Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

3
votes
3answers
641 views

If Anger of the Gods kills a creature, does it still trigger death effects? [duplicate]

Let's say I control Athreos, God of Passage and my opponent casts an Anger of the Gods. I'm fairly sure any creatures I own that die this turn are just exiled without Athreos' ability triggering, but ...
0
votes
1answer
83 views

Checking a +1/+1 counter requirement

Abzan Battle Priest has an ability that reads Each creature you control with a +1/+1 counter on it has lifelink. Does it grant lifelink to creatures with two +1/+1 counters?
2
votes
1answer
215 views

How does Imprinting and the affinity work together?

I'm currently working on a artifact deck (casual). I am thinking of imprinting Somber Hoverguard on Soul Foundry. But how do I dertermine the imprint cost, and will the activation cost of Soul Foundry ...
2
votes
1answer
108 views

Does the Strive mechanic give the opportunity to cast the spell multiple times, or just have multiple targets?

I'm wondering if the strive mechanic counts as one spell that can be cast multiple times by paying the extra cost, or is it just one spell that can affect multiple targets if you pay the mana? I'm ...
4
votes
1answer
346 views

Does Kill Shot-ing a morph during combat prevent damage?

I just started playing Magic this year, so this might a super-newb question, but here it goes: My opponent declares that he will attack with this 2/2 colorless morph. I declare no blockers because I ...
4
votes
1answer
329 views

Damage dealt by creatures and the order of damage

So I had an interesting one recently at our local win a box tournament. Scene - I have 12 life remaining, my opponent has 9. I have an un-monstrous Arbor Colossus and a Polukranos, World ...
3
votes
4answers
398 views

Why can an ability resolve even if I exiled the creature it came from? [duplicate]

I just started learning magic a week ago and I've been playing duels of the planeswalkers 2014 to kind of get a hang of things. I'm confused with something that has happened twice now. I'm playing ...
2
votes
2answers
166 views

Whenever someone casts an enchant on one of my creatures, do I control that enchantment? [duplicate]

Say I control Genesis Hydra, then an opponent casts Claustrophobia onto Genesis Hydra, do I control Claustrophobia?
2
votes
1answer
124 views

Will double strike trigger cipher twice?

Say I am playing with a creature that has double strike (e.g. Two-Headed Cerberus), and I cipher Hidden Strings to it. This allows me to tap/untap up to 2 target permanents whenever the creature deals ...
1
vote
3answers
172 views

Do -1/-1 counters count as damage?

I am wondering if -1/-1 counters are considered damage? On creatures with the wither ability is says that the creature deals damage in the form of -1/-1 counters. As such I would like to know if a ...
0
votes
1answer
72 views

Mimic Vat and Exiling

If I used Mimic Vat on a Licid, created a copy of that Licid, and attached it to a creature, would I still have to exile it during my end step even though it's now an enchantment?
2
votes
1answer
231 views

Losing Control of Bestowed Enchantment Creatures [duplicate]

I've been playing Magic for about six months and thought I had a decent handle on how things work until I ran into the following problem: Set-up: I was playing mono black devotion against blue-green ...
0
votes
0answers
43 views

Spectra Ward and creatures that give other creatures with +1/1 counters on them buffs [duplicate]

So I'm just wondering if I have creatures that say "other creatures you control have deathtouch, lifelink, first strike, trample, etc." and I put Spectra Ward on one of those creatures with a +1/+1 ...
1
vote
1answer
148 views

How does Dig Through Time work with Courser of Kruphix?

When Courser of Kruphix is on the battlefield and I resolve a Dig Through Time, do I reveal the top card of my library AFTER I pick two cards from the seven I get to look at, or does the top card ...
0
votes
0answers
38 views

What happens when I use Feast on the Fallen on Bloodcrazed Hoplite? [duplicate]

Me and a friend were playing magic, and I cast the enchantment Feast on the Fallen, I dealt 3 damage with Jagwasp Swarm. Then at the beginning of his upkeep I put 2 +1/+1 counters on Bloodcrazed ...
4
votes
3answers
549 views

What happens when a double-sided card is returned to the battlefield or a copy of it appears?

Say I cast Oblivion Ring on Garruk, the Veil-Cursed (i.e. a transformed Garruk Relentless). What happens when my Oblivion Ring gets destroyed? My interpretation was that Garruk returns in his ...
-2
votes
1answer
80 views

Does Standard Type 2 Rules applies for lands? MTG [closed]

Does Standard Type 2 Cycling Rules applies for lands too? Those lands that generates two, three manas for example?
4
votes
3answers
701 views

Will infinite loops still force a draw if I have a way to end them?

