Commander (aka Elder Dragon Highlander or EDH) is a Magic:The Gathering variant which emphasises social interactions, interesting games, and creative deck building. Its primary characteristic is that decks are centered about a Legendary Creature as the Commander.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (2)

1
vote
1answer
35 views

Can I defeat an opponent with their own commander?

I know that if I gain control of my opponent's commander, it won't lose the status of commander. How is the commander damage calculated in this case? Can I do the 21 commander damage with the stolen ...
6
votes
1answer
113 views

Scion of the Ur-Dragon and Leyline of the Void

Does Leyline of the Void prevent the Scion of the Ur-Dragon's transformation by exiling the dragons?
1
vote
2answers
96 views

What happens when you put a +1/+1 counter on a planeswalker? [duplicate]

Some commander decks have Planeswalker commanders. What happens when you put a +1/+1 counter on one of them, such as with Opal Palace?
1
vote
2answers
284 views

Can tokens created by planeswalkers do commander damage

I was playing a game with someone and they said they do because planeswalkers can't attack, so the tokens created by them count as commander creatures. Is that true? I can't find any rules that talk ...
12
votes
5answers
3k views

Is it impossible to pay off-color mana costs in EDH?

In Commander, there is a rule that states: During the game, if mana would be added to your mana pool that isn't a color in your commander's color identity, that much colorless mana is added to ...
7
votes
2answers
406 views

Can City of Brass be used to cast Kozilek, the Great Distortion in Commander?

Can City of Brass be used to pay for the colorless component of Kozilek, the Great Distortion's cost if I am playing Commander?
19
votes
2answers
49k views

How much land do I need for a Commander deck?

A Commander deck consists of 100 unique cards, of which one is designated as the Commander and either a Legendary Creature or an allowed Planeswalker. I'm still very unfamiliar with this format. How ...
3
votes
1answer
116 views

EDH Off Color ability in card text

Is it possible to run a Repentant Vampire in a Grixis (Red Blue Black) Commander deck? I don't see anything in the official rulings, and the card doesn't have a white mana symbol on it. I'm leaning ...
4
votes
2answers
185 views

Does Illusory Gains make someone else's Commander my own forever?

If I play my Illusory Gains on my opponent's commander, does their commander become mine indefinitely? I have not played this card and I am unsure as to how playing it on a commander works.
4
votes
4answers
2k views

How does Infinite Reflection work with Commander and commander damage?

Does a Commander which has been turned into a copy of another card still do commander damage (i.e. will 21 damage dealt to a single player from the copy lose the game for that player)? Alternately, ...
4
votes
2answers
390 views

Do commanders “die” if they go to the command zone instead?

If my commander would die and I opt to move it to the command zone instead of the graveyard, does it cause a "when a creature dies" ability trigger? An example would be Fool's Demise. If my opponent ...
5
votes
1answer
228 views

Does discarding your commander to the command zone trigger discard effects?

There is a rule in commander that lets you put your commander in the command zone instead of other zones: If a Commander would be put into a library, hand, graveyard or exile from anywhere, its ...
3
votes
2answers
330 views

How can I search MagicCards.info for an exact color identity match?

My friends and I are experimenting with various potential Commander decks at the moment — we're drafting far more than we're playing, for a mix of practice, learning, and fun. This means it's ...
1
vote
2answers
502 views

Who wins when everyone takes lethal damage simultaneously?

I am building an edh deck for about 5 dollars and was wondering, If I cast Sickening Dreams dealing more than enough damage to kill my opponent and I at the same time, who wins?
1
vote
1answer
131 views

MTG Sliver Commander: Can I declare Brood Slivers tokens as attackers?

So in my sliver deck I am running Brood Sliver and Heart Sliver. Let's say their both on the field and a sliver deals damage to a player, could I declare the tokens made as attackers or is it too ...
3
votes
4answers
357 views

How can I ensure the Commander deck I'm creating is appropriate for my group's meta?

Our group's been playing Magic since mid-2013, and Commander 2013 since a while after that. A couple of us are keen on building our own commander decks now. We're aware the Commander format can easily ...
5
votes
4answers
270 views

Poison Counters and Damage Redirection

Last week we had a bit of a situation in our commander game and we would like to clarify this for future reference. Our Situation One of the players attacked with Bruna, Light of Alabaster who ...
0
votes
2answers
309 views

Are there any other spells in bant colors that will cause Enduring Scalelord to go infinite?

