Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

-1
votes
1answer
19 views

Double Gleam of Authority interaction

If 2 copies of Gleam of Authority are on the board would that mean that +1/+1 counters would bounce back and fourth to infinity?
2
votes
3answers
174 views

Does preventing damage prevent things like land destruction?

For example, if a player plays Personal Sanctuary then plays Armageddon does the damage prevention mean they don't lose lands?
1
vote
1answer
493 views

Must a “target creature” be on the battlefield?

If an ability says "target creature," does the creature have to be on the battlefield? I think I found a loophole that depends on the answer.
0
votes
2answers
172 views

What all does Blood Moon affect?

1: If Blood Moon is on the battlefield, will Back to Basics, Burning Earth, etc. have any effect? 2: What about Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth? 3: Will a nonbasic with Wild Growth get an extra green mana? ...
-2
votes
0answers
78 views

Best place to buy Magic cards [closed]

I have just recently (today, in fact) started playing Magic the Gathering, and I'd like to know where to buy cards. The friend who taught me mentioned that they can be pricey on Ebay, and I've looked ...
5
votes
1answer
299 views

If multiple players must make a choice, in what order are the choices made?

For example, if Merciless Executioner enters the battlefield, and both players have multiple creatures, which player chooses a creature to sacrifice first? Obviously the latter will have an advantage. ...
3
votes
3answers
404 views

What does 'play' mean in the context of Courser of Kruphix?

Definition of 'play' in mtg for spells indicates it is synonym of cast. On the other hand on Courser of Kruphix it seems to be constant ability. What does 'play' mean in Magic?
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Is it impossible to pay off-color mana costs in EDH?

In Commander, there is a rule that states: During the game, if mana would be added to your mana pool that isn't a color in your commander's color identity, that much colorless mana is added to ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

MTG: Activated abilities and change of control on the stack.

Let's say I play an activated ability of one of my creatures; for example, this one: My opponent responds to this with an instant that takes control of this creature: Question: Will the effect ...
3
votes
1answer
260 views

Can I respond to Elesh Norn's ability?

I have yet another timing question: Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite enters the battlefield under my opponent's control. I have Teysa, Orzhov Scion on the field with three other white 1/1 creatures. ...
4
votes
3answers
481 views

Alpha, Beta, and Arabian Nights in Tournaments?

With the exception of basic lands, are all Alpha, Beta, and Arabian Nights cards banned in sanctioned tournaments? Does that also include Deserts?
3
votes
2answers
491 views

Do Gild's Gold tokens go into play under the caster's control?

Gild says "Exile target creature. Put a colorless artifact token named Gold onto the battlefield. It has "Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool."". I assume that that ...
7
votes
1answer
556 views

How does Perplexing Chimera work with Strionic Resonator?

I have a Perplexing Chimera and a Strionic Resonator on the battlefield. My opponent casts Shock. I choose to use my Strionic Resonator's activated ability to copy my Perplexing Chimera's triggered ...
16
votes
1answer
846 views

Enchantment Legal only because of it's Effect. Remains on target?

This happened this weekend, and we were unsure how to resolve it. Opponent casts Progenitus. On my turn, I cast Polymorphist Jest. Then I cast, Darksteel Mutation targeting the Progenitus. ...
2
votes
2answers
390 views

Do effects that reduce a spell's casting cost also reduce its converted mana cost?

If I have Grand Arbiter Augustin IV in play, can Zur the Enchanter's triggered ability pull a card like Æther Storm from my library, which would originally have a converted cost of 4, but which ...
7
votes
2answers
497 views

Does damage dealt by Searing Blood's delayed trigger cause Satyr Firedancer to trigger? [duplicate]

I found this unofficial ruling on Searing Blood, but it doesn't make sense to me. To sum up the question and the answer (in case of link rot): Q: Does the damage dealt by Searing Blood's delayed ...
1
vote
1answer
146 views

Where can I find raw data for DCI sanctioned Constructed tournaments?

It is often easier to answer questions about Magic experimentally instead of mathematically. Anyone can see the final standing of a deck in a tournament and find out who piloted it. Here is an ...
5
votes
2answers
305 views

If an effect would prevent a spell from doing damage, does it continue to prevent that damage after the spell changes zones?

