Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

1
vote
2answers
85 views

Is there any interaction between hypothetical continuous effects?

Consider a battlefield where I control a Deadfall, a Sunweb, and a Muraganda Petroglyphs. Importantly, Sunweb says Sunweb can't block creatures with power 2 or less. Deadfall says Creatures ...
0
votes
1answer
62 views

How can I play against enchantments while playing an all black deck?

I just need to know any and all black Magic cards that destroy enchantments. I already searched Gatherer and didn't find anything. It's casual play with family, so any card is fair game.
1
vote
1answer
50 views

Can I use old sets of magic cards in an EDH deck

I have all sorts of old magic cards, for example m12, X ,vintage, m13, I'm just curious if I can add any of these cards to my Commander deck that I have now ,or would it be illegal??
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Courser of the Kruphix's ability play multiple land cards?

Courser of Kruphix says: Play with the top card of your library revealed. You may play the top card of your library if it's a land card. Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your ...
2
votes
2answers
211 views

What happens to my Athreos triggers when my opponent has an Aegis of the Gods?

This is an important interaction between two Journey into Nyx cards. Really it's a question about how "unless" interacts with targeting. Say I have an Athreos, God of Passage (spoiler link) in play: ...
1
vote
1answer
55 views

Resolution of two buffs that affect attacking creatures

I have a creature, Wild Beastmaster, that increases all other creatures I control whenever it attacks (I assume that means the attack triggers this). However, since a card like Trumpet Blast only ...
1
vote
2answers
141 views

Modern affinity deck without Mox Opal

I am making a modern affinity deck with all the usual cards, Arcbound Ravager, Etched Champion, Inkmoth Nexus and the like. The problem is I can't afford the Mox Opals - they're over £200 for the ...
9
votes
3answers
990 views

Can I flicker Aurelia to get more than two attack phases?

Whenever Aurelia, the Warleader attacks for the first time each turn, untap all creatures you control. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase. If I attack with Aurelia once, ...
2
votes
1answer
147 views

Paying a Cost and Communicating

I have four Burning-Tree Emissary and one Firefist Striker on the field. My opponent is in his Precombat Main Phase. We are under Competitive Rules Enforcement Level (REL). The following actions occur ...
7
votes
3answers
445 views

Communication - Saying “Draw”

My opponent was in his second main phase, sitting silently for about a minute. He finally gestured towards me and said, "Draw." I drew. My opponent then shouted, "Judge!" and told the judge that I ...
4
votes
2answers
167 views

How does Lava Burst work with hexproof/shroud?

How does Lava Burst work with hexproof/shroud ability? Lava Burst text says: If Lava Burst would deal damage to a creature, that damage can't be prevented or dealt instead to another creature or ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Is there ANY way to activate a planeswalker ability at instant speed?

With the vast richness of magic rules on all the cards and the comp rules, is there any way at all to activate a planeswalker ability at instant speed? Typically, per the rules, you can only activate ...
3
votes
2answers
255 views

Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?

The text on Hammer of Purphoros reads: Sacrifice a land: Put a 3/3 colorless Golem enchantment artifact creature token onto the battlefield. I know that this doesn't allow me to destroy my ...
2
votes
2answers
124 views

Gild and the Gold tokens it creates

Gild says "Exile target creature. Put a colorless artifact token named Gold onto the battlefield. It has "Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool."". I assume that that ...
2
votes
1answer
108 views

Artisan of Forms and Gift of Immortality

Artisan of Forms says: Heroic — Whenever you cast a spell that targets Artisan of Forms, you may have Artisan of Forms become a copy of target creature and gain this ability. Say I play a Gift ...
1
vote
2answers
139 views

How long does a creature returned by the Whip of Erebos remain on the battlefield?

Whip of Erebos says Return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step. If it would leave the battlefield, exile it ...
3
votes
2answers
236 views

What are the limitations on using a Planeswalker's loyalty abilities?

I assume I can only use a loyalty ability once per turn, is that right? Otherwise it'd seem to me that Planeswalkers would be hideously broken. And I assume that if you used the +1 ability that the 0 ...
2
votes
1answer
172 views

Can Guttersnipe hit Planeswalkers?