The comprehensive rules of MTG state: 104.4b If a game that’s not using the limited range of influence option (including a two-player game) somehow enters a “loop” of mandatory actions, repeating ...
2
votes
1answer
240 views

Does Hardened Scales trigger when +1/+1 counter are moved from one permanent to another?

If a +1/+1 counter get's moved from one creature to another does Hardened Scales double the amount of counters that the second creature gets?
1
vote
1answer
55 views

How to find people to play Magic the gathering with? [duplicate]

I started playing Magic about six years ago, and I live in a very "Intelligence Deficient" Town. I have tried playing online and I Don't have a game shop nearby. Help me please??????
5
votes
2answers
269 views

Can I use an ability granted to a land by an aura immediately?

This is fairly simple question, but I'm unsure. Suppose I use enchant my basic land with an aura like Caustic Tar. The enchantment's ability says to tap the land. Can I tap it immediately to use the ...
4
votes
2answers
193 views

What should be used to represent creature tokens when the printed token card isn't available?

Many spells or abilities cause one or more creatures to join the battlefield (i.e. 1/1 white Soldier creature tokens, 3/3 green Beast creature tokens, etc.). These token cards are not included with ...
2
votes
1answer
74 views

Can Legion's Initiative save permanents from Bearer of Heavens's destruction ability?

When Bearer of Heavens dies, it destroys all permanents. If my opponent's creature destroys Bearer of Heavens can he activate Legion Initiative's ability (to exile his creatures until the start of his ...
0
votes
1answer
113 views

Can I tap Sliver Hive to pay for Hive Stirrings?

I am playing a game and have no white mana to play Hive Stirrings, but I do have a Sliver Hive under my control. Am I able to tap the Sliver Hive to play Hive Stirrings (assume I have enough mana to ...
0
votes
2answers
84 views

Predator's Rapport and counters [duplicate]

Suppose Predator's Rapport's target has counters (for example, a few +1/+1 counters). Do the counters count when calculating the gained life? I thought power and toughness do not change after adding ...
0
votes
3answers
212 views

How much mana does Radiant Fountain provide when tapped? [duplicate]

Radiant Fountain reads "{T}: Add {1} to your mana pool." Does this card alone produce a total of {1} or {2}? Basic Land cards produce mana when tapped. So, either All land cards produce mana when ...
3
votes
2answers
248 views

When is the game state checked for “Whenever you cast […]” triggers?

When you cast a creature for its bestow cost: When you begin casting, it is a Creature spell We know this because Steel Golem prevents Bestow creatures from being cast When you pay the alternative ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

Must a player disclose what deck they are using before play?

Our family is just learning this game. We were wondering if each player typically announces which deck they are using beforehand. If yes, in how much detail? I could not find anything in the rules ...
6
votes
2answers
384 views

If face down permanents have no abilities, why are they affected by “loses all abilities”?

The Khans of Tarkir Release Notes say: If a face-down creature loses its abilities, it can’t be turned face up [...] This implies that Morph is an ability. However, the community here seems ...
3
votes
1answer
148 views

Does Soul Link give life twice in combat and fighting?

Soul Link says: Enchant Creature Whenever enchanted creature deals damage, you gain that much life. Whenever enchanted creature is dealt damage, you gain that much life. If the ...
4
votes
4answers
563 views

Putting cards into your hand while the top of library is revealed

Anthony has Courser of Kruphix on the field. He begins resolving Dig Through Time. While Dig Through Time is resolving, must the top card be kept separate from the other six? I'm thinking that ...
4
votes
1answer
229 views

When a creature dies and later returns to the battlefield, does it keep +1/+1 counters?

If I have a Bloodcrazed Hoplite that's been given +1/+1 counters from its heroic ability, and then it's killed by an enemy creature, and then I cast a spell that returns it to the battlefield, does it ...
7
votes
2answers
858 views

Mystery cards in Magic 2015 card list

If you look at the full card list for Magic 2015, at Gatherer or elsewhere, you'll see a bunch of cards listed with collectors number 270-284. What are these cards, and why are they listed as being ...
4
votes
2answers
314 views

Does “other” refer to that particular instance or all cards of the same name?

