place where I can buy it again. However, I can only find white-bordered versions of this card ...
3
votes
2answers
3k views

Can equipment be re-equipped to another creature?

With Artifact equipment, say I've equipped it to one creature, and I want to move it to another, can it be equipped to another creature if I pay its equip cost again? My thought process is that they ...
2
votes
1answer
360 views

Do auras and equipment stay on cards if they stop being creatures?

Ojutai Monument can be turned into a creature card until end of turn. If I attached enchantments or equipment to it, would they stay attached even when the card turns back into a non-creature ...
2
votes
1answer
385 views

Does a card like Languish count as a damage-dealing sorcery?

I was thinking of using Mark of Asylum to protect my creatures from cards like Languish, but does giving all creatures -4/-4 count as damage dealt in the same way, for instance, Swirling Sandstorm ...
6
votes
1answer
177 views

After I finish my match in a draft, is it okay to observe other matches?

In a draft or sealed event I often finish my match before everyone else in the event is done with theirs. Is it impolite to walk around and observe the matches still in progress, given that I may be ...
5
votes
2answers
213 views

Does Sarkhan the Dragonspeaker tap with his +1?

A friend and I had a little confusion. He was playing with Sarkhan, the Dragonspeaker and activated the +1, then attacked. The creature did not have vigilance, and wasn't destroyed. So naturally, it ...
2
votes
2answers
102 views

Can Panic Spellbomb be returned to the library in response to its ability?

When activating the ability on Panic Spellbomb (tap, Sacrifice Panic Spellbomb: Target creature can't block this turn.), can the opponent then use an Instant such as Banishing Stroke to put Panic ...
0
votes
3answers
292 views

Can Auras be moved between creatures?

Say I play Valeron Warden and then play Knightly Valor, enchanting Valeron Warden. Valeron Warden now has +2/+2 and Vilgilance. On the next turn, I play Archangel of Tithes, a much stronger creature. ...
10
votes
2answers
808 views

How Specific Does Card Naming Have to Be

My son likes to play Conundrum Sphinx because of the "mini game" its ability triggers. When naming the card on top of your library, how specific do you have to be?
1
vote
1answer
93 views

Does adding a subtype to a creature count as entering the battlefield? [duplicate]

I have Seraph Sanctuary in play, which lets me gain life when an Angel enters the battlefield. If I play Call to Serve on a creature, turning it into an Angel, does adding the subtype like that count ...
0
votes
0answers
69 views

Understanding Haste [duplicate]

This question is in response to an answer on another question. Due to my lack of reputation on this SE I couldn't comment on the answer. Based on JonTheMon's answer to Can a continuous effect that ...
2
votes
3answers
693 views

Can a continuous effect that gives haste wear off?

For example, let's say I have a Thopter Engineer which has the ability: Artifact creatures you control have haste. I then cast an Artifact Creature. If my opponent were to cast Lightning Strike ...
1
vote
2answers
310 views

Humble and losing ALL abilities: Does this affect creatures with equipped artifacts?

Humble causes a creature to become 0/1 and lose all abilities. If the target creature has an artifact equipped, giving it +1/+1, before this instant is played, does the target lose any benefits ...
3
votes
1answer
259 views

Have I missed a trigger if I announce it but then forget to resolve it?

Nathan controls a Seeker of the Way and a Favored Hoplite with two +1/+1 counters. Alice casts Languish. Nathan casts Gods Willing, targeting Favored Hoplite. He announces that Heroic and Prowess ...
2
votes
2answers
772 views

It That Betrays in a multiplayer game

How does It That Betrays' triggered ability work in a multiplayer game, if two of us controls a It That Betrays, and a third player sacrifices a card?
5
votes
1answer
637 views

Can I Stifle Heritage Druid's ability?

Heritage Druid lets you tap three elves you control to add GGG to your mana pool. Stifle counters activated or triggered abilities. My question is... if I use Heritage Druid to tap three elves and ...
2
votes
2answers
251 views

How do continuous effects interact with the stack, your hand, and other zones?