Anthony casts Searing Blood, targeting Nathan's Elvish Mystic. Nathan casts and resolves Dromoka's Command, choosing to 1) prevent all damage that would be dealt by Searing Blood this turn and 2) put ...
6
votes
2answers
6k views

How would first strike and deathtouch interact with multiple blockers in this scenario?

How exactly would the following work? I have a creature with first strike and deathtouch, it's enchanted to be able to block any number of creatures (Entangler). Lets say its a 2/2 and it blocks five ...
2
votes
2answers
170 views

If I have an Equipment equipped to something and it's enchanted by Ensoul Artifact, how is that handled?

Imagine I have an Equipment attached to something, e.g. a Chariot of Victory on a Runeclaw Bear. I then enchant that equipment with Ensoul Artifact. Would the Equipment card still grant its effects ...
4
votes
0answers
229 views

When testing a deck, what % of rejected hands is acceptable?

Good deck construction minimizes luck. I am about to enter my first tournament (Pauper). In addition to testing my deck against other decks in actual games, I simulate initial hands and first few ...
2
votes
1answer
140 views

MTG: What set is Seelenruhe (Tranquility in German) from?

I recently picked Magic: The Gathering back up after a 15 year lapse. Currently making my way through what seems like a thousand cards from my childhood and entering them into a card database at ...
4
votes
1answer
177 views

If I try to kill a face down creature, can my opponent save it by flipping it?

I played a Lightning Bolt during my turn (3 damage to target creature or player) to kill a face down creature. Then, my opponent said he was going to morph the creature which was a 0/5 defender with ...
2
votes
2answers
226 views

Do enchantments played by my opponent on creatures I control count towards my devotion?

If my opponent enchants my Spellheart Chimera with Encrust, will Encrust be counted towards my devotion or his? This is for devotion towards my god, Keranos, God of Storms.
-1
votes
1answer
126 views

If I copy a mythic rare, will both survive?

I control Keranos, God of Storms. I play Fated Infatuation, which reads: Put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of target creature you control. Can I copy Keranos as it is a mythic rare ...
1
vote
4answers
163 views

Does cloning a card include color?

If Clone (for instance) comes in as a copy of a black creature and attacks and is blocked by a creature that has protection from black, how does it resolve? What if the blocking creature has ...
0
votes
1answer
221 views

Can I block with Myth Realized if I attacked with it on my turn?

Myth Realized lets you pay {W} to turn it into a creature until end of turn. My question is... if I turn it into a creature on my turn and attack, can I also block with it on my opponents turn?
1
vote
0answers
43 views

Are the two steps of Ponder an atomic action? [duplicate]

There are a number of cards that have two different actions. Ponder is one of them. I assume these separate actions are in sequence, and cannot be responded to by placing items on the stack in ...
2
votes
1answer
129 views

Kolaghan, The Storm's Fury dragon attacking ability

Does Kolaghan, The Storm's Fury's ability trigger for every dragon attacking or any dragons attacking? For reference it says "Whenever a dragon you control attacks, creatures you control gain +1/+0 ...
0
votes
2answers
95 views

Question about '…only as a sorcery.' abilities

This is a (hopefully) quick question, there are several abilities that can be cast 'only as a sorcery', like a planeswalkers loyalty, or the Outlast ability. Can these be used multiple times in one ...
4
votes
1answer
636 views

Does Deathtouch apply to damage dealt via Fall of the Hammer?

Does Deathtouch (from my creature) apply if Fall of the Hammer is used on an enemy creature? The rules say about deathtouch: The rule that causes creatures dealt damage by a source with ...
4
votes
2answers
976 views

What is the availability of the complete sets Wizards of the Coast is apparently selling?

I recently found, what appeared to be complete sets made by Wizards of the Coast. I had been contemplating buying a complete set of Dragons of Tarkir, with seemingly many vendors making offers, and ...
4
votes
1answer
201 views

How many cards do I need to make a collected set “draftable?”

I have very fond memories of (Triple) Innistrad, which is an absolutely amazing draft format, probably without equal. I'd like to be able to have a playset that I can pull out, years from now, and ...
0
votes
0answers
57 views

Using Multiple Gleam of Authority [duplicate]

Following up on a recent post, "I am looking for some clarification on the card Gleam of Authority. The wording on the card is Enchantment - Aura Enchant Creature Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 ...
0
votes
1answer
165 views

Has Magic always had tapped/untapped tokens?