Guttersnipe's ability states: Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, Guttersnipe deals 2 damage to each opponent. Now, Planeswalkers are classed as "Players". I found this ruling that ...
5
votes
1answer
183 views

Question about interaction: levitation, then gravity sphere, then oblivion ring on each, then tranquility. Who flies away?

Here are the cards involved: Levitation Creatures you control gain flying. Gravity Sphere All creatures lose flying. Oblivion Ring When Oblivion Ring enters the battlefield, exile a ...
0
votes
2answers
104 views

Chained to the Rocks and shocklands

Chained to the Rocks says: Enchant Mountain you control. When Chained to the Rocks enters the battlefield, exile target creature an opponent controls until Chained to the Rocks leaves the ...
2
votes
1answer
123 views

Would Evacuation and Ambush Commander return all forests to their owners' hands?

Evacuation returns all creatures to owners hands. Ambush Commander turns all forests into creatures. Would that mean that Evacuation would return all forests to their owners hand?
4
votes
2answers
134 views

Cauldron of Souls and Wickerbough Elder

How many counters does Wickerbough Elder get when returned to battlefield with Cauldron of Souls? Assume that it died with no counters on it and was targeted by Cauldron of Souls. I can't tell if gets ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

How does Perplexing Chimera work with multiple triggers on the stack?

Perplexing Chimera is a new card in Born of the Gods. It reads as follows Enchantment Creature - Chimera Whenever an opponent casts a spell, you may exchange control of Perplexing Chimera and ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens when I copy Precursor Golem with Rite of Replication?

I came across this issue with my friend a while ago and came up with many possible answers: How many golems will you get if you copy Precursor Golem with a kicked Rite of Replication?
8
votes
2answers
6k views

Does 'fight' involve combat?

The text for Ulvenwald Tracker says: {1}{G}, {T} : Target creature you control fights another target creature. (Each deals damage equal to its power to the other.) Does this have anything to do with ...
2
votes
1answer
118 views

Are there any good intermediate deck building resources available in magic

I've gotten to the place where the run of the mill 'basic deck-building' guides offer no more help to me and yet the advanced deck building resources are still a little out of my reach. I am wondering ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

Is Sanguine Bond + Exquisite Blood a potential game ender?

If both Sanguine Bond and Exquisite Blood are in play and target player loses any life, is the game over?
5
votes
1answer
389 views

Combo question: urborg tomb of yawgmoth, torpor orb, kormus bell, dark depths = free Marit Lage?

If I have the following in play: Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth Each land is a Swamp in addition to its other land types. Kormus Bell All Swamps are 1/1 black creatures that are still lands. ...
2
votes
2answers
208 views

Can Crypt Rats be used from Graveyard

Can Crypt Rats be activated while in the graveyard? There is no tap, which is why it seems possible. If not, then why can cards like Rot Farm Skeleton have activated abilities that are usable only ...
6
votes
2answers
791 views

How can I win against Phyrexian Unlife?

I've played my friend and he used his new mono white deck. After some turns, he plays Phyrexian Unlife. This is the first time I've seen it. It says even if his life is 0 he never loses. I'm using ...
3
votes
1answer
147 views

Can I cast a Slaughter Pact on a Spellskite after I played Lightning Storm and I already discarded some lands?

My opponent has a Spellskite on board. He is at 17 life, has one blue mana and one land in hand. I just resolved Ad Nauseam + Angel's Grace and I have my entire deck in my hand. I have 2 Slaughter ...
3
votes
1answer
178 views

What if someone attacks with Master of Cruelties and another creature?

My mate constantly plays Master of Cruelties which can only attack alone, Master of Cruelties isn't forced to attack, but if it does, it must do so alone. If you control another creature with an ...
1
vote
1answer
76 views

In MTG, what happens when a creature enchanted with Soul Link would deal lethal damage to a player?

Player A has 3 life left. Player B attacks with a Dauthi Marauder that has been enchanted by Player A's Soul Link. Does player B win, or does nothing happen? On the one hand, "whenever" makes it ...
0
votes
3answers
164 views

Mono-Green Deck: Responding to Sorceries/Instants?