For example, Chief of the Foundry has an ability that says: Other artifact creatures you control get +1/+1. If I were to cast a 1/1 Artifact Creature it would enter the battlefield as a 2/2 due ...
5
votes
1answer
162 views

Blinking face down Auras and Non-Permanents

When I exile a manifested permanent like an enchantment or creature with something like Roon of the Hidden Realm, it comes back face up (from what I understand). What happens if I exile and return an ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I steal a creature then block my own attack with it?

My opponent casts a creature. During my turn, I attack and cast Temporary Insanity on the creature and want to force it to block my attacker. My opponent claims that since I control the creature and ...
1
vote
1answer
152 views

Missed triggers in two-headed giant

My partner and I recently played in a Two-Headed Giant Sealed. As is the case with most multiplayer tournaments, the event was run at Regular REL. My partner has an upkeep trigger (Thopter Spy ...
1
vote
1answer
174 views

Can you kill a Blessed Spirits with a Fiery Impulse in response to an enchantment being cast?

Here's the situation: my opponent has a Blessed Spirits in play, and he he casts a Grasp of the Hieromancer targeting it. I respond by casting Fiery Impulse, targeting the same card. Is the Blessed ...
1
vote
2answers
156 views

Would Restore the Peace affect a hexproof creature?

Would restore the peace affect creatures with hexproof? I have Archetype of Endurance (all creatures you control have hexproof, your opponent cannot have hexproof). I attack and then my opponent ...
4
votes
1answer
380 views

Are power and toughness “used up”?

Let's say I get two creatures to fight. One is a 4/4 the other is a 1/1. The 4/4 destroys the 1/1, but does the 4/4 become effectively a 3/3, so that later in the combat step it will only be able to ...
4
votes
2answers
277 views

Can I sacrifice the same creature twice with Blood Host?

So for example I am using Blood Host and I sacrifice Reassembling Skeleton, then revive him using his ability. The description says "Sacrifice another creature" to activate the ability. Because I have ...
0
votes
0answers
80 views

How can you distinguish a “Standard” Card fro a “Modern” Card? [duplicate]

I recently played in a Standard draft at Friday night magic and I was informed that there are certain specific sets of cards that can be used in Standard. I am aware that Modern includes all standard ...
0
votes
1answer
129 views

Spells placing effects on heroic

I know this may really sound dumb for asking, but.. Say you have a card like Dragonrage and it applies onto say Favored Hoplite. I know the Dragonrage's affect will trigger Heroic, but the "R: This ...
0
votes
2answers
552 views

How much damage does Acolyte of the Inferno's ability deal?

Acolyte of the Inferno has this ability: Whenever Acolyte of the Inferno becomes blocked by a creature, it deals 2 damage to that creature. Does that mean it deals 2+current power to blocking ...
5
votes
1answer
204 views

Is an ability that can only be activated once per turn still considred activated if it gets countered?

Stifle counters activated abilities. Quirion Ranger has an activated ability that can only be activated once each turn. Does the ability count as being activated for the turn if it was stifled?
2
votes
1answer
194 views

Blocker with First Strike and Blocker with Double Strike

I'm playing Magic Duels: Origins and I blocked a 2/2 with a 1/1 double strike and a 1/1 first strike. My interpretation is that that equals 2 damage during the first strike phase and 1 damage during ...
15
votes
1answer
4k views

What is “summoning sickness” and how does it affect my creatures?

Note: this is intended to be a canonical question about summoning sickness. "Summoning sickness", broadly, is the rule that stops you from attacking or paying {T} costs with a creature that you just ...
1
vote
2answers
306 views

If someone blocks an infect creature, do the -1/-1 counters stay on the creature?

The Infect ability is worded as follows: Infect (This creature deals damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters and to players in the form of poison counters.) I'm just wondering if these ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Do creatures put on the battlefield via a sorcery have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

I have a card named Doubling Chant, the effect of this card is "For each creature you control, Search your library for a creature with the same name and put it onto the battlefield. Then Shuffle your ...
4
votes
1answer
262 views

multiple lines in spell abilities - why new paragraph sometimes

I have a question regarding the structure of rules text in regards to abilities and effects. Incinerate reads: Incinerate deals 3 damage to target creature or player. A creature dealt damage this ...