Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

0
votes
1answer
15 views

Can I steal a creature then block my own attack with it?

My opponent casts a creature. During my turn, I attack and cast Temporary Insanity on the creature and want to force it to block my attacker. My opponent claims that since I control the creature and ...
1
vote
1answer
59 views

Missed triggers in two-headed giant

My partner and I recently played in a Two-Headed Giant Sealed. As is the case with most multiplayer tournaments, the event was run at Regular REL. My partner has an upkeep trigger (Thopter Spy ...
0
votes
1answer
75 views

Can you kill a Blessed Spirits with a Fiery Impulse in response to an enchantment being cast?

Here's the situation: my opponent has a Blessed Spirits in play, and he he casts a Grasp of the Hieromancer targeting it. I respond by casting Fiery Impulse, targeting the same card. Is the Blessed ...
1
vote
1answer
70 views

Would Restore the Peace affect a hexproof creature?

Would restore the peace affect creatures with hexproof? I have Archetype of Endurance (all creatures you control have hexproof, your opponent cannot have hexproof). I attack and then my opponent ...
5
votes
4answers
3k views

What should be used to represent creature tokens when the printed token card isn't available?

Many spells or abilities cause one or more creatures to join the battlefield (i.e. 1/1 white Soldier creature tokens, 3/3 green Beast creature tokens, etc.). These token cards are not included with ...
1
vote
2answers
127 views

If someone blocks an infect creature, do the -1/-1 counters stay on the creature?

The Infect ability is worded as follows: Infect (This creature deals damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters and to players in the form of poison counters.) I'm just wondering if these ...
4
votes
5answers
30k views

Which MTG booster packs have the highest rate of return on investment?

Most players will tell you that buying booster packs for values is a loosing investment, and for the most part this is true because the average expected value of cards in a set is lower than the ...
3
votes
1answer
72 views

Are power and toughness “used up”?

Let's say I get two creatures to fight. One is a 4/4 the other is a 1/1. The 4/4 destroys the 1/1, but does the 4/4 become effectively a 3/3, so that later in the combat step it will only be able to ...
11
votes
1answer
994 views

What is “summoning sickness” and how does it affect my creatures?

Note: this is intended to be a canonical question about summoning sickness. "Summoning sickness", broadly, is the rule that stops you from attacking or paying {T} costs with a creature that you just ...
4
votes
2answers
161 views

Can I sacrifice the same creature twice with Blood Host?

So for example I am using Blood Host and I sacrifice Reassembling Skeleton, then revive him using his ability. The description says "Sacrifice another creature" to activate the ability. Because I have ...
3
votes
1answer
98 views

Is an ability that can only be activated once per turn still considred activated if it gets countered?

Stifle counters activated abilities. Quirion Ranger has an activated ability that can only be activated once each turn. Does the ability count as being activated for the turn if it was stifled?
9
votes
3answers
18k views

How can I tell which cards or sets are currently legal in various formats?

I haven't played Magic: the Gathering since the days of Onslaught and Mirrodin, and I would like to try to catch back up. Since all my cards are quite dated now, I may be more interested in formats ...
0
votes
1answer
90 views

Spells placing effects on heroic

I know this may really sound dumb for asking, but.. Say you have a card like Dragonrage and it applies onto say Favored Hoplite. I know the Dragonrage's affect will trigger Heroic, but the "R: This ...
0
votes
0answers
69 views

How can you distinguish a “Standard” Card fro a “Modern” Card? [duplicate]

I recently played in a Standard draft at Friday night magic and I was informed that there are certain specific sets of cards that can be used in Standard. I am aware that Modern includes all standard ...
0
votes
2answers
106 views

How much damage does Acolyte of the Inferno's ability deal?

Acolyte of the Inferno has this ability: Whenever Acolyte of the Inferno becomes blocked by a creature, it deals 2 damage to that creature. Does that mean it deals 2+current power to blocking ...
1
vote
1answer
100 views

Blocker with First Strike and Blocker with Double Strike

I'm playing Magic Duels: Origins and I blocked a 2/2 with a 1/1 double strike and a 1/1 first strike. My interpretation is that that equals 2 damage during the first strike phase and 1 damage during ...
6
votes
2answers
202 views

Starting out in MTG, but core sets are being phased out, so what to do?