I'm working on a mono-green overrun deck but I'm having some trouble responding to my opponent's non-creature cards. Against another creature-heavy deck it does very well, but up against anything ...
2
votes
1answer
119 views

Counter heavy proactive control with a distruption-based aggro deck in the Legacy format

[Feel free to edit my question, English is not my primary language] Legacy is a format with a pretty high number of cards available. It is arguably the format with the most possible different ...
0
votes
2answers
131 views

Magic; Are you allowed to attack creatures instead of a player?

Are you allowed to attack creatures instead of a player during the combat phase? Because it seems to me it's much more easier to block (because you can actually choose what you attack) than to just ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Thorncaster Sliver's ability have deathtouch?

If I have a Thorncaster that has deathtouch, does its "1 damage to target creature or player" have deathtouch? At first I thought no. Because the rules say "Combat Damage". But then I was reading ...
1
vote
2answers
186 views

Are these decks going to be playable? [closed]

I am thinking about getting into magic. I want to play in the standard format. The decks I want to play are either mono black devotion or mono blue devotion. My question is with the rotations how long ...
0
votes
2answers
173 views

Can a card be un-cast, if the player realises it was a bad decision?

Let's say a player casts a spell, completely allows it to resolve, and accepts its consequences - then realises that was a bad idea, or there was something better to do. That player realises there was ...
4
votes
1answer
210 views

How should the “and/or” text of a card be interpreted?

How should the "and/or" text of a card be interpreted? For example on a card like Pinnacle of Rage the text reads: Pinnacle of Rage deals 3 damage to each of two target creatures and/or players. ...
2
votes
1answer
103 views

+1/+1 counter, where does it go when my adversary bolts it's target?

Vastwood Hydra is on the field, 7/7 atm (7 x +1/+1 counters). My adversary blocks it for combined strength of 7, all creatures in combat die when the damage resolves. When Vastwood Hydra dies I get to ...
1
vote
1answer
73 views

Do Triggered effects stack?

Lets say I have a Suture Priest creature that says "Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may gain 1 life." and I currently have all 4 of them in the battlefield. ...
2
votes
1answer
440 views

What happens if a creature is returned to owner's hand after blocking or being targetted?

What will happen to a creature if it's been killed either after being targetted by spells or by blocking? example 1: Player A casts Chandra's Outrage targeting Angelic Wall; Player B uses Crystal ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

How do Isochron Scepter and the Fuse mechanic interact?

The split cards in the expansion set Dragon's Maze contain a new mechanic "Fuse". This mechanic allows you to cast both sides of the spell, a new option for cards of this type. Isochron Scepter ...
7
votes
8answers
10k views

How do I deal with Enchantments while playing mono-red?

I have played different mono-red decks in the past and my main problem with all of them is playing against decks with strong enchantments (e.g. Circle of Protection: Red). As soon as this enchantment ...
2
votes
1answer
97 views

When is the hydra considered a player with the “Face the Hydra” deck?

Face the Hydra is a special game with special rules which can be found here. I know that a spell that deals direct damage to a player cast on the hydra will deal the damage to one of its head. The ...
1
vote
2answers
347 views

How long before I can move on to a different phase?

I was on one health and had two creatures in play. One of those was useless due to a card my opponent played to stop it doing anything. The other had an inspired ability that might have helped me ...
6
votes
1answer
467 views

Can an instant spell be used before an upkeep triggered ability resolves?

I am looking into a new card for my deck and I was curious if instants could be used before an ability triggered 'at the beginning of your upkeep' resolves. Here is the potential situation: I ...
4
votes
2answers
961 views

What happens when additional costs can't ultimately be paid, but the spell is on the stack?

I have a question that bothers me after reading a part of the big book of rules :). It's about the rule 717, illegal actions. 717.1. If a player realizes that he or she can’t legally take an ...
17
votes
5answers
4k views

Why is Bazaar of Baghdad supposedly such a good card?

I've been looking at the card Bazaar of Baghdad: (Land) Tap: Draw two cards, then discard three cards. Almost everywhere I've seen has it as over 200$, and most of the Arabian Nights set is much ...