Are there creatures, artifacts, enchantments, etc that will make Enduring Scalelord go infinite in Bant? I'm building a Bant counters EDH deck and it'd be fun to have ES blow up in a couple of ...
12
votes
1answer
8k views

How does poison work in Commander?

In Commander / EDH players have 40 life. In normal magic 10 poison counters results in a player being eliminated. Is it still 10 poison counters in Commander / EDH? In Commander / EDH a player is ...
4
votes
2answers
538 views

What exactly does the “If you do […]” clause on Mimic Vat check for?

Mimic Vat has two abilities. The one I am concerned with is: Imprint — Whenever a nontoken creature dies, you may exile that card. If you do, return each other card exiled with Mimic Vat to its ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Why is 21 damage from a commander lethal?

In commander, there is the extra rule: 903.14a A player that’s been dealt 21 or more combat damage by the same commander over the course of the game loses the game I am wondering as to the ...
7
votes
1answer
891 views

Can a player redirect his attack if the defending player concedes?

The situation: Player A has 1 life and several lifelink creatures adding up to 100 power. He swings at player B who has no defenders, planning to gain 100 life. Player B concedes. Without a valid ...
-1
votes
1answer
345 views

Why didn't whomever created EDH allow Planeswalkers to be Commanders?

I know only legendary creatures can be commanders unless stated otherwise (for example Daretti, Scrap Savant). Have the creators of EDH ever explained why Planeswalkers cannot be commanders by ...
1
vote
2answers
544 views

Will this bounce work?

Here is my problem: I made a really awesome Animar EDH deck and one of my infinite combos involves Animar, Soul of elements with 4 +1/+1 counters on it. This will allow me to summon Pierce Strider for ...
2
votes
2answers
308 views

Does Vorinclex help its controller or its owner?

I play a Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger commander deck casually with friends. If one of my opponents plays Mind Control (or something similar) and takes control of Vorinclex, do the triggered abilities ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I Wish for a card outside my Commander's colors?

I have been told that Wishes work differently in Commander than in normal casual Free-For-All (FFA) mtg. Do the comprehensive rules cover how wishes work in Commander? Do the rules for wishes differ ...
0
votes
1answer
105 views

Can I activate an ability after part of a spell has resolved? (please read example) [duplicate]

I made a Phelddagrif group hug deck with Windfall as my win condition (obviously I would only use it in an emergency) and Elixir of Immortality. So, I cast Windfall with, say, 40 cards in my hand, ...
7
votes
5answers
7k views

Phage the Untouchable as a Commander?

I was looking through the Black Legends with thoughts of building a mono-black EDH deck, when I came across Phage the Untouchable. Am I right in assuming that if she is cast from the command zone, you ...
5
votes
1answer
257 views

Can my commander ever not be my commander?

Once and for all: Is there anything that can possibly be done to my commander that would cause it to cease being my commander? All of these questions ask the same thing, but aren't general enough ...
1
vote
1answer
672 views

If a commander becomes a colorless forest, is it still a commander? [duplicate]

In Magic the Gathering, I cast Song of the Dryads on an opponent's commander. It is now a colorless forest land. My opponent has an Angelic Field Marshal on the field which gains power if you control ...
7
votes
2answers
601 views

Commander status as hidden information

Inspired by Ivo Beckers' comment on the answer to Is your commander still a "commander" if it gets turned face down? If Akroma, Angel of Fury is your commander and is returned to your hand, ...
5
votes
1answer
846 views

Is your commander still a “commander” if it gets turned face down? [duplicate]

Does your commander still count as being your commander if it is turned face down? For example, I have my commander on the battlefield and my opponent plays Ixidron. Ixidron then turns my commander ...
2
votes
1answer
662 views

Does a copy of your commander count as your “Commander”?

The new Commander edition introduces a keyword Lieutenant, which gives bonuses as long as you control your commander. Is that bonus still granted if you control a clone of your commander only? And ...
1
vote
1answer
298 views

Can Ink Treader Nephilim's Electrolyze copies target players?