I've played MTG casually a couple times, built some starter decks, but gave all my cards away in a purge a couple years ago. I want to get back into Magic, but after reading about all of the upcoming ...
0
votes
0answers
85 views

When will MTG start losing its popularity? [closed]

Since I was very young, back to the first editions, I saw Magic the Gathering becoming more and more popular. Needless to say, those who have kept some of the early staples in perfect condition can ...
4
votes
4answers
6k views

MTG: Enchantments that require opponent to pay mana to attack

I had a deck many years ago that was blue/white and used a blue enchantment that made players pay 2 colorless to attack. I can't remember the name of the card, but it was around Mirage, no later than ...
3
votes
1answer
506 views

Do creatures put on the battlefield via a sorcery have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

I have a card named Doubling Chant, the effect of this card is "For each creature you control, Search your library for a creature with the same name and put it onto the battlefield. Then Shuffle your ...
4
votes
1answer
147 views

multiple lines in spell abilities - why new paragraph sometimes

I have a question regarding the structure of rules text in regards to abilities and effects. Incinerate reads: Incinerate deals 3 damage to target creature or player. A creature dealt damage this ...
2
votes
2answers
164 views

Double Strike with Lifelink that destroys its blocker in the first strike phase [duplicate]

Say I have a 5/5 creature with double strike and lifelink. I attack with the 5/5 and my opponent blocks with a 1/1. The creature is killed by the damage in the first strike phase and I gain 5 life. Do ...
16
votes
5answers
23k views

Can instants be played after I decide not to block?

My friend has a green Infect deck. When he declares a creature to attack and I allow it to go through unblocked, he suddenly plays all these Instants that 'pump' the creature up, and because of ...
8
votes
1answer
226 views

Why do double-faced planeswalkers from Origins get exiled before being transformed?

In Magic the Gathering Origins set, there is a cycle of 5 creatures, each that are double-sided and have a planeswalker on the back side. Previously when double-sided cards were used, the cards had a ...
5
votes
2answers
393 views

Gustcloak's ability vs. creatures with Vigilance

Gustcloak Savior has Whenever a creature you control becomes blocked, you may untap that creature and remove it from combat. What about creatures with Vigilance? Attacking does not cause them ...
6
votes
2answers
141 views

When is my last opportunity to turn a manifested Kytheon face up and still cause his trigger?

I have 3 creatures that have attacked, one of which is a manifested Kytheon, Hero of Akros. Assuming he will survive combat, when is my last opportunity to "un-manifest" him from a 2/2 and still ...
9
votes
1answer
191 views

When should a judge intervene in a match?

I started judging at Regular last week, and one thing that made me uncomfortable was watching players break rules. Sometimes the opponent would look at me like, "Are you really going to let this ...
5
votes
1answer
181 views

Should a judge assume that any triggers not mentioned have been missed when providing a ruling?

Alice and Nathan are playing a friendly game of magic in a tournament run at Competitive REL. They run into a situation that they don't quite understand, and so they call for a judge. Jason arrives, ...
3
votes
2answers
166 views

How can I find out when a specific comprehensive rule was introduced?

I wrote this answer, and I feel like it would benefit (slightly - it's not exactly a crucial part of the answer) from knowing when rule 706.4 was introduced. I feel that if I can find out when a rule ...
3
votes
4answers
26k views

Can one creature block multiple attacks?

I'm not much of a Magic player myself, although I do know a bit about the game. Recently, I got into an argument about whether one creature can block multiple creatures' attacks. It looks like rule ...
3
votes
1answer
88 views

Can I double Furnace Scamp's triggered ability damage with a 3-counter Quest for Pure Flame?

Assuming I have a Quest for Pure Flame with 3 quest counters on them and my Furnace Scamp deals combat damage to an opponent, can I then sacrifice my Quest in time to double the Scamp's triggered ...
7
votes
1answer
5k views

Can an instant spell be used before an upkeep triggered ability resolves?