For example Chief of the Edge has the ability: Other Warrior creatures you control get +1/+0. So I understand that it would definitely affect Avalanche Tusker. But if I play another Chief of the ...
0
votes
2answers
171 views

What does “each other player” mean on Unwinding Clock?

If I am playing a four man free for all, when do my artifacts untap using Unwinding Clock's ability? I'm having trouble understanding. The card says "each other player". If I am player one, are ...
-3
votes
1answer
97 views

Magic the gathering deck foundation [duplicate]

I have 800 cards dated between 2004 up to 2011.... Is it cool to to build a deck from a variety of sets? Trying to get into mtg and need a boost of knowledge.
2
votes
1answer
259 views

What happens to cards cast from exile?

There are a few cards that allow you to exile cards and then cast them later (Narset, Enlightened Master for example). After a spell cast this way resolves, does it go back into exile, or does it ...
3
votes
1answer
519 views

Does Sarkhan, the Dragonspeaker's first ability trigger “enters the battlefield” effects? [duplicate]

Sarkhan, the Dragonspeaker has the ability [+1]: Until end of turn, Sarkhan, the Dragonspeaker becomes a legendary 4/4 red Dragon creature with flying, indestructible, and haste. (He doesn't lose ...
2
votes
2answers
149 views

Statistics on a booster pack (to make my own re-packs)

I have a lot of magic cards. For constructed play they are mostly worthless. I would like to pack these up into re-packs that are like booster packs. But I am not sure what cards go into a booster ...
-1
votes
1answer
63 views

Order of multiple triggered abilities [duplicate]

What happens if two of my creatures, have triggered abilities, which trigger on attack, in what order it resolves? For example I have on board Prognostic Sphinx and Narset, Enlightened Master, and ...
6
votes
3answers
838 views

What happens if I have two Pledges of Loyalty attached to a creature?

Let's say, I only have Ersatz Gnomes (1/1 Artifact Creature) with Pledge of Loyalty on it. Since the Pledge is my only colored permanent, it will grant the Gnomes protection from white. If I now use ...
10
votes
1answer
505 views

Can you cast a creature with Bestow while you control a Steel Golem?

You control a Steel Golem, which says "you can't cast creature spells". Can you pay the Bestow cost on, say, a Hopeful Eidolon, and cast it as an aura enchanting the Steel Golem? My reading of the ...
3
votes
2answers
560 views

Why do some decks run only one of a card? [duplicate]

This Death and Taxes deck, for example, has 1x Cavern of Souls, 1x Horizon Canopy, and 1x Ancient Den. Since it's a 60 card deck the odds of drawing any one of them is 1/60. ie. quite slim. So why do ...
1
vote
0answers
168 views

What is the “Fixed Sealed” format?

I am going to a qualifier this weekend (not a Pro Tour Qualifer). The winner gets a chance to play in a championship tournament with 7 other players, and the winner of that gets a complete set of ...
0
votes
1answer
80 views

Resolving triggered abilities [duplicate]

I control the following two enchantments: Bottomless Pit and Necrogen Mists. At the beginning of my opponent's upkeep do I get to choose which one of the triggered abilities that goes on the stack ...
5
votes
1answer
408 views

What effect does Coat of Arms have on face-down creatures?

I was playing a Sliver deck vs a co-worker today, and he played an illusion deck with Ixidron. I was having a hard time grasping how Coat of Arms would work with Ixidron turning everything face down. ...
1
vote
1answer
130 views

Can Ink Treader Nephilim's Electrolyze copies target players?

I am curious if the Electrolyze copies created by targeting Ink-Treader Nephilim can be aimed at players for 1 point of damage or if all the damage must go to the creatures that Inky specifies the ...
5
votes
2answers
644 views

Can my opponent and I decide on a victory condition to avoid a draw?

Say I'm playing against a player and we finish game 2 with 5 minutes left in the round. If we draw, both of us will be knocked down, and most likely neither will be eligible for prizes. I know ...
-2
votes
1answer
63 views

Looking for a specific playmat [closed]

I was at the prerelease this weekend and someone had a mat that a friend of mine mentioned that he wanted. I tried some googling, but didn't have much success and was hoping someone here might ...
4
votes
1answer
73 views

Are there cards which work differently on Ink-Treader Nephilim depending on who controls it?

Are there any cards I could play on Ink-Treader Nephilim that would act differently based on who had control of the creature, for that matter, are there any cards in the game that do this at all?