I am curious if the Electrolyze copies created by targeting Ink-Treader Nephilim can be aimed at players for 1 point of damage or if all the damage must go to the creatures that Inky specifies the ...
3
votes
1answer
222 views

Can I use Mirror Strike on Ink-treader Nephilim when it's not attacking?

So I am making an EDH deck featuring Ink-Treader Nephilim (yes I know its not legendary but the deck will be like five bucks to make and I'm sure someone will want to play with it). As I am looking up ...
7
votes
3answers
6k views

How can I get rid of indestructible creatures with a Red and White deck?

I am creating a Red-White commander deck using Gisela as my commander. I noticed that my deck is incredibly weak against a deck with any sort of indestructible creature. I know of the board sweeper ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Would stealing control of my opponent's commander with Control Magic and killing it let me maintain control of it?

If I played Control Magic and enchanted Marath, Will of the Wild, then took off the 3 counters, would Marath return to my opponent's command zone or would I retain control and have the option of ...
2
votes
1answer
845 views

In Commander, does color identity prevent me from taking control of a different colored permanent?

In trying out EDH for the first time last night we ran into a confusing issue. I was using Olivia Voldaren as my commander. One opponent activated Ajani Goldmane's 6 point ability to summon a white ...
-6
votes
1answer
2k views

MTG Best commander deck money can buy [closed]

The background to this is that in our group we have one player that drafts every week, goes to all the events and spends several hundred pounds on Magic each month. When we play casually he cannot ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

If your Commander is in your graveyard when your graveyard is exiled can you return it to the command zone?

My understanding is that you can chose to put your commander in the command zone instead of putting it in the graveyard or it being exiled. Putting it in the command zone is a replacement for putting ...
5
votes
5answers
2k views

Why so many people use “house rules” in EDH/Commander?

Since I'm an Eternal player (Legacy and sometimes Modern) that has played just few times EDH/Commander I found difficult to understand why often players use a more strict banned list in their matches; ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Can I use Elbrus as my Commander?

Elbrus, the Binding Blade, is a Legendary Artifact - Equipment that transforms into Withengar Unbound, a Black Legendary Demon. Can I use Elbrus/Withengar as a Commander, and if I can, is my deck ...
4
votes
1answer
382 views

Are there any EDH commanders whose colour identity is not solely determined by their mana cost?

Colour identity is not only the colours in the casting cost, but any mana symbols that appear in the rules text (but not the reminder text!). Are there any legendary creatures that have a different ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Flickering a Commander

What happens when a Commander is hit with an effect such as Flicker or Otherworldly Journey, and that Commander's owner chooses to send the Commander to the Command zone instead of exile? Will the ...
4
votes
2answers
16k views

How does an Oblivion Ring interact with a Commander in EDH?

When a commander is exiled, it can go to the command zone if the owner chooses. What if a commander is exiled by an Oblivion Ring? I am assuming the commander can still go to the command zone. If ...
12
votes
3answers
10k views

How can I mana ramp in a Commander game without helping my opponents?

I'm working on a Commander deck and I'm looking at ways to ramp my mana that won't aid my opponents. I may eventually use all the listed ramp cards, but, I'd like to keep the restriction for the ...
7
votes
2answers
5k views

Can you play 99 relentless rats in commander?

Just a silly question, can you run 99 Relentless Rats in commander? Maybe that and Sphinx of the Chimes and some juicy commander that plays off creature types.
3
votes
2answers
6k views

Why is Trade Secrets banned in EDH or Commander?

Ban list for commander I don't see any announcement for Trade Secrets. Why has it been banned? Is there any mention of this card from Wizards, a card they made specifically for Commander?
10
votes
2answers
3k views

Can Conjurer's Closet be used to keep a stolen Commander?

We had this situation come up in a game last night, and we think we stumbled upon the right answer, but we're not sure. So, Player A's Commander (Sliver Overlord) was stolen by Player B using a ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Types of EDH mana base

After looking at a number of EDH deck lists I have seen two distinct types of mana bases used by various decks. Some decks use a large number of basic lands, dual lands and utility lands. Other ...