I am looking into a new card for my deck and I was curious if instants could be used before an ability triggered 'at the beginning of your upkeep' resolves. Here is the potential situation: I ...
3
votes
3answers
3k views

What does “cannot be countered” mean in MTG?

Mistcutter Hydra says it "cannot be countered." What does that mean? Is it like saying that it cannot be blocked? Or it can not be stopped from being summoned this turn or what? I have no idea what ...
-1
votes
1answer
134 views

How do poison counters work and how would a player get them?

How do poison counters work? What are the scenarios a player would receive a poison counter?
3
votes
2answers
227 views

How can creatures with indestructible end up in the graveyard?

How does a creature with indestructible end up in the graveyard? I have been trying to figure this out for a little while.
1
vote
2answers
403 views

What are permanents?

What are the specific types of permanents in the game? Are lands included in permanents?
0
votes
2answers
160 views

How does Sheltered Aerie work?

I have Sheltered Aerie enchantment aura on one land. Does the mana that get added while it's tapped stay after your end phase? Does the mana keep adding up?
0
votes
1answer
128 views

In what order does Scale Blessing place counters?

I have two creatures in the field: 2/2 creature 2/2 creature with 2 +1/+1 counters on it, I then play Scale Blessing. Does it work on the creature that has more than one +1/+1 counters on it? With ...
14
votes
3answers
2k views

Why do mana abilities not go on the stack?

Why this special treatment for mana-abilities? What are the design implications if they didn't go on the stack?
15
votes
5answers
10k views

Why would you want to play with a deck that had 3 or more colors in it in Magic? (limited and constructed)

Background: I'm currently writing a strategy guide for magic as my pet project, and I'm trying to explain decks with multiple colors. Here's what I have so far: Dual color decks are useful because ...
5
votes
1answer
570 views

Do blocking creatures heal back to full between phases?

I am new to MTG and this has been bothering me. Say I use any spell on my 1st main phase to deal 1 damage to my opponenent's 2/5 creature. If I attack him during the combat phase of the same turn ...
2
votes
1answer
160 views

Spells with multiple free abilities

I am very new to the game, and I have a basic question about the mechanics. Some spells have multiple abilities; for instance, the creature Azorius Guildmage has two abilities, and it is my ...
0
votes
2answers
205 views

What happens when I gain control of a creature that's a different color from my deck?

If I take control of a black creature using a white deck, how do I pay the mana cost to attack if I don't have swamps in my deck? Please help, I'm new to the game.
2
votes
1answer
175 views

“If a creature would enter the battlefield and it wasn't cast…”

Can someone explain precisely what this means (i.e. all the technical details)? I'm referring to cards like Containment Priest and Hallowed Moonlight. I don't understand this mechanic at all.
3
votes
1answer
221 views

Do you have to choose a target for a spell, or can you just cast it with no target and let it fizzle?

Let's say I have Lightning Bolt and my one opponent as Leyline of Sanctity and no creatures in play. I might still want to cast Lightning Bolt to delve it later or to buff up my Tarmogoyf or whatever. ...
1
vote
1answer
89 views

Two Headed Giant Sealed Events Card Trading

Origins is being released soon, and I plan on going to the THG prerelease for the first time. Me and my partner have been running pull simulations to see what deck strats come up often. We are ...
5
votes
3answers
587 views

Can abilities with no “tap/untap” cost be activated while a creature has summoning sickness? [duplicate]

From the MTG rules: 302.6. A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can't be activated unless the creature has been under its controller's ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Does Double Strike mean you count as Attacking twice?

Does Narset, Enlightened Master's ability trigger twice if she has double strike, since she has an ability that says "When (she) attacks"?
5
votes
3answers
2k views

Will infinite loops still force a draw if I have a way to end them?

The comprehensive rules of MTG state: 104.4b If a game that’s not using the limited range of influence option (including a two-player game) somehow enters a “loop” of mandatory actions, repeating ...
8
votes
1answer
209 views

Do you always need to keep track of what cards have been drawn in a turn?

Do you always need to keep track of what cards have been drawn in a turn? The reason I ask is because of Sylvan Library. While it's on the battlefield it's pretty obvious that you have to do it ...