It's been a long time since I've played Magic. (My "new" cards are from 4th edition.) As I recall, tokens could be created and destroyed, but they could never be tapped or untapped. In practice, ...
1
vote
1answer
117 views

Ways to find and purchase out-of-print / rare / old supplies?

My question came from missing out on finding a copy of the Ajani v. Nicol Bolas Duel Deck box to complete my set of duel decks. When something goes out of print, it obviously becomes harder to find. ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

What should be used to represent creature tokens when the printed token card isn't available?

Many spells or abilities cause one or more creatures to join the battlefield (i.e. 1/1 white Soldier creature tokens, 3/3 green Beast creature tokens, etc.). These token cards are not included with ...
26
votes
3answers
4k views

How can I tell when to take a mulligan in Magic?

Determining when to mulligan is a very important skill in magic. But how can I hone my abilities in that skill? Obviously if I had no/all land I'd probably want to mulligan as the opportunity to ...
0
votes
0answers
36 views

How to tell the difference between Alpha, Beta, and Revised magic cards [duplicate]

When I am looking at an alpha, Beta, or revised magic card what are the things I could look for to tell what set the card belongs to?
8
votes
2answers
823 views

Does Olivia Voldaren's second ability still work if I steal her in response?

Olivia Voldaren has the following for her second ability: {3}{B}{B}: Gain control of target Vampire for as long as you control Olivia Voldaren. Meanwhile, Merieke Ri Berit has this for her ...
9
votes
4answers
13k views

Are there any non-green, non-artifact mana ramp cards?

I have looked and can't seem to find any. I have seen many green cards and some artifacts that do this, but nothing in Red, Blue, Black or White. Are there any? Note: By "Mana Ramp" I mean a card ...
2
votes
1answer
170 views

If I sacrifice a Sultai Emissary to a Gurmag Drowner's Exploit ability, which triggered ability resolves first?

I need to know what happens first if I exploit a Sultai Emissary with a Gurmag Drowner. Do I look at the top 4 cards in my library and choose a card to add to my hand first or do I manifest the top ...
4
votes
1answer
403 views

Is Gleam of Authority's bonus constant or one-time?

I am looking for some clarification on the card Gleam of Authority. The wording on the card is Enchantment - Aura Enchant Creature Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 for each +1/+1 counter ...
6
votes
2answers
188 views

Is a Regenerated Creature Removed from Combat?

Say my opponent attacks me with a creature. I use a burn spell to deal lethal damage, then he regenerates it. Is it removed from combat at that point or does it still deal damage?
1
vote
1answer
168 views

Tutors for Sorceries?

I'm building a budget Natural Order deck, so I'm looking for tutors that can find sorcerys in green and black, preferably that have CMC 3 or less. I hope you can help.
3
votes
2answers
150 views

Where can I search by card for decks in major tournaments?

Where I can search by card for decks from major modern tournaments? By major tournaments, I mean Grand Prixs, StarCityGames Open Series, TCGPlayer Max Point Series, and other large (200+) player ...
2
votes
2answers
359 views

Is pile shuffling considered slow play?

Pile shuffling does not randomize a deck. Except during pregame, where pile shuffling allows players to count the number of cards in the deck, it might be considered a waste of time, and therefore ...
4
votes
1answer
159 views

When “an opponent” has to do something in a multiplayer game, who does it?

In a multiplayer game of Magic: The Gathering, if a card requires an opponent to make a choice — like Fact or Fiction, which states an opponent separates the piles into two piles — who ...
4
votes
1answer
463 views

Does having 2 Flickerwisps and an Impact Tremors win me the game?

I'm just thinking that if I had a Flickerwisp and an Impact Tremors in play, and I cast another Flickerwisp, would I be able to have the Flickerwisps "flick" each other until my opponents are at 0 ...
2
votes
2answers
446 views

Am I obligated to distinguish between morphs and megamorphs when I'm casting a card face-down?

I cast a card with megamorph and state "I'll pay {3} and morph this." Is this particular method of communication for casting a face-down creature legal? The reason I ask is because morph and megamorph ...